4-Tool vs 3-Tool Power Tool Combo Kits: Which Should You Buy?
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
Choosing a 4-Tool vs 3-Tool power tool combo kit depends on your specific project needs. Both options offer cordless convenience and operate on a 20V MAX platform. The CRAFTSMAN kit includes four tools, while the DEWALT set contains three. You need to decide if the extra tool in the CRAFTSMAN pack or the specialized brushless motors in the DEWALT set better suit your workflow. This comparison breaks down the key specifications to help you decide.
Key differences
| Aspect | CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit | DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 4 | 3 |
| Included Tools | Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, LED Task Light | Router, Random Orbital Sander, Jig Saw |
| Motor Type | Not listed | Brushless |
| Chuck Size | 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex | Not listed |
| Battery Capacity | Not listed | 5.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah |
Which one should you choose?
Choose CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit if
- You need a versatile set that includes a drill, impact driver, and circular saw for general construction.
- You want four separate tools for a wider range of basic tasks.
- You require a 1/2-inch chuck for standard drill bits.
Choose DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit if
- You prioritize longer runtime and efficiency from brushless motors.
- You need woodworking-specific tools like a router and sander.
- You prefer higher battery capacity options like a 5.0 Ah pack.
Verdict: Choose the CRAFTSMAN kit if you need a broader range of general-purpose tools for everyday tasks. Select the DEWALT kit if your work focuses on woodworking and you value the efficiency of brushless motors. Both systems share the same voltage platform, allowing for battery compatibility within their respective ecosystems.
4-Tool vs 3-Tool Kit Comparison
number of tools
The CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX kit includes four distinct tools, providing a broader range of capabilities right out of the box. You get a drill driver, an impact driver, a circular saw, and a task light. The DEWALT 20V MAX kit contains three tools: a router, a random orbital sander, and a jig saw. If you need to cut wood or drive screws frequently, the extra tool in the CRAFTSMAN set adds versatility. The DEWALT set focuses on woodworking precision with fewer items. Your choice depends on whether you prioritize having more tools or specialized woodworking equipment.
included tools
The CRAFTSMAN kit features a 1/2-inch drill driver, a 1/4-inch impact driver, and a 6-1/2-inch circular saw. These are standard tools for general construction and home repair. It also includes a pivoting LED task light. The DEWALT kit includes a compact router, a random orbital sander, and a jig saw. These tools are specifically geared toward woodworking tasks like trimming, sanding, and cutting curves. The DEWALT tools lack the heavy-duty fastening capability of the CRAFTSMAN impact driver. If your projects involve more cutting and finishing than drilling, the DEWALT selection is more suitable.
motor type
The DEWALT kit highlights brushless motors for its router, sander, and jig saw. Brushless motors offer greater efficiency and longer runtime compared to brushed motors. The CRAFTSMAN kit does not explicitly state that its tools use brushless motors in the provided data. This means the DEWALT tools likely provide better performance per battery charge. The CRAFTSMAN drill driver delivers 280 UWO of power, while the impact driver offers 1,460 in-lbs of torque. Without knowing the motor type for CRAFTSMAN, the DEWALT brushless technology provides a clear advantage in runtime and efficiency.
battery capacity
The DEWALT kit includes two batteries: a 5.0Ah XR Lithium-Ion pack and a 2.0Ah compact battery. The 5.0Ah pack provides up to 60% more capacity than standard 20V MAX batteries. This allows for extended use before recharging. The CRAFTSMAN kit states that a battery and charger are included but does not specify the amp-hour rating. This makes direct comparison of runtime difficult. However, the DEWALT kit offers a higher capacity option for heavier jobs. If you need longer runtimes without swapping batteries frequently, the DEWALT 5.0Ah battery is a significant benefit.
voltage
Both the CRAFTSMAN and DEWALT kits operate on the 20V MAX platform. This means the batteries are compatible within their respective ecosystems, but not cross-compatible between brands. The voltage rating is identical for both systems, so neither has a power advantage based on voltage alone. You can use the same battery size in both kits if you own other tools from that brand. The performance difference comes from how each brand utilizes that voltage. Since both use 20V MAX, this aspect is a tie in terms of raw platform specification.
Choose Your 4-Tool or 3-Tool Kit
General DIYers needing drill and saw
This CRAFTSMAN kit gives you four tools, including a 1/2-inch drill and a 6-1/2-inch circular saw. The drill offers 280 UWO of power with a two-speed gearbox. The impact driver provides 1,460 in-lbs of torque. You also get a pivoting LED task light for better visibility in dim areas.
Woodworkers wanting precision and efficiency
The DEWALT set features brushless motors for longer runtime and efficiency. It includes a variable-speed router, a random orbital sander, and a jig saw. You receive a 5.0 Ah XR battery with 60% more capacity than standard packs, plus a 2.0 Ah battery and a contractor bag for organization.
Users prioritizing maximum versatility
You get four distinct tools in this CRAFTSMAN bundle. The inclusion of an impact driver alongside a drill and circular saw covers more fastening and cutting tasks. The added LED task light helps you see workpieces clearly. This four-tool count provides a broader range of capabilities right out of the box.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit | Users needing a circular saw and impact driver | Check price of CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit on Amazon |
| 2 | DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit | Detailed woodworking tasks | Check price of DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit on Amazon |
The products compared
CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit
Best for: Users needing a circular saw and impact driver
- Number of Tools
- 4-Tool (what this guide is about)
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Battery Included
- Battery and charger included
- Chuck Size
- 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
- Included Accessories
- 6-1/2 in. blade, charger
- Included Tools
- Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit Affiliate link
This CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX 4-tool kit includes a drill driver, impact driver, circular saw, and LED task light. It features a 20V MAX motor with 280 UWO in the drill and 1,460 in-lbs of torque in the impact driver. The circular saw runs at 4,200 RPM with a 6-1/2 inch blade. It is designed for users needing a complete cordless system with a 3-year limited warranty.
Pros
- Includes four tools: drill driver, impact driver, circular saw, and LED light
- Impact driver delivers 1,460 in-lbs of torque and 3,100 BPM
- Circular saw operates at 4,200 RPM with a 6-1/2 inch blade
- LED task light provides 140 lumens for improved visibility
Cons
- Drill driver has a 2-speed gearbox with a maximum of 1,500 RPM
- Circular saw is limited to 6-1/2 inch blade capacity
- 3-year limited warranty is shorter than some competitor offerings
Good fit if
- You need a complete set of four essential cordless tools
- You require high torque for heavy-duty fastening tasks
- You want a system with a 20V MAX battery platform
Skip if
- You need a brushless motor for extended runtime
- You require a 5-year or longer warranty coverage
- You prefer a 3-tool kit to reduce weight and cost
Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Kit offers a robust set of tools with high torque output. It fits users who need a circular saw and impact driver for demanding jobs.
DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit
Best for: Detailed woodworking tasks
- Number of Tools
- 3-Tool (what this guide is about)
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Battery Capacity
- 5.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah
- Battery Included
- Battery and charger included
- Included Accessories
- Contractor Bag
View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit Affiliate link
This DEWALT kit includes a brushless router, sander, and jig saw. It runs on 20V MAX power with a 5.0Ah and 2.0Ah battery. The brushless motors offer better runtime and efficiency. The router features a variable-speed dial for different applications. This set suits users who need precision tools for detailed woodworking tasks.
Pros
- Brushless motors for improved runtime and efficiency
- Variable-speed dial on the router
- Includes 5.0Ah and 2.0Ah batteries
Cons
- Only includes three tools
- No circular saw included
- Limited to 20V MAX system
Good fit if
- You need a router for detailed work
- You want brushless motor efficiency
- You already own 20V MAX batteries
Skip if
- You require a circular saw
- You need more than three tools
- You prefer corded power tools
Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX 3-Tool Kit is ideal for woodworkers needing a router and sander. It delivers efficient performance through brushless motors and includes two battery sizes for extended use.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit | DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 4 | 3 |
| Voltage | 20V MAX | 20V MAX |
| Motor Type | not stated | Brushless |
| Battery Capacity | not stated | 5.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah |
| Battery Included | Battery and charger included | Battery and charger included |
| Chuck Size | 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex | not stated |
| Included Accessories | 6-1/2 in. blade, charger | Contractor Bag |
| Included Tools | Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw | Sander, Jig Saw |
| Power Source | Cordless | Cordless |
| Dimensions | 19 × 9.6 × 11.5 inches | 16.2 × 10.2 × 9.6 inches |
| Weight | 16.9 pounds | not stated |
| Model | CMCK401D2 | DCK307D1P1 |
| Color | not stated | Yellow/Black |
Frequently asked questions
Is a 4-tool kit better than a 3-tool kit for general home repairs?
A 4-tool kit often provides more versatility for general repairs. The CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Kit includes a drill driver, impact driver, and circular saw. This combination covers drilling, driving, and cutting tasks. You get a broader range of capabilities right out of the box compared to a 3-tool set.
Which kit is better for detailed woodworking projects?
The DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Kit is ideal for detailed woodworking. It includes a sander and a jig saw. These tools deliver efficient performance through brushless motors. The kit also includes two battery sizes for extended use, making it suitable for tasks requiring precision and finish quality.
Do both kits use the same battery platform?
Yes, both kits operate on a 20V MAX cordless platform. The CRAFTSMAN kit uses V20 batteries, while the DEWALT kit uses 20V MAX batteries. You can often share batteries between brands within the same voltage class. Both kits include a battery and charger in the box.
How much does a 4-tool kit weigh?
The CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Kit weighs 16.9 pounds. It measures 19 inches in length, 11.5 inches in height, and 9.6 inches in width. This weight includes the tools and batteries. The DEWALT kit dimensions are 16.2 inches long, 9.6 inches high, and 10.2 inches wide.
What tools are included in the CRAFTSMAN 4-tool kit?
The CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Kit includes a drill driver, an impact driver, and a circular saw. It also includes a task light. The drill driver features a 1/2-inch chuck. This set is designed for users needing a circular saw and impact driver for demanding jobs.
What tools are included in the DEWALT 3-tool kit?
The DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Kit includes a sander and a jig saw. It also includes a third tool, likely a drill or driver, though the list specifies sander and jig saw. The kit features brushless motors for efficiency. It is best for detailed woodworking tasks.
Can I use the CRAFTSMAN kit for construction work?
Yes, the CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Kit is robust for construction. It offers high torque output suitable for demanding jobs. The included impact driver and circular saw are essential for building tasks. The drill driver provides reliable performance for fastening and drilling in various materials.
Is the DEWALT kit suitable for beginners?
The DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Kit is suitable for beginners in woodworking. It includes a sander and jig saw for finishing and cutting. The brushless motors provide efficient performance. The kit includes two battery sizes for extended use, allowing you to work without frequent interruptions.

