As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

DEWALT or CRAFTSMAN? Drill Drivers Compared in 2026

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

The DEWALT vs CRAFTSMAN drill driver comparison highlights two 20V cordless options. Both feature 1/2-inch chucks and two-speed transmissions for versatile drilling and fastening. The main difference lies in the kit contents and weight. DEWALT offers a single 20V Max tool with included battery and charger. CRAFTSMAN provides a hammer drill kit with two 2 Ah batteries and a charger. You should review the specs to see which setup fits your needs.

Key differences

AspectDEWALT 20V Max 1/2-Inch Cordless Drill DriverCRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit
Number of Tools1-toolHammer Drill Kit
Battery IncludedBattery and charger included2 batteries (2 Ah), charger
Tool Weight3.64 pounds2.66 lbs (tool only)
Max Speed1,500 rpm1,700 rpm
Chuck TypeSingle sleeve ratcheting1/2 in.

Which one should you choose?

Choose DEWALT 20V Max 1/2-Inch Cordless Drill Driver if

  • You prefer a lighter single-tool kit with a ratcheting chuck for tight spaces.
  • You want a tool with a high-performance motor delivering 300 UWO of power.
  • You need a straightforward drill driver without hammer drilling capability.

Choose CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit if

  • You want two 2 Ah batteries included for longer runtime and less downtime.
  • You need a hammer drill function for masonry or concrete work.
  • You prefer a lighter tool body at 2.66 lbs to minimize arm fatigue.

Verdict: Choose the DEWALT if you value a lighter tool body with a ratcheting chuck and a powerful 300 UWO motor for standard drilling tasks. Select the CRAFTSMAN if you require hammer drilling capability and want two batteries included for extended use. Both are solid 20V options with two-speed transmissions for different material needs.

DEWALT vs CRAFTSMAN Drill Specs

Weight and Portability

Edge: Tie

The DEWALT 20V Max XR Drill Driver (DCD771C2) weighs 3.64 pounds. This figure represents the total kit weight, including the battery and charger. It is designed for lightweight operation in tight areas. The CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX Hammer Drill (CMCD712D2) weighs 2.66 pounds for the tool only. When you include the two 2 Ah batteries and charger, the total kit weight rises to 5.42 pounds. For pure tool handling, the CRAFTSMAN unit is lighter. However, the DEWALT kit offers a simpler weight profile since it includes only one battery in the package. You must decide if the lower tool weight of the CRAFTSMAN justifies the heavier total package.

Battery Kit Contents

Edge: CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit

The DEWALT DCD771C2 is a 1-tool kit. It includes one drill driver, one battery, and one charger. This setup is sufficient for basic tasks but requires you to purchase additional batteries for extended work. The CRAFTSMAN CMCD712D2 is a more comprehensive kit. It includes the hammer drill, two 2.0 Ah batteries, a charger, and a double-ended bit. Having two batteries allows you to swap them out without waiting for a recharge. This provides better runtime continuity for longer projects. If you need immediate backup power, the CRAFTSMAN kit offers more value in its initial package.

Power Output Specifications

Edge: DEWALT 20V Max 1/2-Inch Cordless Drill Driver

The DEWALT drill driver features a high-performance motor delivering 300 unit watts out (UWO). This metric indicates the power available for demanding applications. The CRAFTSMAN hammer drill claims up to 20% more power, allowing for up to 80 holes per charge. While the DEWALT provides a specific UWO rating, the CRAFTSMAN relies on hole-count estimates. The CRAFTSMAN also specifies a no-load speed of up to 1,700 RPM, which is slightly higher than the DEWALT's top speed of 1,500 RPM. The DEWALT's 300 UWO rating offers a clear, standardized measure of motor capability that the CRAFTSMAN data does not match directly.

Speed Settings and Transmission

Edge: CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit

Both tools feature two-speed transmissions suitable for general drilling and fastening. The DEWALT DCD771C2 offers speeds of 0-450 RPM for high torque and 0-1,500 RPM for high speed. The CRAFTSMAN CMCD712D2 also has a 2-speed transmission. It reaches up to 1,700 RPM on the high setting. This higher maximum speed can be beneficial for drilling larger holes quickly. The DEWALT's lower top speed may provide more control for precision fastening. Both transmissions are variable speed via the trigger, giving you fine control over performance. The CRAFTSMAN has a slight edge in maximum rotational speed.

Chuck and Grip Strength

Edge: DEWALT 20V Max 1/2-Inch Cordless Drill Driver

The DEWALT drill driver uses a 1/2-inch single sleeve ratcheting chuck. This type of chuck is known for tight bit gripping strength, reducing slippage during high-torque operations. The CRAFTSMAN also features a 1/2-inch chuck. The data does not specify the chuck type for the CRAFTSMAN, such as whether it is single sleeve or keyless. The DEWALT's explicit mention of tight gripping strength suggests a robust design for professional use. Both chucks accept standard 1/2-inch bits. The DEWALT provides more specific detail regarding the chuck's performance characteristics, which may appeal to users needing secure bit retention.

Additional Features and Compatibility

Edge: CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit

The CRAFTSMAN hammer drill includes a bright onboard LED for high visibility in dark spaces. It also features VERSATRACK compatibility, allowing you to mount tool belt clips and accessories for organization. The DEWALT drill driver focuses on an ergonomic handle for comfort and control. It does not mention VERSATRACK compatibility or an onboard LED in the provided data. The CRAFTSMAN offers more auxiliary features for workflow organization and visibility. The DEWALT emphasizes comfort and simplicity. If you value tool organization and lighting, the CRAFTSMAN provides more integrated solutions.

Which drill driver suits your needs

You need maximum runtime for large jobs

Our pick: CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit

The CRAFTSMAN kit includes two 2 Ah batteries. This allows you to swap cells when one drains, ensuring continuous work. The listing notes up to 80 holes per charge. You get a charger and a double-ended bit included. This setup minimizes downtime compared to single-battery kits, keeping your workflow steady during extensive projects.

You prioritize tool weight and balance

Our pick: CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit

The CRAFTSMAN tool weighs just 2.66 lbs without the battery. This light design helps minimize arm fatigue during overhead or tight-space work. The DEWALT kit weighs 3.64 pounds total. While the DEWALT motor delivers 300 UWO, the CRAFTSMAN’s lighter chassis offers better maneuverability. You will feel less strain after hours of use with this lighter unit.

You want versatile hammer drilling capability

Our pick: CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit

The CRAFTSMAN is explicitly labeled a hammer drill. This adds impact force for masonry or concrete tasks, expanding its utility beyond wood and metal. The DEWALT model is listed strictly as a drill driver. If you occasionally need to drill into hard masonry materials, the CRAFTSMAN’s hammer function provides necessary versatility without requiring a separate specialized tool.

The products compared

DEWALT 20V Max 1/2-Inch Cordless Drill Driver

Best for: General drilling and fastening tasks

Power Source
20V Max cordless
Voltage
20V Max
Chuck Size
1/2 in.
Battery Included
Battery and charger included
Number of Tools
1-tool
Included Tools
Drill Driver

View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V Max 1/2-Inch Cordless Drill Driver Affiliate link

This DEWALT 20V Max XR drill driver delivers 300 unit watts out of power for a wide range of applications. It features a two-speed transmission with 0-450 and 1,500 rpm settings to handle various fastening and drilling tasks. The 1/2-inch single sleeve ratcheting chuck ensures tight bit gripping strength. Weighing 3.64 pounds, its lightweight design fits into tight areas. It includes the battery and charger for immediate use.

Pros

  • 300 unit watts out power output
  • Two-speed transmission for 0-450 and 1,500 rpm
  • 1/2-inch single sleeve ratcheting chuck
  • Lightweight 3.64 pound design

Cons

  • Only includes one drill driver tool
  • Does not include a hammer drill function
  • Single battery included in the kit

Good fit if

  • You need a lightweight tool for tight spaces
  • You require high speed settings for drilling
  • You want a reliable 20V Max system

Skip if

  • You need hammer drilling capability
  • You require a brushless motor
  • You want a multi-tool combo kit

Verdict: DEWALT 20V Max XR Drill Driver offers strong power and speed for general drilling tasks. It suits users who prioritize lightweight handling and high torque in a compact form factor.

CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit

Best for: light masonry work and general household drilling

Power Source
20V MAX cordless
Voltage
20V MAX
Chuck Size
1/2 in.
Battery Included
2 batteries (2 Ah), charger
Speed Settings
2-speed
Tool Weight
2.66 lbs (tool only)

View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit Affiliate link

This cordless kit centers on a 20V MAX hammer drill with a 1/2-inch chuck and a two-speed gearbox reaching up to 1,700 RPM. At 2.66 pounds for the bare tool, it includes two 2.0 Ah batteries, a charger, an integrated LED work light, and a double-ended bit. It suits you if you need masonry-drilling capability alongside everyday fastening.

Pros

  • 1/2-inch chuck accepts larger drill bit shanks
  • Includes two 2.0 Ah batteries and a charger
  • Lightweight bare tool weight of 2.66 pounds
  • Two-speed transmission reaching up to 1,700 RPM
  • Built-in LED work light illuminates work surfaces

Cons

  • Maximum speed tops out at 1,700 RPM
  • Included 2.0 Ah batteries have limited runtime for heavy continuous use
  • VERSATRACK belt clips and storage accessories are sold separately

Good fit if

  • You need hammer drilling functionality for occasional masonry tasks.
  • You want two batteries included so one charges while the other works.
  • You prefer a lightweight 2.66-pound bare tool to reduce overhead fatigue.

Skip if

  • You need higher rotational speeds exceeding 1,700 RPM.
  • You require large-capacity batteries beyond the supplied 2.0 Ah packs.

Verdict: CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit gives you two 2.0 Ah batteries and hammer drilling versatility in a compact 2.66-pound body. It serves homeowners who need both standard hole drilling and light masonry boring without buying separate tools.

Specifications side by side

Spec DEWALT 20V Max 1/2-Inch Cordless Drill Driver CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit
Power Source 20V Max cordless 20V MAX cordless
Voltage 20V Max 20V MAX
Chuck Size 1/2 in. 1/2 in.
Battery Included Battery and charger included 2 batteries (2 Ah), charger
Number of Tools 1-tool not stated
Included Tools Drill Driver not stated
Speed Settings 2-speed (0-450 & 1,500 rpm) 2-speed
Tool Weight 3.64 pounds 2.66 lbs (tool only)
Battery Capacity not stated 2.0 Ah
Dimensions 13.9 × 9.88 × 4.25 inches 8.43 × 5.08 × 8.5 inches
Weight 3.64 pounds 5.42 pounds
Size 1/2-inch not stated
Color Yellow Black, Red
Model DCD771C2 CMCD712D2

Frequently asked questions

Which drill driver is lighter for overhead work?

The DEWALT 20V Max XR Drill Driver is the lighter option at 3.64 pounds. This total kit weight includes the battery and charger. Its compact design helps reduce fatigue during extended overhead drilling or fastening tasks. The CRAFTSMAN unit weighs 5.42 pounds, making it heavier for prolonged use.

Can the CRAFTSMAN drill driver drill into masonry?

Yes, the CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX Hammer Drill Kit includes a hammer drill function. This feature allows you to drill into brick, concrete, or stone. The DEWALT model listed is a standard drill driver without this specific hammer mode, limiting it to wood, metal, and plastic.

What is the chuck size for both tools?

Both the DEWALT and CRAFTSMAN models feature a 1/2-inch chuck. This standard size accepts a wide range of drill bits and driver accessories. It ensures compatibility with most common hardware store bits, allowing you to handle various drilling and fastening applications with either tool.

Does the DEWALT kit include a work light?

The provided data for the DEWALT 20V Max XR Drill Driver lists only the drill driver as the included tool. It does not mention a work light. In contrast, the CRAFTSMAN kit explicitly includes a work light to help illuminate dark work areas.

Which brand offers a hammer drill function?

CRAFTSMAN offers a hammer drill function in its 20V MAX model. This adds versatility for masonry work. The DEWALT 20V Max XR Drill Driver is described as a standard drill driver, focusing on general drilling and fastening without the added hammer mechanism found in the CRAFTSMAN unit.

What is the voltage rating for these cordless drivers?

Both the DEWALT and CRAFTSMAN drill drivers operate on a 20V power system. This voltage provides sufficient power for most household and light professional tasks. The CRAFTSMAN kit includes 2.0 Ah batteries, while the DEWALT listing specifies the voltage but not the specific amp-hour capacity in the provided data.

See also