What Is Power Source? A Guide for Power Tool Combo Kits Buyers (2026)
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
Understanding Power Source Options
When you browse power tool combo kits, the first decision is often about how the tools get their energy. This spec defines whether the equipment runs on battery power or plugs directly into a wall outlet. Knowing this difference helps you choose a kit that fits your actual workflow and job site conditions.
Cordless tools rely on rechargeable batteries, typically lithium-ion. These batteries store energy and release it on demand. The main advantage is mobility. You can work anywhere without hunting for an electrical outlet. However, you must manage battery charge levels. When a battery dies, you need to swap it for a charged one or wait for it to recharge. This can interrupt workflow if you do not have spare batteries. Look for voltage ratings on listings. Higher voltage often means more power, but it also adds weight to the tool.
Corded tools plug into a standard 120-volt household outlet. They draw continuous power from the grid. This means they do not lose power as the battery drains. You get consistent performance for long periods. There is no need to wait for charging. The trade-off is the cord. You are limited by the length of your extension cord and the proximity to an outlet. Tripping over cords or running out of reach can be frustrating on a job site.
Many buyers prefer cordless kits for their flexibility. You can move freely around a construction site or work in areas without electricity. Others choose corded kits for heavy-duty tasks that require constant power. Some kits offer both options, giving you the best of both worlds.
To make the right choice, consider where you will use the tools most often. If you move frequently, cordless is likely better. If you work in a fixed workshop, corded may suffice. This spec, power source explained, is the foundation of your buying decision. It determines the convenience and capability of your entire kit.
Cordless vs Corded Power Sources
Cordless
Cordless kits rely on rechargeable batteries, offering mobility without tethering you to an outlet. You can work in tight spaces or outdoors without worrying about extension cords. Voltage indicates power potential, with common options like 12V, 20V, or 24V. Higher voltage generally means more torque for demanding tasks. Battery capacity, measured in Amp-hours (Ah), determines runtime. For example, the DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit weighs just 3.6 pounds, prioritizing portability for quick tasks. The trade-off is runtime management; you must monitor charge levels and carry spares for longer jobs. This setup suits users who value freedom of movement over continuous, unlimited power.
Corded
Corded tools plug directly into a standard wall outlet, providing continuous power without battery anxiety. You get consistent torque and speed, ideal for heavy-duty or prolonged use. There is no need to wait for batteries to recharge or swap them out mid-job. However, the power cord limits your range of motion and requires access to electrical outlets. You must manage cord length and avoid tripping hazards or cutting the wire itself. This option is best for stationary work in workshops or areas with ample power access. While none of the current top picks are corded, this source remains a staple for users who prioritize raw, uninterrupted performance over portability.
Is Cordless Or Corded Right For You
Who needs it
Cordless power sources are essential if you work in areas without easy access to electricity. You might be installing fixtures in new construction, landscaping, or working on roofs where outlets are scarce. The ability to move freely without dragging extension cords saves time and reduces tripping hazards. If your projects involve tight spaces or outdoor sites, battery-powered tools offer the mobility you need. Voltage levels indicate potential power, so higher voltage kits suit heavier tasks like drilling into concrete or cutting thick lumber. You should prioritize cordless options if portability and freedom of movement are critical to your workflow. This setup allows you to tackle jobs anywhere, making it ideal for contractors and DIYers who value flexibility over constant power supply.
Who can skip it
You can ignore the cordless preference if you work in a fixed location like a garage or workshop. Corded tools provide consistent power without worrying about battery life or recharging times. If you perform long, continuous tasks such as sanding or planing, corded options prevent interruptions. You should prioritize reliable, unlimited power over mobility. Extension cords are manageable in a controlled environment, and you avoid the cost and weight of batteries. Focus on tool durability and motor strength instead. This approach suits hobbyists or professionals who stay in one spot for most of their work. You do not need to invest in battery systems if your workspace is well-equipped with outlets. Stick to corded kits for steady performance and lower maintenance.
Power Source Glossary
Voltage
Electrical pressure measured in volts. Higher numbers like 20V or 40V usually mean more cutting power and faster motor speed for heavy tasks.
Battery Capacity
Energy storage measured in amp-hours (Ah). A 2.0Ah battery lasts shorter than a 5.0Ah battery, affecting runtime between charges.
Cordless
Tools powered by removable rechargeable batteries. They offer full mobility and work anywhere, but require periodic recharging or battery swaps.
Corded
Tools plugged directly into a wall outlet. They provide continuous power without runtime limits, but restrict movement to the area near the outlet.
Motor Type
The engine design, often brushless or brushed. Brushless motors are more efficient, longer-lasting, and deliver more power for the same battery size.
Chuck Size
The diameter of the drill bit holder, typically 3/8-inch or 1/2-inch. Larger chucks accept bigger bits for drilling wider holes in wood or metal.
Tool Count
The total number of individual tools in the kit. Common kits include a drill, impact driver, and circular saw, providing versatility for various projects.
Battery Included
Whether the kit ships with at least one rechargeable battery pack. Some basic kits require you to purchase batteries and chargers separately.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit | tight spaces and quick tasks | Check price of DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit on Amazon |
| 2 | Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill and Circular Saw Kit | Light carpentry and USB-C charging needs | Check price of Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill and Circular Saw Kit on Amazon |
| 3 | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit | basic drilling and fastening tasks | Check price of CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit on Amazon |
| 4 | Bosch 12V Max Brushless Drill and Multi-Tool Kit | tight spaces and detailed finishing work | Check price of Bosch 12V Max Brushless Drill and Multi-Tool Kit on Amazon |
| 5 | DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit | Users needing five specific tool types | Check price of DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit on Amazon |
| 6 | DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit | Users needing maximum tool variety | Check price of DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit on Amazon |
Our 6 picks
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: tight spaces and quick tasks
- Power Source
- Cordless (what this guide is about)
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Included Tools
- Drill driver, impact driver
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,400 in-lbs
View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This DEWALT kit includes a 1/2-inch drill/driver and a 1/4-inch hex impact driver, both running on 20V MAX batteries. The tools are compact and lightweight, measuring 7.5 inches and 5.55 inches long respectively. It comes with two batteries, a charger, and a carrying bag. This setup suits users who need portable power for tight spaces and require quick bit changes via the ratcheting chuck.
Pros
- Compact design fits into tight areas
- Integrated LED lights with 20-second delay
- One-handed loading via 1/4-inch hex chuck
- Includes two batteries and a charger
Cons
- Only includes two tools in the set
- Does not include a brushless motor
- Chuck size is limited to 1/2-inch
Good fit if
- You need tools for tight spaces
- You want a lightweight setup
- You prefer quick bit changes
Skip if
- You need more than two tools
- You require brushless motors
- You need a larger chuck size
Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX Compact Drill and Impact Combo is ideal for users who prioritize portability and ease of use in confined areas. It offers a practical solution for basic drilling and driving tasks without the bulk of larger kits.
Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill and Circular Saw Kit
Best for: Light carpentry and USB-C charging needs
- Power Source
- Cordless (what this guide is about)
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 24V
- Included Tools
- drill/driver, circular saw
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Battery Capacity
- 2.0 Ah
View on Amazon: Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill and Circular Saw Kit Affiliate link
This Greenworks kit pairs a 24V brushless drill with a 6.5-inch circular saw. The drill offers 400 in-lbs of torque and two speed settings. The saw runs at 4,800 RPM with a 24-tooth carbide blade. It includes two 2.0Ah USB-C batteries that charge in 65W. The tools weigh 2.28 lbs each, making them lightweight for extended use.
Pros
- Brushless motors for extended runtime and cooler operation
- 24V voltage provides 35% more power than 20V systems
- USB-C batteries support two-way charging for devices
- Drill features 18+1 clutch positions for precision
Cons
- Included 2.0Ah batteries offer limited runtime for heavy tasks
- Circular saw lacks a laser guide for cut alignment
- Drill torque is lower than 20V MAX competitors
Good fit if
- You need a lightweight setup for overhead work
- You value USB-C charging for phones and tools
- You work in tight spaces requiring compact tools
Skip if
- You require high torque for masonry or hardwood
- You need a laser guide for precise cuts
- You prefer standard 20V MAX battery ecosystems
Verdict: Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill and Circular Saw Kit suits users who prioritize lightweight handling and modern USB-C charging over raw torque. It is a practical choice for light carpentry and home repairs where battery versatility matters.
CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: basic drilling and fastening tasks
- Power Source
- Cordless (what this guide is about)
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 20V
- Included Tools
- Drill/driver, impact driver
- Battery Capacity
- 2 Ah
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This CRAFTSMAN V20 kit includes a drill driver and an impact driver, both powered by 20V lithium-ion batteries. It comes with two 2 Ah batteries and a charger. The drill offers up to 300 UWO, while the impact driver delivers 1,800 in-lbs of torque. Each tool features an LED light. The set weighs 8.2 pounds. It suits users needing basic cordless power for standard fastening and drilling tasks.
Pros
- Impact driver provides 1,800 in-lbs MAX torque
- Drill delivers up to 300 UWO
- Includes two 2 Ah batteries and charger
- Both tools have onboard LED lights
Cons
- Only includes two tools in the kit
- Battery capacity is limited to 2 Ah
- Drill chuck size is 1/2 inch
Good fit if
- You need a drill and impact driver
- You prefer 20V cordless power
- You want two batteries included
Skip if
- You require more than two tools
- You need high-capacity batteries
- You prefer a larger chuck size
Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 2-Tool Cordless Kit is a straightforward option for users who need a drill and impact driver with included batteries. It fits those prioritizing basic torque and runtime over a larger tool selection.
Bosch 12V Max Brushless Drill and Multi-Tool Kit
Best for: tight spaces and detailed finishing work
- Power Source
- Cordless (what this guide is about)
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 12V Max
- Included Tools
- drill/driver, oscillating multi-tool
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Battery Capacity
- 2.0 Ah
View on Amazon: Bosch 12V Max Brushless Drill and Multi-Tool Kit Affiliate link
This Bosch kit pairs a 12V Max brushless drill with a Starlock oscillating multi-tool. The drill offers 300 In.-Lbs. of torque and a 1/2 in. chuck. The multi-tool delivers 20,000 oscillations per minute for flush cutting and sanding. It includes two 2.0 Ah batteries. This setup suits professionals needing compact tools for tight spaces and detailed finishing work.
Pros
- Brushless motor delivers 300 In.-Lbs. of torque for extended life.
- 5-in-1 Flexiclick drill head adapts to tight angles and spaces.
- Starlock multi-tool provides 20,000 oscillations per minute for precision work.
- Includes two 12V Max 2.0 Ah batteries and a charger.
Cons
- Lower 12V Max voltage limits power compared to 20V competitors.
- Smaller 2.0 Ah battery capacity reduces runtime for heavy tasks.
- Only includes two tools, limiting versatility for larger projects.
Good fit if
- You work in tight spaces requiring angled drilling or flush cutting.
- You need a compact kit for detailed remodeling or finish work.
- You prefer brushless motors for longer tool life and efficiency.
Skip if
- You require high-torque drilling for heavy-duty construction tasks.
- You need a larger battery capacity for extended all-day runtime.
- You want a multi-tool with a standard blade interface instead of Starlock.
Verdict: Bosch 12V Max Brushless 2-Tool Kit is ideal for professionals who prioritize compactness and precision in tight spaces. It fits users needing specialized finishing tools rather than high-power general construction.
DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit
Best for: Users needing five specific tool types
- Power Source
- Cordless (what this guide is about)
- Number of Tools
- 5
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Battery Included
- Battery and charger included
- Included Tools
- Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Oscillating Tool
- Dimensions
- 21.3 × 9.22 × 12.8 inches
View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link
This DEWALT kit includes a drill, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, and oscillating tool. It runs on 20V MAX power. The drill delivers 300 unit watts out. The impact driver is compact at 5.55 inches. The circular saw cuts 2x4s at 45 degrees in one pass. It suits users needing diverse cutting and fastening tasks in one set.
Pros
- Includes five distinct tools for varied tasks
- Drill delivers 300 unit watts out of power
- Impact driver features a compact 5.55-inch design
- Circular saw cuts 2x4s at 45 degrees in one pass
- Reciprocating saw uses a keyless blade clamp
Cons
- Heavier at 25 pounds compared to lighter 2-tool kits
- Battery and charger are included but capacity is unspecified
- No brushless motor technology mentioned for the tools
Good fit if
- You need a reciprocating saw and circular saw included
- You prefer a 20V MAX platform for tool compatibility
- You want a drill with 300 unit watts out
Skip if
- You require brushless motors for longer runtime
- You need a lighter kit under 20 pounds
- You only need basic drilling and driving tasks
Verdict: DEWALT 20V 5-Tool Cordless Kit fits users who need diverse cutting tools like a reciprocating saw and circular saw alongside standard fastening tools. It is a comprehensive set for general construction tasks.
DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit
Best for: Users needing maximum tool variety
- Power Source
- Cordless (what this guide is about)
- Number of Tools
- 10
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Included Accessories
- 2 bags
View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit Affiliate link
This 10-tool DEWALT kit uses 20V MAX brushless motors for efficient power. It includes two batteries, a charger, and two bags. The set features a reciprocating saw with quick blade changes and a wet/dry vacuum. You get a Bluetooth speaker and LED work light. This bundle suits users needing a wide variety of tools for diverse jobs.
Pros
- 10 tools included for versatile task coverage
- Brushless motors provide efficient performance
- Bluetooth speaker runs on tool batteries
- Wet/dry vacuum with dual cleanup modes
- Two bags for organized storage
Cons
- Bluetooth speaker requires separate 12V/20V battery
- Vacuum hose length is not specified
- No mention of tool belt or holster inclusion
Good fit if
- You need a large variety of tools in one purchase
- You want brushless motor efficiency across multiple tools
- You value integrated audio and lighting solutions
Skip if
- You prefer a smaller, more portable kit
- You do not need a vacuum or speaker
- You want a single-purpose specialized tool
Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Combo Kit offers extensive versatility for professionals managing varied job sites. It fits users who prioritize tool count and integrated features over compact portability.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit | Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill and Circular Saw Kit | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit | Bosch 12V Max Brushless Drill and Multi-Tool Kit | DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit | DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Brushless Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 5 | 10 |
| Voltage | 20V MAX | 24V | 20V | 12V Max | 20V MAX | 20V MAX |
| Included Tools | Drill driver, impact driver | drill/driver, circular saw | Drill/driver, impact driver | drill/driver, oscillating multi-tool | not stated | not stated |
| Motor Type | not stated | Brushless | not stated | Brushless | not stated | Brushless |
| Battery Capacity | not stated | 2.0 Ah | 2 Ah | 2.0 Ah | not stated | not stated |
| Battery Included | 2 batteries and charger included | 2 batteries and charger included | 2 batteries and charger included | 2 batteries and charger included | Battery and charger included | 2 batteries and charger included |
| Maximum Torque | 1,400 in-lbs | not stated | 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver) | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Chuck Size | 1/4 in. hex | 1/2 in. chuck | 1/2 in. (drill); 1/4 in. (impact driver) | 1/2 in. | not stated | not stated |
| Oscillations Per Minute | not stated | not stated | not stated | 20,000 OPM | not stated | not stated |
| Included Accessories | Charger, bag | charger, braided cable, blade | not stated | attachments, charger, blade, bits, bag | not stated | 2 bags |
| Power Source | Cordless | Cordless | Cordless | Cordless | Cordless | Cordless |
| Wheel Diameter | not stated | not stated | not stated | 5 Inch | not stated | not stated |
| Dimensions | 15.1 × 6.38 × 9.88 inches | 16.5 × 7.87 × 8.66 inches | 12.3 × 4.96 × 8.86 inches | 14.6 × 12.9 × 4.63 inches | 21.3 × 9.22 × 12.8 inches | not stated |
| Weight | 3.6 pounds | 13.7 pounds | 8.2 pounds | 8.49 pounds | 25 pounds | not stated |
| Size | One Size | 2PCS Combo Kits(New) | not stated | 12 V | One Size | not stated |
| Color | Yellow/Black Drill Driver/Impact Combo Kit | not stated | Black, Red | Black | Multi | Black/Yellow/Sliver |
| Model | DCK240C2 | CK322 | CMCK201D2 | GXL12V-270B22 | DCK551D1M1 | DCK1021D2 |
Frequently asked questions
What does the voltage number on a battery mean?
Voltage indicates the electrical pressure available to the motor. Higher numbers like 20V or 24V generally provide more power for demanding tasks. For example, the Greenworks 24V kit offers slightly higher voltage potential than the 20V DEWALT options, which can affect torque and speed in heavy-duty applications.
Are brushless motors better for cordless tools?
Brushless motors are more efficient and durable than brushed versions. They generate less heat and require less maintenance. Several kits in this list, including the Greenworks 24V and Bosch 12V models, feature brushless technology. This design helps extend runtime and tool lifespan compared to older brushed alternatives.
How much weight does a battery add to the tool?
Batteries add significant weight, affecting fatigue during overhead work. The total kit weight includes the tools and batteries. For instance, the DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Combo Kit weighs 25 pounds total. In contrast, the compact DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit weighs just 3.6 pounds.
Can I use one battery for different brands?
Batteries are usually specific to each manufacturer's platform. You cannot typically swap a DEWALT 20V battery into a Greenworks 24V tool. Each brand uses proprietary connectors and voltage systems. Stick to one ecosystem to ensure compatibility across your drill, impact driver, and other compatible tools in the kit.
What is the difference between a drill and an impact driver?
A drill driver provides constant rotation for boring holes, while an impact driver delivers sudden rotational forces for driving screws. The DEWALT 20V MAX Compact Drill and Impact Combo includes both. This pairing allows you to drill precise holes and then quickly drive fasteners without changing tools.
Does a higher amp-hour rating mean longer runtime?
Yes, a higher amp-hour (Ah) rating means more stored energy. The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit includes a 2.0 Ah battery. A larger capacity battery will last longer on a single charge than a smaller one, allowing you to work further from a charging station before needing to swap batteries.
Is a 12V tool too weak for home projects?
12V tools are lighter and more compact but have less power. The Bosch 12V Max kit is ideal for tight spaces and detailed finishing work. It may struggle with heavy construction tasks compared to 20V or 24V models. Choose 12V if portability and precision are your main priorities.
What tools are included in a 5-tool combo kit?
A 5-tool kit typically includes a drill, impact driver, and three other specialized tools. The DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit includes a drill driver, impact driver, and an oscillating tool. It may also feature a reciprocating saw or circular saw for cutting tasks, offering versatility for general construction.





