As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX* POWERCONNECT Cordless vs BLACK+DECKER Black Decker Gopak 4-Tool: Spec Comparison

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

This comparison looks at the black decker 20v max powerconnect cordless vs black decker gopak 4. Both kits use 20V MAX batteries and include a drill/driver with an 11-position clutch and LED work light. The main difference lies in the number of tools and battery features. One kit focuses on cutting with a circular saw and a shared battery system. The other offers four tools and a unique USB battery that also charges mobile devices.

Key differences

AspectBLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 2-Tool Cordless Combo KitBLACK+DECKER GoPak 4-Tool Combo Kit with USB Battery
Number of Tools24
Included ToolsDrill/driver, circular sawDrill/driver, plus two additional tools
Battery SystemPOWERCONNECT interchangeable systemGoPak USB battery with 2.4A output
Chuck Size1/2 in.not listed
Weight9 pounds8 pounds

Which one should you choose?

Choose BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 2-Tool Cordless Combo Kit if

  • You need to make angled cuts with a circular saw for DIY projects.
  • You want to share one battery across multiple different tools using the POWERCONNECT system.
  • You prefer a kit that includes a 5-1/2 inch blade for versatile cutting tasks.

Choose BLACK+DECKER GoPak 4-Tool Combo Kit with USB Battery if

  • You want a larger set of four tools for various household tasks.
  • You need to charge phones or tablets directly from your tool battery via USB.
  • You prefer a slightly lighter kit that weighs 8 pounds.

Verdict: Choose the 2-Tool POWERCONNECT kit if you require a circular saw and a shared battery ecosystem. Opt for the GoPak 4-Tool kit if you need more tools and the convenience of charging USB devices. Your choice depends on whether cutting capability or tool variety matters more to you.

Tool Count and Versatility Comparison

number of tools

Edge: BLACK+DECKER GoPak 4-Tool Combo Kit with USB Battery

The BLACK+DECKER GoPak 4-Tool Combo Kit includes four tools in its package, offering a broader range of capabilities for various tasks. In contrast, the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Cordless Drill/Driver + Circular Saw Combo Kit contains only two tools. If you need more instruments for different jobs, the four-tool kit provides greater versatility out of the box. The two-tool kit focuses on depth rather than breadth, giving you a drill and a saw but leaving other tasks to separate purchases.

included tools

Edge: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 2-Tool Cordless Combo Kit

The two-tool kit explicitly lists a drill/driver and a circular saw as its included components. This combination is ideal for cutting and drilling tasks. The GoPak kit lists only a drill/driver in its key specifications, though it is marketed as a four-tool set. This discrepancy suggests the additional tools might be accessories or less standard items. For clear cutting capability, the two-tool kit offers a dedicated circular saw, while the GoPak kit’s exact tool list is less transparent in the provided data.

battery system

Edge: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 2-Tool Cordless Combo Kit

The 20V MAX POWERCONNECT kit features a specific battery system designed for interchangeability across multiple tools. It includes one LBXR20 20V MAX battery. The GoPak kit highlights a 2-in-1 battery with USB output for charging devices, which is a unique feature for power banks. However, specific battery capacity details like amp-hours are not fully detailed for the GoPak in the key specs, whereas the POWERCONNECT system emphasizes a unified power source for its included tools.

drill specifications

Edge: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 2-Tool Cordless Combo Kit

Both kits include a drill/driver with an 11-position clutch to prevent screw stripping and an LED work light. The 20V MAX POWERCONNECT kit specifies a 1/2 inch chuck size, which is standard for many drill bits. The GoPak kit does not list a chuck size in the provided data. If you require a specific chuck size for your bits, the two-tool kit provides this explicit specification, ensuring compatibility with your existing accessories.

portability and weight

Edge: BLACK+DECKER GoPak 4-Tool Combo Kit with USB Battery

The GoPak 4-Tool Kit is lighter at eight pounds and has a more compact footprint with a width of 7.5 inches. The 20V MAX POWERCONNECT two-tool kit weighs nine pounds and is wider at nine inches. If you prioritize carrying the kit in a small bag or vehicle, the GoPak kit is slightly more portable. The weight difference is minimal, but the smaller dimensions of the GoPak kit may make it easier to store in tighter spaces.

Which BLACK+DECKER kit suits you best

You need a circular saw for cuts

Our pick: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 2-Tool Cordless Combo Kit

This kit includes a 5-1/2 inch circular saw. It features bevel detents at 45 and 90 degrees for angled cuts. You get tool-free depth adjustment for quick changes. The POWERCONNECT system allows one battery to run both tools. This setup is ideal if you require precise cutting capabilities alongside drilling.

You want more tools in the box

Our pick: BLACK+DECKER GoPak 4-Tool Combo Kit with USB Battery

This GoPak kit contains four tools, offering greater versatility than the two-tool option. The 2-in-1 GoPak battery charges mobile devices via USB. It includes four LED lights to show charge status. You get a drill with an 11-position clutch and work light. This choice maximizes the number of included tools.

You prefer a lighter, compact system

Our pick: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 2-Tool Cordless Combo Kit

This kit weighs 9 pounds and measures 17 inches in height. The drill/driver has a compact design for versatile use. The circular saw is well-suited for DIY tasks. The POWERCONNECT battery system ensures interchangeability. If you prioritize a manageable weight and a focused tool set, this compact configuration serves your needs effectively.

The products compared

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 2-Tool Cordless Combo Kit

Best for: DIYers needing a circular saw and drill

Number of Tools
2
Voltage
20V MAX
Included Tools
Drill/driver, circular saw
Battery Included
1 battery and charger included
Chuck Size
1/2 in. chuck
Power Source
Cordless

View on Amazon: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 2-Tool Cordless Combo Kit Affiliate link

This BLACK+DECKER kit includes a 20V MAX cordless drill/driver and a 5-1/2 inch circular saw. It features a 1/2 inch chuck and an 11-position clutch for precise screw control. The POWERCONNECT system allows one battery to power both tools. Weighing 9 pounds, it is a compact option for DIYers needing basic drilling and cutting capabilities in a single package.

Pros

  • POWERCONNECT battery system for tool interchangeability
  • 11-position clutch prevents screw stripping
  • Built-in LED work light on drill
  • Tool-free depth adjustment on saw

Cons

  • Only includes one battery and charger
  • Limited to two tools in the set
  • Heavier at 9 pounds than some competitors

Good fit if

  • You need a single battery platform for multiple tools
  • You require a circular saw for angled cuts
  • You want a compact drill with an LED light

Skip if

  • You need more than two tools in one kit
  • You require multiple batteries for extended runtime
  • You prefer a lighter weight setup

Verdict: BLACK+DECKER 20V 2-Tool Drill and Saw Kit fits DIYers who need a circular saw and drill but only want to manage one battery. It is ideal for users who value interchangeable POWERCONNECT batteries over a larger tool count.

BLACK+DECKER GoPak 4-Tool Combo Kit with USB Battery

Best for: Users needing device charging while working

Number of Tools
4
Included Tools
Drill/driver
Dimensions
17.5 × 7.5 × 10.5 inches
Weight
8 pounds

View on Amazon: BLACK+DECKER GoPak 4-Tool Combo Kit with USB Battery Affiliate link

This BLACK+DECKER Gopak kit includes a drill/driver and three additional tools. The 20V MAX* GoPak battery features a 2.4A USB output for charging mobile devices. Four LED lights show the charge level. The drill/driver has an 11-position clutch to prevent stripping screws. It also includes an LED work light. The kit weighs 8 pounds and measures 17.5 inches long.

Pros

  • 2.4A USB output charges phones and tablets
  • 11-position clutch prevents screw stripping
  • Four LED lights indicate battery state
  • LED work light illuminates surfaces

Cons

  • Only one drill/driver included
  • No variable speed trigger mentioned
  • Heavier at 8 pounds than some competitors

Good fit if

  • You need to charge devices while working
  • You want a clutch to protect screws
  • You prefer a battery with charge indicators

Skip if

  • You require multiple drill/driver tools
  • You need a lighter kit under 6 pounds
  • You want a brushless motor

Verdict: BLACK+DECKER Gopak 4-Tool Combo Kit suits users who need to charge devices on the go. The 11-position clutch and USB output make it practical for light home tasks.

Specifications side by side

Spec BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 2-Tool Cordless Combo Kit BLACK+DECKER GoPak 4-Tool Combo Kit with USB Battery
Number of Tools 2 4
Voltage 20V MAX not stated
Included Tools Drill/driver, circular saw Drill/driver
Battery Included 1 battery and charger included not stated
Chuck Size 1/2 in. chuck not stated
Power Source Cordless not stated
Dimensions 8 × 9 × 17 inches 17.5 × 7.5 × 10.5 inches
Weight 9 pounds 8 pounds
Size One Size not stated
Color Black/Orange Circular Saw Combo Kit Black
Model BD2KITCDDCS BDCK502C1

Frequently asked questions

What is the weight difference between the two kits?

The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT kit weighs 9 pounds, while the GoPak 4-Tool kit weighs 8 pounds. The GoPak is slightly lighter, making it easier to carry for light home tasks. The POWERCONNECT kit is heavier due to its included circular saw and robust build.

How do the physical dimensions compare for storage?

The GoPak 4-Tool kit measures 17.5 inches in length, 10.5 inches in height, and 7.5 inches in width. The POWERCONNECT kit is 17 inches long, 17 inches high, and 8 inches wide. The GoPak is more compact in height, while the POWERCONNECT kit is taller but slightly narrower in length.

Which kit is better for DIYers needing a circular saw?

The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT kit is the better choice. It specifically includes a circular saw alongside a drill driver. The GoPak 4-Tool kit does not include a saw in its four-tool package. If you need to make angled cuts, this kit provides the necessary tool.

Does the GoPak kit offer USB charging capabilities?

Yes, the BLACK+DECKER GoPak 4-Tool Combo Kit includes a USB battery. This feature allows you to charge devices while working on the go. The POWERCONNECT kit does not list USB output as a feature. This makes the GoPak more practical for users who need to power electronics during tasks.

What is the main difference in tool count?

The GoPak kit includes four tools, offering a broader range of capabilities. The POWERCONNECT kit includes only two tools: a drill driver and a circular saw. You get more individual tools with the GoPak, but the POWERCONNECT kit focuses on specific heavy-duty tasks like cutting.

Which model number should I look for?

The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT kit uses model number BD2KITCDDCS. The GoPak 4-Tool Combo Kit uses model number BDCK502C1. Both kits are available in black, with the POWERCONNECT kit featuring orange accents on the circular saw. Verify the model number to ensure you get the correct kit.

Is the POWERCONNECT system compatible with other tools?

The POWERCONNECT system allows for interchangeable batteries across compatible tools. This means you can manage one battery type for both the drill and the saw. The GoPak kit uses standard 20V MAX batteries. The POWERCONNECT system simplifies power management by reducing the number of different batteries you need to track.

See also