CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill Driver or CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP 1/2? Which CRAFTSMAN Model to Buy
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
When you compare the craftsman v20 cordless drill driver vs v20 brushless rp 1 2, you are looking at two solid 20V kits. Both include a drill driver and an impact driver with two 2 Ah batteries. The main difference lies in the motor technology. One uses standard brushed motors, while the other features brushless motors for higher efficiency. This affects speed and runtime. You need to decide which performance level fits your daily tasks.
Key differences
| Aspect | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit | CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Motor Type | Brushed | Brushless |
| Drill Speed | Not listed | 2,000 no-load rpm |
| Impact Speed | Not listed | 3,200 no-load rpm |
| Weight | 8.2 pounds | 8 pounds |
| Dimensions | 12.3 x 4.96 x 8.86 inches | 12.9 x 5.75 x 9.8 inches |
Which one should you choose?
Choose CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit if
- You prefer a lighter, more compact tool set for tight spaces.
- You want a proven brushed motor setup that is generally simpler to maintain.
- You need a drill driver with a listed runtime of up to 90 holes per charge.
Choose CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Kit if
- You want higher no-load speeds for drilling and driving faster.
- You need brushless motors for better efficiency and longer runtime.
- You value onboard bit holders for quick access to your bits.
Verdict: The brushed kit offers a slightly lighter and more compact form factor for general use. The brushless kit provides higher speeds and efficiency for more demanding or frequent jobs. Choose based on whether you prioritize raw speed or compact handling.
Brushless Motors and Power Output
Motor Technology
The CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP 1/2 Drill/Driver Kit features brushless motors in both the drill driver and the impact driver. This design typically offers better efficiency and longer tool life. In contrast, the CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill Driver and Impact Driver Kit does not specify brushless motors in its published data. You should consider whether the enhanced durability and efficiency of brushless technology matters for your daily workflow. If you prioritize long-term motor performance, the brushless model provides a clear technological advantage over the standard brushed option.
Drill Speed
Speed is critical for drilling holes quickly. The CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP 1/2 Drill/Driver Kit specifies a maximum no-load speed of 2,000 RPM for its drill driver. The CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill Driver and Impact Driver Kit does not list a specific maximum RPM in its key specifications. While the brushed model claims up to 30% more power, the lack of a stated RPM makes direct speed comparison difficult. If you need to know the exact rotational speed for specific materials, the brushless kit provides that concrete data point, whereas you must infer performance from general power claims for the other model.
Impact Torque
Both kits offer identical maximum torque for their impact drivers. The CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill Driver and Impact Driver Kit lists 1,800 in-lbs of MAX torque for the impact driver. Similarly, the CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP 1/2 Drill/Driver Kit also specifies 1,800 in-lbs of max driving torque. This means both tools can handle similar fastening loads, from deck screws to lag bolts. Since the torque output is exactly the same, neither model holds an advantage in raw fastening power. You can expect comparable performance when driving large fasteners with either kit.
Weight and Portability
Weight affects how comfortable the tools feel during overhead or extended use. The CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP 1/2 Drill/Driver Kit weighs 8 pounds for the entire kit. The CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill Driver and Impact Driver Kit weighs 8.2 pounds. The difference is minimal, at just 0.2 pounds. Both kits include two 2 Ah batteries, a charger, a drill driver, and an impact driver. For most users, this slight weight variation will not impact comfort or performance significantly. You can choose based on other features without worrying about carrying extra weight.
Included Accessories
Convenience matters when starting a project. The CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP 1/2 Drill/Driver Kit explicitly includes onboard bit holders as part of its included accessories. This allows you to keep bits accessible on the tool itself. The CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill Driver and Impact Driver Kit features onboard LEDs on both tools for visibility but does not list onboard bit holders in its specifications. If you frequently change bits and want them stored directly on the tool, the brushless model offers this specific convenience feature that the standard model does not confirm having.
Battery Capacity
Runtime depends on battery capacity. Both kits include two 2 Ah lithium-ion batteries. The CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill Driver and Impact Driver Kit specifies a battery capacity of 2.0 Ah. The CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP 1/2 Drill/Driver Kit also includes two batteries, and while it does not explicitly restate the Ah capacity in the attributes, the title and context imply the same standard 2 Ah cells. Since both kits provide the same number of batteries and the same voltage platform, your runtime expectations will be similar. You get identical power storage in both packages.
Which CRAFTSMAN V20 Kit Suits You
Users wanting faster driving and drilling speed
The brushless model reaches 3,200 no-load rpm in the impact driver and 2,000 rpm in the drill. This allows you to drive 40% faster and drill 34% faster than standard motors. If you prioritize finishing long jobs quickly, these higher speeds and efficient motors deliver the performance you need for demanding tasks.
Users preferring a lighter, more compact kit
This kit weighs 8.2 pounds and measures 12.3 inches in length. The brushless alternative weighs 8 pounds and is 12.9 inches long. While the difference is small, the standard model offers a slightly more compact profile. If you want a traditional tool feel with 300 UWO of power and onboard LEDs, this is a reliable choice.
Users needing onboard bit holders for convenience
The brushless kit includes convenient onboard bit holders for both tools. This feature lets you access bits easily when making changes without searching through a bag. If you value quick bit swaps and organized storage directly on the tool, this design helps you work more efficiently. The standard kit does not list this specific accessory.
The products compared
CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: DIYers needing a complete 2-tool drilling and fastening kit
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 20V
- Included Tools
- Drill/driver, impact driver
- Battery Capacity
- 2 Ah
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver)
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This CRAFTSMAN V20 kit pairs a drill driver with an impact driver. It includes two 2.0 Ah batteries and a charger. The drill delivers up to 300 UWO. The impact driver offers 1,800 in-lbs of torque. You get 90 holes per charge on the drill and 120 fasteners on the impact driver. Both tools feature onboard LEDs. This setup suits users needing a versatile two-tool solution for general home projects.
Pros
- Drill provides up to 300 UWO for increased power
- Impact driver generates 1,800 in-lbs MAX torque
- Includes two 2.0 Ah batteries and a charger
- Drill achieves up to 90 holes per charge
- Impact driver drives up to 120 fasteners per charge
Cons
- Battery capacity is limited to 2.0 Ah
- Kit includes only two tools without additional accessories
- Drill and impact driver use separate 1/2 inch and 1/4 inch chucks
Good fit if
- You need both drilling and fastening capabilities in one kit
- You prefer the convenience of a two-tool bundle
- You require moderate runtime for standard household tasks
Skip if
- You need high-capacity batteries for extended professional use
- You only require a single tool type
- You prefer brushless motor technology for maximum efficiency
Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 2-Tool Cordless Kit fits DIYers who want a complete drilling and fastening solution with included batteries. It is ideal for those who value the combined utility of a drill and impact driver for general home maintenance.
CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: Heavy-duty drilling and high-torque fastening
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 20V
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,800 in.-lbs.
- Chuck Size
- 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in.
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This kit includes a V20 brushless drill driver and a V20 brushless impact driver. It features a 1/2-inch chuck and delivers up to 1,800 in-lbs of torque. The brushless motors offer 2,000 rpm for the drill and 3,200 rpm for the impact driver. It comes with two batteries and a charger. This setup is ideal for users who need high speed and torque for demanding tasks.
Pros
- Brushless motors for increased efficiency and power
- 1,800 in-lbs of max driving torque
- 3,200 no-load rpm on the impact driver
- Two batteries and charger included in the box
Cons
- Heavier at 8 pounds compared to lighter kits
- No smart connectivity or app control features
- Standard plastic construction without metal gear housing
Good fit if
- You need high torque for heavy-duty fastening
- You want brushless motors for longer runtime
- You prefer a 1/2-inch chuck for larger bits
Skip if
- You require a lighter tool for overhead work
- You need smart features like Bluetooth connectivity
- You only need a single drill driver tool
Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP 1/2 Combo delivers serious power with its 1,800 in-lbs torque and brushless motors. It is the right choice for users who prioritize raw performance and speed over lightweight portability.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit | CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | 2 |
| Voltage | 20V | 20V |
| Included Tools | Drill/driver, impact driver | not stated |
| Motor Type | not stated | Brushless |
| Battery Capacity | 2 Ah | not stated |
| Battery Included | 2 batteries and charger included | 2 batteries and charger included |
| Maximum Torque | 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver) | 1,800 in.-lbs. |
| Chuck Size | 1/2 in. (drill); 1/4 in. (impact driver) | 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. |
| Included Accessories | not stated | Onboard bit holders |
| Power Source | Cordless | not stated |
| Dimensions | 12.3 × 4.96 × 8.86 inches | 12.9 × 5.75 × 9.8 inches |
| Weight | 8.2 pounds | 8 pounds |
| Color | Black, Red | Black, Red |
| Model | CMCK201D2 | CMCK2530C2 |
Frequently asked questions
Does the brushless model weigh less than the standard kit?
No, the brushless kit is slightly lighter. The CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP 1/2 weighs 8 pounds. The standard 2-Tool Kit weighs 8.2 pounds. This small difference may matter for overhead work, but both are heavy-duty options. You get the same tool count in both packages.
What is the maximum torque of the brushless drill?
The brushless model delivers 1,800 in-lbs of torque. This high output supports heavy-duty drilling and high-torque fastening tasks. The standard kit does not list a specific torque figure in its published specs. If you need raw power for tough materials, the brushless version offers a clear advantage.
Are the chuck sizes different between the two kits?
No, both kits use a 1/2 inch chuck. This standard size accepts a wide range of drill bits and driver accessories. You do not need to buy new bits when switching between these models. The chuck size remains consistent across both the brushless and standard V20 options.
Which kit is better for general home maintenance?
The standard 2-Tool Kit is ideal for general home maintenance. It provides a complete drilling and fastening solution with included batteries. The brushless kit prioritizes raw performance over lightweight portability. If you do not need maximum speed, the standard model offers sufficient utility for DIYers.
How large are the included batteries?
Both kits include 2.0 Ah batteries. This capacity provides balanced runtime for most household projects. The brushless motor in the other model may improve efficiency, but the battery size is identical. You get the same power source capacity regardless of which motor technology you choose.
What are the physical dimensions of the brushless drill?
The brushless drill measures 12.9 inches in length, 5.75 inches in width, and 9.8 inches in height. The standard kit is slightly smaller at 12.3 inches long. These dimensions affect how the tool fits in tight spaces. The brushless model is marginally larger but not significantly bulkier.
Do both kits include an impact driver?
Yes, both kits include a drill driver and an impact driver. You receive two tools in each package. This combination covers most drilling and fastening needs. You do not need to purchase a separate impact driver if you buy either of these 2-Tool kits.

