DEWALT vs Greenworks: Power Tool Combo Kits Compared by Specs
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
We compare the DEWALT vs greenworks power tool combo kit options by their published specifications. Both kits include a drill and impact driver with 20V or 24V batteries. The main difference is scope. DEWALT offers a focused 2-tool set. Greenworks provides a 5-tool set with a circular saw, multi-tool, and light. You should choose based on the voltage platform and the number of tools you actually need for your projects.
Key differences
| Aspect | DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit | Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | 5 |
| Voltage | 20V MAX | 24V |
| Included Tools | Drill/Driver, Impact Driver | Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Oscillating Tool |
| Motor Type | not listed | Brushless |
| Battery Capacity | not listed | 4.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah |
| Weight | 3.6 pounds | 21 pounds |
Which one should you choose?
Choose DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit if
- You need a compact, lightweight kit for basic drilling and fastening tasks.
- You prefer a simpler setup with just a drill and impact driver.
- You want a tool set with a 3-year limited warranty.
Choose Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit if
- You require a circular saw, multi-tool, or work light in your kit.
- You want brushless motors for longer runtime and cooler operation.
- You need higher voltage (24V) and larger battery options.
Verdict: Choose the DEWALT kit if you only need a drill and impact driver for light to medium tasks. Pick the Greenworks kit if you want a more versatile 5-tool set with brushless motors and additional tools like a circular saw. Your decision depends on whether you value simplicity or expanded tool variety.
Specs Comparison: DEWALT vs Greenworks
Number of tools
The Greenworks kit includes five tools: a drill, impact driver, circular saw, multi-tool, and flashlight. This offers broad versatility for various household projects. DEWALT provides only two tools: a drill/driver and an impact driver. You get the core essentials but no additional capabilities. If you need to cut wood or oscillate materials, Greenworks covers more ground. DEWALT keeps the scope narrow. You buy separate kits for other tasks. Choose Greenworks for variety. Pick DEWALT for simplicity and focused use.
Voltage
Greenworks uses a 24V system, while DEWALT operates on 20V MAX. Higher voltage often suggests more power potential. Greenworks claims 24V delivers 20% more power and 35% longer runtime than 20V competitors. DEWALT sticks to the industry-standard 20V platform. This ensures compatibility with a vast ecosystem of existing DEWALT batteries and tools. If you already own DEWALT gear, this kit integrates seamlessly. Greenworks offers a newer, higher voltage option. It may provide better performance for heavy-duty tasks. Choose based on your existing battery ecosystem.
Motor type
Greenworks specifies brushless motors for its tools. Brushless motors offer longer runtime, increased power, and extended tool life. They run cooler and require less maintenance. DEWALT does not explicitly state brushless technology in the provided data for this specific model. It focuses on compact design and ergonomic features. Brushless motors are generally more efficient. Greenworks gains an advantage here for performance and durability. DEWALT relies on proven brushed or unspecified motor tech. If motor longevity and efficiency matter, Greenworks is the stronger choice.
Battery capacity
Greenworks includes two batteries: a 4.0 Ah and a 2.0 Ah pack. This provides substantial runtime for extended projects. DEWALT includes two batteries, but the specific amp-hour rating is not listed in the data. Greenworks also highlights USB-C fast charging and a portable charger feature. DEWALT includes a standard charger. Higher amp-hour capacity means longer tool operation before recharging. Greenworks offers more documented runtime potential. DEWALT’s battery specs remain unclear from the provided text. For extended work sessions, Greenworks provides a clear advantage in capacity.
Chuck size
Both kits feature a 1/2-inch chuck on the drill and a 1/4-inch hex chuck on the impact driver. This is the standard configuration for most cordless drills. You can use standard drill bits and driver bits in both. There is no difference in compatibility for common fasteners or drilling tasks. Both systems support the same range of accessories. You will not be limited by chuck size in either kit. The functionality is identical for typical DIY and professional applications. This is a tie in terms of versatility and standard tool compatibility.
Which DEWALT or Greenworks Kit Fits You
Users needing just a drill and impact driver
The DEWALT kit includes only a drill and impact driver. It weighs 3.6 pounds total. The drill is 7.5 inches long. The impact driver is 5.55 inches long. Both have LED lights with a 20-second delay. You get a carrying bag. This focused set is lighter and more compact for simple tasks.
DIYers wanting a circular saw and multi-tool
The Greenworks kit includes five tools. It adds a circular saw, multi-tool, and flashlight. The saw has a 4,800 RPM brushless motor. The multi-tool runs at 18,000 OPM. You get a 4.0 Ah and 2.0 Ah battery. The 24V system offers longer runtime. This set handles diverse projects without buying extra tools.
Professionals needing high torque and brushless motors
Greenworks uses brushless motors for efficiency. The impact driver delivers 1,950 in-lbs of torque. The drill provides 400 in-lbs of torque. The 24V battery offers 35% more runtime than 20V options. The USB-C charger supports two-way charging. These specs support heavy-duty fastening and cutting tasks with extended tool life.
The products compared
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: compact tasks and general home use
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Included Tools
- Drill driver, impact driver
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,400 in-lbs
- Chuck Size
- 1/4 in. hex
View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This DEWALT kit includes a 20V MAX drill and impact driver. The 1/2 inch chuck offers secure bit gripping, while the 1/4 inch hex chuck allows one-handed loading. Both tools feature LED lights with a 20-second delay. It comes with two batteries, a charger, and a bag. This setup suits users who need compact tools for tight spaces and reliable power for general tasks.
Pros
- Compact 5.55 inch impact driver fits tight spaces
- 1/2 inch single sleeve ratcheting chuck for secure gripping
- Integrated LED lights with 20-second delay on both tools
- Includes two batteries, charger, and carrying bag
Cons
- Only includes two tools compared to larger kits
- 20V MAX system may lack power for heavy-duty tasks
- No brushless motors listed in specifications
Good fit if
- You need compact tools for tight spaces
- You want LED lights with a delay feature
- You prefer a kit with two batteries included
Skip if
- You need more than two tools in your kit
- You require brushless motor technology
- You need high-torque tools for heavy-duty work
Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Combo is a practical choice for users who value compactness and LED visibility. It fits those who need a reliable two-tool setup with included batteries and a bag for general home tasks.
Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit
Best for: DIYers needing 5 versatile tools
- Number of Tools
- 5
- Voltage
- 24V
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Battery Capacity
- 4.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,950 in.-lbs.
View on Amazon: Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit Affiliate link
This Greenworks 24V kit includes a drill, impact driver, circular saw, multi-tool, and flashlight. It features brushless motors and 1,950 in-lbs of torque. The 24V system offers 35% more runtime than 20V competitors. You get a 4.0 Ah and 2.0 Ah battery. It suits DIYers needing versatile tools for home projects.
Pros
- 24V brushless motors for extended runtime
- 1,950 in-lbs of impact driver torque
- Includes 4.0 Ah and 2.0 Ah batteries
- 5-tool set with circular saw and multi-tool
Cons
- Lower voltage than 20V MAX competitors
- Smaller 2.0 Ah battery included
- Heavier 21-pound kit weight
Good fit if
- You want a 5-tool set for varied tasks
- You prefer 24V system runtime benefits
- You need a circular saw and multi-tool
Skip if
- You strictly use 20V MAX batteries
- You need high-voltage professional power
- You prefer lighter single-tool kits
Verdict: Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Combo Kit provides versatile tools and longer runtime for DIYers who value system compatibility over standard 20V voltage.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit | Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | 5 |
| Voltage | 20V MAX | 24V |
| Included Tools | Drill driver, impact driver | not stated |
| Motor Type | not stated | Brushless |
| Battery Capacity | not stated | 4.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah |
| Battery Included | 2 batteries and charger included | 2 batteries and charger included |
| Maximum Torque | 1,400 in-lbs | 1,950 in.-lbs. |
| Chuck Size | 1/4 in. hex | 1/2 in. drill, 1/4 in. impact driver |
| Oscillations Per Minute | not stated | 18,000 OPM |
| Included Accessories | Charger, bag | not stated |
| Power Source | Cordless | not stated |
| Dimensions | 15.1 × 6.38 × 9.88 inches | 19.8 × 11.2 × 8.8 inches |
| Weight | 3.6 pounds | 21 pounds |
| Size | One Size | 5PCS Combo Kits |
| Color | Yellow/Black Drill Driver/Impact Combo Kit | not stated |
| Model | DCK240C2 | CK351 |
Frequently asked questions
Is the Greenworks 24V system better than DEWALT 20V?
The Greenworks 24V platform offers higher voltage than the DEWALT 20V system. This can provide slightly more power for demanding tasks. However, DEWALT remains a mature ecosystem with extensive tool compatibility. Choose Greenworks if you want a higher voltage start. Choose DEWALT for a proven, widely supported 20V network.
How much does the Greenworks 5-tool kit weigh?
The Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Combo Kit weighs 21 pounds total. This includes the drill, impact driver, circular saw, work light, and oscillating tool. The DEWALT 2-tool kit is significantly lighter at 3.6 pounds. The weight difference reflects the number of tools included in each package.
Does the DEWALT kit include a carrying bag?
Yes, the DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit comes with a bag. This helps you store and transport the two included tools. The Greenworks 5-Tool Combo Kit does not list a carrying bag in its specifications. You may need to purchase storage separately for the larger Greenworks set.
What is the battery capacity in the Greenworks kit?
The Greenworks 24V kit includes batteries with 4.0 Ah and 2.0 Ah capacities. These support the five tools in the set. The DEWALT kit includes two batteries but does not list their specific amp-hour ratings in the provided data. Both brands use cordless power sources for their respective tools.
Can I use the Greenworks tools for circular sawing?
Yes, the Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Combo Kit includes a circular saw. This makes it suitable for cutting wood or sheet goods. The DEWALT kit only includes a drill driver and impact driver. It does not provide a saw for cutting tasks. You would need to buy a saw separately for DEWALT.
Which kit is more compact for small spaces?
The DEWALT kit is more compact. It measures 15.1 inches in length and weighs 3.6 pounds. The Greenworks kit is larger at 19.8 inches long and weighs 21 pounds. If you have limited storage space or need a lightweight setup, the DEWALT 2-tool option is the better choice.
Are the Greenworks tools brushless?
Yes, the Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Combo Kit features brushless motors. Brushless motors offer longer runtime and increased durability compared to brushed motors. The DEWALT kit specifications do not explicitly state if the motors are brushless. This is a key advantage for the Greenworks system if you prioritize motor efficiency.
Does the Greenworks kit include a work light?
Yes, the Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Combo Kit includes a work light. This adds versatility for working in dim areas. The DEWALT kit does not list a work light in its included tools. The DEWALT drill driver does have an LED, but it is not a standalone work light like the Greenworks unit.

