As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

6-Tool vs 3-Tool Power Tool Combo Kits in 2026: Key Differences

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

Choosing between a 6-Tool vs 3-Tool power tool combo kit depends on your project scope. Both Greenworks and DEWALT options feature brushless motors for efficiency and fade-free power. The main difference lies in the number of tools included and their specific applications. The Greenworks set offers a broader range for general DIY and construction tasks, while the DEWALT kit focuses on specialized woodworking precision. You should evaluate the voltage, battery capacity, and included accessories to match your needs.

Key differences

AspectGreenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo KitDEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit
Number of Tools63
Voltage24V20V MAX
Included ToolsDrill, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Reciprocating Saw, Multi-Tool, FlashlightRouter, Random Orbital Sander, Jig Saw
Battery Capacity4.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah5.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah
Chuck Size1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hexnot listed

Which one should you choose?

Choose Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit if

  • You need a versatile set for drilling, driving, and cutting various materials.
  • You want a flashlight and oscillating tool included in the kit.
  • You prefer a higher voltage platform for potentially longer runtime.

Choose DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit if

  • You are focused on woodworking projects like routing and sanding.
  • You need a jig saw for curved cuts in wood.
  • You already own 20V MAX batteries and want a compatible compact kit.

Verdict: The Greenworks kit is better for general home maintenance and diverse DIY tasks due to its wider tool variety. The DEWALT kit is the superior choice for dedicated woodworking projects requiring precision routing and sanding. Select the option that aligns with the specific tools you use most often.

6-Tool vs 3-Tool Kit Comparison

number of tools

Edge: Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit

The Greenworks kit includes six distinct tools, covering a broad range of tasks from drilling to cutting and lighting. You get a drill driver, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, oscillating multi-tool, and a flashlight. The DEWalt kit contains only three tools: a compact router, a random orbital sander, and a jig saw. If you need versatility across general construction and DIY projects, the six-tool set offers more variety. The three-tool set focuses specifically on woodworking and finishing tasks. You should choose based on whether you need a wide array of functions or specialized precision tools.

voltage platform

Edge: Tie

Voltage indicates the power system each tool operates on. The Greenworks combo uses a 24V lithium-ion platform. DEWalt utilizes its 20V MAX system. While 24V is technically higher in voltage, both systems are designed for cordless convenience and efficiency. The difference in voltage does not necessarily translate to a massive performance gap in all tools, as motor design also plays a key role. Greenworks claims 35% more runtime compared to 20V competitors, while DEWalt focuses on brushless efficiency. Your choice may depend on existing battery inventory if you already own tools from one of these brands.

included tools

Edge: Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit

The specific tools included define the kit's utility. Greenworks provides a drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, multi-tool, and flashlight. This combination handles framing, cutting, fastening, and general repairs. DEWalt includes a router, sander, and jig saw. These are specialized woodworking tools for edge profiling, surface smoothing, and curved cuts. If you are building decks or doing general home repairs, the Greenworks tools are more practical. If you are crafting furniture or finishing trim, the DEWalt tools offer the precision you need. The tool selection is the primary differentiator between these two kits.

motor type

Edge: Tie

Both kits feature brushless motors in their primary power tools. Greenworks specifies brushless motors for the drill, impact driver, circular saw, and reciprocating saw. DEWalt lists brushless motors for the router, sander, and jig saw. Brushless motors offer longer runtime, increased power, and extended tool life compared to brushed motors. They also run cooler and require less maintenance. Since both brands use this technology across their included tools, you get efficiency and durability in both cases. This spec does not give one kit a clear advantage over the other, as it is a standard feature in modern professional-grade cordless tools.

battery capacity

Edge: DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit

Battery capacity determines how long you can work before recharging. Greenworks includes a 4.0Ah battery and a 2.0Ah battery. DEWalt includes a 5.0Ah battery and a 2.0Ah battery. The 5.0Ah DEWalt battery offers slightly higher capacity than the 4.0Ah Greenworks battery, potentially providing longer runtime for high-draw tools like the circular saw. However, Greenworks claims its 24V platform provides 35% more runtime than 20V competitors. Both kits include a compact 2.0Ah battery for lighter tasks. The difference in amp-hours is minimal, and runtime will vary based on the specific tool and workload.

Which 6-Tool or 3-Tool Kit Fits You

General DIYers needing versatile tool coverage

Our pick: Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit

You need a broad range of tools for various tasks. This kit includes a drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, multi-tool, and flashlight. The brushless motors offer fade-free power and longer runtime. With 24V voltage and included 2Ah and 4Ah batteries, you have the capacity for all-day projects without frequent recharging.

Woodworkers focusing on precision cutting and sanding

Our pick: DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit

This set targets specific woodworking needs with a router, random orbital sander, and jig saw. All tools feature brushless motors for efficiency. The included 5.0Ah and 2.0Ah batteries provide substantial capacity. The variable-speed router and efficient sander allow for precise control, making it ideal for detailed finish work rather than general construction.

Professionals requiring high torque for fastening

Our pick: Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit

You require heavy-duty fastening capabilities. The impact driver delivers 1,950 in-lbs of torque, while the drill offers 400 in-lbs. The 24V brushless system provides cooler operation and extended tool life. The compact design helps access tight spaces. The included high-capacity batteries ensure uninterrupted use during demanding professional jobs that require consistent power output.

Quick picks

#ProductBest forPrice
1 Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit Users needing six tools for diverse DIY projects Check price of Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit on Amazon
2 DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit Precision woodworking tasks Check price of DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit on Amazon

The products compared

Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit

Best for: Users needing six tools for diverse DIY projects

Number of Tools
6-Tool (what this guide is about)
Voltage
24V
Motor Type
Brushless
Battery Capacity
4.0Ah, 2.0Ah
Battery Included
2 batteries and charger included
Maximum Torque
1,950 in-lbs

View on Amazon: Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link

This Greenworks 24V 6-Tool Combo Kit includes a drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, multi-tool, and flashlight. It features brushless motors for extended runtime and higher torque compared to 20V systems. The kit includes 2Ah and 4Ah batteries with USB-C fast charging. It suits users who need a wide variety of tools for diverse DIY projects and professional jobs in one portable package.

Pros

  • Includes six distinct tools for comprehensive coverage
  • Brushless motors provide 2x more torque and 35% longer runtime
  • Impact driver delivers 1,950 in-lbs of torque
  • Circular saw operates at 4,800 RPM with a brushless motor
  • Multi-tool offers 18,000 OPM with 6-speed settings

Cons

  • Heavier build at 24.8 pounds total kit weight
  • Larger physical dimensions than compact 3-tool alternatives
  • Higher voltage system requires specific 24V battery compatibility

Good fit if

  • You need a wide range of tools for varied projects
  • You prefer brushless motors for longer tool life
  • You want fast charging via USB-C capability

Skip if

  • You prioritize the lightest possible carrying weight
  • You already own a full set of 24V batteries
  • You only need basic drilling and driving tasks

Verdict: Greenworks 24V 6-Tool Combo Kit is a robust solution for users who need six distinct tools for complex DIY or professional jobs. Its brushless motors and included 4Ah battery make it ideal for extended work sessions requiring diverse cutting and fastening capabilities.

DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit

Best for: Precision woodworking tasks

Number of Tools
3-Tool (what this guide is about)
Voltage
20V MAX
Motor Type
Brushless
Battery Capacity
5.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah
Battery Included
Battery and charger included
Included Accessories
Contractor Bag

View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit Affiliate link

This DEWALT kit includes a router, sander, and jig saw. All three tools feature brushless motors for better efficiency and runtime. You get a 5.0 Ah battery and a 2.0 Ah battery with a charger. The set fits in a contractor bag. It suits users who need precision cutting and sanding tools rather than high-torque drilling. The brushless design helps you complete tasks faster.

Pros

  • Brushless motors in all three tools
  • Variable-speed dial on the router
  • Includes 5.0 Ah and 2.0 Ah batteries
  • Compact router design for precision work

Cons

  • Only includes three tools
  • No drill or impact driver included
  • Limited to 20V MAX voltage

Good fit if

  • You need a router and sander
  • You value brushless motor efficiency

Skip if

  • You require a drill and driver
  • You need more than three tools

Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX 3-Tool Brushless Kit is ideal for woodworkers who prioritize precision cutting and sanding over general drilling tasks. It delivers efficient performance through its brushless motors and includes two battery sizes for extended use.

Specifications side by side

Spec Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit
Number of Tools 6 3
Voltage 24V 20V MAX
Motor Type Brushless Brushless
Battery Capacity 4.0Ah, 2.0Ah 5.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah
Battery Included 2 batteries and charger included Battery and charger included
Maximum Torque 1,950 in-lbs not stated
Chuck Size 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex not stated
Oscillations Per Minute 18,000 OPM not stated
Included Accessories not stated Contractor Bag
Included Tools Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Reciprocating Saw, Oscillating Tool Sander, Jig Saw
Power Source not stated Cordless
Dimensions 19.9 × 12 × 8.86 inches 16.2 × 10.2 × 9.6 inches
Weight 24.8 pounds not stated
Size 6PCS Combo Kits not stated
Model CK361 DCK307D1P1
Color not stated Yellow/Black

Frequently asked questions

What tools are in the Greenworks 6-Tool Kit?

The Greenworks 24V 6-Tool Combo Kit includes a drill driver, impact driver, circular saw, work light, reciprocating saw, and oscillating tool. This variety covers drilling, fastening, cutting, and lighting needs. It is designed for users who require diverse capabilities for complex DIY projects without switching systems.

What tools are in the DEWALT 3-Tool Kit?

The DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit includes a sander and a jig saw. It focuses on precision woodworking tasks rather than general drilling. The kit emphasizes efficient performance through brushless motors, making it suitable for woodworkers who prioritize cutting and sanding over other functions.

How do the battery options differ between kits?

The Greenworks kit offers multiple battery capacities, including 4.0 Ah and 2.0 Ah options, supporting extended work sessions. The DEWALT kit includes batteries and a charger but does not specify capacity in the provided data. Both use cordless power sources with brushless motors for consistent performance.

Which kit is better for general DIY tasks?

The Greenworks 6-Tool Kit is better for general DIY tasks due to its broader tool range. It includes essential items like a drill driver and impact driver alongside cutting tools. The DEWALT kit is more specialized for woodworking, lacking general fastening tools found in the six-tool set.

What is the weight of the Greenworks kit?

The Greenworks 24V 6-Tool Combo Kit weighs 24.8 pounds. Its dimensions are 19.9 inches in length, 12 inches in width, and 8.86 inches in height. This bulkier profile accommodates six tools and multiple batteries, making it heavier than the more compact three-tool woodworking alternative.

Do both kits use brushless motors?

Yes, both kits feature brushless motors. The Greenworks 6-Tool Kit uses brushless motors for efficiency and fade-free power across all tools. The DEWALT 3-Tool Kit also utilizes brushless technology in its sander and jig saw to deliver efficient performance and extended tool life for precision tasks.

Is the DEWALT kit suitable for general construction?

The DEWALT kit is less suitable for general construction as it lacks drilling and fastening tools. It includes only a sander and jig saw, targeting precision woodworking. For general construction, you would need additional tools not included in this specific three-tool bundle, unlike the more versatile six-tool option.

See also