As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

DEWALT 20V MAX Power Tool Combo Kit vs DEWALT Tools 5 Tool Power Tool Combo Kit: Spec Comparison

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

This comparison of the dewalt 20v max power tool combo kit vs tools 5 tool power tool combo focuses on two distinct options from the same brand. Both kits operate on the 20V MAX platform and include batteries and chargers. The primary difference lies in scope and technology. One set offers five tools with brushed motors, while the other provides ten tools featuring brushless motors. You need to weigh the number of included items against the efficiency of the motor technology to decide which kit fits your workflow.

Key differences

AspectDEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo KitDEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit
Number of Tools510
Motor TypeBrushed (300 UWO)Brushless
Included ToolsDrill, Impact Driver, Oscillating Tool, Reciprocating Saw, Circular Saw10 Tools including Work Light and Bluetooth Speaker
Battery IncludedBattery and charger included2 batteries and charger included
Voltage20V MAX20V MAX

Which one should you choose?

Choose DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit if

  • You need a focused set of five essential tools for general carpentry and DIY tasks.
  • You prefer the specific inclusion of an oscillating multi-tool and a circular saw in your kit.
  • You want a lighter overall package with a lower total weight of 25 pounds.

Choose DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit if

  • You require a comprehensive set of ten tools for varied jobs and projects.
  • You want brushless motors for improved runtime and durability.
  • You value extra accessories like a LED work light, Bluetooth speaker, and dual storage bags.

Verdict: Choose the five-tool kit if you only need core drilling and cutting tools with a lower weight profile. Opt for the ten-tool brushless kit if you want maximum versatility, modern motor efficiency, and additional accessories like lights and speakers for your workspace.

DEWALT 5-Tool vs 10-Tool Spec Breakdown

Number of Tools

Edge: DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit

Product A, the DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit, includes five specific tools in its package. Product B, the DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit, offers a significantly larger set with ten tools. This doubling of tool count means Product B covers a much wider range of tasks right out of the box. If you need more variety in your arsenal without buying separate kits, Product B provides greater versatility. Product A is more focused, offering only the essential five tools. This makes Product B the clear choice for those wanting maximum utility from a single purchase.

Motor Type

Edge: DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit

Product B explicitly lists its motor type as brushless. Product A does not specify the motor type in the provided data, though it mentions a high-performance motor delivering 300 UWO for the drill. Brushless motors generally offer longer life, less maintenance, and increased efficiency compared to brushed motors. Since Product B confirms this technology, it likely provides better runtime and durability for the core tools. Product A’s specs focus on power output rather than motor construction. For buyers prioritizing modern motor efficiency and longevity, Product B has the advantage here due to the explicit brushless specification.

Included Tools

Edge: DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit

Product A includes a drill driver, impact driver, oscillating tool, reciprocating saw, and circular saw. Product B includes ten tools, which also feature a reciprocating saw and work light, along with a wireless Bluetooth speaker and vacuum. Product A’s selection is traditional for basic construction and woodworking. Product B adds unique items like a work light and speaker, which enhance job site convenience. The inclusion of a vacuum in Product B also aids in cleanup. Product A is better if you strictly need an oscillating tool and circular saw, which are not confirmed in Product B’s feature list. Product B offers more diverse utility.

Battery Included

Edge: DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit

Product A includes one battery and a charger. Product B includes two batteries and a charger. Having two batteries allows you to swap them out quickly, ensuring minimal downtime during work. Product A requires you to wait for the single battery to charge before continuing. For continuous use on a job site, Product B’s dual-battery setup is more practical. Both kits operate on the 20V MAX platform, so the batteries are compatible with other DEWALT tools. The extra battery in Product B provides immediate value and convenience, making it the superior option for sustained work.

Voltage

Edge: Tie

Both Product A and Product B operate on the 20V MAX platform. This means they share the same power baseline and battery compatibility. You can use the same batteries in either kit. There is no difference in voltage between the two products. This tie ensures that you can mix and match tools from either kit if needed. The performance will be consistent across both platforms for standard tasks. Since the voltage is identical, this factor does not distinguish the two kits. Your choice should rely on the number of tools and additional features rather than power output.

Which DEWALT 20V Combo Fits You

Pros needing maximum tool variety and storage

Our pick: DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit

This 10-tool kit doubles your inventory with brushless motors for longer life. It includes two batteries, a charger, and two bags for organized transport. The wireless Bluetooth speaker and LED work light add convenience. You get a circular saw, reciprocating saw, and more in one compact package.

Users prioritizing compact drill and impact driver size

Our pick: DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit

This 5-tool set features a drill that is compact front to back. The impact driver measures only 5.55 inches, fitting into tight areas easily. It includes a circular saw that cuts 2x4s at 45 degrees in one pass. The oscillating tool and reciprocating saw handle diverse tasks without bulk.

Those wanting quick blade changes and safety

Our pick: DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit

The included reciprocating saw has a keyless blade clamp for quick changes without touching the blade. The circular saw comes with a 6-1/2-inch carbide blade. This kit focuses on essential cutting and driving tools. You get reliable performance from the 300 UWO motor in the drill for standard applications.

Buyers seeking brushless motor efficiency and extras

Our pick: DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit

Brushless motors offer better efficiency and durability. This kit includes ten tools, covering more job types. You receive two batteries and a charger for extended runtime. The inclusion of two bags keeps everything organized. Additional accessories like a work light and speaker enhance workspace utility and hands-free operation.

The products compared

DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit

Best for: Basic drilling, driving, and cutting tasks

Number of Tools
5
Voltage
20V MAX
Battery Included
Battery and charger included
Included Tools
Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Oscillating Tool
Power Source
Cordless
Dimensions
21.3 × 9.22 × 12.8 inches

View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link

This DEWALT kit includes five cordless tools powered by the 20V MAX platform. It features a DCD771 drill with 300 UWO, a DCF885 impact driver, a DCS381 reciprocating saw, a DCS393 circular saw, and an oscillating multi-tool. The set weighs 25 pounds and includes batteries and a charger. It suits users needing a focused set of core tools rather than a large collection.

Pros

  • Includes 300 UWO drill for wide applications
  • Circular saw cuts 2x4s at 45 degrees in one pass
  • Reciprocating saw has keyless blade clamp for quick changes
  • Impact driver is compact at 5.55 inches front to back

Cons

  • Only includes five tools compared to other kits with ten
  • Total weight is 25 pounds
  • Does not include a jigsaw or sander

Good fit if

  • You need a drill, impact driver, and saw for basic projects
  • You prefer a lighter, more manageable tool collection
  • You want tools with compact designs for tight spaces

Skip if

  • You require a comprehensive set with ten or more tools
  • You need specialized tools like a sander or jigsaw
  • You prefer a lighter kit under 20 pounds

Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit is a practical selection for users who prioritize core drilling, driving, and cutting capabilities over a larger variety of tools. It fits those who value compact designs and essential power for standard DIY tasks.

DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit

Best for: equipping a full workshop with ten tools

Number of Tools
10
Voltage
20V MAX
Motor Type
Brushless
Battery Included
2 batteries and charger included
Included Accessories
2 bags
Power Source
Cordless

View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit Affiliate link

This package gives you ten cordless 20V MAX tools powered by brushless motors. The bundle includes two batteries, a dedicated charger, and two storage bags. Featured gear covers drilling, cutting, site cleanup, work lighting, and a Bluetooth speaker. It suits you if you want a complete workshop lineup operating from a single cordless system.

Pros

  • Ten cordless tools included in a single package
  • Brushless motor specification on 20V MAX power
  • Includes two batteries, one charger, and two storage bags
  • Keyless blade clamp reciprocating saw and Bluetooth speaker included

Cons

  • Only two batteries supplied to support ten separate tools
  • Two storage bags must hold all ten tools and accessories

Good fit if

  • You need an expansive 10-piece setup spanning drilling, cutting, and cleanup.
  • You want a brushless 20V platform that includes jobsite lighting and audio.

Skip if

  • You need more than two batteries to keep multiple tools powered at once.
  • You only require a smaller core setup for basic drilling and fastening tasks.

Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit equips trade workers and homeowners building out a comprehensive 20V workspace at once. The wide tool variety provides immediate jobsite versatility, though managing ten tools with two included batteries requires deliberate recharge scheduling.

Specifications side by side

Spec DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit
Number of Tools 5 10
Voltage 20V MAX 20V MAX
Motor Type not stated Brushless
Battery Included Battery and charger included 2 batteries and charger included
Included Accessories not stated 2 bags
Included Tools Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Oscillating Tool not stated
Power Source Cordless Cordless
Dimensions 21.3 × 9.22 × 12.8 inches not stated
Weight 25 pounds not stated
Size One Size not stated
Color Multi Black/Yellow/Sliver
Model DCK551D1M1 DCK1021D2

Frequently asked questions

What tools are included in the 5-tool kit?

The DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit includes a drill driver, an impact driver, and an oscillating tool. These three tools cover basic drilling, driving, and cutting tasks. The kit is designed for users who prioritize core capabilities over a larger variety of tools.

Does the 10-tool kit feature brushless motors?

Yes, the DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit utilizes brushless motor technology. This motor type is included in the product specifications. Brushless motors generally offer longer runtime and increased durability compared to brushed motors, making them suitable for trade workers and homeowners building a comprehensive workspace.

How heavy is the 5-tool combo kit?

The DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit weighs 25 pounds. The packaging dimensions are 21.3 inches in length, 12.8 inches in height, and 9.22 inches in width. This weight reflects the inclusion of multiple tools, batteries, and a charger within the carrying case.

What is the voltage of these DEWALT kits?

Both the 5-tool and 10-tool kits operate on the 20V MAX platform. They are cordless power tools that use rechargeable batteries. This voltage rating indicates the power source available for drilling, driving, and cutting tasks across the entire tool lineup in both combo packages.

What is the model number for the 5-tool kit?

The model number for the DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit is DCK551D1M1. This identifier helps you locate specific replacement parts or verify the exact package contents. The kit is available in a multi-color finish with a one-size carrying case design.

Does the 10-tool kit come with a speaker?

The product data does not list a wireless Bluetooth speaker in the specifications for the 10-tool kit. The listed attributes focus on the voltage, motor type, and power source. You should verify the full contents list on the product page to confirm if audio features are included.

See also