CRAFTSMAN or BLACK+DECKER? Power Tool Combo Kits Compared in 2026
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
This CRAFTSMAN vs black decker power tool combo kit comparison helps you choose based on specifications. Both brands offer 20V cordless systems with two batteries included for extended runtime. The main difference lies in the tool configuration. The CRAFTSMAN kit focuses on heavy-duty fastening with a drill and impact driver. The BLACK+DECKER kit pairs a drill with a cordless stick vacuum for cleanup. You need to decide which workflow fits your projects better.
Key differences
| Aspect | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit | BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill & Stick Vac Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | 2 |
| Included Tools | Drill driver, impact driver | Drill driver, cordless stick vacuum |
| Maximum Torque | 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver) | not listed |
| Chuck Size | 1/2 in. (drill); 1/4 in. (impact driver) | not listed |
| Battery Capacity | 2 Ah | not listed |
| Voltage | 20V | 20V MAX |
Which one should you choose?
Choose CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit if
- You need an impact driver for driving screws and lag bolts.
- You want higher torque specifications for fastening applications.
- You prefer a kit with a 1/2-inch drill chuck for larger bits.
Choose BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill & Stick Vac Kit if
- You want a vacuum included for cleaning up dust and debris.
- You prefer the BLACK+DECKER brand ecosystem.
- You need a drill with an 11-position clutch for precise control.
Verdict: Choose the CRAFTSMAN kit if you prioritize drilling and fastening power with an impact driver. Select the BLACK+DECKER kit if you want a drill paired with a vacuum for immediate cleanup. Both kits provide 20V power and two batteries for cordless convenience.
CRAFTSMAN or BLACK+DECKER Tool Kits
Included Tools
The CRAFTSMAN kit provides a drill driver and an impact driver, creating a focused setup for driving fasteners. The BLACK+DECKER kit pairs a drill driver with a cordless stick vacuum. This vacuum adds a cleaning tool that the CRAFTSMAN set lacks. If you need to clear debris while working, the BLACK+DECKER configuration offers immediate utility. The CRAFTSMAN option is better if you prioritize power tools over cleaning equipment. Each kit includes two batteries, so runtime potential is similar. Your choice depends on whether you value an impact driver or a vacuum more in your workflow.
Chuck Size
Chuck size determines the bit capacity you can use. The CRAFTSMAN drill driver features a 1/2 inch chuck, which accepts larger drill bits and standard hex shank bits. The BLACK+DECKER drill driver lists a chuck size that is not specified in the provided data. Typically, entry-level drills may use smaller chucks, but without explicit data, we cannot confirm the exact size. A 1/2 inch chuck offers more versatility for larger masonry or wood bits. This makes the CRAFTSMAN drill driver potentially more capable for diverse tasks. You should verify the BLACK+DECKER chuck size if bit compatibility is critical for your projects.
Torque and Power
Torque ratings indicate how much rotational force a tool can apply. The CRAFTSMAN impact driver delivers up to 1,800 in-lbs of MAX torque. This high torque allows it to drive long lag bolts and deck screws with ease. The drill driver also provides up to 300 UWO. The BLACK+DECKER drill driver features an 11-position clutch for controlled driving, but specific torque numbers are not listed in the data. The CRAFTSMAN impact driver clearly offers superior power for heavy fastening tasks. If you frequently install decking or furniture with large screws, the CRAFTSMAN kit provides the necessary strength.
Battery Capacity
Both kits include two batteries with a capacity of 2 Ah. This capacity is standard for entry-level cordless tools. The CRAFTSMAN kit specifies 2 Ah lithium-ion batteries. The BLACK+DECKER kit also includes two batteries, though the exact amp-hour rating is not explicitly stated in the key specs, the features mention the battery system. Assuming similar capacity, both kits offer comparable runtime. The CRAFTSMAN drill claims up to 90 holes per charge. The BLACK+DECKER vacuum also runs on the same 20V system. You get extended runtime from both kits due to the two batteries, allowing you to swap them out without waiting for a charge.
LED Lights
LED work lights help you see in dark spaces. The CRAFTSMAN kit includes bright onboard LEDs on both the drill driver and the impact driver. This dual lighting ensures you can see your work surface regardless of which tool you are holding. The BLACK+DECKER drill driver also features an LED work light. However, the included cordless stick vacuum does not have a specified LED work light in the data. The CRAFTSMAN kit provides consistent illumination across all its power tools. This is a practical advantage when working in corners or under cabinets where visibility is often limited.
Weight and Portability
Weight affects how comfortable a kit is to carry and use overhead. The CRAFTSMAN kit weighs 8.2 pounds. The dimensions are 12.3 inches in length, 8.86 inches in height, and 4.96 inches in width. The BLACK+DECKER kit weight is not listed in the provided data. However, the inclusion of a stick vacuum typically adds significant weight compared to a simple impact driver. The CRAFTSMAN kit is likely lighter and more compact due to the absence of the vacuum. If you need to move frequently between job sites, the lighter CRAFTSMAN setup may be easier to transport.
Choose the Right Kit for Your Needs
Users needing high torque for lag bolts
The CRAFTSMAN impact driver delivers 1,800 in-lbs MAX torque. This specification allows you to drive lag bolts and deck screws with ease. The 20V system supports up to 120 fasteners per charge. You get two 2Ah batteries for extended runtime. The 1/2-inch chuck on the drill handles larger bits. This kit is built for serious fastening tasks.
DIYers wanting a drill and vacuum combo
The BLACK+DECKER kit includes a cordless stick vacuum alongside the drill driver. This 20V MAX system features two batteries to double your runtime for larger projects. The drill driver has an 11-position clutch for precision. The vacuum offers a 3X cleaning system with multi-surface pickup. You get a complete setup for drilling and immediate cleanup.
Professionals focused on speed and productivity
This CRAFTSMAN kit maximizes productivity with two distinct tools. The impact driver drives up to 120 fasteners per charge. The drill provides up to 90 holes per charge. Both tools feature bright onboard LEDs for high visibility. The 20V platform offers up to 30% more power. You benefit from reduced downtime with two included 2Ah batteries and a charger.
The products compared
CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: Drilling and fastening with two tools
- Number of Tools
- 2
- Voltage
- 20V
- Included Tools
- Drill/driver, impact driver
- Battery Capacity
- 2 Ah
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver)
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This CRAFTSMAN V20 kit includes a drill driver and an impact driver, powered by 20V lithium-ion batteries. It features a 1/2 inch chuck on the drill and delivers up to 1,800 in-lbs of torque on the impact driver. You get two 2 Ah batteries and a charger included. The tools offer high visibility with onboard LEDs. This setup is designed for users needing reliable power for drilling and fastening tasks.
Pros
- Up to 300 UWO power in the drill driver
- 1,800 in-lbs MAX torque on the impact driver
- Two 2 Ah batteries and charger included
- Onboard LEDs on both tools for visibility
Cons
- Only includes two tools in the kit
- Battery capacity is limited to 2.0 Ah
- No variable speed trigger details provided
Good fit if
- You need a drill and an impact driver
- You prefer 20V cordless power systems
- You want included batteries and a charger
Skip if
- You require more than two tools
- You need higher than 2.0 Ah battery capacity
- You prefer a different voltage system
Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 2-Tool Combo provides solid torque and runtime for general tasks. It fits users who need a drill and impact driver with included batteries.
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill & Stick Vac Kit
Best for: Basic drilling and immediate dust cleanup
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Included Tools
- Drill/driver, cordless stick vacuum
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries included
View on Amazon: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill & Stick Vac Kit Affiliate link
This BLACK+DECKER kit pairs a 20V MAX drill driver with a cordless stick vacuum. It includes two 2Ah batteries to extend runtime for larger tasks. The drill features an 11-position clutch and LED light. The vacuum offers a 3X cleaning system with anti-tangle brush. This combination suits users who need basic drilling and immediate debris cleanup.
Pros
- Includes two 2Ah batteries for extended runtime
- Drill driver has 11-position clutch for torque control
- Stick vacuum features anti-tangle brush bar
- LED work light illuminates the drill surface
Cons
- Only includes a drill driver, lacking an impact driver
- Vacuum performance data compares only to older BLACK+DECKER models
- No brushless motor specified for the drill
Good fit if
- You need a drill for basic home repairs
- You want a vacuum to clean up dust immediately
- You prefer a single battery platform for multiple tools
Skip if
- You require high-torque impact driving for tough materials
- You need a brushless motor for longer tool life
- You want a complete 4-tool kit with an impact driver
Verdict: BLACK+DECKER 20V Drill and Stick Vacuum Kit is ideal for homeowners who want to drill holes and vacuum the resulting dust in one workflow. It is less suitable for users needing heavy-duty impact driving capabilities.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit | BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill & Stick Vac Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | not stated |
| Voltage | 20V | 20V MAX |
| Included Tools | Drill/driver, impact driver | Drill/driver, cordless stick vacuum |
| Battery Capacity | 2 Ah | not stated |
| Battery Included | 2 batteries and charger included | 2 batteries included |
| Maximum Torque | 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver) | not stated |
| Chuck Size | 1/2 in. (drill); 1/4 in. (impact driver) | not stated |
| Power Source | Cordless | Cordless |
| Dimensions | 12.3 × 4.96 × 8.86 inches | not stated |
| Weight | 8.2 pounds | not stated |
| Color | Black, Red | Blue |
| Model | CMCK201D2 | ae5cf3de-fb1b-46a6-afd9-d5b14b265ea6 |
Frequently asked questions
Which kit is better for driving screws into hardwood?
The CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit is the stronger choice. It includes a dedicated impact driver that delivers high torque for tough fastening tasks. The BLACK+DECKER option only features a standard drill driver, which may struggle with dense wood or large screws.
Does the BLACK+DECKER kit include a battery charger?
The product data does not explicitly list a charger in the included items. It specifies a Drill Driver and a Stick Vac. You should check the box contents or manufacturer listing to confirm if a charger is included with the batteries.
What is the difference in chuck size between these kits?
The CRAFTSMAN kit features a 1/2 inch chuck on its drill driver. This larger size accommodates bigger drill bits and provides a secure grip. The BLACK+DECKER kit specifications do not list a chuck size, so you cannot confirm if it matches this standard.
Is the CRAFTSMAN kit heavy to carry around?
The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit weighs 8.2 pounds. This includes the two tools and batteries. The BLACK+DECKER kit weight is not listed in the provided data. You will need to compare this weight against your portability needs for the job site.
Can I use the CRAFTSMAN batteries with other tools?
The CRAFTSMAN kit uses a 20V system with 2.0 Ah batteries. This voltage is part of a broader ecosystem. You can likely use these batteries with other CRAFTSMAN V20 tools. The BLACK+DECKER kit also uses a 20V system for compatibility within its brand.
Which kit is better for keeping the workspace clean?
The BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Drill & Stick Vac Kit is designed for this. It pairs a drill with a stick vacuum to capture dust immediately. The CRAFTSMAN kit focuses on drilling and impact driving without any integrated dust collection or cleaning tools.
How many tools come in the CRAFTSMAN kit?
The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit is a 2-Tool Combo. It includes a Drill Driver and an Impact Driver. This setup allows you to switch between drilling holes and driving fasteners efficiently. The BLACK+DECKER kit includes a Drill Driver and a Stick Vac.

