As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2 Cordless vs CRAFTSMAN RP+ Cordless Drill/Driver Kit (2026): Key Differences

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

You are comparing the craftsman 20v max 1 2 cordless vs rp cordless drill driver kit. Both tools share a 20V MAX power system and a 1/2-inch chuck. They each include two 2.0 Ah batteries and a charger. The main difference lies in their motor technology and specific performance claims. One model highlights a hammer drill function and specific runtime metrics, while the other emphasizes a brushless motor for durability and slightly higher top speed. You need to look at these specs to decide which fits your tasks.

Key differences

AspectCRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill KitCraftsman RP+ Brushless Drill
Motor TypeNot listedBrushless
Max Speed (RPM)Up to 1,7000-1,900
Tool FunctionHammer DrillDrill/Driver
Runtime ClaimUp to 80 holes per chargeUp to 25% more runtime
Weight (Tool Only)2.66 lbsNot listed
Chuck TypeNot listed1/2" ratcheting

Which one should you choose?

Choose CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit if

  • You need a hammer drill function for masonry work
  • You want a lighter tool at 2.66 lbs to reduce arm fatigue
  • You prefer a specific claim of drilling up to 80 holes per charge

Choose Craftsman RP+ Brushless Drill if

  • You want a brushless motor for improved durability and efficiency
  • You need a higher top speed of 1,900 RPM for faster drilling
  • You value a ratcheting chuck for easier bit changes and retention

Verdict: Choose the hammer drill model if you need to drill into masonry or prioritize a lighter weight. The brushless RP+ model is better for general drilling tasks where higher speed and motor durability are your main concerns. Both kits provide the same battery capacity and voltage platform.

CRAFTSMAN Drill Kit Comparison

motor type

Edge: Craftsman RP+ Brushless Drill

The Craftsman RP+ features a brushless motor, which the manufacturer states provides up to 25% more runtime and produces 350 unit watts out for improved durability. The standard 20V MAX Hammer Drill does not list its motor type in the provided specifications. Brushless motors generally offer better efficiency and longer tool life compared to brushed alternatives because they eliminate carbon brush friction. This specification gives the RP+ a clear technical advantage in terms of power management and longevity, assuming both tools are used under similar conditions.

speed settings

Edge: Craftsman RP+ Brushless Drill

Both drills offer a two-speed transmission for versatility. The standard 20V MAX Hammer Drill reaches up to 1,700 no-load RPM. The RP+ Cordless Drill/Driver Kit goes slightly faster, with a second speed range of 0-1,900 RPM. While the difference is modest, the higher maximum speed on the RP+ allows for faster drilling in high-speed applications. The first gear on the RP+ is listed at 0-600 RPM, which matches typical low-speed ranges for torque. If you need maximum rotational speed for driving large screws or drilling into softer materials, the RP+ has a slight edge.

included tools

Edge: CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit

The standard 20V MAX kit is explicitly described as a Hammer Drill that includes a work light and is classified as a hammer drill. The RP+ is labeled as a Drill/Driver Kit. The data for the standard model lists 'Hammer Drill' in its included tools, suggesting it may have a hammer function for masonry, whereas the RP+ data lists only 'Drill Driver'. If you plan to drill into concrete or brick, the hammer capability of the standard model is a significant functional difference. The RP+ data does not mention a hammer mode, so you should verify this if masonry work is part of your routine.

weight

Edge: Tie

Weight impacts comfort during extended use, especially in overhead or tight spaces. The standard 20V MAX Hammer Drill weighs 2.66 lbs for the tool only. The RP+ data lists a total kit weight of 6.02 pounds, but does not specify the tool-only weight. However, the standard model highlights a lightweight design to minimize arm fatigue. Without the specific tool-only weight for the RP+, it is difficult to make a definitive comparison on portability. If the RP+ tool is heavier than the 2.66 lb standard model, it might cause more fatigue during prolonged tasks.

chuck features

Edge: Craftsman RP+ Brushless Drill

Both drills feature a 1/2-inch chuck, which is the standard size for accepting a wide range of bits and drill bits. The RP+ specifies a ratcheting chuck, designed for improved bit retention and easier bit changes. The standard 20V MAX model lists a 1/2-inch chuck but does not specify if it is ratcheting or sleeve-style. A ratcheting chuck can hold bits more securely and may reduce slippage during high-torque applications. If you frequently change bits or work with high-torque driving, the ratcheting mechanism on the RP+ offers a practical advantage in usability and security.

compatibility

Edge: CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit

The standard 20V MAX Hammer Drill is VERSATRACK compatible, allowing you to maximize organization with tool belt clips and accessories. This is a specific ecosystem feature for storage and transport. The RP+ is part of the V20 system, which is a broader platform for power tools and outdoor equipment. The V20 system compatibility ensures your batteries work across a wide range of Craftsman tools. VERSATRACK compatibility is unique to the standard model's organization features. If you rely on specific tool belt organization systems, the standard model has an advantage. Otherwise, both fit into the larger Craftsman battery ecosystem.

Which CRAFTSMAN Drill Kit Should You Buy

Users needing hammer drill capability for masonry

Our pick: CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit

This model is a hammer drill, which you need for drilling into concrete or brick. The RP+ is a drill/driver only. It also offers a 2-speed transmission with up to 1,700 RPM and includes a double-ended bit. Its 2.66 lbs weight helps minimize arm fatigue during overhead work.

Buyers prioritizing motor efficiency and bit retention

Our pick: Craftsman RP+ Brushless Drill

The RP+ features a brushless motor, providing up to 25% more runtime and 350 unit watts out for better durability. It uses a ratcheting chuck for improved bit retention and easier changes. With speeds up to 1,900 RPM, it handles a wide range of fastening and drilling tasks efficiently.

Professionals wanting organized tool storage solutions

Our pick: CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit

This kit is VERSATRACK compatible, allowing you to maximize organization with tool belt clips and accessories sold separately. This feature helps you keep your workspace tidy. The RP+ does not mention this compatibility, making the hammer drill kit the better choice for those who value structured storage systems.

Users seeking higher top speed performance

Our pick: Craftsman RP+ Brushless Drill

The RP+ reaches up to 1,900 RPM, which is faster than the hammer drill kit's 1,700 RPM. This higher speed can improve efficiency for certain drilling tasks. Both tools include two 2.0 Ah batteries, but the brushless motor in the RP+ offers improved durability and runtime for demanding jobs.

The products compared

CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit

Best for: lightweight hammer drilling and tight-space masonry tasks

Power Source
20V MAX cordless
Voltage
20V MAX
Chuck Size
1/2 in.
Battery Included
2 batteries (2 Ah), charger
Speed Settings
2-speed
Tool Weight
2.66 lbs (tool only)

View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit Affiliate link

This kit equips you with a 20V MAX hammer drill featuring a 1/2-inch chuck, a 2-speed transmission reaching 1,700 RPM, and an integrated LED work light. The tool weighs 2.66 pounds without a battery and includes two 2.0 Ah batteries with a charger. It suits you if you need hammer drilling capability in tight spaces.

Pros

  • 2.66-pound bare tool weight minimizes handling fatigue
  • Includes two 2.0 Ah batteries and a charger
  • Two-speed gearbox with up to 1,700 RPM
  • Built-in LED illuminates dark work areas

Cons

  • Included batteries are limited to 2.0 Ah capacity
  • VERSATRACK clips and accessories are sold separately

Good fit if

  • You need hammer drill functionality alongside standard drilling
  • You want a lightweight 2.66-pound bare tool for overhead or tight spaces
  • You require two interchangeable 2.0 Ah battery packs for continuous work

Skip if

  • You need higher-capacity batteries than the supplied 2.0 Ah packs
  • You require maximum rotational speeds above 1,700 RPM

Verdict: CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Hammer Drill Kit gives masonry and general drilling capability to users seeking a compact 2.66-pound tool with two dual-battery swaps.

Craftsman RP+ Brushless Drill

Best for: general construction and repair tasks

Power Source
Cordless battery
Chuck Size
1/2 in.
Motor Type
Brushless
Battery Included
(2) V20 2.0ah batteries, charger
Speed Settings
2-speed, 0-600 and 0-1900 rpm
Included Tools
Drill Driver

View on Amazon: Craftsman RP+ Brushless Drill Affiliate link

This CRAFTSMAN RP+ kit features a brushless motor delivering 350 unit watts out. It includes a 1/2-inch ratcheting chuck for secure bit retention. The two-speed gearbox offers 0-600 and 0-1900 rpm ranges. You get two V20 2.0Ah batteries and a charger. This setup suits users needing durable performance for building or repairing tasks.

Pros

  • Brushless motor provides up to 25% more runtime
  • 1/2-inch ratcheting chuck improves bit retention
  • Two-speed gearbox handles 0-600 and 0-1900 rpm
  • Includes two V20 2.0Ah batteries

Cons

  • Heavier at 6.02 pounds
  • Smaller 2.0Ah battery capacity
  • No hammer drill function

Good fit if

  • You need reliable bit retention for frequent changes
  • You want extended runtime from a brushless motor
  • You already own V20 system tools

Skip if

  • You require hammer drilling capabilities
  • You prefer lighter tools under 5 pounds
  • You need larger battery capacity than 2.0Ah

Verdict: CRAFTSMAN RP+ Brushless Drill Driver Kit offers robust performance for general construction tasks. It fits users who prioritize motor durability and secure chuck grip over lightweight design.

Specifications side by side

Spec CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit Craftsman RP+ Brushless Drill
Power Source 20V MAX cordless Cordless battery
Voltage 20V MAX not stated
Chuck Size 1/2 in. 1/2 in.
Motor Type not stated Brushless
Battery Included 2 batteries (2 Ah), charger (2) V20 2.0ah batteries, charger
Speed Settings 2-speed 2-speed, 0-600 and 0-1900 rpm
Tool Weight 2.66 lbs (tool only) not stated
Included Tools Drill Driver, Work Light, Hammer Drill Drill Driver
Battery Capacity 2.0 Ah not stated
Dimensions 8.43 × 5.08 × 8.5 inches not stated
Weight 5.42 pounds 6.02 pounds
Color Black, Red Black/Red
Model CMCD712D2 CMCD713C2

Frequently asked questions

Does the Craftsman 20V MAX Hammer Drill include a hammer mode?

Yes, this model is a hammer drill, which allows you to drill into masonry materials like concrete or brick. The RP+ is a drill and driver only, lacking this specific function. If you need to work with hard stone or block walls, the hammer drill capability in the 20V MAX kit is essential for your tasks.

How much does the Craftsman RP+ Brushless Drill weigh?

The Craftsman RP+ Brushless Drill weighs 6.02 pounds. This is slightly heavier than the 20V MAX Hammer Drill, which weighs 5.42 pounds. The additional weight comes from its robust brushless motor design, which prioritizes durability and power output over the lightweight maneuverability offered by the standard hammer drill model for general use.

What is the difference in motor type between these two drills?

The RP+ features a brushless motor, which the manufacturer states provides up to 25% more runtime and produces 350 unit watts out. The standard 20V MAX Hammer Drill does not list its motor type in the published specifications. Brushless motors generally offer better efficiency and longer tool life compared to traditional brushed designs.

Which drill is better for lightweight drilling and driving tasks?

The 20V MAX Hammer Drill is best for lightweight drilling and driving tasks. It offers a lighter build at 5.42 pounds, fitting users who prioritize maneuverability over extended runtime. The RP+ is heavier and designed for robust performance in general construction, making it less ideal if you need a tool that is easy to handle for long periods.

Does the RP+ kit include a work light?

The data for the RP+ Brushless Drill lists only the Drill Driver as an included tool. It does not mention a work light. In contrast, the 20V MAX Hammer Drill kit explicitly includes a work light along with the drill and hammer drill. You should check the box contents if illuminated workspaces are a priority for your projects.

What is the model number for the Craftsman RP+ Drill?

The model number for the Craftsman RP+ Brushless Drill is CMCD713C2. The 20V MAX Hammer Drill has the model number CMCD712D2. Knowing these specific identifiers helps you locate the correct manuals, replacement parts, or compatible accessories for your chosen tool, ensuring you get the exact specifications required for your specific application needs.

See also