Battery Included in Power Tool Combo Kits: What It Is and Is It Worth It?
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
Battery Included Explained for Buyers
You will often see two distinct labels when shopping for power tool combo kits. These labels tell you exactly what is in the box. The first option is Bare Tool. The second is Battery and Charger Included. Understanding this difference is critical before you make a purchase.
When a listing says Bare Tool, it means you are buying the drill, saw, or driver without any power source. The device relies on a separate battery system. You must already own compatible batteries and a charger. This option is useful if you already have a collection from the same brand. It saves you from buying redundant equipment. However, you cannot use the tool immediately out of the box. You need to ensure your existing batteries fit the new tool.
The Battery and Charger Included option is the complete package. The kit provides the tools, one or more batteries, and the charging station. This is the standard for most combo kits. It ensures you have everything needed to start working right away. You do not need to worry about compatibility. The charger is designed specifically for the included batteries.
Why does this matter to you? It affects your immediate usability and long-term costs. If you are starting fresh, the complete kit is the logical choice. You get a working setup without extra shopping. If you are expanding an existing system, the bare tool might save space and money. Always check the spec sheet. Look for the exact phrase battery included explained to clarify what you are getting. Do not assume a battery is there. The label is your only guide. Read it carefully to avoid surprises when the box arrives.
Bare Tool vs Battery Included Kits
Bare Tool
This designation means the kit contains only the power tools themselves. You do not receive batteries or a charger in the box. This option suits users who already own compatible batteries from the same brand ecosystem. It reduces the initial weight and bulk of the package. However, you cannot use the tools immediately. You must purchase batteries and a charger separately. This adds to the total cost and time before first use. It is a practical choice for contractors who already have a full set of power sources. It allows you to upgrade tools without replacing your existing battery inventory. The trade-off is the need for separate accessories to make the tools functional.
Battery and Charger Included
This option provides a complete, ready-to-use package. The box includes the tools, at least one battery, and a charger. This setup is ideal for DIYers or professionals starting with a new brand. You can begin working immediately upon unboxing. For example, the DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit includes two batteries for extended runtime. This eliminates the need for separate accessory purchases. It ensures compatibility between the tools, batteries, and charger. The main trade-off is a higher upfront price for the kit. You also manage the weight of the batteries. This option offers convenience and immediate utility, making it the standard choice for most general users.
Is It Worth The Battery Bundle
Who needs it
You need the battery and charger included option if you are starting fresh with no existing tools. This path saves you the separate purchase of power sources. You get immediate functionality right out of the box. The kit provides a complete system ready for your first project. This is ideal for homeowners who do not own any compatible batteries yet. It eliminates the guesswork of matching voltage systems. You avoid the hassle of sourcing a charger separately. The included components are guaranteed to work with the tools. This ensures compatibility without research. You save time by getting everything required for operation in one package. This choice is practical for those who want a turnkey solution. You do not need to worry about missing pieces. The bundle offers a straightforward entry into the brand ecosystem. It is the most efficient route for new users.
Who can skip it
You can skip the battery bundle if you already own compatible batteries from the same brand. Buying bare tools allows you to use your existing power sources. This option is more cost-effective for experienced users with established tool collections. You avoid paying for batteries you already have. Prioritize tool variety and quantity over the power source. Focus on getting more drills, drivers, or saws for the same budget. Bare tools let you expand your collection incrementally. You can mix and match different tool types as needed. This approach offers greater flexibility for specialized tasks. You only buy batteries when you need more runtime or spares. This strategy maximizes the utility of your current investments. It is better for professionals who rotate between multiple jobsites and tool sets. You gain control over your power source upgrades independently.
Key Kit Glossary Terms
Bare Tool
The power tool sold without any batteries or charger. You must buy these separately or use existing compatible units from the same brand ecosystem.
Voltage
The electrical pressure driving the motor, typically 12V, 18V, or 20V. Higher voltage usually provides more torque and power for heavy-duty tasks.
Amp-Hour (Ah)
A measure of battery capacity. A 2.0Ah battery holds less energy than a 5.0Ah unit, affecting how long you can work before recharging.
Motor Type
Describes the internal mechanism, such as brushed or brushless. Brushless motors offer longer life and better efficiency than traditional brushed designs.
Chuck Size
The diameter of the drill bit holder opening. Common sizes are 3/8-inch or 1/2-inch, determining the maximum drill bit thickness you can use.
Power Source
Indicates whether the tool runs on corded electricity or cordless batteries. Cordless kits offer mobility, while corded tools provide continuous power.
Included Tools
The specific power tools packed in the box, such as a drill, impact driver, or circular saw. Check the list to ensure you get what you need.
Quick picks
Our 6 picks
DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit
Best for: Woodworking projects needing a router
- Battery Included
- Battery and Charger Included (what this guide is about)
- Number of Tools
- 3
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Battery Capacity
- 5.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah
- Included Accessories
- Contractor Bag
View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit Affiliate link
This DEWALT kit includes a router, sander, and jig saw. It features brushless motors for better runtime. You get a 5.0 Ah and a 2.0 Ah battery. The 4 Amp charger is included. The contractor bag helps with storage. This set suits users needing versatile woodworking tools. It offers solid power for various projects.
Pros
- Three brushless tools for efficient performance
- Includes 5.0 Ah and 2.0 Ah batteries
- Variable-speed dial on the router
- Contractor bag for organized storage
Cons
- Higher weight and bulk due to included batteries
- No dedicated carrying case for individual tools
- Limited to 20V MAX voltage platform
Good fit if
- You need a router and sander
- You want brushless motor efficiency
- You prefer a contractor bag
Skip if
- You only need a drill and impact driver
- You prefer corded tools for unlimited runtime
- You need a single-tool starter kit
Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX 3-Tool Combo Kit fits woodworkers needing a router and sander. It provides strong runtime with two batteries.
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill, Impact Driver and Work Light Kit
Best for: Users needing two batteries and a work light
- Battery Included
- Battery and Charger Included (what this guide is about)
- Number of Tools
- 3
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Chuck Size
- 1/2 in. chuck
- Included Tools
- Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Work Light
- Power Source
- Cordless
View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill, Impact Driver and Work Light Kit Affiliate link
This DEWALT kit includes a drill, impact driver, and LED work light. It features a 20V MAX system with two batteries and a charger. The drill delivers 300 unit watts out. The impact driver is compact at 5.55 inches. The set weighs 9.4 pounds. You get a 1/2-inch chuck for secure bit gripping. This setup suits users needing versatile cordless power for various tasks.
Pros
- Includes two batteries and a charger
- Drill delivers 300 unit watts out
- Compact 5.55-inch impact driver design
- 1/2-inch single-sleeve ratcheting chuck
Cons
- Heavier at 9.4 pounds total weight
- Motor is not specified as brushless
- No remote or app connectivity listed
Good fit if
- You need a drill and impact driver combo
- You want two batteries included for extended use
- You require a portable LED work light
Skip if
- You prefer brushless motors for efficiency
- You need a lightweight tool under 2 pounds
- You want smart connectivity features
Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX 3-Tool Cordless Kit offers solid power with two batteries. It fits users who value included runtime and a work light. It is less ideal for those prioritizing brushless technology.
CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit
Best for: General home repairs and basic carpentry
- Battery Included
- Battery and Charger Included (what this guide is about)
- Number of Tools
- 4
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Chuck Size
- 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
- Included Accessories
- 6-1/2 in. blade, charger
- Included Tools
- Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit Affiliate link
This kit includes a drill, impact driver, circular saw, and task light. It comes with batteries and a charger, so you can start working right away. The drill offers 280 UWO of power with a two-speed gearbox. The impact driver delivers 1,460 in-lbs of torque. The circular saw cuts with a 6-1/2 inch blade. This setup is ideal for users who need a complete, ready-to-use tool set for general home projects.
Pros
- Includes battery and charger for immediate use
- Drill provides 280 UWO of power
- Impact driver delivers 1,460 in-lbs of torque
- Circular saw features a 6-1/2 inch blade
Cons
- Heavier build at 16.9 pounds
- Drill lacks brushless motor technology
- Circular saw has no variable speed trigger
Good fit if
- You want a complete kit with batteries included
- You need a circular saw for cutting 2x material
- You prefer a single system for multiple tools
Skip if
- You require brushless motors for longer life
- You need a lighter tool for overhead work
- You only need a drill and impact driver
Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Kit with Batteries suits DIYers who want a ready-to-use set with a circular saw. It is a solid choice for general home repairs and basic carpentry tasks.
CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: Users needing a complete 20V brushless kit
- Battery Included
- Battery and Charger Included (what this guide is about)
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 20V
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Maximum Torque
- 1,800 in.-lbs.
- Chuck Size
- 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in.
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This kit includes a 20V brushless drill/driver and impact driver. It features a 1/2-inch chuck and two-speed gearbox. The drill reaches 2,000 RPM, while the impact driver delivers 1,800 in-lbs of torque. It comes with two batteries and a charger. You get onboard bit holders for quick access. This setup suits users needing reliable power for general construction and DIY tasks.
Pros
- Brushless motors for improved efficiency
- Includes two batteries and charger
- 1/2-inch chuck with two-speed gearbox
- 1,800 in-lbs max driving torque
- Onboard bit holders for convenience
Cons
- Only includes two tools in the kit
- Lacks a dedicated carrying case in the data
- Heavier at 8 pounds compared to bare tools
Good fit if
- You need a complete kit with batteries
- You prefer brushless motor technology
- You want a 1/2-inch chuck size
Skip if
- You require more than two tools
- You need a built-in light
- You want a lighter single-tool setup
Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Kit provides solid torque and includes batteries. It fits contractors who need ready-to-use power tools without buying extras separately.
CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit
Best for: Users needing a two-tool brushless kit with batteries
- Battery Included
- Battery and Charger Included (what this guide is about)
- Voltage
- V20
- Included Tools
- Drill and Impact Driver
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Maximum Torque
- 1,500 in-lbs.
- Chuck Size
- 1/2-in.
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link
This Craftsman V20 RP kit includes a brushless drill driver and impact driver. It comes with two batteries and a charger. The drill features a 1/2-inch ratcheting chuck and a two-speed gearbox. The impact driver delivers 1,500 in-lbs of torque. This setup suits users needing reliable runtime for heavy-duty tasks on the jobsite.
Pros
- Brushless motors provide up to 25% more runtime for the drill
- Impact driver delivers 1,500 in-lbs of torque
- Includes two batteries and a charger
- 1/2-inch ratcheting chuck improves bit retention
Cons
- Only includes two tools in the kit
- Maximum torque is limited to 1,500 in-lbs
- Heavier build at 8.27 pounds
Good fit if
- You need a complete kit with batteries included
- You require high torque for heavy-duty applications
- You prefer brushless motor technology for extended runtime
Skip if
- You need more than two tools in your combo
- You require a lighter tool for overhead work
- You are looking for higher torque than 1,500 in-lbs
Verdict: Craftsman V20 RP Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Kit offers solid torque and runtime for users who need a two-tool setup with batteries included. It fits professionals who prioritize durability and power over a larger tool count.
DEWALT 20V Brushless Drywall Screw Gun and Cut-Out Kit
Best for: Drywall installation and cut-out work
- Battery Included
- Battery and Charger Included (what this guide is about)
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Included Tools
- Drywall screw gun, cut-out tool
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Included Accessories
- 2 batteries, charger
View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V Brushless Drywall Screw Gun and Cut-Out Kit Affiliate link
This kit includes a drywall screw gun and a cut-out tool, both powered by a 20V MAX brushless motor. It comes with two batteries and a charger, ensuring you have power ready for extended jobs. The tools feature a wide variable speed range and four dedicated modes for precise control. This setup is ideal for professionals who need reliable, high-speed performance for drywall installation and cutting tasks.
Pros
- Brushless motor for efficient performance and runtime
- Includes two batteries and a charger
- 26,000 RPM for fast cutting performance
- Four dedicated tool modes for versatile operation
Cons
- Only two tools included in the kit
- No belt clip mentioned in specifications
- Single battery capacity may require swapping for large jobs
Good fit if
- You are installing drywall and need dedicated tools
- You want a brushless motor for longer runtime
- You need a kit with batteries and charger included
Skip if
- You need more than two tools in one kit
- You prefer a corded tool for unlimited runtime
- You require a drill or impact driver in the set
Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX XR Drywall Combo Kit is a focused solution for drywall installers who need high-speed screw driving and cutting in one package. It fits those who value included batteries and brushless efficiency over a multi-tool variety.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit | DEWALT 20V MAX Drill, Impact Driver and Work Light Kit | CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit | CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Kit | CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit | DEWALT 20V Brushless Drywall Screw Gun and Cut-Out Kit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 3 | 3 | 4 | 2 | not stated | 2 |
| Voltage | 20V MAX | 20V MAX | 20V MAX | 20V | V20 | 20V MAX |
| Included Tools | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | Drill and Impact Driver | Drywall screw gun, cut-out tool |
| Motor Type | Brushless | not stated | not stated | Brushless | Brushless | Brushless |
| Battery Capacity | 5.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Battery Included | Battery and charger included | 2 batteries and charger included | Battery and charger included | 2 batteries and charger included | 2 Batteries and Charger Included | 2 batteries and charger included |
| Maximum Torque | not stated | not stated | not stated | 1,800 in.-lbs. | 1,500 in-lbs. | not stated |
| Chuck Size | not stated | 1/2 in. chuck | 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex | 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. | 1/2-in. | not stated |
| Included Accessories | Contractor Bag | not stated | 6-1/2 in. blade, charger | Onboard bit holders | not stated | 2 batteries, charger |
| Power Source | Cordless | Cordless | Cordless | not stated | Cordless | not stated |
| Dimensions | 16.2 × 10.2 × 9.6 inches | 15 × 6.3 × 9.8 inches | 19 × 9.6 × 11.5 inches | 12.9 × 5.75 × 9.8 inches | 12.9 × 5.75 × 9.8 inches | not stated |
| Weight | not stated | 9.4 pounds | 16.9 pounds | 8 pounds | 8.18 pounds | not stated |
| Color | Yellow/Black | Multi | not stated | Black, Red | Black/Red | Black/Yellow |
| Model | DCK307D1P1 | DCK3XXX2 | CMCK401D2 | CMCK2530C2 | CMCK211C2 | DCK265D2 |
| Size | not stated | One Size | not stated | not stated | not stated | One Size |
Frequently asked questions
Does a battery included kit come with a charger?
Yes. The label Battery and Charger Included confirms the box contains both power sources and the charging unit. Every kit in this guide, from the DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit to the CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit, includes these items. You do not need to purchase a charger separately.
How many batteries are in a battery included kit?
Most kits include two batteries. The DEWALT 20V MAX Drill, Impact Driver and Work Light Kit provides two batteries for solid runtime. The CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit also includes two batteries. This allows you to swap batteries while one charges, keeping your workflow continuous.
Can I use batteries from another brand in these kits?
No. These kits belong to specific brand ecosystems. The DEWALT 20V MAX tools require DEWALT 20V batteries. The CRAFTSMAN V20 tools require CRAFTSMAN V20 batteries. You cannot mix brands. Ensure you stick to the brand of the kit you choose to ensure compatibility.
Is a battery included kit better for beginners?
Yes. Beginners benefit from the ready-to-use nature of these kits. The CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Kit provides solid torque and includes batteries. You do not need to research compatible chargers or batteries. The kit arrives fully functional for immediate use on your first project.
Do battery included kits use brushless motors?
Many do, but not all. The DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit features a brushless motor. The CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit also uses brushless technology. However, the DEWALT 20V MAX Drill, Impact Driver and Work Light Kit does not specify brushless motors. Check the motor type in the specs.
What tools come with a battery included kit?
The tool count varies by kit. The DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit includes a sander and jig saw. The CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit adds a circular saw. The DEWALT 20V Brushless Drywall Screw Gun and Cut-Out Kit focuses on drywall installation. Check the Included Tools list for specifics.
Are battery included kits heavier than bare tool kits?
Yes, they are heavier due to the added batteries and charger. The CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit weighs 16.9 pounds. The DEWALT 20V MAX Drill, Impact Driver and Work Light Kit weighs 9.4 pounds. The weight includes the two batteries and charger, which bare tool kits lack.





