Greenworks vs CRAFTSMAN Drill Drivers: Which Brand Fits You?
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
Choosing between greenworks vs CRAFTSMAN drill driver options depends on your voltage preference and kit contents. Both tools offer 1/2-inch chucks and brushless motors for efficient performance. The Greenworks model uses a 24V system with a higher torque rating, while the CRAFTSMAN variant operates on a 20V MAX platform. You also get different battery counts and included accessories with each purchase. These specs define which tool fits your workspace needs.
Key differences
| Aspect | Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver | CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Voltage | 24V | 20V MAX |
| Maximum Torque | 530 in-lbs | not listed |
| Motor Type | Brushless | Brushless |
| Chuck Size | 1/2 in. | 1/2 in. |
| Battery Included | not listed | 2 batteries (2 Ah) |
| Tool Weight | 2.43 pounds | 2.66 pounds |
Which one should you choose?
Choose Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver if
- You need higher torque for demanding drilling tasks.
- You prefer a lighter tool for overhead work.
- You want a brushless motor for extended runtime.
Choose CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit if
- You require two batteries included in the kit.
- You need a hammer drill function for masonry.
- You want VERSATRACK compatibility for organization.
Verdict: The Greenworks drill driver suits users who prioritize torque and a lighter weight. The CRAFTSMAN hammer drill is better for those needing a second battery and masonry capabilities. Select based on your specific voltage and accessory requirements.
Greenworks vs CRAFTSMAN Drill Comparison
Voltage and power
The Greenworks 24V Brushless model operates on a 24V lithium-ion system, which the brand states provides 20% more power than its 20V products. It delivers a maximum torque of 530 in-lbs. The CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX Hammer Drill runs on a 20V system. While the CRAFTSMAN datasheet does not list a specific torque figure, it claims up to 20% more power for drilling up to 80 holes per charge. The Greenworks tool offers a higher voltage rating and a quantified torque spec, giving you a clear advantage in raw power metrics.
Chuck and motor type
Both tools feature a 1/2-inch chuck size and brushless motors, ensuring compatibility with standard bits and extended motor life. The Greenworks unit uses a keyless ratcheting metal chuck for fast bit changes. The CRAFTSMAN model also uses a 1/2-inch chuck but is identified as a hammer drill, a capability not explicitly listed for the Greenworks drill/driver in its provided specs. If you need to drill into masonry, the CRAFTSMAN hammer function is a distinct benefit. Otherwise, the chuck and motor types are effectively tied.
Included tools and batteries
The CRAFTSMAN kit is more comprehensive out of the box. It includes two 2.0 Ah batteries, a charger, and a double-ended bit. The Greenworks listing describes a 1-tool kit with a 2.0 Ah battery, but the data does not explicitly confirm the inclusion of a charger or extra bits in this specific variation. For users who need immediate readiness without purchasing additional accessories, the CRAFTSMAN package provides more value by including two batteries and charging hardware.
Weight and portability
Portability matters for overhead or tight-space work. The Greenworks drill driver weighs 2.43 pounds. The CRAFTSMAN hammer drill weighs 2.66 pounds for the tool only. This makes the Greenworks option slightly lighter by 0.23 pounds. Both tools are designed to be lightweight to minimize arm fatigue. The difference is minimal, but the Greenworks tool holds a slight edge in pure weight reduction if you prioritize the lightest possible handheld option.
Speed and control
Both tools offer 2-speed transmissions for versatility. The Greenworks model provides a 21+1 position clutch for precision torque control and a variable speed trigger with speeds up to 2,000 RPM. The CRAFTSMAN model lists a variable speed trigger and speeds up to 1,700 RPM, but its clutch settings are not detailed in the provided data. The Greenworks tool offers more granular control with its 22 clutch positions, making it better for delicate fastening tasks.
Which drill driver fits your needs?
Users needing high torque for tough jobs
The Greenworks model delivers 530 in-lbs of torque. This higher output helps with demanding materials. Its brushless motor offers extended runtime and power. You get precise control with a 21+1 position clutch. The compact 2.43-pound design reduces fatigue during extended use.
Those who want hammer drill functionality
The CRAFTSMAN kit includes a hammer drill feature. This adds versatility for masonry or concrete work. You receive two 2 Ah batteries and a charger in the box. The 20V MAX system provides reliable power for general household tasks and projects.
Buyers seeking included batteries and charger
This CRAFTSMAN option comes with two batteries and a charger. You do not need to purchase power sources separately. The kit also includes a double-ended bit. This complete package is ready for immediate use without additional accessory purchases.
The products compared
Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver
Best for: Compact precision drilling and driving
- Power Source
- 24V Cordless
- Voltage
- 24V
- Maximum Torque
- 530 in-lbs
- Chuck Size
- 1/2 in.
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Number of Tools
- 1-tool
View on Amazon: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver Affiliate link
This Greenworks 24V drill driver features a brushless motor and a 1/2-inch keyless ratcheting metal chuck. It delivers 530 in-lbs of torque with a 2-speed gearbox and 21+1 clutch settings. The compact 2.43-pound design fits tight spaces, and the built-in LED light illuminates your work area. You get fade-free power from the lithium-ion battery, making it suitable for general drilling and driving tasks.
Pros
- Brushless motor for extended runtime and quiet operation
- 530 in-lbs of maximum torque
- 1/2-inch keyless ratcheting metal chuck
- Compact 2.43-pound weight for tight spaces
- 2-speed gearbox with 21+1 clutch positions
Cons
- Lower torque output compared to 20V MAX hammer drills
- Single-tool kit does not include a second battery
- Limited to 24V system compatibility
Good fit if
- You need a compact tool for tight spaces
- You prefer brushless motor efficiency
- You require a metal chuck for durability
Skip if
- You need hammer drilling capability
- You want a kit with two batteries included
- You require high-torque impact driving
Verdict: Greenworks 24V 530 in-lb Brushless Drill offers reliable torque and a durable metal chuck for precision work. It fits users who prioritize compact size and brushless efficiency over raw power or hammer functions.
CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit
Best for: Lightweight drilling and driving tasks
- Power Source
- 20V MAX cordless
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Chuck Size
- 1/2 in.
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries (2 Ah), charger
- Speed Settings
- 2-speed
- Tool Weight
- 2.66 lbs (tool only)
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit Affiliate link
This CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX hammer drill offers 2-speed transmission and 1,700 RPM for varied tasks. It includes two 2.0 Ah batteries and a charger. The tool weighs 2.66 lbs, reducing arm fatigue. A bright LED improves visibility. It fits users needing a lightweight, cordless solution for drilling and driving.
Pros
- Two-speed transmission with 1,700 RPM
- Lightweight 2.66 lbs tool-only design
- Includes two 2.0 Ah batteries and charger
- Bright onboard LED for visibility
Cons
- Lower battery capacity than 4.0 Ah competitors
- No brushless motor specified in data
- Hammer drill function may limit precision
Good fit if
- You need a lightweight tool for overhead work
- You want included batteries and charger
- You require a 1/2 inch chuck size
Skip if
- You need high-capacity batteries for long runtime
- You prefer brushless motor efficiency
- You require a drill driver without hammer function
Verdict: CRAFTSMAN 20V Hammer Drill suits users prioritizing lightweight handling and included batteries over extended runtime. It is ideal for occasional drilling and driving tasks where portability matters.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver | CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Cordless Hammer Drill Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Power Source | 24V Cordless | 20V MAX cordless |
| Voltage | 24V | 20V MAX |
| Maximum Torque | 530 in-lbs | not stated |
| Chuck Size | 1/2 in. | 1/2 in. |
| Motor Type | Brushless | not stated |
| Battery Included | not stated | 2 batteries (2 Ah), charger |
| Number of Tools | 1-tool | not stated |
| Included Tools | Drill/Driver | not stated |
| Speed Settings | 2-speed, 21+1 clutch | 2-speed |
| Tool Weight | 2.43 pounds | 2.66 lbs (tool only) |
| Battery Capacity | 2.0 Ah | 2.0 Ah |
| Dimensions | 9.38 × 4.69 × 10.2 inches | 8.43 × 5.08 × 8.5 inches |
| Weight | 2.43 pounds | 5.42 pounds |
| Size | 530 in-lbs Drill Driver | not stated |
| Color | Green | Black, Red |
| Model | DDB5300K | CMCD712D2 |
Frequently asked questions
Does the Greenworks drill driver have a hammer function?
No, the Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill Driver does not include a hammer mode. It is designed for precision drilling and driving tasks. The tool focuses on compact size and brushless efficiency rather than masonry capabilities. You should choose this model if you prioritize accurate hole placement over impact drilling.
Is the CRAFTSMAN drill driver heavy to hold?
The CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX Hammer Drill weighs 5.42 pounds. This is heavier than the Greenworks alternative, which weighs 2.43 pounds. The extra weight may affect comfort during extended overhead use. However, it suits users who prefer a substantial feel for lightweight drilling and driving tasks.
Which drill has the higher torque output?
The Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill Driver delivers 530 in-lbs of torque. The CRAFTSMAN model does not list a specific torque rating in its specifications. The Greenworks unit offers higher torque for tougher materials. You will get more rotational force with the Greenworks option for demanding applications.
What is included in the CRAFTSMAN kit?
The CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX Hammer Drill Kit includes the drill driver, a work light, and batteries. It operates on a 20V system with a 2.0 Ah battery capacity. The kit is designed for occasional tasks where portability matters. You get the essential tools needed for basic drilling and driving.
Does the Greenworks drill come with a battery?
Yes, the Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill Driver kit includes a 2.0 Ah battery. It also comes with a work light for better visibility. The brushless motor helps extend runtime and efficiency. You receive a complete cordless setup ready for compact precision work right out of the box.
Can I use both drills for masonry work?
Only the CRAFTSMAN model supports masonry work. It is labeled as a Hammer Drill, which provides the necessary impact for concrete or brick. The Greenworks drill is a standard Drill Driver without hammer functionality. You must choose the CRAFTSMAN option if you need to drill into hard masonry surfaces.

