CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill Driver vs CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX Cordless Power: Spec Comparison
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
You are comparing the craftsman v20 cordless drill driver vs v20 max cordless power kits. Both belong to the V20 system and share 20V voltage and cordless power sources. The main difference lies in the number of tools included. One kit offers a focused two-tool setup with a drill and impact driver. The other provides a broader four-tool lineup that adds a circular saw. This changes the scope of work each can handle.
Key differences
| Aspect | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit | CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | 4 |
| Included Tools | Drill Driver, Impact Driver | Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw |
| Chuck Size | 1/2 in. (drill); 1/4 in. (impact) | 1/2 in. (drill); 1/4 in. (impact) |
| Maximum Torque | 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver) | 1,460 in-lbs (impact driver) |
| Motor Power | 300 UWO | 280 UWO |
| Weight | 8.2 pounds | 16.9 pounds |
Which one should you choose?
Choose CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit if
- You need high torque for driving large fasteners
- You want a lighter, more portable kit
- You primarily use a drill and impact driver
Choose CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit if
- You need to cut wood with a circular saw
- You want more tools in a single purchase
- You prefer a kit with a higher tool count
Verdict: Choose the two-tool kit if you prioritize impact torque and portability for drilling and fastening tasks. Opt for the four-tool kit if you require the added capability of a circular saw for cutting projects. Your choice depends on whether you need cutting power or just higher torque.
Tool Count and Kit Scope
Number of tools
The CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit includes four distinct tools: a drill driver, an impact driver, and a circular saw. This kit is designed for broader project variety, allowing you to cut and fasten in the same workflow. In contrast, the CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit provides only two tools. It focuses strictly on drilling and driving tasks without cutting capabilities. If you need to cut wood or sheet material, the four-tool option offers immediate utility. For users who only require drilling and fastening, the two-tool kit provides the exact essentials without extra weight or bulk.
Included tools
Product B includes a 20V MAX circular saw with a 6-1/2 inch blade, a drill driver, and an impact driver. The inclusion of the saw adds significant versatility for ripping or cross-cutting 2x material. Product A includes a drill driver and an impact driver but omits the saw entirely. Both kits provide a drill and an impact driver, which are the most common hand tools for general assembly. However, the absence of a cutting tool in Product A means you would need a separate saw for any cutting tasks. Product B covers more ground within the single purchase.
Motor power
Product A’s drill driver delivers up to 300 UWO of power. Product B’s drill driver provides 280 UWO. Both motors are powerful enough for demanding tasks, with Product A holding a slight numerical edge in rated power. The impact driver in Product A offers 1,800 in-lbs of MAX torque, which is higher than Product B’s 1,460 in-lbs. This suggests Product A may handle larger lag bolts with slightly more ease. Product B’s impact driver still reaches 2,800 RPM for fast work. For most home projects, both motor outputs are sufficient, but Product A has the higher torque specification.
Chuck size
Both kits include a 1/2 inch chuck on the drill driver, allowing you to use standard drill bits for wood, metal, or masonry. Both also include a 1/4 inch hex chuck on the impact driver for quick bit changes. There is no difference in the chuck specifications between the two kits. This means you can use the same set of bits and accessories with either drill or impact driver regardless of which kit you choose. The compatibility of standard hardware remains identical across both products, ensuring no limitations in bit selection.
Battery capacity
Product A explicitly lists 2 Ah batteries as included, with two batteries provided in the package. Product B states that a battery and charger are included but does not specify the amp-hour capacity in the provided data. Without the exact Ah rating for Product B, we cannot determine which battery lasts longer per charge. However, Product A guarantees two batteries, which allows for swapping and continuous work. If Product B includes higher capacity batteries, it might offer longer runtime, but the data does not confirm this. Product A provides clear battery quantity details.
Which CRAFTSMAN V20 Kit Fits You
Users needing drilling and fastening only
This two-tool kit focuses on drilling and impact driving. It includes a drill with 300 UWO power and an impact driver delivering 1,800 in-lbs MAX torque. You get two 2Ah batteries and a charger. The compact design weighs 8.2 pounds. It is ideal if you do not need cutting capabilities and want a lighter, more manageable setup for standard fastening tasks.
Buyers wanting a drill, impact, and saw
This four-tool kit adds a circular saw with a 6-1/2 inch blade. The saw runs at 4,200 RPM for cross-cutting or ripping. You also get a drill with 280 UWO and an impact driver with 1,460 in-lbs of torque. The kit includes a battery and charger. It is the better choice if you require cutting power alongside standard drilling and fastening duties.
Shoppers prioritizing maximum impact torque
The impact driver in this kit provides 1,800 in-lbs MAX torque. This exceeds the 1,460 in-lbs found in the four-tool kit. If your work involves driving large lag bolts or heavy-duty fastening, this higher torque output offers more power. The drill also offers up to 300 UWO. This selection is best for users who prioritize raw fastening strength over additional tool variety.
Those needing a pivoting task light
This kit includes a 20V MAX cordless LED pivoting task light with 140 lumens. This specific accessory is not listed in the two-tool kit, which only mentions onboard LEDs. If you frequently work in dim environments or need directed illumination, this dedicated light source provides improved visibility. The pivoting feature allows you to angle the light exactly where you need it.
The products compared
CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: Light home maintenance and deck fastening
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 20V
- Included Tools
- Drill/driver, impact driver
- Battery Capacity
- 2 Ah
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver)
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This CRAFTSMAN V20 kit includes a drill driver and an impact driver, powered by 20V 2Ah batteries. The drill offers 300 UWO for drilling up to 90 holes per charge. The impact driver delivers 1,800 in-lbs of MAX torque to drive 120 fasteners. Both tools feature onboard LEDs for visibility. It is a practical choice for general home maintenance and light assembly tasks where moderate power is sufficient.
Pros
- Impact driver provides 1,800 in-lbs MAX torque for lag bolts
- Drill driver delivers 300 UWO for high visibility drilling
- Includes two 2Ah batteries and a charger for extended runtime
- Onboard LEDs on both tools improve task visibility
Cons
- 2Ah battery capacity is smaller than higher-end MAX kits
- Drill chuck is 1/2 inch, limiting bit compatibility compared to 3/8 inch
- Impact driver uses a 1/4 inch hex chuck, not a keyed chuck
Good fit if
- You need a compact 2-tool set for basic household repairs
- You prefer the balance of a 2Ah battery for lighter loads
- You want LED lights on both tools for dark workspaces
Skip if
- You require heavy-duty continuous drilling in hardwood or masonry
- You need a keyed chuck for maximum bit security
- You already own compatible V20 batteries and need more tools
Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 2-Tool Drill and Impact Kit is a solid entry-level option for homeowners who need reliable torque for deck screws and basic drilling. It fits users who prioritize portability and LED visibility over maximum battery runtime.
CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit
Best for: Users needing a circular saw and high torque
- Number of Tools
- 4
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Battery Included
- Battery and charger included
- Chuck Size
- 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
- Included Accessories
- 6-1/2 in. blade, charger
- Included Tools
- Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit Affiliate link
This CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX kit includes a drill, impact driver, and circular saw. The drill offers 280 UWO power with a 2-speed gearbox. The impact driver delivers 1,460 in-lbs of torque. The circular saw features a 6-1/2 inch blade running at 4,200 RPM. It also includes an LED task light. This set suits users needing versatile cordless power for various tasks.
Pros
- Drill provides 280 UWO of power
- Impact driver delivers 1,460 in-lbs of torque
- Circular saw cuts at 4,200 RPM
- Includes 140-lumen LED task light
Cons
- Heavier at 16.9 pounds
- Larger footprint at 19 inches long
- No app or smart connectivity listed
Good fit if
- You need a circular saw for ripping
- You want high torque for fastening
- You require a versatile 4-tool set
Skip if
- You prefer lightweight single tools
- You need smart app control
- You only require a basic drill
Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX 4-Tool Kit fits users who need a circular saw and high torque for heavy-duty fastening tasks.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit | CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | 4 |
| Voltage | 20V | 20V MAX |
| Included Tools | Drill/driver, impact driver | not stated |
| Battery Capacity | 2 Ah | not stated |
| Battery Included | 2 batteries and charger included | Battery and charger included |
| Maximum Torque | 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver) | not stated |
| Chuck Size | 1/2 in. (drill); 1/4 in. (impact driver) | 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex |
| Included Accessories | not stated | 6-1/2 in. blade, charger |
| Power Source | Cordless | Cordless |
| Dimensions | 12.3 × 4.96 × 8.86 inches | 19 × 9.6 × 11.5 inches |
| Weight | 8.2 pounds | 16.9 pounds |
| Color | Black, Red | not stated |
| Model | CMCK201D2 | CMCK401D2 |
Frequently asked questions
Which kit weighs less for easier portability?
The CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit is lighter at 8.2 pounds. The 4-Tool Combo Kit weighs 16.9 pounds. The two-tool option is easier to carry for light home maintenance. You get better portability if you prioritize moving around a job site without heavy gear.
Does the 4-Tool Kit include a circular saw?
Yes, the CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit includes a circular saw. It also contains a drill driver and an impact driver. This makes it suitable for users needing cutting capabilities alongside fastening tasks. The 2-Tool Kit does not include a saw, focusing only on drilling and impact driving.
What is the chuck size for both kits?
Both kits feature a 1/2 inch chuck size. This standard size accepts a wide range of drill bits and driver accessories. You can use common hardware with either tool. The chuck size ensures compatibility with most standard bits you likely already own for general DIY projects.
Which kit is better for deck fastening?
The CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit is ideal for deck fastening. It provides reliable torque for deck screws and basic drilling. Its lighter weight and focused tool set make it efficient for this specific task. You get the necessary power without the extra bulk of a circular saw.
How many batteries come with the 2-Tool Kit?
The CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit includes two 2.0 Ah batteries. This capacity supports portability and basic runtime needs. You have a spare battery ready to swap when one drains. This setup fits users who prioritize quick tool changes over extended heavy-duty runtime.
Which kit offers more tool variety?
The CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit offers more variety. It includes four distinct tools: a drill driver, impact driver, and circular saw. This allows you to cut and fasten in a single kit. The 2-Tool Kit limits you to drilling and impact driving only.
What is the model number for the 4-Tool Kit?
The model number for the CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX 4-Tool Combo Kit is CMCK401D2. You can use this number to identify the specific product online or in stores. It distinguishes this four-tool set from the two-tool variant. Checking the model number ensures you get the correct kit with the circular saw.

