DEWALT or CRAFTSMAN? Power Tool Combo Kits Compared in 2026
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
This DEWALT vs CRAFTSMAN power tool combo kit comparison focuses on two 20V cordless sets. Both include a drill driver and an impact driver with two batteries and a charger. The main difference lies in their design priorities. DEWALT emphasizes compact dimensions and lightweight handling for tight spaces. CRAFTSMAN highlights higher torque output and runtime metrics. You get similar core tools, but the performance and form factor vary.
Key differences
| Aspect | DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Maximum Torque | not listed | 1,800 in-lbs MAX |
| Tool Weight | 3.6 lbs (drill) | not listed |
| Drill Length | 7.5 in. | not listed |
| Impact Driver Length | 5.55 in. | not listed |
| Chuck Type | 1/2 in. single sleeve ratcheting | 1/2 in. |
| Warranty | 3 Year Limited | not listed |
Which one should you choose?
Choose DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit if
- You need a compact drill that fits into tight spaces
- You prefer a lighter tool for overhead work
- You want a verified 3-year limited warranty
Choose CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit if
- You require high torque for lag bolts
- You prioritize runtime for driving many fasteners
- You want a kit with stated 300 UWO motor power
Verdict: Choose the DEWALT kit if you value compact size and lightweight handling for detailed work. Pick the CRAFTSMAN kit if you need higher torque and specific runtime metrics for heavy fastening tasks. Both provide the essential two-tool setup you likely need.
DEWALT vs CRAFTSMAN Combo Kit Specs
Torque and Power
CRAFTSMAN leads in raw power metrics. Its impact driver delivers up to 1,800 in-lbs of maximum torque, which helps with fastening applications ranging from deck screws to lag bolts. The drill offers up to 300 UWO. DEWALT does not list specific torque or wattage output in the provided data. You might prefer CRAFTSMAN if you need higher stated force for tough jobs. DEWALT focuses on compact design instead of high-end specs. If your work involves heavy-duty fastening, CRAFTSMAN’s numbers give it a clear advantage. DEWALT’s lack of published torque figures makes direct comparison difficult, but CRAFTSMAN’s specs are explicit.
Battery Capacity
Both kits include two batteries and a charger. CRAFTSMAN specifies a 2.0 Ah capacity for its lithium-ion batteries. DEWALT lists two batteries but does not state the amp-hour rating in the provided data. A 2.0 Ah battery is standard for light to moderate use. Without DEWALT’s specific capacity, you cannot determine which battery lasts longer. However, CRAFTSMAN provides transparency here. If you care about knowing exactly how much energy is stored, CRAFTSMAN is the better choice. DEWALT’s omission of this detail leaves you guessing about runtime. For clear specifications, CRAFTSMAN wins this round.
Compact Design
DEWALT emphasizes a compact and lightweight build. The impact driver is 5.55 inches long and weighs 2.8 lbs. The drill/driver is 7.5 inches long and weighs 3.6 lbs. This design helps you work in tight areas and difficult-to-reach spaces. CRAFTSMAN does not provide individual tool dimensions or weights in the data, only the kit box size. If you frequently work in confined spots, DEWALT’s specific measurements are valuable. You can plan your workspace better with these numbers. DEWALT’s focus on small dimensions gives it an edge for users who prioritize portability and access over raw power stats.
Chuck Types
Both kits feature a 1/2-inch chuck on the drill driver and a 1/4-inch hex chuck on the impact driver. DEWALT specifies a single sleeve ratcheting chuck for the drill, which provides tight bit gripping strength for faster and more secure changes. CRAFTSMAN lists the 1/2-inch chuck size but does not describe the mechanism. The ratcheting feature on DEWALT can improve efficiency when changing bits frequently. Both use the same standard sizes for compatibility with common bits. However, DEWALT’s detailed chuck description offers a practical benefit for workflow. This gives DEWALT a slight advantage in tool usability features.
Warranty Coverage
DEWALT includes a 3-year limited warranty with this kit. CRAFTSMAN does not list warranty information in the provided data. A three-year coverage period offers peace of mind for tool ownership. You get defined protection against defects for a specific duration. Without CRAFTSMAN’s warranty terms, you cannot compare the length or scope of coverage. DEWALT’s explicit statement of a 3-year period is a clear advantage. It shows confidence in the product’s durability. For buyers who prioritize long-term support and protection, DEWALT is the stronger choice based on available data.
Which DEWALT or CRAFTSMAN Kit Fits You
Users needing tight space access
The DEWALT kit prioritizes compact dimensions. The impact driver measures 5.55 inches long and weighs 2.8 lbs. The drill driver is 7.5 inches and weighs 3.6 lbs. This lightweight design helps you reach difficult spots. The one-handed loading chuck also keeps your hands free during operation.
Users needing high torque for lag bolts
The CRAFTSMAN impact driver provides up to 1,800 in-lbs of maximum torque. This power helps you drive deck screws and lag bolts efficiently. The drill offers up to 300 UWO for drilling tasks. You get longer runtime with up to 90 holes per charge on the drill.
Users wanting consistent LED visibility
Both tools on the DEWALT kit feature integrated LED work lights. They include a convenient 20-second delay. This ensures enhanced visibility in dimly lit areas. You get clear illumination for challenging work spots without needing extra lighting equipment while you work.
Users preferring secure bit gripping
The DEWALT drill driver uses a 1/2 inch single sleeve ratcheting chuck. This design provides tight bit gripping strength. It makes bit changes faster and more secure. You avoid loose bits during high-speed drilling or driving tasks.
The products compared
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: General tasks requiring a drill and impact driver
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Included Tools
- Drill driver, impact driver
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,400 in-lbs
- Chuck Size
- 1/4 in. hex
View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This DEWALT kit includes a 20V MAX drill/driver and an impact driver. The drill features a 1/2-inch chuck, while the impact driver uses a 1/4-inch hex. Both tools have LED lights with a 20-second delay. It comes with two batteries, a charger, and a carrying bag. The compact design fits tight spaces. This setup suits users needing reliable cordless power for general tasks.
Pros
- Includes both a drill/driver and an impact driver
- Compact tools fit into difficult to reach spaces
- Integrated LED work lights with 20-second delay
- One-handed loading with 1/4-inch hex chuck
- Comes with two batteries and a charger
Cons
- Only includes two tools in the kit
- Battery capacity is not specified in the data
- No high-speed or high-torque ratings provided
Good fit if
- You need a drill and an impact driver
- You work in tight spaces requiring compact tools
- You want a kit with batteries and a bag included
Skip if
- You require more than two tools in your kit
- You need specific battery capacity details not listed here
- You prefer corded tools for continuous power
Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Combo is a practical choice for users who need a versatile two-tool setup with compact designs and included accessories. It fits those who value portability and basic cordless functionality.
CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: High-torque fastening tasks
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 20V
- Included Tools
- Drill/driver, impact driver
- Battery Capacity
- 2 Ah
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver)
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This CRAFTSMAN V20 kit includes a drill driver and an impact driver, powered by 20V lithium-ion batteries. The impact driver delivers up to 1,800 in-lbs of torque, while the drill offers up to 300 UWO. You get two 2Ah batteries and a charger in the box. The tools weigh 8.2 pounds total and feature onboard LEDs. It suits users needing solid torque for fastening and drilling tasks.
Pros
- Impact driver provides up to 1,800 in-lbs MAX torque
- Drill motor delivers up to 300 UWO
- Includes two 2Ah batteries and a charger
- Both tools feature bright onboard LEDs
- 1/2-inch chuck on the drill driver
Cons
- Smaller 2Ah battery capacity limits runtime
- Heavier 8.2-pound total weight
- No third tool or extra battery included
Good fit if
- You need high torque for lag bolts
- You want a simple two-tool setup
- You prefer CRAFTSMAN V20 compatibility
Skip if
- You require extended runtime beyond 90 holes
- You need a three-tool combo kit
- You prefer lighter weight tools
Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 2-Tool Drill and Impact Combo offers strong torque for fastening but sacrifices runtime with smaller batteries. It fits users who prioritize power over weight and need a basic two-tool starter set.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | 2 |
| Voltage | 20V MAX | 20V |
| Included Tools | Drill driver, impact driver | Drill/driver, impact driver |
| Battery Capacity | not stated | 2 Ah |
| Battery Included | 2 batteries and charger included | 2 batteries and charger included |
| Maximum Torque | 1,400 in-lbs | 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver) |
| Chuck Size | 1/4 in. hex | 1/2 in. (drill); 1/4 in. (impact driver) |
| Included Accessories | Charger, bag | not stated |
| Power Source | Cordless | Cordless |
| Dimensions | 15.1 × 6.38 × 9.88 inches | 12.3 × 4.96 × 8.86 inches |
| Weight | 3.6 pounds | 8.2 pounds |
| Size | One Size | not stated |
| Color | Yellow/Black Drill Driver/Impact Combo Kit | Black, Red |
| Model | DCK240C2 | CMCK201D2 |
Frequently asked questions
Which kit is better for general household tasks?
The DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit is a practical choice for general tasks. It features a compact design with a drill driver that is 7.5 inches long and weighs 3.6 lbs. This lightweight setup helps you handle portable projects with ease. It fits users who value basic cordless functionality and versatility in a two-tool arrangement.
Does the CRAFTSMAN kit offer more torque for fastening?
Yes, the CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit offers strong torque for fastening applications. Its impact driver delivers up to 1,800 in-lbs of maximum torque. This power helps with tasks ranging from deck screws to lag bolts. The drill also provides up to 300 UWO. It suits users who prioritize raw power over weight in their starter set.
What is the weight difference between the two kits?
The DEWALT kit is significantly lighter than the CRAFTSMAN option. The DEWALT DCK240C2 weighs 3.6 pounds total. In contrast, the CRAFTSMAN CMCK201D2 kit weighs 8.2 pounds. This difference affects portability. You might prefer the lighter DEWALT unit for overhead work or tight spaces where handling heavy tools is difficult.
Are both kits cordless and what voltage do they use?
Both kits are cordless and operate on a 20V power source. The DEWALT model uses the 20V MAX system. The CRAFTSMAN model uses the V20 system. Both include a drill driver and an impact driver. This common voltage allows you to use compatible batteries across many tools from each respective brand.
Which kit has a larger chuck size?
The CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit features a 1/2 inch chuck size. This specification is listed in its attributes. The DEWALT kit does not specify a chuck size in the provided data. A 1/2 inch chuck can accept a wider range of larger drill bits and accessories compared to smaller standard sizes.
How do the dimensions compare for tight spaces?
The DEWALT kit is designed for compactness. Its drill driver is 7.5 inches long. The impact driver measures 5.55 inches long. The CRAFTSMAN kit is bulkier, with a total kit length of 12.3 inches and a height of 8.86 inches. If you need to work in confined areas, the smaller DEWALT tools may fit better.
What batteries are included in the CRAFTSMAN kit?
The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit includes batteries with a 2.0 Ah capacity. This capacity is noted in the product attributes. The guide notes that this setup sacrifices some runtime for higher torque. You should be aware that smaller battery capacity may require more frequent swaps during extended use compared to higher capacity options.
Which model number should I look for?
The DEWALT kit corresponds to model number DCK240C2. The CRAFTSMAN kit corresponds to model number CMCK201D2. These identifiers help you find the exact products online. The DEWALT kit comes in Yellow and Black. The CRAFTSMAN kit is available in Black and Red. Use these numbers to verify specifications before purchasing.

