20V vs 24V Power Tool Combo Kits in 2026: Key Differences
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
Choosing between a 20V vs 24V power tool combo kit depends on your specific needs. Both options provide cordless convenience for drilling and fastening tasks. The primary difference lies in voltage and tool count. The 20V model focuses on core tools with a compact design. The 24V system offers a higher voltage platform with five tools, including a saw and multi-tool. This guide compares their specifications to help you decide.
Key differences
| Aspect | DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit | Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Voltage | 20V MAX | 24V |
| Number of Tools | 2 | 5 |
| Included Tools | Drill/Driver, Impact Driver | Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Oscillating Tool |
| Motor Type | not listed | Brushless |
| Battery Capacity | not listed | 4.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah |
| Weight | 3.6 pounds | 21 pounds |
Which one should you choose?
Choose DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit if
- You need a lightweight kit for tight spaces
- You only require a drill and impact driver
- You prefer a compact bag for transport
Choose Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit if
- You want a circular saw and multi-tool included
- You need brushless motors for longer runtime
- You prefer higher voltage for heavy-duty tasks
Verdict: Select the 20V kit if you need a simple, lightweight setup for basic drilling and fastening. Choose the 24V kit if you require a versatile five-tool system with brushless motors and additional power tools like a circular saw.
20V vs 24V Kit Comparison
Voltage and Power
The DEWALT kit operates at 20V MAX, while the Greenworks model uses 24V. Greenworks claims its 24V brushless motor delivers two times more torque and thirty-five percent longer runtime compared to 20V competitors. It also states the lithium-ion battery provides twenty percent more power and thirty-five percent more run-time than a standard 20V battery. This higher voltage system is designed to offer fade-free power and cooler operation during extended use. You get consistent performance without memory loss after charging, which supports heavy-duty tasks that demand sustained energy output.
Number of Tools
You need to consider how many tools fit your workflow. The DEWALT combo includes just two core tools: a drill/driver and an impact driver. The Greenworks kit is a five-tool combination that adds significant versatility. Beyond the drill and impact driver, it includes a circular saw, a multi-tool, and a work light. This broader selection allows you to handle cutting, scraping, and sanding without buying separate kits. If you want a single purchase that covers more ground, the five-tool set offers more utility for diverse projects around the home or job site.
Motor Type
Motor technology affects efficiency and longevity. The Greenworks kit features brushless motors in its drill, impact driver, and circular saw. Brushless designs generally provide cooler operation, extended tool life, and better power management. The DEWALT listing does not specify brushless motors for its included tools, focusing instead on compact design and ergonomic features. Brushless motors typically reduce maintenance needs and improve runtime. For users prioritizing modern motor efficiency and durability, the Greenworks specification offers a clear technical advantage over the standard brushed motor assumption in many basic kits.
Battery Capacity
Battery specifications determine how long you can work before recharging. The Greenworks kit includes a 4.0 Ah battery and a 2.0 Ah battery. The DEWALT kit includes two batteries, but the specific amp-hour capacity is not listed in the provided data. Greenworks highlights that its batteries are designed for fade-free power and include a USB-C port for charging devices. The 4.0 Ah capacity suggests longer runtime for demanding tasks. Without the exact Ah rating for the DEWALT batteries, it is difficult to compare endurance directly, though Greenworks explicitly quantifies its capacity for your planning.
Chuck Size
Both kits feature compatible chucks for standard bits. The DEWALT drill has a 1/2 inch single sleeve ratcheting chuck, and its impact driver uses a 1/4 inch hex chuck. The Greenworks drill also features a 1/2 inch chuck, and its impact driver uses a 1/4 inch hex chuck. This means you can use the same drill bits and driver bits in either kit. There is no functional difference in chuck compatibility between the two options. Both systems support standard 1/4 inch bit tips and 1/2 inch drill chucks, ensuring you can swap accessories freely between these platforms.
Which 20V or 24V Kit Fits You
Users needing just drill and impact driver
This DEWALT kit includes only a drill and impact driver. It is compact and lightweight, weighing 3.6 pounds for the drill. The design fits into tight spaces. You get two batteries and a bag for storage. This option is ideal if you do not need extra tools like a saw or multi-tool. It keeps your load minimal.
DIYers wanting five tools in one kit
This Greenworks kit provides five tools: a drill, impact driver, circular saw, multi-tool, and flashlight. You get higher voltage and brushless motors for more torque and runtime. The circular saw cuts wood and metal with a carbide-tipped blade. The multi-tool offers 18,000 OPM for sanding and scraping. This bundle covers more project types than a two-tool set.
Professionals needing circular saw and multi-tool
You get a circular saw with 4,800 RPM and a multi-tool with 18,000 OPM. These tools are not included in the two-tool 20V kit. The brushless motors provide fade-free power and longer life. You also receive a 4.0 Ah and a 2.0 Ah battery. This kit is better for jobs requiring cutting and detailed finishing work alongside drilling.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit | compact drilling and driving tasks | Check price of DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit on Amazon |
| 2 | Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit | Users needing higher torque and a 5-tool variety | Check price of Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit on Amazon |
The products compared
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: compact drilling and driving tasks
- Voltage
- 20V (what this guide is about)
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Included Tools
- Drill driver, impact driver
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,400 in-lbs
- Chuck Size
- 1/4 in. hex
View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This DEWALT 20V MAX kit includes a 1/2-inch drill/driver and a 1/4-inch hex impact driver. Both tools feature LED work lights with a 20-second delay. The impact driver measures 5.55 inches long and weighs 2.8 lbs, while the drill is 7.5 inches and weighs 3.6 lbs. It comes with two batteries, a charger, and a carrying bag. This setup suits users needing compact, lightweight tools for tight spaces.
Pros
- Compact design fits into difficult to reach spaces
- Integrated LED work lights with 20-second delay
- Includes 2 batteries, charger, and carrying bag
- Impact driver weighs only 2.8 lbs
Cons
- Only includes two tools, fewer than the 10-piece Greenworks 24V kit
- 20V MAX voltage is lower than the 24V option on the list
- No brushless motors listed in the specifications
Good fit if
- You need compact tools for tight work areas
- You want a lightweight drill and impact driver combo
- You prefer a 20V MAX battery system
Skip if
- You require a 24V brushless tool system
- You need a large kit with ten or more tools
- You prioritize higher voltage for maximum power
Verdict: DEWALT 20V Drill and Impact Driver Kit offers a lightweight, compact solution for users who need portability over raw power or extensive tool variety. It is ideal for those who already own 20V batteries and need just a drill and driver for general tasks.
Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit
Best for: Users needing higher torque and a 5-tool variety
- Voltage
- 24V (what this guide is about)
- Number of Tools
- 5
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Battery Capacity
- 4.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,950 in.-lbs.
View on Amazon: Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit Affiliate link
This Greenworks 24V kit includes a drill, impact driver, circular saw, multi-tool, and flashlight. It features brushless motors for 2x torque and 35% longer runtime than 20V competitors. The 1,950 in-lbs impact driver and 4,800 RPM saw handle heavy tasks. It comes with 4.0 Ah and 2.0 Ah batteries. This setup suits users needing more power and versatility for professional or demanding DIY projects.
Pros
- 24V brushless motors provide 2x torque and 35% longer runtime
- 1,950 in-lbs impact driver torque for heavy-duty fastening
- 5-tool set includes circular saw and oscillating multi-tool
- Includes 4.0 Ah and 2.0 Ah batteries
Cons
- Heavier build at 21 pounds total kit weight
- Only includes one 2.0 Ah battery for lighter tasks
- No mention of app connectivity or smart features
Good fit if
- You need more power than standard 20V tools offer
- You want a circular saw and multi-tool in one kit
- You prefer brushless motor efficiency and longer runtime
Skip if
- You prioritize the lowest possible weight for overhead work
- You only need basic drilling and driving tasks
- You are already invested in a 20V MAX ecosystem
Verdict: Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Combo Kit delivers superior torque and runtime for users who need professional-grade power and a wider tool variety than standard 20V kits provide.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit | Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | 5 |
| Voltage | 20V MAX | 24V |
| Included Tools | Drill driver, impact driver | not stated |
| Motor Type | not stated | Brushless |
| Battery Capacity | not stated | 4.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah |
| Battery Included | 2 batteries and charger included | 2 batteries and charger included |
| Maximum Torque | 1,400 in-lbs | 1,950 in.-lbs. |
| Chuck Size | 1/4 in. hex | 1/2 in. drill, 1/4 in. impact driver |
| Oscillations Per Minute | not stated | 18,000 OPM |
| Included Accessories | Charger, bag | not stated |
| Power Source | Cordless | not stated |
| Dimensions | 15.1 × 6.38 × 9.88 inches | 19.8 × 11.2 × 8.8 inches |
| Weight | 3.6 pounds | 21 pounds |
| Size | One Size | 5PCS Combo Kits |
| Color | Yellow/Black Drill Driver/Impact Combo Kit | not stated |
| Model | DCK240C2 | CK351 |
Frequently asked questions
Is 24V significantly more powerful than 20V?
Yes, 24V systems generally deliver higher torque and runtime. The Greenworks 24V model uses brushless motors to provide two times more torque than standard 20V competitors. It also offers thirty-five percent longer runtime for demanding tasks. This makes 24V better for heavy-duty work where raw power matters most.
Which kit is better for tight spaces?
The 20V DEWALT kit is better for tight spaces. It weighs only 3.6 pounds for the drill driver. Its compact design fits into narrow areas where bulkier tools cannot reach. If you prioritize portability and maneuverability over raw power, the lighter 20V option is the practical choice.
How many tools are in each kit?
The number of tools varies by model. The DEWALT 20V kit includes a drill driver and an impact driver. The Greenworks 24V kit contains five tools: a drill driver, impact driver, circular saw, work light, and oscillating tool. Choose based on whether you need just core tools or a full set.
Do 24V batteries last longer than 20V?
The Greenworks 24V kit claims thirty-five percent longer runtime. It includes 4.0 Ah and 2.0 Ah batteries to support extended use. While 20V batteries are common, the 24V system is designed for tasks requiring sustained power. Check the amp-hour rating to understand specific battery endurance for your projects.
Is the 24V kit heavier than the 20V?
Yes, the 24V kit is significantly heavier. The Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Combo Kit weighs 21 pounds total. In contrast, the DEWALT 20V drill driver weighs just 3.6 pounds. The weight difference comes from the additional tools and larger batteries included in the 24V package.
Can I use 20V batteries in a 24V tool?
No, you cannot mix voltages. The DEWALT 20V tools require 20V batteries. The Greenworks 24V tools require 24V batteries. They are not compatible with each other. You must choose one voltage platform and stick with its specific batteries for safety and proper tool function.
Which kit is better for general home use?
The 20V DEWALT kit suits general home use. It provides a drill and impact driver for common tasks. Its lightweight design makes it easy to handle for occasional projects. If you do not need a circular saw or oscillating tool, the simpler 20V kit is sufficient and easier to store.

