As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Power Tool Combo Kit vs BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX* POWERCONNECT Cordless: Spec Comparison

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

This comparison looks at the black decker 20v max power tool combo kit vs 20v max powerconnect. Both are 4-tool cordless sets from BLACK+DECKER using 20V MAX batteries. They share core tools like a drill/driver and circular saw. The main difference lies in the third tool and the battery system compatibility. One uses the standard 20V MAX Lithium Ion system, while the other uses the newer POWERCONNECT system. This affects which batteries you can use and the specific tool included in the sander category.

Key differences

AspectBLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Combo KitBLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit
Power Source20V MAX Lithium Ion Battery System20V MAX* POWERCONNECT Cordless
Included ToolsDrill/Driver, Circular Saw, Work LightDrill/Driver, Circular Saw, Mouse Detail Sander, LED Work Light
Chuck Size3/8 in.Keyless chuck
Weight14 pounds13 pounds
Battery Included2 batteries and chargerBattery and charger included

Which one should you choose?

Choose BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit if

  • You want a detail sander included in your kit for finishing work.
  • You are building a new setup with the POWERCONNECT battery system.
  • You prefer a lighter kit that weighs 13 pounds.

Verdict: Choose the standard 20V MAX kit if you are expanding an existing collection of compatible batteries or need extra runtime with two batteries. Select the POWERCONNECT version if you want a mouse sander for detailed work or are starting fresh with the newer POWERCONNECT battery ecosystem. Both kits provide essential drilling and cutting capabilities for DIY tasks.

Specs: 4-Tool Kit vs PowerConnect

Included tools

Edge: Tie

Product A includes a drill/driver, circular saw, work light, and a second battery. Product B includes a drill/driver, circular saw, detail sander, and work light. The sander in Product B adds sanding capability that Product A lacks. Product A provides an extra battery instead. You get different tool types depending on which kit you choose. The work light is in both sets. The circular saw and drill are standard in both. The choice depends on whether you need sanding power or extra runtime.

Chuck size

Edge: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit

Product A specifies a 3/8-inch chuck for the drill/driver. Product B lists a keyless chuck but does not state the size. The keyless mechanism in Product B allows for faster bit changes without a key. Product A also likely uses a keyless chuck, but the data only confirms the 3/8-inch capacity. Both support standard 1/4-inch hex bits. The 3/8-inch capacity in Product A handles larger drill bits for wood or masonry. Product B’s unspecified size limits this comparison. You may prefer the known capacity of Product A for larger holes.

Sander performance

Edge: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit

Product B includes a MOUSE detail sander with 12,000 OPM. Product A does not include a sander. The 12,000 OPM in Product B allows for fast material removal and smooth finishing on small surfaces. This is a significant advantage if you need sanding tools. Product A lacks this tool entirely. You cannot compare sander specs for Product A. The detail sander adds versatility to Product B for finish work. If you do fine woodworking or touch-ups, Product B is the better choice for this specific task.

Battery included

Edge: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit

Product A explicitly includes two batteries and a charger. Product B includes a battery and charger, but the count is not specified in the data. Two batteries in Product A double your runtime for larger projects. You can swap batteries without waiting for a charge. Product B’s single battery (likely) means more downtime. If Product B also includes two batteries, the data does not confirm this. Based on the text, Product A offers more guaranteed runtime out of the box. You get more immediate usage time with Product A.

Saw cutting capacity

Edge: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit

Product A’s circular saw cuts 2x lumber. Product B’s saw has a 5.5-inch blade. Both are designed for consumer DIY projects. The 5.5-inch blade in Product B is standard for cutting 2x material. Product A does not specify blade size but confirms 2x cutting. Both tools feature tool-free depth adjustments. Product B adds adjustable bevel detents at 45 and 90 degrees. This allows for angled cuts. Product A’s data does not mention bevel adjustments. If you need angled cuts, Product B offers more precision for the saw.

Which 20V MAX Combo Kit Fits You

You need sanding for detailed projects

Our pick: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit

Product B includes a MOUSE detail sander that powers up to 12,000 opm for fast material removal. This adds a finishing tool that Product A does not have. You get a drill/driver, circular saw, work light, and sander. The sander lets you smooth edges and surfaces without buying a separate unit, making this kit more versatile for woodworking tasks.

You want extra runtime for longer jobs

Our pick: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit

Product A includes two batteries, while Product B lists only one battery and charger. Having two batteries doubles your runtime, allowing you to swap out depleted cells quickly. This reduces downtime on larger projects. You get the same core tools, but the extra power source keeps you working longer without waiting for a recharge cycle to complete.

You prefer a lighter, more compact kit

Our pick: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit

Product B weighs 13 pounds, which is lighter than Product A at 14 pounds. It also has a smaller width of 9.9 inches compared to 8 inches for Product A, though Product A is taller. The reduced weight makes it easier to carry around the job site. You get a full 4-tool set that is slightly more portable for storage and transport.

The products compared

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit

Best for: Basic home DIY and light carpentry

Power Source
20V MAX Lithium Ion Battery System
Voltage
20V MAX
Chuck Size
3/8 in. (Drill/Driver)
Battery Included
Yes (2 batteries and charger)
Number of Tools
4-Tool
Included Tools
Drill/Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light

View on Amazon: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link

This BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX kit includes a drill/driver, circular saw, and work light. The drill features a 3/8-inch chuck and 0-650 rpm speed. You get two 20V MAX lithium-ion batteries and a charger. The circular saw has a 5.5-inch blade for cutting 2x lumber. This setup suits DIY projects where you need basic cordless tools with moderate power.

Pros

  • Includes two 20V MAX batteries for extended runtime
  • Drill has an 11-position clutch to prevent stripping
  • Circular saw cuts 2x lumber with a 5.5-inch blade
  • Work light offers up to 11 hours of runtime

Cons

  • Drill speed maxes out at 650 rpm
  • Circular saw lacks variable speed control
  • No dedicated storage case included in data

Good fit if

  • You need a basic set for home DIY tasks
  • You want a circular saw that handles 2x lumber
  • You prefer tools with an LED work light

Skip if

  • You require high-speed drilling over 650 rpm
  • You need professional-grade torque for heavy framing
  • You want a vacuum or grinder in the kit

Verdict: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit fits homeowners who need reliable, entry-level tools for standard household repairs and light carpentry projects.

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit

Best for: General home projects requiring cutting and sanding

Power Source
20V MAX* POWERCONNECT Cordless
Voltage
20V MAX
Chuck Size
Keyless chuck
Battery Included
Battery and charger included
Number of Tools
4-Tool
Speed Settings
11-position clutch

View on Amazon: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link

This 4-tool set uses the 20V MAX* POWERCONNECT system for cordless operation. It includes a drill/driver with an 11-position clutch and keyless chuck, a circular saw with tool-free depth adjustment, a detail sander reaching 12,000 OPM, and an LED work light. The kit weighs 13 pounds and comes with a battery and charger. It suits users who need versatile tools for general home projects and DIY tasks.

Pros

  • Includes a drill/driver with 11-position clutch to prevent stripping screws.
  • Circular saw features tool-free depth adjustment and angled cut detents.
  • Detail sander powers up to 12,000 OPM for fast material removal.
  • Drill/driver has a built-in LED work light for dark areas.
  • Keyless chuck allows for quick bit changes without extra tools.

Cons

  • Circular saw uses a 5-1/2 inch blade, which is smaller than professional 6-1/2 inch blades.
  • Sander is a detail sander with limited surface coverage compared to larger belt or orbital sanders.
  • Kit weighs 13 pounds, making it heavier than lighter 2-tool variants.

Good fit if

  • You need a circular saw for cutting wood and other materials.
  • You want a detail sander for precise sanding work.
  • You prefer the POWERCONNECT battery system for tool compatibility.

Skip if

  • You require a full-size 6-1/2 inch circular saw blade.
  • You need a large belt sander for wide surfaces.
  • You are looking for a lighter kit under 10 pounds.

Verdict: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX PowerConnect 4-Tool Kit offers a balanced mix of cutting, drilling, and sanding tools for homeowners. It fits users who value the POWERCONNECT system and need a detail sander for precise work.

Specifications side by side

Spec BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit
Power Source 20V MAX Lithium Ion Battery System 20V MAX* POWERCONNECT Cordless
Voltage 20V MAX 20V MAX
Chuck Size 3/8 in. (Drill/Driver) Keyless chuck
Battery Included Yes (2 batteries and charger) Battery and charger included
Number of Tools 4-Tool 4-Tool
Included Tools Drill/Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light not stated
Speed Settings 11 position clutch (Drill/Driver) 11-position clutch
Dimensions 10 × 8 × 17 inches 17 × 9.9 × 8.5 inches
Weight 14 pounds 13 pounds
Size One Size One Size
Color Black/Orange Black/Orange 4 Tool Combo Kit
Model BD4KITCDCRL BD4KITCDCMSL

Frequently asked questions

Are both kits 20V cordless systems?

Yes, both kits use 20V MAX cordless power sources. This means you do not need a power cord to operate the tools. You rely on rechargeable batteries for mobility. This setup allows you to work in areas without easy access to electrical outlets. Both products share this core voltage specification for consistent performance across the set.

Do both kits include four tools?

Yes, both the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit and the PowerConnect version contain exactly four tools. The number of tools remains constant between the two models. You get a drill/driver and a circular saw in both sets. The difference lies in the additional tools included to complete the four-tool count.

Which kit is lighter to carry?

The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX PowerConnect 4-Tool Kit is lighter. It weighs 13 pounds, while the standard 4-Tool Combo Kit weighs 14 pounds. This one-pound difference may matter if you carry the kit frequently. The PowerConnect model offers a slight advantage in portability due to its lower total weight.

What is the main difference in included tools?

The PowerConnect kit includes a detail sander, whereas the standard kit includes a second battery. The sander provides sanding capability for finishing work. The second battery extends runtime without needing to recharge. You choose based on whether you need more power or a finishing tool for your projects.

Do both kits include a work light?

Yes, both kits include a work light. This tool helps you see in dark corners or under cabinets. It is a standard inclusion in both the standard 4-Tool Combo and the PowerConnect version. You get this utility feature regardless of which specific model you select for your home.

How do the physical dimensions compare?

The kits have different dimensions. The standard kit measures 17 inches in height, 10 inches in length, and 8 inches in width. The PowerConnect kit measures 17 inches in height, 17 inches in length, and 9.9 inches in width. The PowerConnect kit is wider and longer, affecting how it fits in storage.

See also