CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill Driver vs CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Cordless Drill: Spec Comparison
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
You are comparing the craftsman v20 cordless drill driver vs v20 rp cordless drill. Both kits include a drill driver and an impact driver with two batteries and a charger. They share the same 20V voltage platform. The main difference lies in the motor technology. One uses standard brushed motors for high torque output. The other features brushless motors for extended runtime and efficiency. This distinction affects performance and battery life for your projects.
Key differences
| Aspect | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit | CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Motor Type | Brushed | Brushless |
| Drill Driver Torque | 300 UWO | 350 UWO |
| Impact Driver Torque | 1,800 in-lbs MAX | 1,500 in-lbs |
| Chuck Type | 1/2 in. (standard) | 1/2-in. ratcheting |
| Drill Speeds | Not listed | 2-Speed (0-600/0-1,900 RPM) |
Which one should you choose?
Choose CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit if
- You need maximum impact driver torque for lag bolts
- You prefer a lighter overall kit weight
- You want a simpler brushed motor design
Choose CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit if
- You prioritize longer runtime per charge
- You need improved bit retention in the chuck
- You require variable speed control for precision
Verdict: The first kit offers higher raw torque for tough fastening jobs. The second kit provides better efficiency and chuck security for general use. Choose based on whether you prioritize peak power or runtime and control.
CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill Driver vs RP Kit
Motor Technology
The CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Cordless Drill features brushless motors, while the standard V20 Drill Driver Kit uses traditional brushed motors. Brushless technology is generally more efficient, reducing energy waste during operation. According to the specifications, this design provides up to 25% more runtime for the drill driver and up to 30% more runtime for the impact driver in the RP kit. This efficiency gain allows you to work longer between charges without sacrificing performance, making the RP model a stronger choice for extended jobs where battery conservation matters.
Impact Driver Torque
When it comes to raw twisting power in the impact driver, the standard V20 Drill Driver Kit holds a slight advantage. Its impact driver delivers up to 1,800 in-lbs of MAX torque. In comparison, the RP Cordless Drill’s impact driver provides 1,500 in-lbs of torque. This difference of 300 in-lbs may matter when driving large lag bolts or dense materials. If your primary focus is maximum fastening force rather than runtime efficiency, the standard kit offers higher peak torque output for heavy-duty fastening applications.
Drill Power Output
The RP Cordless Drill offers higher power output for drilling tasks. Its drill driver produces 350 unit watts out (UWO), whereas the standard V20 Drill Driver Kit provides up to 300 UWO. This additional power can help you drill through tougher materials more easily and maintain speed under load. The RP model’s higher UWO rating suggests it is better suited for heavy-duty jobsite applications where sustained drilling power is required. This makes the RP kit more capable for demanding construction tasks.
Chuck Mechanism
The RP Cordless Drill includes a 1/2-inch ratcheting chuck, which is not specified for the standard V20 Drill Driver Kit. A ratcheting chuck grips the bit from three sides, providing improved bit retention and reducing the chance of bits slipping or falling out during use. The standard kit lists a 1/2-inch chuck but does not mention this specific retention feature. For users who frequently change bits or work in awkward positions, the enhanced retention of the RP model offers a practical advantage in safety and efficiency.
Speed Settings
The RP Cordless Drill features a 2-speed gearbox with speeds of 0-600 RPM and 0-1,900 RPM. The standard V20 Drill Driver Kit specifications do not explicitly list its speed settings, though it mentions high visibility LEDs and general power metrics. The RP model’s defined two-speed range allows you to switch between low speed for high torque driving and high speed for fast drilling. This explicit control can improve precision and efficiency depending on the task at hand, giving the RP kit a functional edge in versatility.
Which Craftsman V20 Kit Fits Your Needs
Heavy duty job site users needing max torque
The standard V20 Drill Driver Kit delivers 1,800 in-lbs of maximum torque with its impact driver. This higher torque rating allows you to drive larger lag bolts and handle demanding fastening applications more effectively than the RP model. If peak power output is your primary concern, this specification gives you a clear advantage for tough structural work.
Users prioritizing runtime and efficiency over raw power
The RP Cordless Drill features brushless motors, which provide up to 25% more runtime for the drill driver and up to 30% more for the impact driver compared to brushed alternatives. This efficiency means you spend less time swapping batteries. If extended operation time and energy conservation are critical for your workflow, the brushless technology offers a distinct practical benefit.
Those needing precise bit retention and variable speeds
The RP model includes a 1/2-inch ratcheting chuck for improved bit retention, reducing slippage during use. It also offers a two-speed gearbox with speeds up to 1,900 RPM. While the standard kit focuses on raw torque, the RP kit provides better control and precision through its enhanced chuck design and variable speed options, making it suitable for detailed tasks.
The products compared
CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: Homeowners needing drill and impact driver
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 20V
- Included Tools
- Drill/driver, impact driver
- Battery Capacity
- 2 Ah
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver)
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This CRAFTSMAN V20 kit includes a drill driver and an impact driver. The drill offers 300 UWO and 90 holes per charge. The impact driver provides 1,800 in-lbs of torque. It comes with two 2Ah batteries and a charger. The set weighs 8.2 pounds. It suits users who need versatile fastening and drilling capabilities for various projects.
Pros
- Drill motor delivers up to 300 UWO
- Impact driver generates 1,800 in-lbs MAX torque
- Drill bores up to 90 holes per charge
- Impact driver drives up to 120 fasteners per charge
- Includes two 2Ah batteries and a charger
Cons
- 2Ah battery capacity offers shorter runtime than higher-capacity options
- Drill chuck size is 1/2 inch, limiting bit compatibility
- Heavier build at 8.2 pounds compared to lighter single tools
Good fit if
- You need both drilling and impact driving in one kit
- You require high torque for lag bolts and deck screws
- You want a compact 2-tool system for general repairs
Skip if
- You need extended runtime for all-day professional work
- You prefer a lighter tool for overhead use
- You require a larger 1/2 inch chuck for the impact driver
Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 2-Tool Drill Combo provides strong torque and solid runtime for DIYers. It fits homeowners who need reliable performance for deck building and general fastening tasks.
CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit
Best for: heavy-duty jobsite applications
- Voltage
- V20
- Included Tools
- Drill and Impact Driver
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Battery Included
- 2 Batteries and Charger Included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,500 in-lbs.
- Chuck Size
- 1/2-in.
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link
This CRAFTSMAN V20 RP kit includes a brushless drill driver and impact driver. The drill delivers 350 unit watts out with a 1/2-inch ratcheting chuck. The impact driver provides 1,500 in-lbs of torque and 2,800 RPM. It comes with two 2Ah batteries and a charger. The brushless motors offer extended runtime. This set suits users needing heavy-duty performance and bit retention.
Pros
- Brushless motors for up to 25% more drill runtime
- 1,500 in-lbs of maximum torque on the impact driver
- 1/2-inch ratcheting chuck for improved bit retention
- Includes two batteries and a charger
Cons
- Heavier at 8.27 pounds compared to standard drills
- Only includes two 2Ah batteries
- 2-speed gearbox may limit fine control for some tasks
Good fit if
- You need high torque for heavy-duty jobsites
- You want brushless motor efficiency
- You require a ratcheting chuck for secure bit holding
Skip if
- You prefer lighter tools under 5 pounds
- You need more than two batteries included
- You require a 3-speed gearbox for precision work
Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless Drill and Impact is a robust choice for users prioritizing torque and runtime. It fits those who need reliable performance for demanding tasks on the jobsite.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit | CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | not stated |
| Voltage | 20V | V20 |
| Included Tools | Drill/driver, impact driver | Drill and Impact Driver |
| Motor Type | not stated | Brushless |
| Battery Capacity | 2 Ah | not stated |
| Battery Included | 2 batteries and charger included | 2 Batteries and Charger Included |
| Maximum Torque | 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver) | 1,500 in-lbs. |
| Chuck Size | 1/2 in. (drill); 1/4 in. (impact driver) | 1/2-in. |
| Power Source | Cordless | Cordless |
| Dimensions | 12.3 × 4.96 × 8.86 inches | 12.9 × 5.75 × 9.8 inches |
| Weight | 8.2 pounds | 8.18 pounds |
| Color | Black, Red | Black/Red |
| Model | CMCK201D2 | CMCK211C2 |
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between the V20 drill driver and the RP model?
The primary distinction is the motor type. The standard V20 Drill Driver Kit uses brushed motors, while the RP model features brushless motors. Brushless technology offers greater efficiency and reduced energy waste. Both kits operate on the same 20V platform and include a drill driver and impact driver.
Does the V20 RP kit include a battery?
Yes, the CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit includes both a battery and a charger. The standard V20 Drill Driver Kit also provides a 2.0 Ah battery. Both kits are cordless and ready for immediate use upon unboxing.
Which Craftsman V20 kit is heavier?
The V20 RP model is slightly heavier. It weighs 8.27 pounds, compared to the standard V20 Drill Driver Kit, which weighs 8.2 pounds. The difference is minimal, but the RP kit has slightly larger dimensions in width and height.
What chuck size do these drills have?
The standard V20 Drill Driver Kit features a 1/2 inch chuck size. The specifications for the V20 RP model do not explicitly list the chuck size in the provided data. You should verify the chuck size for the RP model in its full manual.
Can I use V20 batteries in both tools?
Yes, both kits are part of the CRAFTSMAN V20 platform. This means the batteries are interchangeable between the standard drill driver and the RP brushless model. You can share power sources across other tools in the V20 lineup.
What is included in the V20 RP kit?
The V20 RP Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit includes a drill driver, an impact driver, a battery, and a charger. The model number is CMCK211C2. It is designed for heavy-duty jobsite applications with robust performance.
Which kit is better for general home use?
The standard V20 Drill Driver Kit is best for homeowners needing a drill and impact driver. It provides strong torque and solid runtime for DIYers. It fits general fastening tasks and deck building. The V20 RP model is more suited for demanding jobsite work.
What are the dimensions of the V20 RP kit?
The CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Brushless 2-Tool Combo Kit measures 12.9 inches in length, 5.75 inches in width, and 9.8 inches in height. These dimensions make it slightly larger than the standard V20 kit, which measures 12.3 inches long and 8.86 inches high.

