6-Tool vs 4-Tool Power Tool Combo Kits: Which Should You Buy?
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
This 6-Tool vs 4-Tool power tool combo kit comparison helps you choose based on your actual needs. Both kits include a drill, impact driver, and circular saw, plus a light. The main difference is the tool count and voltage. The Greenworks kit offers six tools at 24V, while the Craftsman kit provides four tools at 20V. You also get different battery capacities. Read on to see which spec matters most for your projects.
Key differences
| Aspect | Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit | CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 6 | 4 |
| Voltage | 24V | 20V MAX |
| Included Tools | Drill, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Reciprocating Saw, Multi-Tool, Flashlight | Drill, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, LED Pivoting Task Light |
| Motor Type | Brushless | not listed |
| Battery Capacity | 4.0Ah, 2.0Ah | not listed |
| Weight | 24.8 pounds | 16.9 pounds |
Which one should you choose?
Choose Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit if
- You need a reciprocating saw and multi-tool for diverse tasks
- You prefer brushless motors for longer runtime and cooler operation
- You want higher voltage for more power in demanding jobs
Choose CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit if
- You want a lighter kit that is easier to carry
- You are satisfied with just the drill, driver, and saw
- You prefer a well-known brand with a listed warranty
Verdict: Choose the Greenworks kit if you need more tools and higher voltage for complex projects. The Craftsman kit is better if you want a lighter, simpler setup with fewer tools to manage.
6-Tool vs 4-Tool Kit Comparison
Number of tools
The Greenworks kit includes six distinct tools, while the Craftsman kit provides four. Both sets feature a drill driver, an impact driver, and a circular saw. The Greenworks addition includes a reciprocating saw, a multi-tool, and a flashlight. The Craftsman set adds a pivoting task light but lacks the extra cutting and scraping tools. If you need versatility for varied tasks like cutting wood with a reciprocating saw or scraping surfaces, the six-tool option offers more variety. The four-tool kit covers the essential basics without the extra hardware.
Voltage and power
Greenworks operates on a 24V system, whereas Craftsman uses a 20V MAX platform. Higher voltage typically translates to more power for demanding jobs. The Greenworks impact driver delivers 1,950 in-lbs of torque, significantly higher than the Craftsman’s 1,460 in-lbs. The Greenworks drill offers 400 in-lbs of torque compared to the Craftsman’s 280 UWO rating. The circular saw on the Greenworks unit runs at 4,800 RPM, beating the Craftsman’s 4,200 RPM. For heavy-duty fastening and cutting, the higher voltage and torque figures give the Greenworks kit a clear advantage in raw performance.
Motor type
The Greenworks kit features brushless motors across its power tools. Brushless motors are generally more efficient, provide longer runtime, and require less maintenance than brushed alternatives. The Craftsman product description does not explicitly state the motor type for its tools. While many modern cordless tools use brushless designs, the lack of specific confirmation for the Craftsman kit leaves this uncertain. The Greenworks brushless technology promises cooler operation and extended tool life. This efficiency gain is a practical benefit for users who run tools frequently or for extended periods.
Battery capacity
Greenworks includes two batteries: a 4.0Ah and a 2.0Ah pack. Craftsman includes a battery and charger, but the specific amp-hour capacity is not listed in the provided data. A 4.0Ah battery offers substantial runtime for most tasks, while the 2.0Ah pack is lighter and better for overhead work or tight spaces. Without knowing the Craftsman battery size, it is hard to compare runtime directly. However, Greenworks explicitly provides two batteries of different capacities, ensuring you have a backup or a specialized option ready. This dual-battery approach supports uninterrupted work on longer projects.
Weight and portability
The Greenworks 6-Tool kit weighs 24.8 pounds, while the Craftsman 4-Tool kit weighs 16.9 pounds. The Craftsman set is nearly eight pounds lighter. This difference matters if you carry your tools to job sites daily or store them in tight spaces. The Greenworks kit includes more hardware and larger batteries, contributing to the extra weight. For users who prioritize a lighter load or need to transport tools frequently, the Craftsman kit is easier to handle. The reduced weight makes the four-tool option more convenient for mobile work.
Which Kit Suits Your Work?
Users needing six tools for complex jobs
You get six tools, including a reciprocating saw and multi-tool. The 24V brushless motors provide 1,950 in-lbs of torque and 18,000 OPM. You also receive a 4.0Ah and 2.0Ah battery. This setup handles diverse tasks without switching systems.
Buyers preferring a lighter, simpler 20V system
This 4-tool kit weighs 16.9 pounds, making it easier to carry. It uses the standard V20 MAX 20V system. You get a drill, impact driver, circular saw, and light. The 1,460 in-lbs torque and 4,200 RPM saw cover basic needs.
Those wanting fast charging and USB-C
The included 24V battery supports 65W super fast charging via USB-C. You can also charge your phone from the battery. This dual-purpose feature adds convenience. The brushless motors ensure longer runtime and cooler operation for extended use.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit | Versatile DIY projects requiring multiple tool types | Check price of Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit on Amazon |
| 2 | CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit | Users needing core cutting and fastening tools | Check price of CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit on Amazon |
The products compared
Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit
Best for: Versatile DIY projects requiring multiple tool types
- Number of Tools
- 6-Tool (what this guide is about)
- Voltage
- 24V
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Battery Capacity
- 4.0Ah, 2.0Ah
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,950 in-lbs
View on Amazon: Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link
This Greenworks 24V kit includes six cordless tools: a drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, multi-tool, and flashlight. It features brushless motors for efficiency and comes with 2Ah and 4Ah batteries. The 24V system offers more power and runtime than 20V competitors. This bundle suits users needing a versatile set for various DIY tasks without the bulk of multiple chargers.
Pros
- Includes six distinct tools for comprehensive coverage
- Brushless motors provide extended runtime and durability
- 24V battery system delivers more power than 20V options
- Impact driver offers 1,950 in-lbs of torque
Cons
- Heavier build at 24.8 pounds
- No dedicated carrying case included in specs
- Limited to 24V battery ecosystem
Good fit if
- You need a wide variety of tools in one purchase
- You prefer higher voltage for better performance
- You want brushless motor technology for longevity
Skip if
- You require a carrying case for transport
- You are already invested in a 20V platform
- You prefer lighter, single-purpose tools
Verdict: Greenworks 24V 6-Tool Combo Kit is a robust option for those who value versatility and higher voltage performance over portability and included storage solutions.
CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit
Best for: Users needing core cutting and fastening tools
- Number of Tools
- 4-Tool (what this guide is about)
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Battery Included
- Battery and charger included
- Chuck Size
- 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
- Included Accessories
- 6-1/2 in. blade, charger
- Included Tools
- Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit Affiliate link
This Craftsman V20 MAX kit includes a drill, impact driver, circular saw, and LED light. The drill offers 280 UWO power with a 2-speed gearbox. The impact driver delivers 1,460 in-lbs of torque. The circular saw features a 6-1/2 inch blade running at 4,200 RPM. It is part of the V20 system. This 4-tool set suits users needing core cutting and fastening tools.
Pros
- Drill provides 280 UWO of power
- Impact driver delivers 1,460 in-lbs of torque
- Circular saw runs at 4,200 RPM
- Includes pivoting LED task light
Cons
- Only includes four tools
- Heavier at 16.9 pounds
- Circular saw blade is 6-1/2 inches
Good fit if
- You need a drill and impact driver
- You require a circular saw for ripping
- You want a task light included
Skip if
- You need six tools in one kit
- You prefer a lighter setup
- You require a larger blade capacity
Verdict: Craftsman V20 4-Tool Combo provides solid torque and cutting speed for basic projects. It fits users who prioritize core fastening and cutting tools over a larger kit count.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit | CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 6 | 4 |
| Voltage | 24V | 20V MAX |
| Motor Type | Brushless | not stated |
| Battery Capacity | 4.0Ah, 2.0Ah | not stated |
| Battery Included | 2 batteries and charger included | Battery and charger included |
| Maximum Torque | 1,950 in-lbs | not stated |
| Chuck Size | 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex | 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex |
| Oscillations Per Minute | 18,000 OPM | not stated |
| Included Accessories | not stated | 6-1/2 in. blade, charger |
| Included Tools | Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Reciprocating Saw, Oscillating Tool | Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw |
| Power Source | not stated | Cordless |
| Dimensions | 19.9 × 12 × 8.86 inches | 19 × 9.6 × 11.5 inches |
| Weight | 24.8 pounds | 16.9 pounds |
| Size | 6PCS Combo Kits | not stated |
| Model | CK361 | CMCK401D2 |
Frequently asked questions
Does a 6-tool kit offer better value than a 4-tool kit?
The Greenworks 24V 6-Tool Kit includes a reciprocating saw and oscillating tool, adding versatility for complex DIY projects. The Craftsman V20 4-Tool Kit focuses on core fastening and cutting tasks. If you need more tool types, the six-tool option provides greater range. The four-tool set is sufficient for basic jobs.
Which kit is lighter and easier to carry?
The Craftsman V20 4-Tool Kit weighs 16.9 pounds and measures 19 inches in length. The Greenworks 24V 6-Tool Kit is heavier at 24.8 pounds and longer at 19.9 inches. You will find the Craftsman kit easier to transport due to its lower weight and compact dimensions.
What batteries are included in these combo kits?
The Greenworks kit comes with a 4.0 Ah and a 2.0 Ah battery for its 24V system. The Craftsman kit includes a battery and charger for its V20 system. Both kits provide the necessary power sources to start working immediately upon unboxing.
Can I use the tools from one kit with batteries from another?
Battery compatibility depends on the brand and voltage system. The Greenworks tools use a 24V platform, while the Craftsman tools use a V20 platform. You generally cannot mix batteries between different brands or voltage systems. Stick to the batteries included with your chosen kit.
What is the largest chuck size available in these kits?
The Craftsman V20 4-Tool Kit features a drill driver with a 1/2 inch chuck size. This allows you to use larger drill bits and sockets. The Greenworks kit specifications do not list the chuck size, so you should verify this detail if bit compatibility is critical.
Are these kits suitable for outdoor construction work?
Both kits include a circular saw and an impact driver, which are essential for outdoor projects. The Greenworks kit adds a reciprocating saw, useful for demolition or cutting rough materials. The Craftsman kit provides solid torque for fastening. Choose based on whether you need the extra cutting tool.

