DEWALT vs RIDGID: Power Tool Combo Kits Compared by Specs
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
This DEWALT vs RIDGID power tool combo kit analysis compares two popular 2-tool sets. Both include a drill/driver and an impact driver with batteries and chargers. The main difference lies in their platform voltage and motor technology. DEWALT offers a 20V MAX system with standard motors, while RIDGID uses an 18V system with brushless motors. You will see how these specs affect torque, size, and weight in your daily tasks.
Key differences
| Aspect | DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit | RIDGID 18V SubCompact Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Voltage | 20V MAX | 18V |
| Motor Type | Not listed | Brushless |
| Battery Capacity | Not listed | 2.0 Ah |
| Impact Driver Torque | Not listed | 1,850 in.-lbs. |
| Drill/Driver Torque | Not listed | 500 in.-lbs. |
| Drill/Driver Chuck | 1/2 in. single sleeve ratcheting | 1/2 in. |
Which one should you choose?
Choose DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit if
- You prefer a 20V MAX battery platform for broader tool compatibility
- You want a drill with a single sleeve ratcheting chuck for faster bit changes
- You value a compact impact driver length of 5.55 inches
Choose RIDGID 18V SubCompact Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit if
- You need higher impact driver torque at 1,850 in.-lbs.
- You want brushless motors for improved efficiency and runtime
- You prefer a drill/driver that is 25% lighter and 15% more compact
Verdict: Choose DEWALT if you prioritize the 20V MAX ecosystem and a ratcheting chuck for quick bit swaps. Select RIDGID if you need more raw torque from the brushless motors and a lighter, more compact tool profile. Both kits provide the essential drill and impact driver functions you need.
DEWALT vs RIDGID Specs Compared
Motor Technology
The RIDGID kit features brushless motors in both the drill/driver and the impact driver. This technology typically offers better efficiency, longer runtime, and increased durability compared to brushed alternatives. The DEWALT listing does not specify the motor type for its tools. Brushless motors reduce friction and heat, which can extend the life of the tool. If motor longevity and efficiency are priorities, the RIDGID specification provides a clear technical advantage that the DEWALT data does not confirm.
Voltage Platform
DEWALT operates on a 20V MAX platform, while RIDGID uses an 18V system. Higher voltage often correlates with higher potential power output in cordless tools. The DEWALT 20V MAX designation suggests a slightly higher electrical pressure than the RIDGID 18V setup. However, actual performance depends on motor design and battery capacity. For users already invested in one ecosystem, switching platforms requires buying new batteries and chargers. The voltage difference is a key factor in compatibility with existing tools from either brand.
Torque Output
RIDGID specifies a maximum torque of 1,850 in./lbs. for its impact driver and 500 in./lbs. for the drill/driver. These numbers indicate the rotational force the tools can deliver. The DEWALT product data does not list torque specifications for either tool. Without these figures, you cannot directly compare the raw power potential between the two kits. Higher torque is useful for driving large fasteners or drilling into dense materials. The RIDGID specs provide concrete performance metrics that the DEWALT listing lacks.
Battery Capacity
The RIDGID kit includes two 2.0 Ah batteries. The amp-hour rating indicates how much energy the battery can store. The DEWALT listing mentions two batteries but does not specify their amp-hour capacity. A 2.0 Ah battery is a standard capacity, suitable for moderate use. If the DEWALT batteries are also 2.0 Ah or higher, the runtime may be similar. However, without explicit capacity data for DEWALT, you cannot verify if it matches or exceeds the RIDGID offering. The RIDGID spec is more transparent regarding battery endurance.
Tool Weight and Size
RIDGID highlights that its drill/driver is 25% lighter and 15% more compact than its previous model, and the impact driver is 30% lighter and 25% more compact. DEWALT provides specific dimensions, listing the impact driver at 5.55 inches long and 2.8 lbs, and the drill/driver at 7.5 inches and 3.6 lbs. Both brands focus on compact designs for tight spaces. RIDGID’s relative comparisons suggest significant weight savings. DEWALT gives absolute weights, allowing you to judge the physical heft directly. Both kits prioritize maneuverability for overhead or confined work.
Chuck Types
DEWALT includes a 1/2-inch single sleeve ratcheting chuck for the drill and a 1/4-inch hex chuck for the impact driver. RIDGID specifies a 1/2-inch chuck for the drill/driver but does not detail the impact driver chuck type in the provided data. The 1/4-inch hex chuck on DEWALT allows for quick bit changes without a key. The 1/2-inch ratcheting chuck on DEWALT provides secure bit gripping. RIDGID’s drill chuck size matches, but the impact driver interface remains unspecified in the text. DEWALT offers more clarity on its chuck configurations.
Which combo kit fits your needs
Users needing maximum torque for tough jobs
The RIDGID impact driver delivers 1,850 in./lbs. of torque, which is significantly higher than typical drill outputs. Its brushless motor enhances efficiency and runtime. If you frequently drive large fasteners or work with dense materials, this higher torque specification ensures you can complete demanding tasks without stalling or losing speed.
Professionals prioritizing compact tool dimensions
The DEWALT impact driver measures only 5.55 inches in length and weighs 2.8 lbs. The drill/driver is 7.5 inches long. These compact dimensions allow you to access tight spaces and difficult-to-reach areas more easily. If your work involves confined spaces, the smaller physical footprint of these tools provides a practical advantage.
Buyers wanting a complete accessory package
This DEWALT kit includes a dedicated carrying bag along with two batteries and the charger. The RIDGID listing mentions a tool bag, but the DEWALT package is explicitly described as including the bag in the main feature set. If you prefer a ready-to-go solution with organized storage included, this kit offers a complete set for transport.
The products compared
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: DIYers needing compact tools for tight spaces
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Included Tools
- Drill driver, impact driver
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,400 in-lbs
- Chuck Size
- 1/4 in. hex
View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This DEWALT kit includes a 1/2 inch drill/driver and a 1/4 inch hex impact driver. Both tools run on 20V MAX batteries and feature compact designs for tight spaces. The drill weighs 3.6 lbs and the impact driver weighs 2.8 lbs. You get two batteries, a charger, and a bag. It suits users who need portable power for general fastening and drilling tasks.
Pros
- Compact drill/driver measures 7.5 inches and weighs 3.6 lbs
- Impact driver is 5.55 inches long and weighs 2.8 lbs
- Both tools include LED work lights with a 20-second delay
- Drill features a 1/2 inch single sleeve ratcheting chuck for secure bit gripping
Cons
- Only includes two tools in the kit
- Standard 1/2 inch chuck is bulkier than subcompact alternatives
- No mention of brushless motors in the specifications
Good fit if
- You need a lightweight drill for tight spaces
- You want a simple cordless setup with two batteries
- You prefer a durable ratcheting chuck for quick bit changes
Skip if
- You require a brushless motor for extended runtime
- You need more than two tools in your initial kit
- You prioritize a subcompact form factor over standard chuck size
Verdict: DEWALT 20V Compact Drill and Impact Combo offers reliable performance for users who value compact dimensions and secure chuck grip. It fits DIYers who need portable tools for general home projects.
RIDGID 18V SubCompact Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit
Best for: tight spaces and lightweight handling
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 18V
- Included Tools
- Drill/Driver, Impact Driver
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Battery Capacity
- 2.0 Ah
- Battery Included
- (2) 2.0 Ah batteries, charger
View on Amazon: RIDGID 18V SubCompact Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link
This RIDGID kit includes a brushless drill/driver and impact driver powered by 18V 2.0 Ah batteries. The drill delivers 500 in-lbs of torque with a 1/2 in. chuck, while the impact driver provides 1,850 in-lbs. Both tools are subcompact and lightweight. It suits users who need compact tools for tight spaces and value the brushless motor efficiency.
Pros
- Brushless motors for efficiency
- 1,850 in-lbs impact torque
- Subcompact and lightweight design
- 24-position clutch on drill
Cons
- Smaller 2.0 Ah battery capacity
- Lower drill torque at 500 in-lbs
- Only includes two tools
Good fit if
- You need compact tools for tight spaces
- You value lightweight handling
- You prefer brushless motor efficiency
Skip if
- You require high-capacity batteries
- You need more than two tools
- You prefer higher drill torque
Verdict: RIDGID 18V SubCompact Brushless 2-Tool Kit fits users who prioritize compact size and lightweight handling for detailed work.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit | RIDGID 18V SubCompact Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | 2 |
| Voltage | 20V MAX | 18V |
| Included Tools | Drill driver, impact driver | Drill/Driver, Impact Driver |
| Motor Type | not stated | Brushless |
| Battery Capacity | not stated | 2.0 Ah |
| Battery Included | 2 batteries and charger included | (2) 2.0 Ah batteries, charger |
| Maximum Torque | 1,400 in-lbs | 1,850 in.-lbs. (impact driver) |
| Chuck Size | 1/4 in. hex | 1/2 in. (drill/driver) |
| Included Accessories | Charger, bag | Tool bag, charger |
| Power Source | Cordless | not stated |
| Dimensions | 15.1 × 6.38 × 9.88 inches | 10 × 10 × 5 inches |
| Weight | 3.6 pounds | 3 pounds |
| Size | One Size | not stated |
| Color | Yellow/Black Drill Driver/Impact Combo Kit | not stated |
| Model | DCK240C2 | R97801 |
Frequently asked questions
Which combo kit is smaller for tight spaces?
The RIDGID 18V SubCompact Brushless kit is designed for tight spaces. Its drill driver measures 10 inches in length and 5 inches in height. The DEWALT 20V MAX kit has a drill driver length of 15.1 inches. You will find the RIDGID model fits better in confined areas. Its compact dimensions allow for easier maneuverability during detailed work.
How do the weights compare between these kits?
The RIDGID kit weighs 3 pounds total. The DEWALT kit weighs 3.6 pounds total. Both are cordless tools. The RIDGID model is lighter overall. This difference may matter when you work overhead or for extended periods. You can choose the lighter option if portability is a priority for your projects.
Do both kits include brushless motors?
The RIDGID 18V SubCompact Brushless kit features brushless motors in both tools. The DEWALT 20V MAX kit listing does not specify the motor type. Brushless motors typically offer better efficiency and longer runtime. You should verify the DEWALT motor details on the product page if that feature is critical for your needs.
What voltage systems do these kits use?
The DEWALT kit uses a 20V MAX platform. The RIDGID kit uses an 18V platform. Both systems support cordless operation. The voltage difference indicates distinct battery ecosystems. You should choose the kit that matches your existing battery inventory. This ensures compatibility with other tools you may own.
What tools are included in each kit?
Both kits include a drill driver and an impact driver. The RIDGID kit specifies a 2-Tool configuration. The DEWALT kit lists these same two tools. Each kit provides the essential tools for drilling and driving fasteners. You get a complete set for general home projects without needing additional purchases.
Which kit is better for DIYers?
The DEWALT 20V Compact Drill and Impact Combo is recommended for DIYers needing compact tools. It fits users who value portable tools for general home projects. The RIDGID kit is also suitable for tight spaces. You can choose DEWALT for a versatile DIY solution. The RIDGID option works well for detailed, confined tasks.
What are the dimensions of the drill drivers?
The DEWALT drill driver is 15.1 inches long, 6.38 inches wide, and 9.88 inches high. The RIDGID drill driver is 10 inches long, 10 inches wide, and 5 inches high. These dimensions affect how the tools fit in your workspaces. You can compare these sizes to determine which fits your storage or work area better.

