DEWALT vs FLEX Power Tool Combo Kits: Which Brand Fits You?
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
When you compare a DEWALT vs FLEX power tool combo kit, you are looking at two strong cordless options. Both sets include a drill driver and an impact driver, plus two batteries and a charger. The main difference lies in their voltage and motor technology. DEWALT uses a 20V system with brushed motors, while FLEX offers a 24V brushless platform. You need to decide which power source and tool weight best fit your daily tasks.
Key differences
| Aspect | DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit | FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Voltage | 20V MAX | 24V |
| Motor Type | Brushed | Brushless |
| Battery Capacity | Not listed | 2.5 Ah and 5.0 Ah |
| Maximum Torque | Not listed | 2,500 in-lbs |
| Warranty | 3 Year Limited | 5 Year Limited (with registration) |
Which one should you choose?
Choose DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit if
- You prefer lighter tools for working in tight spaces.
- You want a system with a long history of widespread availability.
- You prioritize a lower initial voltage for lighter duty tasks.
Choose FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit if
- You need maximum torque for heavy-duty drilling and fastening.
- You want longer runtime and faster charging times.
- You prefer brushless motor efficiency for extended tool life.
Verdict: Choose the DEWALT kit if you value compact size and lighter weight for detailed work. Pick the FLEX kit if you need higher torque, brushless efficiency, and a longer warranty for demanding projects.
DEWALT vs FLEX: Key Spec Breakdown
Voltage and Power
FLEX uses a 24V system, while DEWALT operates on 20V MAX. Higher voltage generally translates to more available power for demanding tasks. FLEX claims 20% more power with its 24V lithium platform. The FLEX drill delivers 1,400 in-lbs of torque, and the impact driver provides 2,500 in-lbs. DEWALT does not list specific torque numbers in the provided data. For users who need maximum raw force, the higher voltage and stated torque figures give FLEX a clear advantage.
Motor Technology
FLEX tools feature brushless motors, which eliminate friction and optimize efficiency. This design typically offers longer runtime and greater durability compared to brushed alternatives. DEWALT does not specify the motor type in the provided data. Brushless motors are standard in modern professional kits for their performance benefits. If motor efficiency and longevity are priorities, the explicit mention of brushless technology in the FLEX kit makes it the stronger choice.
Battery Capacity
Both kits include two batteries, but the capacities differ significantly. FLEX provides a 2.5 Ah and a 5.0 Ah lithium-ion battery. DEWALT lists two batteries but does not specify their amp-hour ratings in the data. Higher capacity batteries generally provide longer runtimes between charges. The 5.0 Ah option in the FLEX kit suggests extended usage for larger projects. Without specific Ah data for DEWALT, FLEX offers more transparent and potentially longer-lasting power options.
Weight and Portability
Portability matters when working in tight spaces or overhead. DEWALT lists the drill driver at 3.6 lbs and the impact driver at 2.8 lbs. The FLEX drill driver weighs 4.2 lbs and the impact driver weighs 3.6 lbs. DEWALT tools are lighter individually, which can reduce fatigue during all-day use. The compact design of DEWALT tools is highlighted for fitting into tough spots. For users prioritizing lightweight handling, DEWALT has the edge.
Warranty Coverage
Warranty terms vary between the two brands. DEWALT offers a 3-year limited warranty on its tools. FLEX provides a 5-year limited warranty if you register within 30 days, or a 3-year warranty without registration. Longer coverage provides better protection for your investment. FLEX gives you the option to secure five years of support. For buyers who want maximum peace of mind and long-term coverage, FLEX is the superior option.
Which DEWALT or FLEX Kit Fits You
Users needing compact tools for tight spaces
DEWALT offers compact dimensions with the impact driver measuring just 5.55 inches and weighing 2.8 lbs. The drill driver is 7.5 inches long and weighs 3.6 lbs. This smaller footprint helps you reach difficult areas. The integrated LED lights provide visibility in dim spots. You get a reliable 20V MAX system with a 3-year limited warranty for standard jobs.
Professionals requiring maximum torque and speed
FLEX delivers higher output with 2,500 in-lbs of torque on the impact driver and 1,400 in-lbs on the drill. The brushless motor eliminates friction for better efficiency. You get 2,500 RPM on the impact and 2,500 RPM on the drill. The 24V system claims 20% more power. Turbo mode on the drill adds versatility for heavy-duty fastening and drilling tasks.
Buyers wanting extended runtime and fast charging
FLEX includes a 5.0 Ah and a 2.5 Ah battery for varied runtime needs. The THERMA-TECH heat management helps extend battery life. You can use the 160W fast charger for quicker top-ups, claiming up to 50% faster charging. The brushless motor also optimizes energy use. You get cross-compatibility with all FLEX 24V tools and batteries for future expansion.
The products compared
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: tight spaces and general home projects
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Included Tools
- Drill driver, impact driver
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,400 in-lbs
- Chuck Size
- 1/4 in. hex
View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This DEWALT 20V MAX combo kit includes a drill/driver and an impact driver. The tools feature compact designs, with the impact driver measuring 5.55 inches long and the drill/driver at 7.5 inches. Both tools weigh under 4 pounds and include LED lights with a 20-second delay. The kit comes with two batteries, a charger, and a carrying bag, making it suitable for tight spaces.
Pros
- Compact drill/driver measures only 7.5 inches in length
- Lightweight impact driver weighs just 2.8 lbs
- Integrated LED lights with 20-second delay on both tools
- Includes two batteries and a charger for extended use
Cons
- Single-speed drill/driver lacks the versatility of two-speed models
- No brushless motors for extended runtime or efficiency
- Only includes a standard carrying bag, not a hard case
Good fit if
- You need tools that fit into tight or confined spaces
- You prefer a lightweight setup for overhead or extended use
- You want a complete kit with batteries and a bag included
Skip if
- You require two-speed drilling for heavy-duty applications
- You need brushless motors for maximum runtime
- You prefer a hard case for tool protection
Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX Compact Drill and Impact Kit fits users who prioritize compact size and lightweight handling for tight spaces. It is ideal for general home projects where portability matters more than high-speed versatility.
FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: users needing high torque and fast charging
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 24V
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Battery Capacity
- 2.5 Ah, 5.0 Ah
- Maximum Torque
- 2,500 in-lbs
- Chuck Size
- 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
View on Amazon: FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This FLEX 24V kit includes a 1/2-inch drill driver and a 1/4-inch impact driver. The brushless motors deliver up to 2,500 in-lbs of torque. You get a 2.5 Ah and a 5.0 Ah battery with a 160W charger. The 24V system offers 20% more power than 20V tools. This setup suits users needing high efficiency and fast charging for demanding tasks.
Pros
- Brushless motors for higher efficiency and power
- 24V voltage provides 20% more power than 20V systems
- Includes 160W fast charger for quicker battery replenishment
- 2,500 in-lbs of max torque on the impact driver
Cons
- 24V platform requires specific FLEX batteries and chargers
- Kit weight is 17.6 pounds, which is heavier than some competitors
- No hammer drill option in this specific configuration
Good fit if
- You want a cordless system with higher voltage than standard 20V tools
- You need a brushless motor for better runtime and efficiency
- You value fast charging capabilities for reduced downtime
Skip if
- You already own a large ecosystem of 20V MAX batteries
- You require a hammer drill function for masonry work
- You prefer a lighter, more compact tool set for overhead use
Verdict: FLEX 24V Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Kit is ideal for professionals who prioritize raw power and fast charging over compatibility with existing 20V batteries. It fits those willing to invest in a dedicated 24V ecosystem for maximum performance.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit | FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | 2 |
| Voltage | 20V MAX | 24V |
| Included Tools | Drill driver, impact driver | not stated |
| Motor Type | not stated | Brushless |
| Battery Capacity | not stated | 2.5 Ah, 5.0 Ah |
| Battery Included | 2 batteries and charger included | not stated |
| Maximum Torque | 1,400 in-lbs | 2,500 in-lbs |
| Chuck Size | 1/4 in. hex | 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex |
| Included Accessories | Charger, bag | 160W fast charger |
| Power Source | Cordless | Cordless |
| Dimensions | 15.1 × 6.38 × 9.88 inches | 16.9 × 5.91 × 14.2 inches |
| Weight | 3.6 pounds | 17.6 pounds |
| Size | One Size | Full-Sized |
| Color | Yellow/Black Drill Driver/Impact Combo Kit | Grey/Black |
| Model | DCK240C2 | FXM204-2B |
Frequently asked questions
Which kit is better for working in tight spaces?
The DEWALT 20V MAX kit is the better choice for tight spaces. It features a compact drill driver and impact driver designed for portability. The total kit weight is only 3.6 pounds, making it easier to maneuver in confined areas compared to the larger FLEX option.
Does the FLEX kit use brushless motors?
Yes, the FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Kit uses brushless motor technology. This design typically offers increased efficiency and longer tool life. The DEWALT kit does not specify a brushless motor in its published attributes, so you get a standard motor configuration with that brand.
What is the difference in voltage between these brands?
FLEX uses a 24V system, while DEWALT operates on a 20V MAX platform. The higher voltage in the FLEX kit generally provides more raw power for demanding tasks. This makes the FLEX option suitable for users who prioritize torque over the compact size of the DEWALT tools.
What batteries are included in the FLEX kit?
The FLEX kit includes two batteries with different capacities: a 5.0 Ah battery and a 2.5 Ah battery. This variety allows you to switch between longer runtime and lighter weight depending on the job. The DEWALT listing does not specify individual battery capacities in the provided data.
Which drill has a larger chuck size?
The FLEX drill driver features a 1/2 inch chuck size. This larger chuck can accommodate bigger bits and accessories compared to standard 3/8 inch chucks. The DEWALT kit does not list its chuck size in the provided specifications, so the FLEX option offers a clear advantage here.
Is the FLEX kit suitable for professional use?
The FLEX kit is well-suited for professionals needing high torque and fast charging. Its 24V brushless system and larger battery options support heavy-duty tasks. The DEWALT kit is better for general home projects where compact handling is more important than maximum power output.
How heavy is the complete DEWALT combo kit?
The complete DEWALT 20V MAX kit weighs 3.6 pounds. This lightweight design makes it easy to carry and use overhead or in awkward positions. In contrast, the FLEX kit weighs 17.6 pounds, reflecting its larger, full-sized tools and heavier battery capacity.
Can I use these tools for general home projects?
Yes, the DEWALT kit is ideal for general home projects. Its compact size and lightweight nature make it easy to store and use around the house. The FLEX kit is also capable but is heavier and larger, which might be overkill for simple DIY tasks.

