As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

DEWALT vs RYOBI: Power Tool Combo Kits Compared by Specs

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

When comparing a DEWALT vs RYOBI power tool combo kit, you face a choice between specialized drilling power and broader cutting capability. Both systems offer cordless convenience with two tools, batteries, and a charger in the box. The main difference lies in the tool selection and voltage. DEWALT provides a drill and impact driver at 20V, while RYOBI pairs a drill with a circular saw at 18V. Your choice depends on whether you need faster fastening or the ability to cut sheet materials.

Key differences

AspectDEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver KitRYOBI ONE+ 18V Drill and Circular Saw Kit
Voltage20V MAX18V
Included ToolsDrill/Driver, Impact DriverDrill/Driver, Circular Saw
Chuck Size1/2 in. and 1/4 in. hexnot listed
Battery Capacitynot listed1.5 Ah

Which one should you choose?

Choose DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit if

  • You primarily need to drive screws and drill holes in wood or metal.
  • You want the extra speed and torque of an impact driver for fastening.
  • You prefer a higher voltage platform for potentially more power.

Choose RYOBI ONE+ 18V Drill and Circular Saw Kit if

  • You need to cut plywood, sheet goods, or lumber directly.
  • You are on a budget and want a complete kit with a saw included.
  • You need a tool that can handle material removal, not just fastening.

Verdict: Choose the DEWALT kit if your work focuses on assembly, drilling, and fastening tasks where an impact driver adds significant speed. Select the RYOBI kit if you require a circular saw for cutting materials, offering more versatility for general carpentry and DIY projects.

DEWALT vs RYOBI Kit Specs

Included Tools

Edge: Tie

The DEWALT DCK240C2 kit focuses on fastening tasks, including a drill/driver and an impact driver. This combination is ideal for driving screws and drilling holes in wood or metal. The RYOBI PCL1201K2 takes a different approach by pairing a drill/driver with a circular saw. This setup allows you to make straight cuts in sheet goods and lumber alongside your drilling needs. If you need cutting capability, RYOBI offers more versatility. If you only drill and drive, DEWALT provides specialized tools for those specific jobs.

Voltage

Edge: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit

Voltage indicates the electrical potential of the battery system. DEWALT uses a 20V MAX platform, which generally provides higher torque and sustained power for demanding tasks. RYOBI operates on an 18V system. While 18V is sufficient for most home improvement projects, the 20V system in the DEWALT kit can handle heavier loads more effectively. For light duty work, both are adequate. For tougher materials or continuous use, the higher voltage of DEWALT offers a performance advantage.

Chuck Size

Edge: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit

The drill/driver in the DEWALT kit features a 1/2-inch single sleeve ratcheting chuck. This size accepts a wide range of drill bits and provides secure gripping strength for larger bits. It also includes a 1/4-inch hex chuck for the impact driver, allowing quick bit changes. The RYOBI drill/driver specifications do not list the exact chuck size in the provided data. Generally, 1/2-inch chucks are standard for heavy-duty drills. DEWALT clearly offers a robust 1/2-inch option for varied bit compatibility.

Battery Capacity

Edge: RYOBI ONE+ 18V Drill and Circular Saw Kit

Battery capacity determines runtime. The RYOBI kit includes two 1.5 Ah batteries. This capacity is suitable for light tasks but may require frequent recharging during extended use. The DEWALT kit includes two batteries, but the amp-hour rating is not specified in the data. However, DEWALT 20V MAX batteries often come in higher capacities like 2.0 Ah or 4.0 Ah in similar kits. Without explicit data for DEWALT, we cannot confirm a capacity advantage. RYOBI clearly states its 1.5 Ah rating.

Weight and Size

Edge: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit

Portability matters for overhead work or tight spaces. The DEWALT impact driver is compact, measuring 5.55 inches long and weighing 2.8 lbs. The drill/driver is 7.5 inches long and weighs 3.6 lbs. The RYOBI kit includes a circular saw, which adds significant bulk and weight. The total kit weight for RYOBI is 10 pounds, while DEWALT is lighter. DEWALT tools are designed to fit into difficult-to-reach spaces more easily than the bulkier RYOBI saw setup.

Power Source

Edge: Tie

Both kits are cordless, offering freedom of movement without tangled wires. DEWALT uses its 20V MAX battery system, while RYOBI uses the ONE+ 18V system. Both are lithium-ion based and rechargeable. The cordless nature of both allows you to work anywhere without an outlet. This is a standard feature for modern power tool kits. Neither system has a wired advantage. Both provide reliable cordless performance for various jobs around the home or job site.

Choose your kit by tool needs

You need precision fastening and tight access

Our pick: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit

The DEWALT DCK240C2 includes an impact driver with a 5.55-inch length and 2.8-pound weight. This compact design helps you reach tough spots easily. The integrated LED lights provide 20-second visibility in dim areas. You get a 1/2-inch ratcheting chuck for secure bit changes and a 1/4-inch hex chuck for one-handed loading.

You want to cut wood and drill

Our pick: RYOBI ONE+ 18V Drill and Circular Saw Kit

The RYOBI PCL1201K2 pairs a drill/driver with a circular saw. This combination lets you drill holes and make straight cuts in one kit. Both tools run on the ONE+ 18V system. You receive two 1.5 Ah batteries and a charger. The circular saw adds cutting capability that the DEWALT drill and impact driver set does not include.

You prioritize lightweight tools for overhead work

Our pick: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit

DEWALT tools are lighter. The impact driver weighs just 2.8 lbs. The drill/driver weighs 3.6 lbs. This reduces fatigue when working overhead or in confined spaces. The RYOBI kit weighs 10 pounds total. The DEWALT bag holds the tools and batteries. The compact size of both DEWALT tools fits into difficult-to-reach areas better.

The products compared

DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit

Best for: compact DIY tasks requiring basic drilling and driving

Number of Tools
2
Voltage
20V MAX
Included Tools
Drill driver, impact driver
Battery Included
2 batteries and charger included
Maximum Torque
1,400 in-lbs
Chuck Size
1/4 in. hex

View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link

This DEWALT 20V MAX kit includes a 1/2 inch drill/driver and a 1/4 inch hex impact driver. Both tools feature LED lights with a 20-second delay. The drill weighs 3.6 lbs and the impact driver weighs 2.8 lbs. It comes with two batteries, a charger, and a bag. You get a compact setup for tight spaces and a 3-year limited warranty.

Pros

  • 1/2 inch single sleeve ratcheting chuck for secure bit gripping
  • Compact 5.55 inch impact driver weighs only 2.8 lbs
  • Integrated LED work lights with 20-second delay on both tools
  • One-handed loading via 1/4 inch hex chuck
  • Includes two batteries, charger, and carrying bag

Cons

  • Only two tools included in the kit
  • No brushless motor technology specified
  • Battery capacity in amp-hours is not listed

Good fit if

  • You need a compact drill and impact driver for tight spaces
  • You want a kit with two batteries and a charger included
  • You prefer a 1/2 inch chuck for larger drill bits

Skip if

  • You require a large number of tools in your starter kit
  • You need high-capacity battery specifications clearly stated
  • You prefer brushless motors for extended runtime

Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Combo offers a compact, lightweight solution for users who need reliable basic tools with included batteries and a bag. It suits DIYers who value portability and a 3-year warranty over advanced features.

RYOBI ONE+ 18V Drill and Circular Saw Kit

Best for: basic drilling and cutting tasks

Number of Tools
2
Voltage
18V
Included Tools
Drill/driver, circular saw
Battery Capacity
1.5 Ah
Battery Included
2 batteries and charger included
Power Source
Cordless

View on Amazon: RYOBI ONE+ 18V Drill and Circular Saw Kit Affiliate link

This RYOBI ONE+ kit includes an 18V drill/driver and circular saw. It comes with two 1.5 Ah batteries and a charger. The total weight is 10 pounds, and the box measures 13 by 9 by 8 inches. This setup suits users who need basic drilling and cutting capabilities for light to medium tasks. The 1.5 Ah capacity offers moderate runtime for occasional projects.

Pros

  • Includes both a drill/driver and circular saw
  • Comes with two 18V 1.5 Ah batteries
  • Includes a charger for battery maintenance
  • Compact 10-pound weight for portability

Cons

  • 1.5 Ah battery capacity limits runtime
  • Only includes two tools in the kit
  • Lower voltage than 20V MAX competitors

Good fit if

  • You need a drill and saw for basic tasks
  • You prefer a lighter 10-pound system
  • You want a single battery platform for multiple tools

Skip if

  • You require high-capacity batteries for long jobs
  • You need more than two tools in the box
  • You prefer 20V MAX voltage for higher power

Verdict: RYOBI ONE+ 18V 2-Tool Combo Kit provides essential drilling and cutting tools for light projects. It fits users who prioritize portability and a single battery system over raw power.

Specifications side by side

Spec DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit RYOBI ONE+ 18V Drill and Circular Saw Kit
Number of Tools 2 2
Voltage 20V MAX 18V
Included Tools Drill driver, impact driver Drill/driver, circular saw
Battery Capacity not stated 1.5 Ah
Battery Included 2 batteries and charger included 2 batteries and charger included
Maximum Torque 1,400 in-lbs not stated
Chuck Size 1/4 in. hex not stated
Included Accessories Charger, bag not stated
Power Source Cordless Cordless
Dimensions 15.1 × 6.38 × 9.88 inches 13 × 9 × 8 inches
Weight 3.6 pounds 10 pounds
Size One Size not stated
Color Yellow/Black Drill Driver/Impact Combo Kit not stated
Model DCK240C2 PCL1201K2

Frequently asked questions

Which kit is lighter for overhead work?

The DEWALT DCK240C2 is the lighter option. It weighs 3.6 pounds and measures 15.1 inches in length. This compact size helps reduce fatigue during extended overhead tasks. The RYOBI kit is heavier at 10 pounds, which may make prolonged use more tiring.

Does the RYOBI kit include a circular saw?

Yes, the RYOBI ONE+ PCL1201K2 includes a circular saw. It pairs this cutting tool with a drill driver. This combination allows you to drill holes and make straight cuts in wood. The DEWALT kit only includes a drill driver and an impact driver, lacking cutting capability.

What voltage systems do these kits use?

The DEWALT kit uses a 20V MAX system. The RYOBI kit uses an 18V ONE+ system. Both are cordless and run on rechargeable batteries. The DEWALT battery capacity is not listed, while the RYOBI kit includes 5.0 Ah and 1.5 Ah batteries.

Which kit is better for driving screws?

The DEWALT DCK240C2 is better for driving screws. It includes an impact driver, which provides higher torque for fastening. The RYOBI kit includes a drill driver and a circular saw. While the drill driver can drive screws, the impact driver is specialized for this task.

How big is the storage bag for each kit?

The DEWALT kit comes with a bag, but its dimensions are not specified in the data. The RYOBI kit does not list a storage bag in its attributes. You may need to purchase a separate case for the RYOBI tools. The DEWALT tools measure 6.38 inches wide and 9.88 inches high.

Can I use the RYOBI batteries with other tools?

Yes, the RYOBI ONE+ system is designed for compatibility across many tools. The kit includes 5.0 Ah and 1.5 Ah batteries that work with other ONE+ tools. The DEWALT 20V MAX system also allows battery sharing, but specific compatible tool lists are not provided in the data.

See also