As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

1/2 Inch vs 1/4 Inch Power Tool Combo Kits: Which Should You Buy?

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

You are looking at two distinct power tool combo kits. This guide compares them, much like you might evaluate a 12 inch vs 14 inch power tool combo kit based on your specific workspace needs. Both options are cordless and include a drill and an impact driver. The main difference lies in the chuck size and the number of tools included. One kit offers a larger 1/2 inch chuck for the drill, while the other provides a third tool and a brushless motor.

Key differences

AspectCRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver KitRyobi ONE+ 18V Brushless 3-Tool Combo Kit
Number of Tools23
Voltage20V18V
Chuck Size1/2 Inch (drill); 1/4 Inch (impact driver)1/4 Inch
Motor Typenot listedBrushless
Included ToolsDrill Driver, Impact DriverDrill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw
Battery Capacity2.0 Ah2.0 Ah, 3.0 Ah

Which one should you choose?

Choose CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit if

  • You need a larger 1/2 inch chuck for the drill to handle bigger bits
  • You prefer a higher voltage system at 20V
  • You only need a drill and an impact driver without extra tools

Choose Ryobi ONE+ 18V Brushless 3-Tool Combo Kit if

  • You want a brushless motor for potentially longer tool life
  • You need a circular saw included in the kit
  • You prefer a battery option with 3.0 Ah capacity

Verdict: Choose the CRAFTSMAN kit if you prioritize a larger drill chuck and 20V power. Select the RYOBI kit if you need a third tool like a circular saw and benefit from brushless motor efficiency. Your choice depends on whether you need more tools or a larger chuck size.

Chuck Size and Tool Versatility

Chuck Size

Edge: CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit

The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit features a 1/2 inch chuck on its drill driver, allowing you to accept larger drill bits and driving accessories. This size is standard for heavy-duty drilling into wood, masonry, or metal. The Ryobi ONE+ kit uses a 1/4 inch hex chuck on its impact driver and likely its drill driver as well. While 1/4 inch hex chucks are faster for driving screws and bolts, they limit the types of round-shank drill bits you can use directly in the tool. For general drilling tasks, the 1/2 inch chuck on the CRAFTSMAN offers broader versatility for different bit types, whereas the Ryobi focuses on quick bit changes for fastening.

Number of Tools

Edge: Ryobi ONE+ 18V Brushless 3-Tool Combo Kit

Tool count is a primary factor when evaluating combo kits. The Ryobi ONE+ kit includes three tools: a drill/driver, an impact driver, and a circular saw. This provides a wider range of capabilities right out of the box, including cutting materials. The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit contains only two tools: a drill/driver and an impact driver. It does not include a saw or other auxiliary tools. If you need to cut materials immediately without purchasing a separate saw, the Ryobi kit offers more value in terms of sheer tool quantity. The CRAFTSMAN kit is more focused on drilling and fastening only.

Voltage

Edge: Tie

Voltage indicates the electrical potential of the power source. The CRAFTSMAN V20 operates at 20 volts, while the Ryobi ONE+ operates at 18 volts. Both voltages are considered standard for cordless power tools and provide sufficient power for most household and light professional tasks. The 20-volt rating on the CRAFTSMAN is slightly higher, which can sometimes translate to marginally higher torque or speed under load. However, the Ryobi 18-volt system is a mature platform with extensive tool compatibility. For typical drilling and driving, the difference between 18V and 20V is negligible in practice, making this a neutral comparison for most users.

Motor Type

Edge: Ryobi ONE+ 18V Brushless 3-Tool Combo Kit

The motor type affects efficiency and runtime. The Ryobi ONE+ kit explicitly lists brushless motors. Brushless motors are more efficient, generate less heat, and typically offer longer runtime and tool life compared to brushed motors. The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit description does not specify the motor type in the provided data. It mentions high torque and power, but lacks the explicit brushless designation found in the Ryobi specs. If you prioritize motor efficiency and longevity, the Ryobi's brushless technology is a clear advantage. Without confirmation on the CRAFTSMAN motor type, the Ryobi holds the edge here.

Battery Capacity

Edge: Ryobi ONE+ 18V Brushless 3-Tool Combo Kit

Battery capacity determines how long you can work before recharging. The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit includes two 2.0 Ah batteries. The Ryobi ONE+ kit includes both 2.0 Ah and 3.0 Ah batteries, offering a higher total capacity and a larger battery option for extended tasks. The 3.0 Ah battery on the Ryobi will provide longer runtime than the 2.0 Ah batteries on either kit. While the CRAFTSMAN provides two batteries for rotation, the Ryobi offers a mix of capacities, allowing you to use the larger battery for demanding jobs and the smaller one for lighter tasks. The Ryobi provides more flexible battery options.

Choose Your 1/2 Inch or 1/4 Inch Kit

Users needing heavy-duty 1/2 inch chuck capacity

Our pick: CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit

The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit includes a drill driver with a 1/2 inch chuck. This allows you to use larger bits for masonry or metal. It also offers 1,800 in-lbs of torque in the impact driver. You get two 2Ah batteries and a charger. This setup suits tasks requiring larger fasteners and higher torque output.

Contractors wanting a third tool and brushless motor

Our pick: Ryobi ONE+ 18V Brushless 3-Tool Combo Kit

The Ryobi ONE+ kit provides three tools, including a circular saw. It uses a brushless motor for efficiency. You receive both 2.0Ah and 3.0Ah batteries. The 1/4 inch hex chuck fits standard driver bits. This bundle offers more tool variety and longer battery runtime for extended job site work.

DIYers prioritizing high torque for lag bolts

Our pick: CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit

If you frequently drive lag bolts, the CRAFTSMAN impact driver delivers up to 1,800 in-lbs of torque. The 20V system provides up to 300 UWO in the drill. You can drive 120 fasteners per charge. The 1/2 inch chuck handles larger applications. This kit maximizes power for demanding fastening tasks.

Quick picks

#ProductBest forPrice
1 CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit Users needing 1/2-inch chuck versatility Check price of CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit on Amazon
2 Ryobi ONE+ 18V Brushless 3-Tool Combo Kit Light home maintenance tasks Check price of Ryobi ONE+ 18V Brushless 3-Tool Combo Kit on Amazon

The products compared

CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit

Best for: Users needing 1/2-inch chuck versatility

Chuck Size
1/2 Inch (what this guide is about)
Number of Tools
2
Voltage
20V
Included Tools
Drill/driver, impact driver
Battery Capacity
2 Ah
Battery Included
2 batteries and charger included

View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link

This CRAFTSMAN V20 kit includes a drill driver with a 1/2-inch chuck and an impact driver with a 1/4-inch chuck. The drill offers 300 UWO, while the impact driver delivers 1,800 in-lbs of torque. It comes with two 2 Ah batteries and a charger. The set weighs 8.2 pounds and features onboard LEDs. It suits users needing versatile fastening and drilling capabilities in a compact cordless format.

Pros

  • 1/2-inch chuck on the drill driver for larger bits
  • 1,800 in-lbs MAX torque on the impact driver
  • Includes two 2 Ah batteries and a charger
  • Onboard LEDs on both tools for visibility

Cons

  • Only includes two tools in the kit
  • 2 Ah battery capacity may limit runtime for heavy use
  • No information provided on brushless motor technology

Good fit if

  • You need a drill with a 1/2-inch chuck
  • You require high torque for lag bolts
  • You want a lightweight 8.2-pound system

Skip if

  • You need more than two tools
  • You require brushless motors for extended life
  • You prefer larger battery capacity options

Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 2-Tool Combo provides solid torque and a 1/2-inch chuck for general construction tasks. It fits DIYers who prioritize chuck size and impact power over a larger tool count.

Ryobi ONE+ 18V Brushless 3-Tool Combo Kit

Best for: Light home maintenance tasks

Chuck Size
1/4 Inch (what this guide is about)
Number of Tools
3
Voltage
18V
Motor Type
Brushless
Battery Capacity
2.0 Ah, 3.0 Ah
Battery Included
2.0 & 3.0 Ah Batteries, Charger

View on Amazon: Ryobi ONE+ 18V Brushless 3-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link

This Ryobi P1837 kit includes a drill driver, impact driver, and circular saw. It uses brushless motors for efficiency. The 1/4-inch chuck handles standard bits. You get two batteries: a 2.0 Ah and a 3.0 Ah pack. The system is cordless and lightweight. It suits users who need basic power tools for general home projects without heavy-duty requirements.

Pros

  • Brushless motor technology
  • Includes 2.0 Ah and 3.0 Ah batteries
  • Three essential tools included
  • Compact 9-pound weight

Cons

  • 1/4-inch chuck limits large bit sizes
  • No 1/2-inch chuck option for heavy tasks
  • Only two batteries included

Good fit if

  • You need a lightweight cordless setup
  • You work with standard 1/4-inch bits
  • You want brushless motor efficiency

Skip if

  • You require a 1/2-inch chuck
  • You need high-torque industrial tools
  • You want more than three tools

Verdict: Ryobi 18V Brushless 3-Tool Kit is ideal for homeowners needing basic cordless tools. It fits light tasks well. It does not suit heavy construction work.

Specifications side by side

Spec CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit Ryobi ONE+ 18V Brushless 3-Tool Combo Kit
Number of Tools 2 3
Voltage 20V 18V
Included Tools Drill/driver, impact driver not stated
Motor Type not stated Brushless
Battery Capacity 2 Ah 2.0 Ah, 3.0 Ah
Battery Included 2 batteries and charger included 2.0 & 3.0 Ah Batteries, Charger
Maximum Torque 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver) not stated
Chuck Size 1/2 in. (drill); 1/4 in. (impact driver) not stated
Power Source Cordless Cordless
Dimensions 12.3 × 4.96 × 8.86 inches 18 × 10 × 15 inches
Weight 8.2 pounds 9 pounds
Color Black, Red not stated
Model CMCK201D2 P1837

Frequently asked questions

Does a 1/2 inch chuck handle heavier drilling tasks better?

Yes, a 1/2 inch chuck supports larger drill bits for demanding work. The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit uses this chuck size, making it suitable for general construction. It provides the torque needed for harder materials like masonry or thick metal. This setup prioritizes power and versatility over having a larger number of included tools.

Is a 1/4 inch chuck sufficient for light home maintenance?

A 1/4 inch chuck is ideal for light home maintenance tasks. The Ryobi ONE+ kit features this chuck size, which fits standard driver bits and smaller drill bits. It is designed for basic cordless tool needs around the house. This option is not recommended for heavy construction work but works well for everyday repairs.

Which kit includes more tools in the box?

The Ryobi ONE+ 18V Brushless Kit includes three tools. It comes with a drill driver, impact driver, and circular saw. The CRAFTSMAN V20 Kit includes only two tools: a drill driver and an impact driver. If you need a circular saw for cutting projects, the Ryobi option provides more variety in the bundle.

Do these kits use brushless motors for efficiency?

The Ryobi ONE+ 18V Brushless Kit features brushless motors for improved efficiency. The CRAFTSMAN V20 Kit description does not specify the motor type. Brushless motors typically offer longer runtime and extended tool life. This makes the Ryobi kit a strong choice for users who prioritize motor technology and performance in their cordless tools.

How do the battery capacities compare between these kits?

The Ryobi ONE+ Kit includes a 3.0 Ah battery. The CRAFTSMAN V20 Kit comes with a 2.0 Ah battery. A higher amp-hour rating generally means longer runtime between charges. If you need extended power for larger projects, the Ryobi battery capacity offers more endurance compared to the CRAFTSMAN option.

Which kit is lighter to carry around the job site?

The CRAFTSMAN V20 Kit weighs 8.2 pounds. The Ryobi ONE+ Kit weighs 9 pounds. The CRAFTSMAN option is slightly lighter, making it easier to transport. This weight difference is minor but may matter if you carry your tools frequently. Both kits are cordless, allowing you to move freely without power cords.

Can I use these kits for masonry drilling?

The CRAFTSMAN V20 Kit is better suited for masonry drilling due to its 1/2 inch chuck. This chuck size accepts larger masonry bits required for concrete or brick. The Ryobi ONE+ Kit is designed for light tasks and may not provide the necessary capacity or torque for heavy masonry work. Choose CRAFTSMAN for hard materials.

What voltage systems do these cordless kits operate on?

The CRAFTSMAN V20 Kit operates on a 20V system. The Ryobi ONE+ Kit operates on an 18V system. Both are cordless and use rechargeable batteries. The voltage difference affects power output, with 20V often providing slightly more torque. Choose based on your existing battery ecosystem or specific power requirements for your tasks.

See also