Bare Tool or Battery and Charger Included Oscillating Tools? Compared by Specs
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
This comparison examines the bare tool vs battery and charger included oscillating tool options from DEWALT. Both models share a 20V MAX brushless motor and a 3-speed selector. They also feature a tool-free Quick-Change system and a universal adapter. The main difference lies in what you receive. One package includes only the motor unit. The other provides the tool along with a battery and charger. This distinction changes how you start using the device.
Key differences
| Aspect | DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Brushless Oscillating Tool | DEWALT 20V MAX XR Cordless Oscillating Tool |
|---|---|---|
| Battery Included | Tool only | Battery and charger included |
| Included Accessories | Two wood cutting blades | Not listed |
| Weight | 9.6 pounds | 2.33 pounds |
| Dimensions | 12 x 6.61 x 3.07 inches | 17.2 x 5.03 x 9.65 inches |
Which one should you choose?
Choose DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Brushless Oscillating Tool if
- You already own compatible 20V MAX batteries and a charger
- You want to receive two wood cutting blades immediately
- You prefer a lighter, more compact package for storage
Choose DEWALT 20V MAX XR Cordless Oscillating Tool if
- You need a complete kit without buying extra items
- You want the battery and charger ready for immediate use
- You are starting a new DEWALT 20V MAX collection
Verdict: Choose the bare tool if you already have the necessary power source and accessories. Pick the kit with battery and charger if you need everything in one box to start working right away. Both tools offer identical performance and features.
Bare Tool Versus Full Kit Comparison
Battery Included
The primary difference between these two DEWALT models is immediate readiness. Product A, the DCS356B, is sold as a bare tool. This means you receive only the oscillating tool body without a power source. You must already own compatible 20V MAX batteries and a charger to use it. Product B, the DCS356D1, comes with a battery and charger included. This kit allows you to start working immediately upon unboxing. If you do not have existing DEWALT 20V batteries, Product B offers significant convenience. If you already have the batteries, Product A saves you from buying redundant power sources.
Motor Type
Both Product A and Product B utilize the same DEWALT 20V MAX XR brushless motor. This motor technology is designed to deliver up to 57% more run time compared to traditional brushed motors. The brushless design also typically offers longer tool life and better efficiency. Since both models share this core power component, there is no difference in raw motor performance or runtime potential between the two options. You get identical cutting power and durability from the motor itself, regardless of which package you choose. The operational experience regarding power delivery remains consistent across both SKUs.
Speed Settings
Both oscillating tools feature a 3-speed selector. This allows you to adjust the oscillations per minute based on the specific application. The speed ranges are identical for both Product A and Product B: 0-13,000 OPM for low speed, 0-17,000 OPM for medium speed, and 0-20,000 OPM for high speed. This versatility lets you switch between delicate sanding tasks and aggressive cutting or grinding. Since the control interface and speed capabilities are the same, neither product holds an advantage here. You will have the same level of precision and power control with either model.
Accessory Interface
Both models use a universal accessory adapter and a Quick-Change system. This interface allows you to attach blades and attachments from most major oscillating tool brands. The Quick-Change mechanism enables tool-free blade changes, meaning you can swap accessories quickly without needing wrenches. This compatibility ensures you can use a wide variety of blades for cutting, sanding, or scraping. Since the physical adapter and locking mechanism are identical on both the bare tool and the kit version, your accessory compatibility remains unchanged. You can use the same blades and attachments with either product.
Included Tools
Product A includes two wood cutting blades along with the tool body. These blades allow you to begin basic cutting tasks right away, even though you need your own battery. Product B includes the tool, battery, and charger, but the data does not list specific blades in the included accessories. This means Product A provides immediate cutting capability with its two blades, while Product B focuses on providing the power system. If you need blades immediately and lack a battery, Product A is more complete. If you have a battery, the blades in Product A are a useful addition.
Weight
The weight specifications differ significantly between the two listings. Product A is listed at 9.6 pounds, while Product B is listed at 2.33 pounds. It is important to note that Product A is a bare tool, so this weight likely refers to the tool body alone or a packaging discrepancy in the data source. Product B includes a battery and charger, so its weight should theoretically be higher than the bare tool. The 2.33-pound figure for the kit seems unusually light for a tool plus battery and charger. Assuming the data is accurate, Product B appears much lighter, but this may reflect a data error regarding the bare tool weight comparison.
Choose based on battery status
Existing 20V MAX system owner
You already own 20V MAX batteries. This bare tool lets you add power without buying a redundant pack. The brushless motor offers up to 57% more run time than brushed versions. You get variable speed control via a dual-grip trigger. The quick-change system allows tool-free blade swaps. The universal adapter fits most accessory brands for versatile use.
First-time user needing kit
You need a complete setup from the start. This option includes the battery and charger, so you can work immediately. It shares the same 20V MAX brushless motor for efficiency. The 3-speed selector helps match oscillations to your material. You also get the LED light for dark areas. This kit removes the need to source separate power components.
Budget conscious buyer
You want to minimize upfront costs. The bare tool is often cheaper if you have compatible batteries. You save money by not paying for a battery and charger twice. The core performance remains identical with the brushless motor. You still access the quick-change system and universal adapter. This approach is practical if you already own the necessary power source.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Brushless Oscillating Tool | existing DEWALT 20V MAX battery owners | Check price of DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Brushless Oscillating Tool on Amazon |
| 2 | DEWALT 20V MAX XR Cordless Oscillating Tool | Users needing a complete battery kit | Check price of DEWALT 20V MAX XR Cordless Oscillating Tool on Amazon |
The products compared
DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Brushless Oscillating Tool
Best for: existing DEWALT 20V MAX battery owners
- Battery Included
- Bare Tool (what this guide is about)
- Power Source
- 20V MAX Cordless
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Oscillations per Minute
- 0-13,000/0-17,000/0-20,000 OPM
- Speed Settings
- 3-speed selector
View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Brushless Oscillating Tool Affiliate link
This bare tool offers a brushless motor for extended run time and a 3-speed selector for precise control. You get oscillations up to 20,000 OPM and a quick-change blade system. It includes a bright LED and two wood cutting blades. This kit is ideal for users who already own compatible 20V MAX batteries and need a reliable, high-performance tool for various cutting and grinding tasks.
Pros
- Brushless motor delivers up to 57% more run time
- 3-speed selector offers 0-13,000/0-17,000/0-20,000 OPM
- Quick-Change system allows tool-free blade swaps
- Dual-Grip variable speed trigger for application control
- Universal accessory adapter fits most brands
Cons
- Sold as a bare tool without battery or charger
- Heavier at 9.6 pounds compared to lighter models
- Includes only two wood cutting blades
Good fit if
- You already own DEWALT 20V MAX batteries
- You need variable speed control for detailed work
- You want a brushless motor for longer runtime
Skip if
- You need a complete kit with battery and charger
- You prefer a lighter tool for overhead use
- You require more than two included blades
Verdict: DEWALT 20V XR Brushless Oscillating Tool fits professionals who already have 20V MAX batteries and need high-speed versatility. It is not suitable for buyers seeking a ready-to-use kit with power source included.
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Cordless Oscillating Tool
Best for: Users needing a complete battery kit
- Battery Included
- Battery and Charger Included (what this guide is about)
- Power Source
- 20V MAX
- Voltage
- 20V
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Speed Settings
- 3-speed selector
- Accessory Interface
- Universal accessory adapter
View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX XR Cordless Oscillating Tool Affiliate link
This DEWALT kit includes the tool, battery, and charger. It features a brushless motor for extended runtime. You get a 3-speed selector and a dual-grip variable speed trigger for control. The tool-free quick-change system lets you swap blades fast. A universal adapter fits most accessories. The LED light helps in dark areas. It weighs 2.33 pounds.
Pros
- Brushless motor delivers up to 57% more run time
- 3-speed selector for application-specific speed control
- Tool-free quick-change accessory system
- Universal accessory adapter for most brands
Cons
- Heavier at 2.33 pounds than some bare tools
- Only 3 fixed speed settings, not infinitely variable
- No mention of a carrying case in the data
Good fit if
- You need a complete kit with battery and charger
- You want brushless motor efficiency
- You use universal oscillating accessories
Skip if
- You already have 20V MAX batteries
- You prefer a lighter bare tool
- You need infinitely variable speed control
Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool is a solid choice for users who want a complete kit with brushless efficiency. It fits those who value quick blade changes and universal adapter compatibility.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Brushless Oscillating Tool | DEWALT 20V MAX XR Cordless Oscillating Tool |
|---|---|---|
| Power Source | 20V MAX Cordless | 20V MAX |
| Voltage | 20V MAX | 20V |
| Motor Type | Brushless | Brushless |
| Oscillations per Minute | 0-13,000/0-17,000/0-20,000 OPM | not stated |
| Speed Settings | 3-speed selector | 3-speed selector |
| Accessory Interface | Universal accessory adapter | Universal accessory adapter |
| Blade Change | Quick-Change, tool-free | Quick-Change |
| Battery Included | Tool only | Battery and charger included |
| Included Accessories | Two wood cutting blades | not stated |
| Included Tools | Work Light, Oscillating Tool | Work Light, Oscillating Tool |
| Dimensions | 12 × 6.61 × 3.07 inches | 17.2 × 5.03 × 9.65 inches |
| Weight | 9.6 pounds | 2.33 pounds |
| Size | One Size | not stated |
| Color | Multi | not stated |
| Model | DCS356B | DCS356D1 |
Frequently asked questions
What is the weight difference between the bare tool and the kit?
The bare tool model weighs 9.6 pounds, while the kit version weighs 2.33 pounds. This significant difference accounts for the included batteries and charger in the second option. You should consider this weight if you plan to carry the tool frequently. The bare tool is lighter when you exclude the power source.
Does the bare tool come with a work light?
Yes, the bare tool option includes a work light. This feature helps you see your work area clearly in dim conditions. The kit version does not list a work light in its included tools. You get the light only with the specific bare tool model that also includes the oscillating tool body.
Are both models cordless?
Both models are cordless and powered by 20V MAX batteries. You do not need a power outlet to use either tool. The power source is the only variable between them. One requires you to supply the battery, while the other provides it. Both rely on the same voltage system for operation.
What are the dimensions of the oscillating tool itself?
The bare tool measures 12 inches in length, 6.61 inches in width, and 3.07 inches in height. The kit listing provides different overall dimensions, likely including the battery and charger packaging. You should check the specific tool body size if you need to fit it into a tight space. The tool body is compact for maneuverability.
Can I use my existing DEWALT 20V batteries with the bare tool?
Yes, the bare tool is designed for existing DEWALT 20V MAX battery owners. You can insert your current batteries to power the device immediately. This makes it ideal if you already own the power source. The kit version is better if you do not have compatible batteries yet.
Is the motor type the same for both options?
Yes, both models feature a brushless motor. This type of motor offers improved efficiency and durability compared to brushed versions. You get the same performance regardless of whether you buy the bare tool or the kit. The brushless design helps extend the life of the tool during heavy use.
Does the kit include a charger?
Yes, the second option is labeled as battery and charger included. You receive everything needed to start working right away. The bare tool does not include a charger. You must purchase one separately if you choose the bare tool option. This affects your initial setup time and requirements.

