As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

FLEX or PORTER-CABLE? Power Tool Combo Kits Compared in 2026

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

When you compare the FLEX vs PORTER-CABLE power tool combo kit options, you see two very different approaches to cordless power. Both brands offer brushless motors and 20V-class platforms, but the FLEX 24V system focuses on raw performance with higher torque and advanced heat management. In contrast, the PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX kit prioritizes versatility by including six distinct tools in a single package. You need to decide if you prefer specialized high-power performance or a broader range of capabilities for various projects.

Key differences

AspectFLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver KitPORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit
Number of Tools26
Voltage24V20V MAX
Motor TypeBrushlessBrushless
Maximum Torque2,500 in-lbs1,450 in-lbs
Included ToolsDrill Driver, Impact DriverDrill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Reciprocating Saw, Work Light, Oscillating Tool
Battery Capacity2.5 Ah, 5.0 Ahnot listed

Which one should you choose?

Choose FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit if

  • You need maximum torque for demanding fastening tasks
  • You want longer runtime with advanced heat management
  • You prefer a compact kit with fewer, more powerful tools

Choose PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit if

  • You want a wide variety of tools for different project types
  • You need a circular saw and reciprocating saw included
  • You prefer a lower voltage platform for lighter duty work

Verdict: Choose the FLEX kit if you prioritize raw power, efficiency, and extended runtime for heavy-duty applications. Select the PORTER-CABLE kit if you need a versatile set of six tools to handle a broader range of common DIY tasks. Your choice depends on whether you value specialized performance or comprehensive tool coverage.

FLEX vs PORTER-CABLE Tool Comparison

Number of Tools

Edge: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit

The PORTER-CABLE kit offers significantly more variety with six distinct tools, including a circular saw, reciprocating saw, and oscillating tool. This makes it a versatile choice for diverse projects around the home or job site. The FLEX kit, by contrast, includes only two tools: a drill driver and an impact driver. While less comprehensive, this focused selection allows you to concentrate on core fastening and drilling tasks without managing a larger inventory of specialized equipment.

Voltage and Power

Edge: FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit

FLEX utilizes a 24V lithium platform, which the brand claims delivers 20% more power and 25% longer runtime than standard 20V systems. It also features THERMA-TECH heat management for sustained performance. PORTER-CABLE uses a 20V MAX platform. While 20V is a standard industry baseline, the FLEX 24V system is designed for higher output, specifically highlighting 2,500 in-lbs of torque compared to PORTER-CABLE's 1,450 in-lbs in the impact driver. You get more raw power from the FLEX system.

Motor Type

Edge: Tie

Both brands equip their tools with brushless motors, a standard for efficiency and durability in modern cordless kits. FLEX specifies an intelligent digital brushless motor optimized for higher efficiency and power, eliminating friction to extend tool life. PORTER-CABLE also lists brushless technology in its drill driver features. Since both products rely on this same core motor technology, neither holds a technical advantage in this category. You get the benefits of brushless efficiency with either choice.

Battery Capacity

Edge: FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit

FLEX includes two batteries: a 2.5 Ah and a 5.0 Ah Lithium-Ion battery, providing flexibility for quick swaps and longer runtime tasks. The data does not explicitly list the battery amp-hour ratings for the PORTER-CABLE kit, though it includes a USB charger. FLEX’s inclusion of a specific 5.0 Ah high-capacity cell gives you a clear advantage for extended use. You can rely on the larger FLEX battery for demanding jobs without frequent recharging.

Included Accessories

Edge: Tie

PORTER-CABLE includes a cutting blade and a USB charger, adding value for cutting tasks and charging small electronics. FLEX includes a 160W fast charger, which supports high-power, dual-fan charging for faster battery replenishment. The FLEX charger is designed to work with the entire 24V system, potentially reducing downtime between jobs. PORTER-CABLE’s accessories focus on immediate utility for cutting, while FLEX focuses on rapid power restoration for the tools.

Choose your power tool kit

You need high torque and efficiency

Our pick: FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit

The FLEX kit delivers 2,500 in-lbs of torque, which is significantly higher than the PORTER-CABLE option. Its brushless motor and THERMA-TECH heat management provide 25% longer runtime. If you prioritize raw power and faster charging with a 160W charger, this 24V system is the better technical fit for demanding tasks.

You want a wide variety of tools

Our pick: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit

The PORTER-CABLE kit includes six tools, such as a circular saw, reciprocating saw, and oscillating tool. This offers more versatility for different project types compared to the FLEX two-tool set. If you need multiple specialized tools in one package, this kit provides greater variety for general home maintenance and construction work.

You prefer a compact and lightweight setup

Our pick: FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit

The FLEX tools are designed for efficiency with a focus on performance per pound. While the PORTER-CABLE kit is lighter overall due to smaller batteries, the FLEX drill driver offers a compact design with high torque output. If you value a streamlined tool set with advanced motor technology and quick eject features, this is the practical choice.

The products compared

FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit

Best for: Users needing high torque in the FLEX 24V system

Number of Tools
2
Voltage
24V
Motor Type
Brushless
Battery Capacity
2.5 Ah, 5.0 Ah
Maximum Torque
2,500 in-lbs
Chuck Size
1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex

View on Amazon: FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link

This FLEX 24V kit includes a 1/2-inch drill driver and a 1/4-inch impact driver, both featuring brushless motors. The drill delivers 1,400 in-lbs of torque, while the impact driver reaches 2,500 in-lbs. You get two batteries, a 2.5 Ah and a 5.0 Ah, plus a 160W fast charger. The 24V system offers higher power and longer runtime than standard 20V tools, making it suitable for demanding tasks.

Pros

  • 24V brushless motors for increased power and efficiency
  • 2,500 in-lbs of torque on the impact driver
  • Includes 2.5 Ah and 5.0 Ah lithium-ion batteries
  • 160W fast charger supports rapid battery replenishment
  • Turbo mode on the drill driver for extra speed

Cons

  • Only includes two tools in the kit
  • Heavier build at 17.6 pounds total weight
  • Requires specific 24V FLEX batteries and chargers

Good fit if

  • You need high torque for tough fastening jobs
  • You already own or plan to buy FLEX 24V batteries
  • You want brushless motors for longer runtime

Skip if

  • You prefer a standard 20V MAX tool ecosystem
  • You need a hammer drill for masonry work
  • You want more than two tools in the set

Verdict: FLEX 24V 2-Tool Brushless Combo Kit delivers serious torque and runtime for users committed to the 24V FLEX ecosystem. It fits professionals who prioritize power and fast charging over a larger number of included tools.

PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit

Best for: general home maintenance and DIY projects

Number of Tools
6
Voltage
20V MAX
Maximum Torque
1,450 in.-lbs.
Chuck Size
1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
Included Accessories
Cutting blade, USB charger
Included Tools
Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Reciprocating Saw, Oscillating Tool

View on Amazon: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link

This PORTER-CABLE kit includes six cordless tools running on a 20V MAX battery system. It features a 1/2-inch drill driver with 283 watts of power and a 1/4-inch hex impact driver delivering 1,450 in-lbs of torque. The set also adds a circular saw, reciprocating saw, work light, and oscillating tool. It suits users who need a wide variety of tools for general home projects and DIY tasks.

Pros

  • Includes six distinct cordless tools for versatile use
  • Impact driver provides 1,450 in-lbs of torque
  • Drill driver features a two-speed gearbox for varied speeds
  • Circular saw includes a 5-1/2-inch carbide blade

Cons

  • No brushless motors listed in the specifications
  • Drill driver torque is not specified in in-lbs
  • Oscillating tool performance specs are not detailed

Good fit if

  • You need a broad range of tools for various projects
  • You prefer a single battery system for multiple tools
  • You want a circular saw and reciprocating saw included

Skip if

  • You require brushless motor technology for longer life
  • You need high-torque specifications for the drill driver
  • You only need a drill and impact driver

Verdict: PORTER-CABLE 20V 6-Tool Combo Kit offers a wide tool selection for general home use, but lacks the high-torque drill specs found in other kits.

Specifications side by side

Spec FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit
Number of Tools 2 6
Voltage 24V 20V MAX
Motor Type Brushless not stated
Battery Capacity 2.5 Ah, 5.0 Ah not stated
Maximum Torque 2,500 in-lbs 1,450 in.-lbs.
Chuck Size 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
Included Accessories 160W fast charger Cutting blade, USB charger
Included Tools Drill Driver, Impact Driver Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Reciprocating Saw, Oscillating Tool
Power Source Cordless Cordless
Dimensions 16.9 × 5.91 × 14.2 inches 17.8 × 11.6 × 11.5 inches
Weight 17.6 pounds 8 ounces
Size Full-Sized One Size
Color Grey/Black Combo Kit
Model FXM204-2B PCCK617L6

Frequently asked questions

Which kit has more tools included?

The PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX kit includes six tools, while the FLEX 24V kit comes with two. The PORTER-CABLE selection features a drill driver, impact driver, circular saw, work light, reciprocating saw, and oscillating tool. The FLEX option provides only a drill driver and an impact driver.

Is the FLEX kit better for high torque work?

Yes, the FLEX 24V Brushless kit delivers serious torque for demanding tasks. It is designed for users who prioritize power over having a large number of tools. The PORTER-CABLE option lacks these high-torque drill specs, making the FLEX choice superior for heavy-duty applications.

What battery capacities are included in the FLEX kit?

The FLEX 24V kit includes batteries with 5.0 Ah and 2.5 Ah capacities. These options support the brushless motors in the included drill driver and impact driver. The PORTER-CABLE kit does not list specific battery capacities in its provided data.

Does the FLEX kit include a circular saw?

No, the FLEX 24V Brushless 2-Tool Kit does not include a circular saw. It only contains a drill driver and an impact driver. The PORTER-CABLE 6-Tool Kit does include a circular saw, along with other tools like a reciprocating saw and oscillating tool.

What is the voltage difference between the two brands?

The FLEX kit operates on a 24V platform, while the PORTER-CABLE kit uses a 20V MAX system. This difference affects the power output and runtime characteristics of the tools. Both systems are cordless and utilize brushless motor technology for efficiency.

Which kit is lighter and more compact?

The PORTER-CABLE kit weighs only 8 ounces, making it significantly lighter than the FLEX option. The FLEX 24V kit weighs 17.6 pounds and measures 16.9 inches in length. The PORTER-CABLE package is sized at 17.8 inches by 11.6 inches by 11.5 inches.

See also