As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

DEWALT vs PORTER-CABLE: Power Tool Combo Kits Compared by Specs

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

You are comparing the DEWALT vs PORTER-CABLE power tool combo kit options for your next project. Both brands offer cordless 20V MAX systems with drill/driver and impact driver pairs. The main difference is scope. DEWALT provides a focused two-tool set with a carrying bag. PORTER-CABLE expands the lineup to six tools, adding a circular saw and reciprocating saw. You need to decide if you prefer a compact starter pair or a broader multi-tool collection.

Key differences

AspectDEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver KitPORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit
Number of Tools26
Included ToolsDrill/Driver, Impact DriverDrill/Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Reciprocating Saw, Work Light, Oscillating Tool
Maximum Torquenot listed1,450 in.-lbs.
Battery Included2 batteries and chargernot listed
Included AccessoriesBagCutting blade, USB charger

Which one should you choose?

Choose DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit if

  • You want a compact two-tool set that fits easily into tight spaces.
  • You need a carrying bag for organized transport of your basic tools.
  • You already own batteries and only need a drill and impact driver.

Choose PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit if

  • You need a wider variety of tools for different types of projects.
  • You want a circular saw and reciprocating saw included in the box.
  • You are looking for high torque specifications for demanding fastening tasks.

Verdict: The DEWALT kit suits you if you prioritize portability and a simple, focused setup. The PORTER-CABLE kit is better if you want a comprehensive collection of six tools for varied jobs. Choose based on whether you need just the basics or a full suite of cutting and fastening capabilities.

DEWALT vs PORTER-CABLE Combo Kit Specs

Number of tools

Edge: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit

The PORTER-CABLE kit includes six distinct tools, offering a broader range of capabilities for various tasks. This set covers drilling, driving, cutting, and oscillating needs in one package. In contrast, the DEWALT kit contains only two tools: a drill/driver and an impact driver. This focused selection is ideal if you primarily need fastening and drilling functions. You get a carrying bag with the DEWALT set, but the PORTER-CABLE option provides more tool variety without requiring additional purchases for cutting or reciprocating tasks. Choose based on whether you need a versatile array or a specialized pair.

Included tools

Edge: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit

PORTER-CABLE includes a drill/driver, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, oscillating tool, and work light. This combination allows you to handle structural cuts and detailed trimming without buying separate units. DEWALT limits its inclusion to a drill/driver and an impact driver. While these are the most frequently used tools for general assembly, you cannot cut wood or remove fasteners with the DEWALT set alone. The PORTER-CABLE approach reduces the need for multiple separate purchases if you need a complete workshop starter. DEWALT is better if you already own cutting tools and want a compact, dedicated fastening setup.

Chuck size

Edge: Tie

Both the DEWALT and PORTER-CABLE kits feature a 1/2-inch chuck on the drill/driver and a 1/4-inch hex chuck on the impact driver. This standard configuration ensures compatibility with the same range of drill bits and driver bits. You can use standard twist bits, spade bits, and driver accessories in either system. The specifications for chuck size are identical, meaning there is no functional difference in what you can attach to the tools. Both brands adhere to industry standards for cordless power tools, providing flexibility for your bit collection. This aspect is a complete tie between the two options.

Battery included

Edge: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit

The DEWALT kit explicitly includes two batteries and a charger. Having two batteries allows you to swap them out when one depletes, maintaining workflow efficiency. The PORTER-CABLE data lists a USB charger in the included accessories but does not explicitly state the number of batteries provided in the key specs or features. While the kit likely contains batteries, the specific count is not detailed in the provided data. DEWALT’s clear specification of two batteries offers a known advantage for extended use. If you require immediate dual-battery capability, DEWALT provides that certainty in its package contents.

Voltage

Edge: Tie

Both the DEWALT and PORTER-CABLE kits operate on a 20V MAX power system. This voltage rating indicates similar power potential for general household and light professional tasks. You can expect comparable performance in drilling holes and driving screws across both brands. The voltage is a foundational spec that ensures battery compatibility within each brand’s ecosystem. Since both systems share this 20V MAX rating, neither holds a technical advantage in raw power output based on voltage alone. You can choose either brand without compromising on the basic electrical specification required for standard cordless tool operations.

Impact driver torque

Edge: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit

The PORTER-CABLE impact driver specifies 1,450 in.-lbs of torque. This high torque output is suitable for driving large fasteners and handling demanding applications. The DEWALT data does not list the torque specification for its impact driver. Without this specific number, we cannot directly compare the rotational force capabilities of the DEWALT unit. However, the PORTER-CABLE provides a clear metric for performance in this area. If high torque is a critical factor for your heavy-duty fastening needs, the PORTER-CABLE kit offers verified data to support that choice. DEWALT’s torque remains unspecified in the provided information.

Which 20V Combo Kit Fits Your Needs

You need precision work in tight spaces

Our pick: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit

The DEWALT kit features compact tools designed for difficult areas. The impact driver measures 5.55 inches long and weighs 2.8 lbs. The drill driver is 7.5 inches long and weighs 3.6 lbs. This smaller footprint allows you to reach spots that bulkier tools cannot. You get focused performance with integrated LED lights for visibility in dim conditions.

You want a complete set for diverse tasks

Our pick: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit

The PORTER-CABLE kit includes six tools, covering more ground than a basic pair. It adds a circular saw with a 5-1/2-inch carbide blade and a reciprocating saw. You also get an oscillating tool and a work light. This broader range handles drilling, driving, and cutting without needing to buy separate units or manage multiple battery systems.

You prioritize torque and speed specifications

Our pick: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit

The PORTER-CABLE impact driver delivers 1,450 in-lbs of torque at 2,900 max RPMs. It also operates at 3,000 BPM. The circular saw motor runs at 3,700 RPMs. These high numbers suggest robust performance for demanding fastening and cutting jobs. You get detailed speed and torque metrics for the included tools in this larger package.

The products compared

DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit

Best for: tight spaces and portable tasks

Number of Tools
2
Voltage
20V MAX
Included Tools
Drill driver, impact driver
Battery Included
2 batteries and charger included
Maximum Torque
1,400 in-lbs
Chuck Size
1/4 in. hex

View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link

This DEWALT 20V MAX kit includes a 1/2 inch drill and a 1/4 inch impact driver. The tools are compact, weighing 3.6 lbs and 2.8 lbs respectively. You get two batteries, a charger, and a carrying bag. Integrated LED lights with a 20-second delay help in dim areas. The ratcheting chuck allows for fast bit changes. This set suits users needing portable, reliable power for tight spaces.

Pros

  • Compact design fits into tight work areas
  • Integrated LED work lights with 20-second delay
  • One-handed loading via 1/4 inch hex chuck
  • Includes two batteries and a carrying bag

Cons

  • Only includes two tools in the set
  • No variable speed trigger specification listed
  • Bag capacity is not specified in data

Good fit if

  • You need tools for tight or confined spaces
  • You want a lightweight setup for overhead work
  • You prefer a simple kit with essential tools

Skip if

  • You require a large number of tools in one box
  • You need high-capacity batteries for long jobs
  • You prefer a kit with a hard case

Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX 2-Tool Kit is a practical choice for users who prioritize portability and access to tight spaces over a large tool count. It fits those who need just a drill and impact driver without extra bulk.

PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit

Best for: Users needing multiple cutting tools

Number of Tools
6
Voltage
20V MAX
Maximum Torque
1,450 in.-lbs.
Chuck Size
1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
Included Accessories
Cutting blade, USB charger
Included Tools
Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Reciprocating Saw, Oscillating Tool

View on Amazon: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link

This PORTER-CABLE kit includes six cordless tools powered by 20V MAX batteries. The drill driver offers 283 watts of power with a two-speed gearbox. The impact driver delivers 1,450 in-lbs of torque for fastening tasks. You also get a circular saw and reciprocating saw for cutting. It comes with a USB charger and blades. This set suits users needing a wide range of tools for various jobs.

Pros

  • Includes six tools for diverse tasks
  • Impact driver provides 1,450 in-lbs torque
  • Drill features two-speed gearbox for versatility
  • Circular saw has 3,700 RPM motor
  • Reciprocating saw offers variable speed control

Cons

  • Battery packs are not included in the kit
  • Circular saw blade is only 18 teeth
  • Drill driver weight is 3.5 lbs

Good fit if

  • You need a circular saw for cutting wood
  • You require an impact driver for high torque
  • You want a reciprocating saw for demolition

Skip if

  • You already own 20V MAX batteries
  • You need a brushless motor for longevity
  • You prefer a single tool over a kit

Verdict: PORTER-CABLE 6-Tool 20V MAX Combo Kit is a comprehensive set for users who need multiple cutting and fastening tools. It fits those starting with a new battery platform who require a circular saw and reciprocating saw.

Specifications side by side

Spec DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit
Number of Tools 2 6
Voltage 20V MAX 20V MAX
Included Tools Drill driver, impact driver not stated
Battery Included 2 batteries and charger included not stated
Maximum Torque 1,400 in-lbs 1,450 in.-lbs.
Chuck Size 1/4 in. hex 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
Included Accessories Charger, bag Cutting blade, USB charger
Power Source Cordless Cordless
Dimensions 15.1 × 6.38 × 9.88 inches 17.8 × 11.6 × 11.5 inches
Weight 3.6 pounds 8 ounces
Size One Size One Size
Color Yellow/Black Drill Driver/Impact Combo Kit Combo Kit
Model DCK240C2 PCCK617L6

Frequently asked questions

Which combo kit is better for tight spaces?

The DEWALT kit is better for tight spaces. It includes a drill driver and impact driver designed for portability. The tools are compact, with the impact driver measuring 5.55 inches long. This makes it easier to maneuver in difficult areas compared to larger sets.

Does the PORTER-CABLE kit include a circular saw?

Yes, the PORTER-CABLE kit includes a circular saw. It is a 6-tool set that covers drilling, driving, cutting, and oscillating needs. This comprehensive package is ideal if you need multiple cutting and fastening tools without buying them separately.

What is the voltage of these DEWALT and PORTER-CABLE kits?

Both kits operate on a 20V MAX power source. They are cordless tools that provide consistent power for various tasks. This shared voltage allows you to use compatible batteries across different tools from each brand if you expand your collection later.

How many tools come in the PORTER-CABLE combo kit?

The PORTER-CABLE combo kit includes six distinct tools. It features a drill driver, impact driver, circular saw, work light, reciprocating saw, and oscillating tool. This broad range offers versatility for users starting with a new battery platform.

Is the DEWALT kit suitable for users who want minimal bulk?

Yes, the DEWALT kit is suitable for minimal bulk. It provides a focused two-tool set with a drill driver and impact driver. This design fits users who need essential tools without the extra size and weight of a larger, multi-tool package.

What models are included in the DEWALT 20V MAX kit?

The DEWALT kit includes a drill driver and an impact driver. The model number for this combo is DCK240C2. These two tools are designed to work together for general drilling and driving tasks in a compact, cordless format.

Can I use the PORTER-CABLE tools for oscillating tasks?

Yes, you can use the PORTER-CABLE tools for oscillating tasks. The kit includes an oscillating tool alongside the drill, impact driver, saws, and work light. This allows you to perform detailed cutting and sanding work without needing a separate purchase.

See also