DEWALT 20V MAX Power Tool Combo Kit vs DEWALT 20V MAX Power Tools (2026): Key Differences
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
You are comparing the dewalt 20v max power tool combo kit vs 20v max power tools to find the right set for your workspace. Both kits operate on the 20V MAX platform and include two batteries and a charger. The main difference lies in the tool count and motor technology. One offers a nine-tool lineup with standard motors, while the other provides a ten-tool set featuring brushless motors. This choice affects your power efficiency and the variety of tasks you can handle.
Key differences
| Aspect | DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit | DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 9 | 10 |
| Motor Type | Not listed | Brushless |
| Included Accessories | 6-1/2 in. carbide blade | 2 bags |
| Voltage | 20V MAX | 20V MAX |
Which one should you choose?
Choose DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit if
- You need a circular saw with a 6-1/2-inch carbide blade included for single-pass cutting.
- You prefer a kit that explicitly lists a 4-1/2-inch grinder with a 7,000 RPM motor.
- You want a Bluetooth jobsite speaker that streams music from your smart phone.
Choose DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit if
- You prioritize brushless motors for potentially longer tool life and efficiency.
- You need two storage bags included in the package.
- You want a ten-tool set for maximum variety in your cordless arsenal.
Verdict: Choose the nine-tool kit if you need specific included accessories like a carbide blade and a dedicated grinder. Select the ten-tool brushless kit if you want more tools and modern motor technology. Both kits provide the same 20V MAX power source and battery support.
DEWALT 20V MAX Kit Showdown
Number of tools
The DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit includes ten individual power tools in its package. This set offers a broader range of capabilities compared to the DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit, which contains nine tools. Both kits provide a solid foundation for various jobsites. You get more versatility with the ten-tool option, allowing you to tackle slightly more diverse tasks without purchasing additional units. The nine-tool kit remains comprehensive but falls short by one tool. If having the maximum number of devices in your bag is your priority, the ten-tool version holds the advantage. For most users, the difference is minimal, but the extra tool adds value.
Motor type
The DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit features brushless motors across its included tools. Brushless technology generally offers longer motor life, increased power, and better efficiency compared to brushed motors. The DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit does not specify brushless motors in its published data, implying it likely uses traditional brushed motors for its tools. Brushless motors run cooler and require less maintenance. This means the ten-tool kit may provide better long-term performance and runtime per charge. If you prioritize durability and modern motor efficiency, the brushless option is the clear choice. The nine-tool kit may suffice for occasional use, but the ten-tool kit offers superior mechanical design.
Included accessories
Storage and organization are key for any job site. The DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit includes two bags to help you carry and organize your tools. This makes transport easier and keeps your workspace tidy. The DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit lists a 6-1/2 in. carbide blade as its included accessory but does not mention any carrying bags in its data. While the blade is useful, the absence of bags in the nine-tool kit means you must source your own storage separately. The ten-tool kit provides immediate organization solutions. For buyers who value ready-to-go portability, the included bags in the ten-tool kit are a significant practical benefit.
Specific tool features
Each kit includes unique tools with distinct features. The nine-tool kit includes an LED work light delivering 110 lumens and a Bluetooth jobsite speaker for streaming music. These features enhance workspace visibility and entertainment. The ten-tool kit also includes a Bluetooth speaker and an LED work light, but its data highlights a dual cleanup mode with a utility nozzle and hose, suggesting a vacuum or similar tool is included. The nine-tool kit specifies a 4-1/2 in. grinder with a 7,000 RPM motor. The ten-tool kit emphasizes a compact design for tight areas. Both kits offer specialized tools, but the nine-tool kit explicitly lists the light output, while the ten-tool kit highlights cleaning versatility.
Voltage and power source
Both the DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit and the DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit operate on the 20V MAX platform. They both use lithium-ion batteries and are cordless. This commonality ensures that batteries and chargers are interchangeable between the two kits. Both packages include two batteries and a charger. You can use the same power source for tools from either kit. This shared ecosystem means you do not need to worry about compatibility issues between the two sets. The voltage and power source are identical, offering equal runtime potential and charging convenience. This aspect is a complete tie, as both kits rely on the same reliable DEWALT 20V MAX system.
Which DEWALT 20V MAX Kit Fits You
Users needing maximum tool variety
This kit includes ten tools, offering one more unit than the nine-tool alternative. It features brushless motors for efficiency and includes two bags for organization. The broader selection allows you to handle more diverse tasks without buying separate components or expanding your inventory later.
Those who value specific tool specs
This set highlights a drill driver delivering 300 UWO of power. It includes a circular saw capable of cutting a 2x4 at a 45-degree angle in a single pass. The grinder operates at 7,000 RPM, and the kit provides a 110 lm LED work light for clear visibility.
Buyers preferring compact and lightweight tools
The tools in this kit are designed with a compact profile, measuring 7.6 inches from front to back. This lightweight design fits into tight areas easily. The variable speed trigger provides control on delicate surfaces, while the rubber overmolded grip ensures balance and comfort during extended use.
The products compared
DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit
Best for: Users needing nine tools and a Bluetooth speaker
- Number of Tools
- 9
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Included Accessories
- 6-1/2 in. carbide blade
- Included Tools
- Drill Driver, Work Light, Reciprocating Saw, Oscillating Tool, Grinder
- Power Source
- Cordless
View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit Affiliate link
This DEWALT kit includes nine cordless tools powered by the 20V MAX platform. It features a 300 UWO drill driver and a 7,000 RPM grinder. The set includes two batteries and a charger. A Bluetooth speaker allows wireless music streaming. You get a circular saw, oscillating tool, and reciprocating saw. This bundle suits users needing a wide variety of tools for general jobsite tasks.
Pros
- Includes nine distinct cordless tools for diverse applications
- Drill driver delivers 300 unit watts out of power
- Grinder motor runs at 7,000 RPM for cutting and grinding
- Bluetooth speaker enables wireless music streaming from devices
- Two batteries and a charger are included in the kit
Cons
- Total weight reaches 50 pounds for the full set
- Drill driver specification is not listed as brushless
- Circular saw cuts 2x4 at 45 degrees in a single pass
Good fit if
- You need a comprehensive set of nine tools for various projects
- You want wireless music streaming via the built-in Bluetooth speaker
- You prefer a system with two batteries and a charger included
Skip if
- You require a lighter kit due to the 50-pound total weight
- You specifically need brushless motors for all tools in the set
- You only need a drill and impact driver without extra tools
Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Combo Kit offers a broad range of nine tools and a Bluetooth speaker, making it a solid choice for users who need versatility and audio convenience on the jobsite.
DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit
Best for: Users needing a wide variety of tools
- Number of Tools
- 10
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Included Accessories
- 2 bags
- Power Source
- Cordless
View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit Affiliate link
This DEWALT 20V MAX set includes ten cordless tools powered by brushless motors. It comes with two batteries, a charger, and two carrying bags. The kit features compact designs for tight spaces, keyless blade clamps, and tool-free wheel changes. It also includes a wireless Bluetooth speaker and an LED work light. This bundle suits users who need a wide variety of tools for diverse jobs without buying individual items.
Pros
- Includes ten cordless tools for versatile use
- Brushless motors provide efficient power delivery
- Comes with two batteries and a charger
- Compact designs fit into tight work areas
- Includes a wireless Bluetooth speaker
Cons
- Bluetooth speaker runs on 12V/20V batteries, reducing tool runtime
- No dedicated app or smart connectivity mentioned
- Two bags may be cumbersome for single-site work
Good fit if
- You need a broad range of tools in one purchase
- You work in tight spaces requiring compact tools
- You value included storage bags for organization
Skip if
- You prefer single tools over a large kit
- You require smart app connectivity for tool control
- You need more than two batteries for continuous work
Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Combo Kit offers extensive versatility with ten brushless tools and included storage. It fits professionals who need a comprehensive set for varied tasks on site.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit | DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 9 | 10 |
| Voltage | 20V MAX | 20V MAX |
| Motor Type | not stated | Brushless |
| Battery Included | 2 batteries and charger included | 2 batteries and charger included |
| Included Accessories | 6-1/2 in. carbide blade | 2 bags |
| Included Tools | Drill Driver, Work Light, Reciprocating Saw, Oscillating Tool, Grinder | not stated |
| Power Source | Cordless | Cordless |
| Dimensions | 20 × 10 × 23 inches | not stated |
| Weight | 50 pounds | not stated |
| Size | One Size | not stated |
| Color | Yellow/Black Lithium Ion 9-tool Combo Kit | Black/Yellow/Sliver |
| Model | DCK940D2 | DCK1021D2 |
Frequently asked questions
What is the main difference between the 9-tool and 10-tool DEWALT kits?
The 10-tool kit includes one additional tool compared to the 9-tool version. It also features brushless motors for better efficiency. The 9-tool kit adds a Bluetooth speaker for jobsite audio. Both use the same 20V MAX battery platform.
Does the DEWALT 9-tool combo kit include a Bluetooth speaker?
Yes, the DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit includes a Bluetooth speaker. This feature provides audio convenience on the jobsite. The kit also contains nine other tools, including a drill driver and grinder. The speaker is a unique addition not found in the 10-tool set.
Are the motors in the 10-tool kit brushless?
Yes, the DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit uses brushless motors. Brushless motors offer improved efficiency and longer runtime. This specification is listed in the product attributes. The 9-tool kit does not specify motor type in the provided data.
What is the weight of the DEWALT 9-tool combo kit?
The DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit weighs 50 pounds. This weight includes the tools, batteries, charger, and storage case. The dimensions are 20 inches long by 23 inches high. This makes it a substantial package for transport.
Does the 10-tool kit come with storage bags?
Yes, the DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit includes storage bags. The product data mentions included storage for organization. This helps keep your ten tools and accessories organized on site. The specific number of bags is not detailed in the specs.
Can I use the same batteries for both kits?
Yes, both kits operate on the 20V MAX platform. You can use any 20V MAX DEWALT battery with either kit. Both packages include two batteries and a charger. This ensures compatibility across your entire DEWALT 20V MAX tool collection.
What tools are included in the 9-tool kit?
The 9-tool kit includes a drill driver, work light, reciprocating saw, oscillating tool, and grinder. It also contains four other tools to make up the nine total. The exact list of all nine items is not fully detailed in the provided attributes.
Which kit is better for professionals needing versatility?
The 10-tool brushless kit is better for maximum versatility. It offers ten tools and brushless motor efficiency. The 9-tool kit is suitable if you need a Bluetooth speaker. Choose the 10-tool set for broader tool variety and motor performance.

