BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless vs BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Drill (2026): Key Differences
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
When comparing the black decker 20v max powerconnect brushless vs 20v max cordless drill, you see two solid 2-tool kits from the same brand. Both use 20V MAX POWERCONNECT batteries and include a drill driver and impact driver. The main difference lies in performance and control. The brushless model offers higher torque and speed, while the standard cordless option provides an 11-position clutch for precise screwdriving. You should choose based on whether you prioritize raw power or fine control.
Key differences
| Aspect | BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit | BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Motor Type | Brushless | Not listed |
| Maximum Torque | 2,000 in-lbs. (Impact Driver) | 1,375 in-lb (Impact Driver) |
| Drill Driver Speed | Up to 1,900 no-load RPM | Not listed |
| Impact Driver Speed | Up to 3,200 no-load RPM | Not listed |
| Chuck Size | 1/2 in. drill, 1/4 in. hex impact | 3/8 in. drill, 1/4 in. hex impact |
| Clutch Settings | Variable speed trigger with two settings | 11-position clutch |
Which one should you choose?
Choose BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit if
- You need higher torque for tough drilling tasks
- You prefer a larger 1/2 inch drill chuck
- You want a brushless motor for longer runtime
Choose BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Kit if
- You need precise control to avoid stripping screws
- You are working in tight spaces with compact tools
- You want an 11-position clutch for fine adjustments
Verdict: Choose the brushless model if you need more power and speed for demanding DIY projects. Pick the standard cordless drill kit if you value the 11-position clutch for delicate screwdriving tasks. Both kits share the same battery system for compatibility.
Brushless Power and Torque Comparison
motor type
The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit features a brushless motor in its impact driver. This design typically offers more power, longer runtime, and extended motor life compared to brushed alternatives. In contrast, the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Drill kit does not specify a brushless motor in its published data. You should choose the brushless model if you prioritize efficiency and durability for frequent use. The brushed version remains a standard option for occasional tasks.
max torque
Torque determines how much twisting force the tools can apply. The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit impact driver delivers up to 2,000 in-lbs of max torque. The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Drill kit impact driver provides 1,375 in-lb of max torque. The brushless model offers significantly higher torque, making it better suited for driving large screws or drilling into dense materials. If you need raw power, the first kit has the clear advantage.
chuck size
Chuck size affects which bits and drill bits you can use. The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit drill driver uses a 1/2 inch keyless metal chuck. The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Drill kit drill driver uses a 3/8 inch chuck. A 1/2 inch chuck accepts larger shanks and provides better grip for heavy-duty drilling. The 3/8 inch chuck is sufficient for most standard screwdriving and light drilling tasks. You should pick the 1/2 inch model for versatility with larger bits.
clutch settings
Clutch settings help prevent stripping screws by limiting torque. The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Drill kit includes an 11-position clutch on its drill/driver. This allows for precise control when driving screws into various materials. The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit data does not list specific clutch positions. If you frequently drive screws and need fine control to avoid damaging material, the 11-position clutch on the second kit is a practical feature you will appreciate.
battery capacity
Battery capacity influences runtime between charges. The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit includes a 2Ah battery. The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Drill kit includes a 20V MAX lithium-ion battery, but the specific amp-hour rating is not listed in the provided data. Both kits share the POWERCONNECT system, meaning batteries are interchangeable across compatible tools. You can rely on the 2Ah battery for the brushless kit, while the runtime of the unspecified battery in the other kit remains unclear from the specs.
Which 20V MAX Kit Suits Your Needs
DIYers needing high torque for tough jobs
The brushless impact driver delivers 2,000 in-lbs of max torque. This higher output handles demanding tasks like deck screws and wall studs with ease. You get faster 3,200 RPM speeds and a keyless metal chuck for secure bit holding. The two-speed trigger settings let you tune performance precisely for each specific task you encounter.
Users wanting clutch control to prevent damage
This kit features an 11-position clutch on the drill driver. It helps prevent stripping screws and overdriving them into soft materials. You also get a variable-speed trigger for countersinking without damaging the surface. The compact design aids maneuverability in tight spaces, making it ideal for delicate indoor furniture assembly or light repairs.
Those prioritizing versatility and included bits
You receive two driver bits included in the box. The 3/8 inch chuck size is ideal for all screwdriving tasks and drilling into wood, metal, or plastic. The interchangeable POWERCONNECT battery system allows you to use one battery for multiple tools. This setup offers practical versatility for common home repairs without needing extra accessories.
The products compared
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit
Best for: Light DIY repairs and home assembly
- Power Source
- 20V MAX POWERCONNECT cordless
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Maximum Torque
- 2,000 in-lbs. (impact driver)
- Chuck Size
- 1/2 in. drill, 1/4 in. hex impact driver
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Battery Included
- 2Ah battery, charger
View on Amazon: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link
This 2-tool kit pairs a 1/2 in. drill driver with a 1/4 in. hex impact driver. Both feature brushless motors for efficiency and durability. The drill reaches 1,900 RPM, while the impact driver delivers 3,200 RPM and 2,000 in-lbs of torque. It includes a 2Ah battery and charger. You benefit from variable speed triggers, belt clips, and built-in LEDs for precision work.
Pros
- Brushless motor ensures longer runtime and life
- High torque of 2,000 in-lbs on impact driver
- Fast 3,200 RPM for rapid screw driving
- 1/2 in. metal chuck on drill for secure grip
- Battery state-of-charge indicator for planning
Cons
- Included 2Ah battery has limited capacity
- Impact driver lacks multiple torque settings
- No hammer drill function for masonry
Good fit if
- You need a drill and impact driver for light DIY
- You want brushless efficiency in a compact kit
- You already own compatible 20V MAX batteries
Skip if
- You require high-capacity batteries for all-day use
- You need a hammer drill for masonry work
- You prefer a single combo tool for both functions
Verdict: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless Drill & Impact suits homeowners needing reliable tools for occasional repairs and assembly tasks.
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Kit
Best for: homeowners needing versatile drilling and driving
- Power Source
- 20V MAX POWERCONNECT
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Maximum Torque
- 1,375 in-lb (Impact Driver)
- Battery Included
- Yes (1 battery and charger)
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Speed Settings
- 11-position clutch (Drill/Driver)
View on Amazon: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Kit Affiliate link
This kit includes a 20V MAX drill/driver and an impact driver with a shared POWERCONNECT battery. The drill offers an 11-position clutch for precise screwdriving and countersinking. The impact driver delivers 1,375 in-lb of torque for driving fasteners. Both tools feature LED work lights and compact designs for tight spaces. It comes with one battery and charger, making it a versatile option for general home projects.
Pros
- Impact driver provides 1,375 in-lb of max torque
- 11-position clutch prevents screw stripping and overdriving
- POWERCONNECT battery system allows interchangeability across tools
- Both tools include built-in LED work lights
Cons
- Includes only one battery, limiting continuous runtime
- Drill chuck is 3/8 inch, smaller than 1/2 inch professional standards
- Impact driver uses a 1/4 inch hex chuck, not a keyed chuck
Good fit if
- You need interchangeable batteries for multiple BLACK+DECKER tools
- You want an impact driver for high-torque fastening tasks
- You require LED lights for working in dim areas
Skip if
- You need a 1/2 inch chuck for large drill bits
- You require multiple batteries for all-day uninterrupted work
- You prefer a keyed chuck for secure bit retention
Verdict: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit suits homeowners needing a compact, versatile pair of tools with shared battery power. It is ideal for general assembly and driving tasks where high torque and precision control are necessary.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit | BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Power Source | 20V MAX POWERCONNECT cordless | 20V MAX POWERCONNECT |
| Voltage | 20V MAX | 20V MAX |
| Maximum Torque | 2,000 in-lbs. (impact driver) | 1,375 in-lb (Impact Driver) |
| Chuck Size | 1/2 in. drill, 1/4 in. hex impact driver | not stated |
| Motor Type | Brushless | not stated |
| Battery Included | 2Ah battery, charger | Yes (1 battery and charger) |
| Number of Tools | 2-tool | 2 |
| Included Tools | Drill driver, impact driver | not stated |
| Speed Settings | not stated | 11-position clutch (Drill/Driver) |
| Battery Capacity | 2.0 Ah | not stated |
| Dimensions | 14.5 × 2.95 × 8.86 inches | 8 × 5 × 12 inches |
| Weight | not stated | 5 pounds |
| Color | Black, Orange | Black/Orange Impact Combo Kit |
| Model | BLDI782CKD1 | BD2KITCDDI |
| Size | not stated | One Size |
Frequently asked questions
Which drill has a larger chuck size?
The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit features a 1/2-inch chuck. This allows you to use larger drill bits and accessories compared to standard 3/8-inch chucks. The other 20V MAX Cordless Drill Kit does not list a specific chuck size in its published data, so you cannot confirm its capacity.
Does the brushless model include a battery?
Yes, the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit includes a 2.0 Ah battery. This capacity supports the brushless motor for extended runtime during light DIY repairs. The second kit does not specify battery capacity in the provided data, so you should check the box contents or retailer details for that information.
What is the weight of the impact combo kit?
The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill and Impact Kit weighs 5 pounds. This weight includes both the drill driver and impact driver tools. The brushless model does not list a total weight in the data, so you cannot directly compare the heft of the two kits based on these specifications.
Are both kits cordless?
Yes, both the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit and the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Drill Kit are cordless. They rely on 20V MAX batteries for power. This design gives you freedom of movement without being tethered to a power outlet, which is ideal for home assembly tasks.
What tools are included in the brushless kit?
The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit includes a drill driver and an impact driver. These two tools cover most general drilling and driving needs. The second kit also includes a drill driver and impact driver, offering similar versatility for homeowners needing reliable tools for occasional repairs.
Which model is better for home assembly?
The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit is best for light DIY repairs and home assembly. Its brushless motor provides efficient power for these tasks. The other kit is also suitable for general assembly, but the brushless model offers higher torque and speed for more demanding screwdriving.
What are the dimensions of the brushless drill?
The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit drill measures 14.5 inches in length, 8.86 inches in height, and 2.95 inches in width. These dimensions help you determine if the tool fits comfortably in your workspace or storage case. The other kit measures 8 inches in length and 12 inches in height.
Do both kits use the same battery platform?
Both kits use the 20V MAX POWERCONNECT battery system. This means you can swap batteries between the tools if you own other compatible devices. The brushless model explicitly lists this platform, while the other kit is part of the same 20V MAX line, ensuring general compatibility across the brand's cordless tools.

