FLEX vs CRAFTSMAN Power Tool Combo Kits: Which Brand Fits You?
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
You are looking at a FLEX vs CRAFTSMAN power tool combo kit comparison. Both kits include a drill driver and an impact driver for general use. The main difference lies in their power systems and motor technology. FLEX offers a 24V brushless setup with higher torque and larger batteries. CRAFTSMAN provides a 20V system with standard brushed or efficient motors and smaller 2Ah cells. Your choice depends on whether you prioritize raw power or compact portability.
Key differences
| Aspect | FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Voltage | 24V | 20V |
| Motor Type | Brushless | not listed |
| Maximum Torque | 2,500 in-lbs | 1,800 in-lbs MAX |
| Battery Capacity | 2.5 Ah and 5.0 Ah | 2.0 Ah |
| Weight | 17.6 pounds | 8.2 pounds |
Which one should you choose?
Choose FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit if
- You need maximum torque for heavy-duty fastening tasks.
- You want longer runtime with larger 5.0 Ah batteries.
- You prefer brushless motors for higher efficiency.
Choose CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit if
- You prioritize a lighter, more compact tool set.
- You are working on lighter projects with standard screws.
- You need a smaller footprint for tight spaces.
Verdict: The FLEX kit suits users who demand higher power and longer battery life for demanding work. The CRAFTSMAN kit is better for those who value a lighter, more manageable setup for everyday tasks. Choose based on whether you need raw strength or portability.
FLEX vs CRAFTSMAN Tool Comparison
Voltage and Power
FLEX uses a 24V system, while CRAFTSMAN operates on a 20V platform. The higher voltage in the FLEX kit contributes to its claim of 20% more power and a 25% longer runtime, supported by THERMA-TECH heat management. CRAFTSMAN highlights up to 30% more power in its drill driver, delivering 300 UWO. For impact drivers, CRAFTSMAN provides 1,800 in-lbs of MAX torque. FLEX’s impact driver offers 2,500 in-lbs of torque. The FLEX drill driver also reaches 1,400 in-lbs. Higher voltage and torque figures generally suggest more robust performance for demanding tasks.
Motor Technology
Motor type is a key differentiator. The FLEX kit features brushless motors in both tools. These intelligent digital motors eliminate friction, optimizing efficiency and power output. This design supports faster charging and longer tool life. The CRAFTSMAN kit does not explicitly state brushless motors in the provided specifications. It focuses on power output metrics like UWO and MAX torque. Brushless motors typically offer better speed control and durability. If you prioritize efficiency and reduced maintenance, the FLEX brushless setup is the stronger choice. CRAFTSMAN relies on traditional motor performance claims without specifying the internal technology.
Battery Capacity
Battery capacity affects runtime significantly. FLEX includes two batteries: a 2.5 Ah and a 5.0 Ah Lithium-Ion battery. This mix allows you to use the smaller battery for light tasks and the larger one for heavy work. CRAFTSMAN includes two 2 Ah Lithium-Ion batteries. Both kits provide two batteries, but the FLEX 5.0 Ah option offers substantially more energy storage. The FLEX 2.5 Ah battery is slightly larger than the CRAFTSMAN 2 Ah units. For extended jobs without swapping, the higher capacity in the FLEX kit provides a clear advantage in endurance.
Included Tools
Both kits are 2-Tool Combo Kits. They include a drill driver and an impact driver, covering most general drilling and fastening needs. FLEX offers a 1/2-Inch Drill Driver with Turbo Mode and a 1/4-Inch Quick Eject Impact Driver with Multi-Mode Control. CRAFTSMAN includes a Drill/Driver and an Impact Driver with an onboard LED. Both provide essential tools for homeowners and professionals. The FLEX drill driver features a 2-speed transmission, while the CRAFTSMAN drill driver emphasizes speed and torque balance. The core utility is identical, making this a tie in terms of basic tool inclusion.
Weight and Size
Portability matters for overhead work or tight spaces. The FLEX kit weighs 17.6 pounds, while the CRAFTSMAN kit weighs 8.2 pounds. This significant difference is largely due to the heavier batteries and the robust brushless motor construction in the FLEX tools. The CRAFTSMAN kit is much lighter and more compact. If you carry tools frequently or work in confined areas, the CRAFTSMAN kit is easier to handle. The FLEX kit is built for power, which adds weight. Consider your physical comfort and how often you move the tools around.
Charging Speed
FLEX includes a 160W Fast Charger, which supports high-power, dual-fan charging. This allows for up to 50% faster charging compared to standard chargers. The CRAFTSMAN kit includes a charger, but the wattage and charging speed are not specified in the data. Faster charging reduces downtime between jobs. The FLEX 160W charger is a notable advantage for users who need to keep tools ready quickly. If you rely on rapid turnaround, the FLEX charging system offers a practical benefit. CRAFTSMAN’s charging specs are less detailed, making a direct comparison difficult.
Which FLEX or Craftsman kit suits you
Users needing maximum torque and speed
The FLEX kit delivers 2,500 in-lbs of torque and 4,000 RPM in the impact driver. This brushless 24V system offers higher efficiency and faster charging via a 160W charger. You get two batteries with distinct capacities for varied jobs, ensuring sustained performance without overheating.
Buyers prioritizing portability and lightweight design
The CRAFTSMAN kit weighs only 8.2 pounds and measures 12.3 inches in length. Its compact 20V system includes a 1/2-inch chuck drill and a 1,800 in-lbs impact driver. You benefit from onboard LEDs for visibility, making it easier to handle in tight or dim spaces.
Professionals wanting extended runtime and durability
FLEX includes a 5.0 Ah and a 2.5 Ah battery, providing flexibility for long shifts. The THERMA-TECH heat management and brushless motor optimize runtime and tool life. You also receive a 5-year limited warranty upon registration, offering peace of mind for daily professional use.
The products compared
FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: high-torque fastening and fast charging
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 24V
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Battery Capacity
- 2.5 Ah, 5.0 Ah
- Maximum Torque
- 2,500 in-lbs
- Chuck Size
- 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
View on Amazon: FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This FLEX 24V kit includes a 1/2-inch drill driver and a 1/4-inch impact driver. Both tools use brushless motors for higher efficiency. The drill offers 1,400 in-lbs of torque, while the impact driver delivers 2,500 in-lbs. You get two batteries, one 5.0 Ah and one 2.5 Ah, plus a 160W fast charger. The system uses THERMA-TECH heat management to extend runtime. It suits users who need high power and fast charging for demanding tasks.
Pros
- Brushless motors eliminate friction for higher efficiency
- 2,500 in-lbs of torque on the impact driver
- 160W fast charger reduces downtime
- THERMA-TECH heat management extends runtime
Cons
- Drill driver torque is lower at 1,400 in-lbs
- Kit only includes two tools
- Smaller 2.5 Ah battery has limited capacity
Good fit if
- You need high torque for heavy-duty fastening
- You want fast charging times for the job site
- You prefer brushless motor efficiency
Skip if
- You require a hammer drill function
- You need more than two tools in the kit
- You prefer 18V or 20V tool ecosystems
Verdict: FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Combo delivers strong impact torque and fast charging for professionals. It fits users who prioritize power density and runtime management over tool count.
CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: Heavy fastening and deck building projects
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 20V
- Included Tools
- Drill/driver, impact driver
- Battery Capacity
- 2 Ah
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver)
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This CRAFTSMAN V20 kit includes a drill driver and an impact driver, both powered by 20V lithium-ion batteries. The drill offers up to 300 UWO, while the impact driver delivers 1,800 in-lbs of torque. You get two 2Ah batteries and a charger. The tools feature LED lights for better visibility. It suits users needing reliable torque for deck screws and lag bolts in a compact 8.2-pound package.
Pros
- 1,800 in-lbs MAX torque on the impact driver
- Two 2Ah batteries included for extended runtime
- Bright onboard LEDs on both tools
- 1/2-inch chuck on the drill driver
Cons
- Smaller 2Ah battery capacity limits runtime
- Heavier 8.2-pound build compared to compact kits
- Drill driver torque lower than impact driver
Good fit if
- You need high torque for lag bolts
- You want two essential tools in one kit
- You prefer a standard 1/2-inch drill chuck
Skip if
- You require brushless motors for maximum efficiency
- You need a lightweight tool under 5 pounds
- You want a single-speed drill for simplicity
Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 2-Tool Drill and Impact Combo delivers strong torque for heavy fastening tasks. It fits DIYers who prioritize power and runtime over ultra-compact weight.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | 2 |
| Voltage | 24V | 20V |
| Included Tools | not stated | Drill/driver, impact driver |
| Motor Type | Brushless | not stated |
| Battery Capacity | 2.5 Ah, 5.0 Ah | 2 Ah |
| Battery Included | not stated | 2 batteries and charger included |
| Maximum Torque | 2,500 in-lbs | 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver) |
| Chuck Size | 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex | 1/2 in. (drill); 1/4 in. (impact driver) |
| Included Accessories | 160W fast charger | not stated |
| Power Source | Cordless | Cordless |
| Dimensions | 16.9 × 5.91 × 14.2 inches | 12.3 × 4.96 × 8.86 inches |
| Weight | 17.6 pounds | 8.2 pounds |
| Size | Full-Sized | not stated |
| Color | Grey/Black | Black, Red |
| Model | FXM204-2B | CMCK201D2 |
Frequently asked questions
Which kit is lighter for overhead work?
The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit is significantly lighter. It weighs 8.2 pounds, while the FLEX 24V kit weighs 17.6 pounds. The CRAFTSMAN option is more compact, measuring 12.3 inches in length. This makes it easier to handle for extended periods or in tight spaces. You should choose the CRAFTSMAN kit if reducing fatigue is a priority.
Does the FLEX kit include a brushless motor?
Yes, the FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit features a brushless motor. This technology typically offers better efficiency and longer runtime compared to brushed motors. The FLEX model FXM204-2B uses this system to deliver high performance. The CRAFTSMAN kit specifications do not explicitly list the motor type.
What battery capacities are included in these kits?
The FLEX kit comes with two battery options: a 5.0 Ah and a 2.5 Ah battery. This allows you to swap between longer runtime and lighter weight depending on the task. The CRAFTSMAN kit includes a single 2.0 Ah battery. Both kits use cordless power sources for mobility.
Are the chucks the same size on both kits?
Yes, both kits feature a 1/2 Inch chuck size. This standard size accepts a wide range of drill bits and driver accessories. It ensures compatibility with common hardware and bits. You can use the same accessories for both the FLEX and CRAFTSMAN drill drivers.
Which kit is better for heavy fastening tasks?
The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit is recommended for heavy fastening and deck building projects. It delivers strong torque suitable for demanding applications. The FLEX kit is also noted for high-torque fastening, but the CRAFTSMAN verdict specifically highlights its strength for these heavy-duty tasks. Choose CRAFTSMAN for robust power in construction scenarios.
How do the physical dimensions compare?
The FLEX kit is larger, measuring 16.9 inches in length and 14.2 inches in height. It weighs 17.6 pounds. The CRAFTSMAN kit is more compact at 12.3 inches long and 8.86 inches high. It weighs only 8.2 pounds. The FLEX case is designed for full-sized storage, while the CRAFTSMAN case is smaller.
Is the FLEX kit suitable for professionals?
The FLEX 24V kit is described as fitting users who prioritize power density and runtime management. It is positioned as a choice for professionals needing strong impact torque. The brushless motor and higher voltage system support intensive use. If you need maximum power and fast charging, this kit aligns with professional demands.
What tools are included in the 2-tool kits?
Both kits include a drill driver and an impact driver. The FLEX kit includes these two tools in a grey and black color scheme. The CRAFTSMAN kit includes the same tools in black and red. Both are cordless and designed for general drilling and driving tasks.

