As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill Home vs BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Drill (2026): Key Differences

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

You are comparing the black decker 20v max drill home vs 20v max cordless drill options from BLACK+DECKER. Both tools share the same 20V MAX power source and POWERCONNECT battery system, ensuring compatibility across your kit. The main difference lies in what you get. One is a focused two-tool combo with a drill and impact driver. The other is a larger 64-piece home kit centered on a single drill. You need to decide which setup matches your actual workspace needs.

Key differences

AspectBLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact KitBLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit
Number of Tools2 tools (drill/driver and impact driver)64-piece kit
Included ToolsDrill Driver and Impact DriverDrill Driver
Maximum Torque1,375 in-lb (Impact Driver)not listed
Storagenot listedTranslucent toolbox
Weight5 poundsnot listed

Which one should you choose?

Choose BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Kit if

  • You need an impact driver for high-torque fastening tasks alongside a standard drill.
  • You want a compact, lightweight setup that fits easily into tight spaces.
  • You prefer a modular system where you can add more tools later using the same battery.

Choose BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit if

  • You want a complete starter set with 64 pieces for basic home decorating and repairs.
  • You need a dedicated translucent toolbox for organized storage and portability.
  • You are looking for a single drill driver for light-duty screwdriving and drilling tasks.

Verdict: Choose the two-tool combo if you value versatility and torque for more demanding fastening jobs. Pick the 64-piece home kit if you need a broad range of bits and a convenient storage case for occasional household fixes.

Comparing Tool Count and Kit Scope

Number of Tools

Edge: Tie

The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Kit includes two distinct power tools: a drill/driver and an impact driver. This setup allows you to handle both standard screwdriving and high-torque impact tasks with dedicated devices. In contrast, the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit focuses on quantity over tool diversity. It provides a single drill driver but expands your capabilities with 62 additional accessories. You receive a comprehensive set of bits and holders, making it a complete solution for basic home projects without needing a second power tool.

Included Tools

Edge: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Kit

When looking at the specific power tools provided, the first option gives you a drill/driver paired with a high-performance impact driver. The impact driver delivers 1,375 in-lb of max torque, which is ideal for driving long screws or drilling into hard materials. The second option includes only the drill driver. While it lacks the dedicated impact driver, it makes up for this by including a vast array of hand tools and accessories. If you need specialized impact capabilities, the two-tool kit is superior. If you prefer a single versatile drill with many attachments, the 64-piece kit is the better choice.

Chuck Size

Edge: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Kit

The drill/driver in the two-tool kit features a 3/8 inch chuck size. This larger chuck accommodates bigger drill bits and provides greater versatility for drilling into wood, metal, and plastic. It is designed for tasks that require more robust bit sizes. The specifications for the drill driver in the 64-piece kit do not explicitly list the chuck size in the provided data. However, it is part of the same 20V MAX system, suggesting similar functionality. Without explicit data, we cannot confirm if it matches the 3/8 inch standard, making the two-tool kit the clear winner for known chuck specifications.

Battery Included

Edge: Tie

Both kits include a 20V MAX lithium-ion battery and a charger, ensuring you can start working immediately. The two-tool kit includes one LBXR20 battery that is interchangeable with other tools in the POWERCONNECT system. The 64-piece kit also includes a battery that holds its charge for up to 18 months. Both products support the same battery platform, meaning you can share power sources between them if you own other compatible tools. Since both provide the essential battery and charging unit, there is no significant difference in the power source inclusion.

Storage and Portability

Edge: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit

The 64-piece kit stands out for its storage solution. It comes with a translucent toolbox that provides portability and modular organization for the 64 pieces. This makes it easy to keep your tools and accessories together and protected. The two-tool kit does not list a specific carrying case or toolbox in the provided data. It includes the tools, battery, charger, and bits, but you may need to purchase separate storage. If organized storage is a priority for you, the 64-piece kit offers a dedicated solution that the two-tool kit lacks.

Which BLACK+DECKER 20V Drill Kit Is Best

Users needing impact driver for tough screws

Our pick: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Kit

This kit includes a dedicated impact driver with 1,375 in-lb max torque. The 1/4 in. hex chuck allows fast bit changes. You get two tools in one compact package. The 11-position clutch on the drill prevents stripping. This setup handles high-torque tasks better than a single drill.

DIyers needing 64 pieces for home projects

Our pick: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit

This option provides a 64-piece kit with a translucent toolbox. It includes a modular tool tray for organization. You get a drill driver and many accessories for basic home decorating and assembly. The battery holds charge for 18 months. It is ideal for general maintenance tasks.

Those wanting versatile tools in one kit

Our pick: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Kit

You receive both a drill/driver and an impact driver. The variable-speed trigger lets you control speed for countersinking. Both tools feature LED work lights. The PowerConnect system ensures battery interchangeability. This combination offers more functional versatility for various drilling and driving needs compared to a single tool.

Users prioritizing storage and accessory quantity

Our pick: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit

This kit focuses on quantity and storage. You get a 64-piece set with a portable toolbox. The modular tray keeps bits organized. It is designed for basic home decorating and repairing. The included battery is part of the 20V MAX system. It suits those who need many bits at once.

The products compared

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Kit

Best for: Users needing separate impact and drilling tools

Power Source
20V MAX POWERCONNECT
Voltage
20V MAX
Maximum Torque
1,375 in-lb (Impact Driver)
Battery Included
Yes (1 battery and charger)
Number of Tools
2
Speed Settings
11-position clutch (Drill/Driver)

View on Amazon: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Kit Affiliate link

This kit includes a drill/driver and an impact driver powered by a 20V MAX battery. The impact driver delivers 1,375 in-lb of torque, while the drill features an 11-position clutch for precise control. Both tools are compact and lightweight, weighing 5 pounds total, and include LED work lights. It suits users needing versatile tools for wood, metal, and plastic tasks.

Pros

  • Impact driver provides 1,375 in-lb of max torque
  • Drill features an 11-position clutch to prevent screw stripping
  • Variable-speed trigger allows for controlled countersinking
  • PowerConnect battery system works with multiple tools
  • Both tools include built-in LED work lights

Cons

  • Includes only one battery and charger
  • Drill chuck size is limited to 3/8 inch
  • No data on battery capacity or runtime

Good fit if

  • You need an impact driver for high-torque tasks
  • You want interchangeable batteries across tools
  • You work in tight spaces requiring compact tools

Skip if

  • You require a high-capacity battery for long jobs
  • You need a larger 1/2 inch drill chuck
  • You prefer a single tool over a two-piece kit

Verdict: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Combo is ideal for DIYers who need separate high-torque impact and precision drilling capabilities in a compact, lightweight package.

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit

Best for: basic home decorating and light repairs

Power Source
20V MAX Lithium Ion
Voltage
20V MAX
Battery Included
Battery included
Number of Tools
64-piece kit
Included Tools
Drill Driver

View on Amazon: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit Affiliate link

This kit includes a 20V MAX drill driver and 63 other tools for basic home tasks. It features a 20V MAX lithium-ion battery that holds its charge for up to 18 months. The set comes in a translucent toolbox with a modular tray for organized storage. It is designed for users who need a complete, portable solution for light assembling, repairing, and decorating projects around the house.

Pros

  • Includes 64 pieces for versatile home use
  • 20V MAX lithium-ion battery holds charge for 18 months
  • Translucent toolbox with modular organization tray
  • Part of the POWERCONNECT 20V MAX battery system

Cons

  • Single drill driver limits simultaneous operations
  • No impact driver included for high-torque fastening
  • Battery capacity not specified in amp-hours

Good fit if

  • You need a single kit for light home repairs
  • You want organized storage in a portable case
  • You prefer tools that hold charge for months

Skip if

  • You require heavy-duty construction site performance
  • You need an impact driver for dense materials
  • You want high-speed drilling for professional use

Verdict: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit suits homeowners needing a complete, organized set for light tasks. It is not suitable for users requiring professional-grade power or an impact driver.

Specifications side by side

Spec BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Kit BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit
Power Source 20V MAX POWERCONNECT 20V MAX Lithium Ion
Voltage 20V MAX 20V MAX
Maximum Torque 1,375 in-lb (Impact Driver) not stated
Battery Included Yes (1 battery and charger) Battery included
Number of Tools 2 64-piece kit
Speed Settings 11-position clutch (Drill/Driver) not stated
Included Tools Drill Driver, Impact Driver Drill Driver
Dimensions 8 × 5 × 12 inches not stated
Weight 5 pounds not stated
Size One Size not stated
Color Black/Orange Impact Combo Kit not stated
Model BD2KITCDDI BCKSB62C1

Frequently asked questions

Does the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Kit include an impact driver?

Yes, it includes both a drill driver and a separate impact driver. This combination allows you to switch between precision drilling and high-torque fastening tasks. The impact driver handles tough screws and bolts efficiently, while the drill driver manages standard holes and lighter screwdriving duties in one compact package.

What is the total weight of the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Kit?

The kit weighs 5 pounds. This includes the drill driver, impact driver, and batteries. The lightweight design makes it easy to maneuver in tight spaces or overhead. You can carry it comfortably for extended periods without significant fatigue during home improvement projects.

Does the 64-Piece Drill Kit come with an impact driver?

No, this kit only includes a drill driver. It is designed for basic home decorating and light repairs. You will not get the high-torque impact capability needed for tough fasteners. If you require an impact driver, you must choose the separate two-tool kit instead.

Are the batteries compatible between the two BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX kits?

Yes, both tools share the 20V MAX power source and POWERCONNECT battery system. You can use the same batteries across both the drill and impact driver kits. This ensures you do not need to purchase separate power sources for different tools in your collection.

What is the maximum torque of the impact driver in the combo kit?

The impact driver delivers 1,375 in-lb of max torque. This high torque output helps drive large screws and bolts into dense materials. It is significantly more powerful than standard drill drivers, making it ideal for construction tasks or heavy-duty fastening jobs around the home.

What chuck type does the drill driver use?

The drill driver uses a standard chuck for drill bits. The impact driver features a 1/4 inch hex chuck for quick bit changes. This hex chuck allows you to swap driver bits rapidly without needing to tighten or loosen a collar, speeding up your workflow.

Is the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Kit suitable for professional use?

It is best suited for DIYers and homeowners. The kit offers compact, lightweight tools for general tasks. It is not marketed as professional-grade equipment for continuous heavy use. For basic home repairs and decorating, it provides sufficient power and versatility for most users.

See also