RYOBI or PORTER-CABLE? Power Tool Combo Kits Compared in 2026
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
You are comparing the RYOBI vs PORTER-CABLE power tool combo kit options for your workshop. Both brands offer cordless systems that rely on rechargeable batteries for power. The main difference lies in scope and voltage. RYOBI provides a focused two-tool set at 18V. PORTER-CABLE delivers a comprehensive six-tool collection at 20V MAX. You need to decide if you prefer a compact start or a full suite of tools right away.
Key differences
| Aspect | RYOBI ONE+ 18V Drill and Circular Saw Kit | PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | 6 |
| Voltage | 18V | 20V MAX |
| Included Tools | Drill/Driver, Circular Saw | Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Reciprocating Saw, Oscillating Tool |
| Chuck Size | not listed | 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex |
| Battery Capacity | 1.5 Ah, 5.0 Ah | not listed |
Which one should you choose?
Choose RYOBI ONE+ 18V Drill and Circular Saw Kit if
- You only need a drill and circular saw for basic tasks.
- You prefer a lighter, smaller kit for easy storage.
- You already own 18V batteries and want to expand your collection.
Choose PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit if
- You want a complete set with an impact driver and reciprocating saw.
- You need higher torque for driving screws or cutting wood.
- You prefer a system with more tool variety for diverse projects.
Verdict: Choose the RYOBI kit if you need a simple, lightweight start with just a drill and saw. Pick the PORTER-CABLE kit if you want a versatile six-tool set that covers more job types. Your choice depends on whether you value tool count or minimalism.
RYOBI vs PORTER-CABLE Kit Comparison
Number of tools
The PORTER-CABLE PCCK617L6 is a 6-Tool Combo Kit, while the RYOBI PCL1201K2 is a 2-Tool Combo Kit. PORTER-CABLE includes a drill/driver, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, oscillating tool, and work light. RYOBI provides only a drill/driver and a circular saw. If you need a wide variety of tools for different tasks, PORTER-CABLE offers more versatility in a single purchase. RYOBI is better if you only need two specific tools and want to keep your kit small.
Voltage
PORTER-CABLE operates on a 20V MAX system, whereas RYOBI uses an 18V system. Both voltages are standard for cordless power tools and provide sufficient power for most DIY and professional tasks. The 20V MAX rating from PORTER-CABLE suggests a slightly higher potential power output compared to the 18V RYOBI system. However, both are cordless and rely on rechargeable batteries. For general use, the difference in voltage may not be noticeable. You should choose based on the tool count and specific features rather than voltage alone.
Included tools
PORTER-CABLE includes a drill/driver, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, oscillating tool, and work light. RYOBI includes a drill/driver and a circular saw. PORTER-CABLE provides an impact driver and reciprocating saw, which RYOBI lacks. RYOBI’s kit is limited to drilling and cutting with a circular saw. If you need to drive screws efficiently or cut through wood with a reciprocating saw, PORTER-CABLE is the superior choice. RYOBI is suitable if you only require basic drilling and sawing capabilities.
Battery capacity
RYOBI includes two 1.5 Ah batteries. PORTER-CABLE’s battery capacity is not explicitly listed in the provided data, though it includes a charger. The RYOBI kit specifies two 1.5 Ah batteries, which are lightweight but may have shorter runtimes. PORTER-CABLE may include different battery sizes, but without specific data, it is unclear. If you rely on longer runtimes, you might need higher capacity batteries. RYOBI’s 1.5 Ah batteries are good for light tasks. You should check the PORTER-CABLE packaging for specific amp-hour ratings.
Chuck size
PORTER-CABLE features a 1/2-inch chuck on the drill/driver and a 1/4-inch hex chuck on the impact driver. RYOBI’s chuck size is not specified in the data. The 1/2-inch chuck on PORTER-CABLE accepts larger drill bits and accessories, offering more versatility. The 1/4-inch hex chuck is standard for impact drivers. RYOBI likely has a 1/2-inch chuck, but without confirmation, PORTER-CABLE’s explicit specifications are clearer. If you use large drill bits, PORTER-CABLE’s chuck size is a clear advantage. RYOBI’s details are less specific here.
Power source
Both RYOBI and PORTER-CABLE kits are cordless and powered by rechargeable batteries. This allows for mobility and ease of use without being tethered to an outlet. Both brands use lithium-ion batteries for their power sources. The cordless nature of both kits is a key feature for convenience. There is no difference in power source type between the two. You can use either kit in locations without electrical access. Both are designed for portable power tool applications.
Choose Your RYOBI or PORTER-CABLE Kit
Users needing a compact, focused two-tool set
This RYOBI kit offers a drill/driver and circular saw in a compact 2-Tool format. It runs on 18V power and includes two 1.5 Ah batteries. The package weighs 10 pounds and fits in a box measuring 13 by 9 by 8 inches. You get a charger and batteries ready for immediate use. This setup is ideal if you prefer a smaller, lighter collection for specific tasks rather than a large array of tools.
Users needing a comprehensive 6-tool starter set
The PORTER-CABLE kit provides six tools, including a drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, oscillating tool, and work light. It operates on 20V MAX voltage and delivers up to 1,450 in-lbs of torque. The set includes a cutting blade and USB charger. This extensive collection covers most common workshop jobs, making it a versatile choice for those who want maximum variety in a single purchase.
Users prioritizing high torque and impact speed
PORTER-CABLE’s impact driver provides 1,450 in-lbs of torque at 2,900 max RPMs and 3,000 BPM. The drill features a two-speed gearbox with speeds up to 1,500 RPM. These specs ensure strong performance for driving screws and drilling holes. The 1/2-inch chuck and 1/4-inch hex drivers offer secure bit retention. If you require high power output and fast cycling for demanding applications, this kit delivers the necessary mechanical strength.
The products compared
RYOBI ONE+ 18V Drill and Circular Saw Kit
Best for: Basic drilling and cutting tasks
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 18V
- Included Tools
- Drill/driver, circular saw
- Battery Capacity
- 1.5 Ah
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Power Source
- Cordless
View on Amazon: RYOBI ONE+ 18V Drill and Circular Saw Kit Affiliate link
This RYOBI ONE+ kit includes an 18V drill/driver and a circular saw. It comes with two 1.5 Ah batteries and a charger. The set weighs 10 pounds and measures 13 by 9 by 8 inches. It suits users who need basic drilling and cutting capabilities. The compact size makes it easy to store. You get a reliable cordless setup for general home tasks.
Pros
- Includes 18V drill/driver and circular saw
- Comes with two 1.5 Ah batteries
- Includes a dedicated charger
- Lightweight 10-pound package
Cons
- Small 1.5 Ah battery capacity
- Only includes two tools
- No 5.0 Ah battery included in this specific bundle
Good fit if
- You need a drill and a saw
- You want a lightweight kit
- You are starting a basic tool collection
Skip if
- You require high-capacity batteries
- You need more than two tools
- You prefer 20V MAX systems
Verdict: RYOBI ONE+ 18V 2-Tool Kit is a compact entry point for basic projects. It fits users who prioritize portability and essential functions over high power or extended runtime.
PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit
Best for: Users needing 6 diverse 20V MAX tools
- Number of Tools
- 6
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Maximum Torque
- 1,450 in.-lbs.
- Chuck Size
- 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
- Included Accessories
- Cutting blade, USB charger
- Included Tools
- Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Reciprocating Saw, Oscillating Tool
View on Amazon: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link
This PORTER-CABLE kit includes six cordless tools on the 20V MAX platform. It features a 1/2-inch drill/driver with 283 watts out and an impact driver delivering 1,450 in-lbs of torque. The set also includes a 5-1/2-inch circular saw, a reciprocating saw, a work light, and an oscillating tool. It comes with a USB charger and cutting blade. This bundle suits users needing a broad range of cutting and fastening capabilities in one package.
Pros
- Includes 6 tools for varied tasks
- Impact driver provides 1,450 in-lbs torque
- Drill features two-speed gearbox
- Circular saw reaches 3,700 RPM
- Reciprocating saw has 3,000 SPM
Cons
- Drill torque is lower than impact driver
- No battery included in specs
- Oscillating tool lacks specific power specs
Good fit if
- You need a circular saw and reciprocating saw
- You want a 6-tool variety pack
- You prefer PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX batteries
Skip if
- You require high-torque drill-only performance
- You need batteries and charger included
- You prefer RYOBI ONE+ compatibility
Verdict: PORTER-CABLE 6-Tool 20V MAX Combo Kit offers a diverse set of cutting and fastening tools for users building a 20V MAX collection. It fits those who value tool variety over maximum drill torque.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | RYOBI ONE+ 18V Drill and Circular Saw Kit | PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | 6 |
| Voltage | 18V | 20V MAX |
| Included Tools | Drill/driver, circular saw | not stated |
| Battery Capacity | 1.5 Ah | not stated |
| Battery Included | 2 batteries and charger included | not stated |
| Maximum Torque | not stated | 1,450 in.-lbs. |
| Chuck Size | not stated | 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex |
| Included Accessories | not stated | Cutting blade, USB charger |
| Power Source | Cordless | Cordless |
| Dimensions | 13 × 9 × 8 inches | 17.8 × 11.6 × 11.5 inches |
| Weight | 10 pounds | 8 ounces |
| Model | PCL1201K2 | PCCK617L6 |
| Size | not stated | One Size |
| Color | not stated | Combo Kit |
Frequently asked questions
Is RYOBI or PORTER-CABLE better for basic drilling and cutting?
RYOBI is better for basic tasks. The RYOBI ONE+ 18V Drill and Circular Saw Kit includes a drill driver and circular saw. It is designed for users who prioritize portability and essential functions. This compact kit fits simple projects well. PORTER-CABLE offers more tools but focuses on variety rather than high power for these specific tasks.
Which kit has more tools in the box?
The PORTER-CABLE kit has more tools. It is a 6-Tool Combo Kit that includes a drill driver, impact driver, circular saw, work light, reciprocating saw, and oscillating tool. The RYOBI kit is a 2-Tool Combo Kit containing only a drill driver and circular saw. You get double the tool count with the PORTER-CABLE option.
What voltage do these power tool kits use?
The RYOBI kit uses 18V power. The PORTER-CABLE kit uses 20V MAX power. Both systems are cordless and rely on rechargeable batteries. The PORTER-CABLE system operates at a slightly higher voltage rating than the RYOBI ONE+ system. This difference defines the power class for each brand's respective tools.
How heavy are the RYOBI and PORTER-CABLE kits?
The RYOBI kit weighs 10 pounds. The PORTER-CABLE kit weighs 8 ounces. The weight difference is significant. The RYOBI package includes batteries and larger tools. The PORTER-CABLE weight likely reflects the packaging or a specific subset, as the full kit contains six tools. You should consider weight when carrying these kits to job sites.
Does the PORTER-CABLE kit include an impact driver?
Yes, it does. The PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit includes an impact driver. It also provides a drill driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, oscillating tool, and work light. The RYOBI kit does not include an impact driver. It only provides a drill driver and circular saw in its two-tool set.
What battery capacity is included with the RYOBI kit?
The RYOBI kit includes batteries with 5.0 Ah and 1.5 Ah capacities. These batteries power the 18V drill driver and circular saw. The higher capacity battery likely supports longer runtime for demanding tasks. The lower capacity battery offers portability for lighter work. Both are part of the ONE+ system.
Which kit is better for building a diverse tool collection?
The PORTER-CABLE kit is better for building a diverse collection. It offers six different tool types, including cutting, fastening, and lighting options. It fits users who value variety over maximum drill torque. The RYOBI kit is focused on just two tools. You get a broader range of capabilities with the PORTER-CABLE selection.

