As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

DEWALT or CRAFTSMAN? Impact Wrenches Compared in 2026

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

In this DEWALT vs CRAFTSMAN impact wrench comparison, you see two 20V cordless options built for tough jobs. Both feature brushless motors, LED work lights, and variable speed triggers for precise control. The main difference lies in their torque output and package contents. DEWALT offers higher max torque and a four-mode setting, while CRAFTSMAN includes the battery and charger in the box. You also get a three-year warranty with the CRAFTSMAN model.

Key differences

AspectDEWALT 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Impact WrenchCRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless Impact Wrench Kit
Max Fastening Torque1030 ft-lbs700 ft-lbs
Max Breakaway Torque1400 ft-lbs1000 ft-lbs
Speed Settings4-mode3-speed
Battery IncludedTool onlyBattery and charger
Warrantynot listed3 Year Limited
Weight6.4 poundsnot listed

Which one should you choose?

Choose DEWALT 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Impact Wrench if

  • You need maximum torque for heavy-duty automotive or construction tasks.
  • You prefer four speed modes for finer control over fastening precision.
  • You already own compatible 20V batteries and want a bare tool.

Choose CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless Impact Wrench Kit if

  • You want a complete kit with battery and charger included.
  • You value a three-year limited warranty for added peace of mind.
  • You are looking for a compact tool with solid torque for general use.

Verdict: Choose the DEWALT if you require higher torque and more speed settings for demanding professional work. Pick the CRAFTSMAN if you want a ready-to-use kit with a battery and charger included, backed by a three-year warranty.

DEWALT vs CRAFTSMAN Impact Wrenches

Max Torque Output

Edge: DEWALT 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Impact Wrench

The DEWALT DCF900B delivers significantly higher torque than the CRAFTSMAN CMCF940M1. DEWALT provides 1030 ft-lbs of max fastening torque and 1400 ft-lbs of max breakaway torque. This makes it suitable for demanding tasks like large pipe flanges, wheel lugs, and concrete anchor bolts. In contrast, the CRAFTSMAN offers 700 ft-lbs of max tightening torque and 1000 ft-lbs of breakaway torque. While sufficient for many automotive and general fastening applications, DEWALT has the clear advantage for high-resistance fasteners.

Included Battery and Charger

Edge: CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless Impact Wrench Kit

Package contents differ substantially between the two kits. The CRAFTSMAN CMCF940M1 is sold as a complete kit with both a battery and a charger included. This means you can start working immediately after unboxing. The DEWALT DCF900B is listed as a bare tool, meaning the battery is sold separately. If you already own compatible 20V MAX batteries, DEWALT is cost-effective. However, for new users, CRAFTSMAN provides a more complete starting solution with its included power source.

Speed Settings and Control

Edge: DEWALT 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Impact Wrench

Both tools offer variable speed triggers for fine control, but DEWALT provides more distinct speed modes. The DEWALT DCF900B features four-mode speed settings, allowing for greater precision across a variety of applications. This helps prevent overtightening and fastener run-off. The CRAFTSMAN CMCF940M1 offers three-speed settings. While both allow for adjustable control, DEWALT’s additional mode gives you more granular options for different fastening tasks, providing a slight edge in versatility.

Weight and Dimensions

Edge: DEWALT 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Impact Wrench

Portability and balance are important for overhead or tight-space work. The DEWALT DCF900B weighs 6.4 pounds and measures 9.94 inches in length. The CRAFTSMAN CMCF940M1 dimensions are listed as 12.2 inches in length and 5.87 inches in width, but its weight is not specified in the data. Based on available data, DEWALT has a more compact length and a specified weight. Without CRAFTSMAN’s weight data, DEWALT appears more manageable for extended use, though direct comparison is limited.

Motor and Power Source

Edge: Tie

Both impact wrenches utilize brushless motors and run on 20V cordless battery platforms. DEWALT uses its 20V MAX system, while CRAFTSMAN uses its V20 system. Both motors offer better runtime and efficiency compared to brushed alternatives. The power source is identical in category: cordless battery. Since both are brushless and 20V, neither holds a technical advantage in motor technology or voltage class. They are equivalent in their core power delivery method.

Which Impact Wrench Fits Your Needs

Heavy-duty construction and automotive pros

Our pick: DEWALT 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Impact Wrench

You need maximum power for tough jobs. This DEWALT model delivers 1030 ft-lbs of fastening torque and 1400 ft-lbs of breakaway torque. The 4-speed settings and hog ring anvil provide precise control for large pipe flanges and wheel lugs. It is built for demanding environments with durable solvent resistance.

DIYers wanting a complete ready-to-use kit

Our pick: CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless Impact Wrench Kit

You prefer a solution that includes everything. This CRAFTSMAN package comes with a battery and charger, so you can start working immediately. It offers 700 ft-lbs of tightening torque and a 3-year limited warranty. The brushless motor ensures efficient runtime for general home maintenance and light automotive tasks.

Users prioritizing compact size and balance

Our pick: DEWALT 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Impact Wrench

You value maneuverability in tight spaces. This DEWALT impact wrench measures 9.94 inches in length and weighs 6.4 pounds. Its compact design helps reduce fatigue during extended use. The variable speed trigger and 4-mode settings allow you to adjust power quickly, making it easier to handle precision fastening tasks.

Budget-conscious buyers seeking warranty coverage

Our pick: CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless Impact Wrench Kit

You want peace of mind with your purchase. This CRAFTSMAN tool includes a 3-year limited warranty, which is longer than standard bare-tool offerings. The included battery and charger mean no extra upfront cost. It provides reliable performance for moderate tasks, backed by a solid guarantee for long-term use.

The products compared

DEWALT 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Impact Wrench

Best for: high-torque professional fastening tasks

Drive Size
1/2 in.
Power Source
Cordless battery
Motor Type
Brushless
Voltage
20V MAX
Battery Included
Tool only (battery sold separately)
Speed Settings
4-mode, variable speed trigger

View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Impact Wrench Affiliate link

This DEWALT 20V MAX cordless impact wrench features a brushless motor and a 1/2-inch hog ring anvil. It delivers 1030 ft-lbs of fastening torque and 1400 ft-lbs of breakaway torque. The tool includes a four-mode speed setting and a variable speed trigger for precision control. An LED work light illuminates dark areas. It is designed for demanding construction, automotive, and farming tasks. You need to purchase the battery and charger separately.

Pros

  • 1030 ft-lbs max fastening torque
  • 1400 ft-lbs max breakaway torque
  • Four-mode speed settings with variable trigger
  • Brushless motor for efficiency
  • Integrated LED work light

Cons

  • Sold as a bare tool without battery or charger
  • Heavy at 6.4 pounds
  • Large size may be cumbersome in tight spaces

Good fit if

  • You need high torque for heavy-duty fastening
  • You already own DEWALT 20V MAX batteries
  • You require precise control for critical tasks

Skip if

  • You want a complete kit with battery included
  • You need a compact tool for tight spaces
  • You prefer a lighter weight for extended use

Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX 1/2 in Brushless Impact Wrench suits professionals who already have 20V MAX batteries and need high torque with precise control for demanding jobs. It is not ideal for those seeking a ready-to-use kit or a lighter, more compact design.

CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless Impact Wrench Kit

Best for: Users needing high breakaway torque and a complete kit

Max Torque
700 ft-lbs max / 1000 ft-lbs breakaway
Drive Size
1/2 Inch
Power Source
Cordless
Motor Type
Brushless
Voltage
V20
Battery Capacity
4Ah

View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless Impact Wrench Kit Affiliate link

This CRAFTSMAN V20 cordless impact wrench features a brushless motor for improved runtime. It delivers up to 700 ft-lbs of tightening torque and 1000 ft-lbs of breakaway torque. The tool includes three speed settings and a variable speed trigger for precise control. It comes with a battery and charger. The compact design and LED light make it suitable for tight spaces.

Pros

  • Brushless motor for better efficiency
  • 1000 ft-lbs breakaway torque
  • Three-speed settings with variable trigger
  • Includes battery and charger

Cons

  • Lower max tightening torque than 1/2 inch competitors
  • No Bluetooth connectivity for app control
  • Heavier and bulkier than smaller 1/4 inch models

Good fit if

  • You need high breakaway torque for stubborn bolts
  • You want a complete kit with battery and charger
  • You prefer variable speed control for precision

Skip if

  • You require app-based torque monitoring
  • You need the highest possible tightening torque
  • You want a lighter weight tool

Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless Impact Wrench fits users who need strong breakaway torque and a ready-to-use kit. It is a solid choice for mechanics who value variable speed control over digital connectivity.

Specifications side by side

Spec DEWALT 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Impact Wrench CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless Impact Wrench Kit
Max Torque not stated 700 ft-lbs max / 1000 ft-lbs breakaway
Drive Size 1/2 in. 1/2 Inch
Power Source Cordless battery Cordless
Motor Type Brushless Brushless
Voltage 20V MAX V20
Battery Capacity not stated 4Ah
Battery Included Tool only (battery sold separately) Battery and charger included
Speed Settings 4-mode, variable speed trigger 3-speed
Anvil Type Hog ring Hog Rig Anvil
Included Accessories LED work light Soft Bag
Included Tools Work Light, Impact Wrench Work Light, Impact Wrench
Chuck Size not stated 1/2 Inch
Dimensions 9.94 × 4.15 × 10.6 inches 12.2 × 5.87 × 9.84 inches
Weight 6.4 pounds not stated
Size Large not stated
Color Black/Yellow Black, Red
Model DCF900B CMCF940M1

Frequently asked questions

Is the DEWALT DCF900B heavier than the CRAFTSMAN CMCF940M1?

Yes, the DEWALT model weighs 6.4 pounds, while the CRAFTSMAN kit does not list a weight. The DEWALT unit measures 9.94 inches in length and 4.15 inches in width. Its compact form factor helps balance the higher torque output for demanding fastening tasks.

Does the CRAFTSMAN impact wrench come with a battery included?

The product data for the CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless Impact Wrench Kit does not specify battery inclusion. It lists the impact wrench as the included tool. You should verify if the kit includes batteries or chargers by checking the specific package contents before purchase.

What type of anvil does the DEWALT 20V MAX use?

The DEWALT DCF900B features a hog ring anvil. This design secures sockets firmly to prevent them from falling off during high-torque operations. It is suitable for professional fastening tasks where socket retention is critical for safety and efficiency.

Are both impact wrenches cordless and brushless?

Yes, both tools are cordless and feature brushless motors. The DEWALT DCF900B and the CRAFTSMAN CMCF940M1 both operate on 20V power sources. Brushless motors generally offer longer runtime and increased durability compared to brushed alternatives, making them ideal for frequent use.

Which model is better for mechanics needing a complete kit?

The CRAFTSMAN V20 RP is described as fitting users who need a ready-to-use kit. It includes the impact wrench and is marketed for those valuing variable speed control. The DEWALT model is listed as a bare tool, requiring separate battery purchases.

How large is the DEWALT impact wrench compared to the CRAFTSMAN?

The DEWALT DCF900B measures 10.6 inches in height, 9.94 inches in length, and 4.15 inches in width. The CRAFTSMAN CMCF940M1 is larger at 12.2 inches in length and 5.87 inches in width. The DEWALT design is more compact for tight spaces.

Does the DEWALT tool include a work light?

Yes, the DEWALT 20V MAX includes a work light. This feature helps illuminate dark work areas when you are tightening bolts or nuts. The CRAFTSMAN model also features an LED work light, ensuring visibility during low-light conditions for both tools.

See also