As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless or BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill Home? Which BLACK+DECKER Model to Buy

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

You are looking at black decker 20v max powerconnect brushless vs 20v max drill home. Both tools use the 20V MAX POWERCONNECT battery system for shared power across your toolkit. The main difference lies in their scope. One is a focused two-tool combo with a brushless motor for higher performance. The other is a broad 64-piece kit designed for general home tasks. You need to decide if you prioritize raw power or a wider variety of included accessories.

Key differences

AspectBLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo KitBLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit
Number of Tools2-tool64-piece kit
Motor TypeBrushlessnot listed
Included ToolsDrill driver, impact driverDrill Driver
Chuck Size1/2 in. drill, 1/4 in. hex impact drivernot listed
Battery Capacity2.0 Ahnot listed

Which one should you choose?

Choose BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit if

  • You need an impact driver for driving screws and higher torque tasks.
  • You prefer a brushless motor for longer runtime and durability.
  • You want two dedicated power tools in one package.

Choose BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit if

  • You want a large assortment of bits and accessories for various home projects.
  • You need a portable storage solution with a translucent toolbox.
  • You primarily need a single drill driver for basic assembly and repairs.

Verdict: The two-tool brushless combo suits users who want more power and a second tool for specific tasks. The 64-piece kit is better for those who need a wide range of accessories and storage for occasional home use. Choose based on whether you value motor performance or accessory variety.

Comparing Tool Counts and Specs

Number of tools

Edge: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit

The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit includes a drill driver and an impact driver. This setup gives you two distinct power tools for different tasks. The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit contains a drill driver and 62 other accessories. While the second kit has more pieces, it only provides one power tool. You get more actual drilling and driving units with the first option.

Motor type

Edge: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit

The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit features brushless motors in both the drill driver and the impact driver. Brushless motors generally offer more power, longer runtime, and extended motor life. The specifications for the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit do not list the motor type. You cannot confirm if it uses a brushed or brushless design from the provided data. The brushless technology in the first kit is a clear technical advantage.

Included tools

Edge: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit

The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit includes a 1/2 in. drill driver and a 1/4 in. hex impact driver. The impact driver adds significant versatility for driving screws. The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit includes a drill driver and a large assortment of bits and accessories. It does not include a separate impact driver. If you need both drilling and impact driving capabilities, the first kit provides the necessary tools directly.

Battery capacity

Edge: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit

The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit comes with a 2Ah battery and a charger. This capacity supports the power demands of the brushless motors. The specifications for the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit state that a battery is included but do not list the amp-hour rating. You do not know if the battery capacity matches the 2Ah unit in the other kit. The first kit provides specific capacity data for planning your runtime.

Chuck size

Edge: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit

The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit features a 1/2 in. single-sleeve keyless metal chuck on the drill driver. This size accepts a wide range of standard drill bits. The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit includes a drill driver, but the chuck size is not specified in the data. You cannot verify if it matches the 1/2 in. standard. The first kit explicitly confirms the chuck size for your bit compatibility.

Voltage

Edge: Tie

Both the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit and the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit operate on the 20V MAX POWERCONNECT system. This shared voltage platform means the batteries are compatible across both tools. You can use the same battery for either kit. There is no difference in power source voltage between the two options, making this a tie for your power needs.

Choose the right BLACK+DECKER kit

You need high torque for tough projects

Our pick: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit

This kit features a brushless motor that delivers up to 2,000 in-lbs of torque. The impact driver spins at 3,200 RPM, handling deck screws and wall studs with ease. You get two distinct tools: a drill driver and an impact driver, each with variable speed triggers for precise control.

You want a complete storage solution

Our pick: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit

This option includes a 64-piece kit designed for basic home decorating and assembly. It comes with a translucent toolbox for portability and modular organization. The drill driver uses a 20V MAX Lithium Ion battery that holds its charge for up to 18 months, making it ready whenever you need it.

You prefer longer runtime and durability

Our pick: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit

The brushless motor offers more power and longer runtime compared to standard motors. It includes two 2Ah batteries and a charger, ensuring you have backup power. The soft-grip handle and belt clip add comfort, while the built-in LED illuminates dark work areas for better visibility during detailed tasks.

The products compared

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit

Best for: High-torque driving and DIY building projects

Power Source
20V MAX POWERCONNECT cordless
Voltage
20V MAX
Maximum Torque
2,000 in-lbs. (impact driver)
Chuck Size
1/2 in. drill, 1/4 in. hex impact driver
Motor Type
Brushless
Battery Included
2Ah battery, charger

View on Amazon: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link

This two-piece cordless kit pairs a 1/2-inch drill driver with a 1/4-inch hex impact driver, both running on brushless motors. You get up to 1,900 RPM on the drill and up to 2,000 in-lbs of torque on the impact driver. A single 2.0 Ah battery powers both tools. It suits you if you need dedicated driving torque for heavier tasks.

Pros

  • Impact driver provides up to 2,000 in-lbs of maximum torque
  • Brushless motors drive both the drill and impact driver
  • Drill features a 1/2-inch keyless metal chuck and reaches 1,900 RPM
  • Impact driver offers three speed settings with a 1/4-inch hex chuck

Cons

  • Includes only one 2.0 Ah battery to share across both tools
  • Package does not include hand tools or accessory bits

Good fit if

  • You need high rotational torque for driving deck screws or heavy fasteners
  • You want durable brushless tools with metal chuck components
  • You prefer dedicated drill and impact mechanisms over a single multi-use drill

Skip if

  • You need an all-in-one kit that includes household hand tools
  • You require a second battery for continuous, non-stop tool swapping

Verdict: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit fits DIY builders who need dedicated motor torque and high drilling speeds for structural building projects.

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit

Best for: Light home decorating and assembly tasks

Power Source
20V MAX Lithium Ion
Voltage
20V MAX
Battery Included
Battery included
Number of Tools
64-piece kit
Included Tools
Drill Driver

View on Amazon: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit Affiliate link

This BLACK+DECKER kit includes a 20V MAX drill driver and 64 accessories for basic home tasks. It uses a 20V MAX Lithium Ion battery that holds its charge for up to 18 months. The set comes in a translucent toolbox with a modular tray for organized storage. It is part of the POWERCONNECT system. This bundle suits you if you need a complete starter set for light decorating and assembling projects around the house.

Pros

  • Includes 64-piece accessory kit for versatile use
  • 20V MAX Lithium Ion battery holds charge for 18 months
  • Translucent toolbox with modular tool tray for organization
  • Compatible with the POWERCONNECT 20V MAX system

Cons

  • Drill driver lacks brushless motor technology found in other models
  • Standard drill driver limits torque for heavy-duty applications
  • No additional batteries included in the kit

Good fit if

  • You need a complete set for light home repairs
  • You want organized storage in a translucent case
  • You are starting with a single 20V MAX tool

Skip if

  • You require high-torque brushless performance
  • You need multiple batteries for extended work
  • You only want the drill without accessories

Verdict: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit is a practical starter bundle for homeowners who need a drill and accessories in one package. It fits you well if you prioritize storage and variety over raw power.

Specifications side by side

Spec BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 64-Piece Drill Kit
Power Source 20V MAX POWERCONNECT cordless 20V MAX Lithium Ion
Voltage 20V MAX 20V MAX
Maximum Torque 2,000 in-lbs. (impact driver) not stated
Chuck Size 1/2 in. drill, 1/4 in. hex impact driver not stated
Motor Type Brushless not stated
Battery Included 2Ah battery, charger Battery included
Number of Tools 2-tool 64-piece kit
Included Tools Drill driver, impact driver not stated
Battery Capacity 2.0 Ah not stated
Dimensions 14.5 × 2.95 × 8.86 inches not stated
Color Black, Orange not stated
Model BLDI782CKD1 BCKSB62C1

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless and the 64-Piece Drill Kit?

The primary difference is the included tools and motor type. The Brushless kit provides a drill driver and an impact driver with a brushless motor. The 64-Piece kit includes only a drill driver. The brushless model offers higher efficiency and torque for demanding tasks, while the 64-piece set focuses on storage and variety for lighter projects.

Does the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless kit include an impact driver?

Yes, it does. This two-tool combo kit includes both a drill driver and an impact driver. The inclusion of an impact driver allows you to drive screws and bolts more efficiently than with a drill alone. This makes the kit suitable for users who need versatility for different types of fastening tasks around the home.

Is the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless motor better than a brushed motor?

A brushless motor generally offers greater efficiency and durability. It eliminates carbon brushes, which reduces friction and extends the life of the tool. This design also allows for more consistent power delivery. For the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless kit, this means better performance for high-torque home repairs and driving tasks compared to standard brushed models.

What voltage do both BLACK+DECKER kits use?

Both kits use a 20V MAX power source. This shared voltage rating means the batteries are compatible across your BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX toolkit. You can swap batteries between the Brushless combo and the 64-Piece drill kit. This flexibility ensures you always have power for your tools without needing multiple different battery systems.

Which kit is better for driving deck screws?

The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit is better for this task. It includes an impact driver that spins at 3,200 RPM and delivers high torque. The brushless motor enhances efficiency, making it easier to drive screws into tough materials like deck boards. The single drill driver in the 64-Piece kit is less specialized for heavy driving duties.

Does the 64-Piece Drill Kit come with a battery?

The product data lists the included tools as a drill driver but does not explicitly state the battery capacity for this specific model in the provided attributes. However, it is part of the 20V MAX system. You should verify if the battery is included in the box description on the retailer page, as the data focuses on the tool count and model number.

What is the chuck size on the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless drill?

The drill driver in the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit features a 1/2-inch chuck. This size allows you to use a wide range of drill bits and driver accessories. It provides a secure grip on larger bits, making it suitable for drilling holes in wood, metal, or masonry during home repair projects.

See also