As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

BLACK+DECKER or Greenworks? Drill Drivers Compared in 2026

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

When you compare the black decker vs greenworks drill driver options, you find two distinct approaches to cordless power. Both kits feature brushless motors for efficiency and longer tool life. The main difference lies in the package contents and voltage architecture. BLACK+DECKER offers a two-tool combo with a separate impact driver, while Greenworks provides a single drill with a unique USB-C power bank battery. You need to decide which configuration matches your typical projects.

Key differences

AspectBLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo KitGreenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver
Number of Tools2-tool (Drill Driver, Impact Driver)1-tool (Drill Driver)
Voltage20V MAX24V
Included ToolsDrill driver and impact driverDrill driver
Maximum Torque2,000 in-lbs (Impact Driver)800 in-lbs (Drill Driver)
Battery Included2Ah battery, charger4.0Ah USB-C battery, 65W charger
Chuck Size1/2 in. drill, 1/4 in. hex impact1/2 in.

Which one should you choose?

Choose BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit if

  • You need both drilling and impact driving capabilities in one kit.
  • You prefer a higher maximum torque for tough fastening tasks.
  • You want a tool with a dedicated magnetic bit holder and belt clip.

Choose Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver if

  • You value a lighter tool that weighs only 2.81 lbs.
  • You want a battery that doubles as a 24,000mAh USB-C power bank.
  • You need a 21-position clutch for precise torque control.

Verdict: Choose the BLACK+DECKER kit if you require the versatility of a two-tool set with high torque impact driving. Select the Greenworks model if you prioritize a lightweight, compact single drill and the convenience of a multi-purpose USB-C battery. Your choice depends on whether you need two distinct tools or one highly adaptable unit.

Tool Count and Voltage Compared

number of tools

Edge: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit

The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit includes two distinct tools: a drill driver and an impact driver. This setup allows you to handle both standard drilling tasks and high-torque driving applications with dedicated hardware. In contrast, the Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver is listed as a single tool kit. While you can build a larger ecosystem with Greenworks, this specific package provides only the drill. If you need immediate versatility for driving screws without switching bits constantly, the two-tool configuration offers more out-of-the-box utility than the single drill option.

voltage

Edge: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

Voltage indicates the electrical potential of the battery system. The BLACK+DECKER kit operates on a 20V MAX platform, which is a standard for many cordless tools in the DIY market. The Greenworks unit uses a 24V system. Greenworks claims this higher voltage provides 20% more power and 35% more runtime compared to 20V batteries. Higher voltage can translate to sustained power under load, though actual performance depends on motor efficiency and battery chemistry. You get a different voltage architecture with each brand, so your choice depends on whether you prefer the established 20V standard or the claimed efficiency gains of the 24V system.

maximum torque

Edge: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit

Torque determines how much rotational force the tool can apply, which is critical for driving large screws or drilling into hard materials. The BLACK+DECKER impact driver delivers a maximum torque of 2,000 in-lbs. The drill driver portion of the BLACK+DECKER kit does not have a specific torque figure listed in the key specs, but the impact driver provides significant driving power. The Greenworks drill driver offers 800 in-lbs of torque. While the Greenworks drill is sufficient for many household tasks, the BLACK+DECKER impact driver provides substantially more torque for demanding applications like deck construction or lag bolt installation.

battery capacity

Edge: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

Battery capacity, measured in amp-hours (Ah), affects how long the tool runs before needing a recharge. The BLACK+DECKER kit includes a 2Ah battery. The Greenworks kit includes a larger 4.0Ah battery. A higher capacity generally means longer runtime between charges. The Greenworks battery is also a USB-C power bank, allowing you to charge devices like phones, which adds utility outside the tool itself. However, the 2Ah battery in the BLACK+DECKER set is lighter and may be easier to manage for extended periods. You get more raw runtime capacity with the Greenworks 4.0Ah cell.

chuck size

Edge: Tie

The chuck holds the drill bits or driver accessories. Both the BLACK+DECKER drill driver and the Greenworks drill driver feature a 1/2-inch chuck. This is the standard size for most general-purpose drill bits and driver bits, offering broad compatibility with accessories you likely already own or can easily find. The BLACK+DECKER kit also includes an impact driver with a 1/4-inch hex quick-change chuck, which is standard for impact-rated bits. For the drill driver comparison specifically, both brands provide the same 1/2-inch capacity, making this a tie in terms of basic bit compatibility.

Which Drill Driver Kit Suits You

Homeowners needing two distinct tools

Our pick: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit

This BLACK+DECKER kit includes both a drill driver and an impact driver. You get 2,000 in-lbs of torque from the impact driver for tough screws. The drill offers 1,900 RPM. Having two tools lets you switch quickly between drilling holes and driving fasteners without changing bits on a single device.

Users wanting a high-capacity battery

Our pick: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

The Greenworks option comes with a 4.0Ah USB-C battery. This capacity is larger than the 2.0Ah battery included with the BLACK+DECKER kit. A higher amp-hour rating typically provides longer runtime between charges. You also get a 65W charger that can power other devices, adding versatility to your power setup.

Professionals prioritizing maximum torque

Our pick: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit

If you need raw power for dense materials, the BLACK+DECKER impact driver delivers 2,000 in-lbs of max torque. The Greenworks drill driver is limited to 800 in-lbs. For heavy-duty construction or large deck projects, the higher torque output of the BLACK+DECKER impact driver will drive larger screws more efficiently.

Users valuing lightweight ergonomics

Our pick: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

The Greenworks drill driver weighs 2.81 lbs. This is lighter than the combined weight of the two BLACK+DECKER tools. If you work overhead or in tight spaces for long periods, the single lighter tool reduces fatigue. The compact design also helps you access hard-to-reach areas without maneuvering a bulky case.

The products compared

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit

Best for: household drilling and high-torque fastening tasks

Power Source
20V MAX POWERCONNECT cordless
Voltage
20V MAX
Maximum Torque
2,000 in-lbs. (impact driver)
Chuck Size
1/2 in. drill, 1/4 in. hex impact driver
Motor Type
Brushless
Battery Included
2Ah battery, charger

View on Amazon: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link

This two-piece cordless set provides a 1/2-inch drill driver and a 1/4-inch hex impact driver powered by a 20V MAX brushless motor system. You get up to 1,900 RPM on the drill for boring holes, alongside 2,000 in-lbs of torque on the impact driver for driving fasteners. It suits homeowners who need dedicated tools for building and repair projects.

Pros

  • Includes both a 1/2-inch drill driver and a 1/4-inch hex impact driver
  • Brushless impact driver delivers up to 2,000 in-lbs of torque and 3,200 RPM
  • Two-speed drill reaches up to 1,900 RPM with metal keyless chuck
  • Battery includes an integrated state-of-charge indicator

Cons

  • Includes a 2.0 Ah battery rather than a higher-capacity pack
  • Runs on a 20V MAX battery platform rather than 24V

Good fit if

  • You want separate tools for pre-drilling holes and driving screws.
  • You need an impact driver capable of 2,000 in-lbs of driving torque.

Skip if

  • You require more than 2.0 Ah of battery runtime out of the box.
  • You prefer a 24V power platform for higher operating voltage.

Verdict: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Kit gives you a dual-tool setup with 2,000 in-lbs of impact torque for household drilling and fastening tasks.

Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

Best for: Users needing a USB-C power bank

Power Source
24V lithium-ion battery
Voltage
24V
Maximum Torque
800 in-lbs
Chuck Size
1/2 in.
Motor Type
Brushless
Battery Included
Yes, 4.0Ah USB-C battery and 65W charger

View on Amazon: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver Affiliate link

This Greenworks drill driver features a 24V brushless motor and a 1/2-inch metal chuck. It delivers 800 in-lbs of torque with a 21-position clutch. The tool weighs 2.81 lbs and includes a 4.0Ah USB-C battery. This battery acts as a 24,000mAh power bank. It suits users needing compact tools with multi-device charging capabilities.

Pros

  • 24V brushless motor for extended runtime
  • 1/2-inch keyless metal chuck
  • 800 in-lbs maximum torque
  • 4.0Ah battery doubles as USB-C power bank
  • Lightweight 2.81 lbs design

Cons

  • Lower torque than 20V competitors
  • Heavier than some compact drills
  • No app connectivity listed

Good fit if

  • You need a battery that charges phones
  • You prefer a metal chuck
  • You value lightweight handling

Skip if

  • You require high-torque heavy duty work
  • You want a standard non-USB battery
  • You need app-based control

Verdict: Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill fits users who need a versatile tool with a unique power bank feature for charging devices on the go. It is ideal for light to medium tasks where its 800 in-lbs torque is sufficient.

Specifications side by side

Spec BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver
Power Source 20V MAX POWERCONNECT cordless 24V lithium-ion battery
Voltage 20V MAX 24V
Maximum Torque 2,000 in-lbs. (impact driver) 800 in-lbs
Chuck Size 1/2 in. drill, 1/4 in. hex impact driver 1/2 in.
Motor Type Brushless Brushless
Battery Included 2Ah battery, charger Yes, 4.0Ah USB-C battery and 65W charger
Number of Tools 2-tool not stated
Included Tools Drill driver, impact driver not stated
Speed Settings not stated 2-speed, 21-position clutch
Tool Weight not stated 2.81 lbs
Battery Capacity 2.0 Ah 4.0 Ah
Dimensions 14.5 × 2.95 × 8.86 inches 15.7 × 11.4 × 9.65 inches
Weight not stated 2.71 pounds
Color Black, Orange Grey
Model BLDI782CKD1 DD590
Size not stated 800 in-lbs Drill Driver

Frequently asked questions

Which drill driver has more torque?

The Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill Driver delivers 800 in-lbs of torque. This specification is sufficient for light to medium tasks. The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX kit includes an impact driver with 2,000 in-lbs of torque. You get higher driving power with the BLACK+DECKER setup. The drill component of that kit offers 1,900 RPM for drilling speed.

Does the BLACK+DECKER kit include an impact driver?

Yes, the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit includes both a drill driver and an impact driver. This two-tool configuration allows you to handle standard drilling and high-torque driving with dedicated hardware. The Greenworks option is a single drill driver unit. You must choose between a multi-tool bundle or a single specialized unit.

Which battery has higher capacity?

The Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill Driver features a 4.0 Ah battery capacity. The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX kit includes a 2.0 Ah battery. Higher amp-hour ratings generally indicate longer runtime between charges. You get double the battery capacity with the Greenworks model compared to the single battery in the BLACK+DECKER bundle.

Is there a USB-C charging feature?

Yes, the Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill Driver includes a USB-C power bank feature. This allows you to charge external devices on the go. The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX kit does not list this feature in its specifications. If you need to power electronics while working, the Greenworks model offers this specific utility.

What type of chuck does the BLACK+DECKER drill have?

The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill Driver uses a 1/2 inch metal chuck. This size accommodates a wide range of drill bits and driver accessories. The Greenworks model is also described as a 1/2-inch drill driver. Both tools support standard 1/2 inch accessories, ensuring compatibility with common bits and drivers for your projects.

Which tool is lighter?

The Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill Driver weighs 2.71 pounds. The BLACK+DECKER kit dimensions are provided, but its weight is not listed in the data. For single-tool handling, the Greenworks model has a specified weight of 2.71 pounds. You can use this figure to assess comfort during extended use. The two-tool BLACK+DECKER bundle will be heavier due to the extra tool.

See also