As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

Greenworks vs PORTER-CABLE: Drill Drivers Compared by Specs

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

This greenworks vs PORTER-CABLE drill driver comparison focuses on raw specifications rather than marketing claims. Both tools feature a 1/2-inch chuck and brushless or high-performance motors for cordless operation. The main difference lies in their power systems and what is included in the box. Greenworks offers a complete kit with a battery and charger, while the PORTER-CABLE is a bare tool. You need to decide if you want an immediate solution or a component for an existing system.

Key differences

AspectGreenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill DriverPorter-Cable 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Drill Driver
Voltage24V20V MAX
Motor TypeBrushlessHigh performance motor
Battery IncludedYes, 4.0Ah USB-C batteryNo, bare tool
Maximum Torque800 in-lbsNot listed
Tool Weight2.81 lbs3.5 lbs
Speed Settings2-speed, 21-position clutch2-speed (0-350/0-1500 RPMs)

Which one should you choose?

Choose Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver if

  • You want a ready-to-use kit with a battery and charger included
  • You prefer a lighter tool that weighs 2.81 lbs
  • You need a higher maximum torque rating of 800 in-lbs

Choose Porter-Cable 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Drill Driver if

  • You already own PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX batteries and chargers
  • You are buying a bare tool to add to an existing collection
  • You want a 2-speed gearbox with specified RPM ranges of 0-350 and 0-1500

Verdict: The Greenworks model is the better choice if you need a complete, lightweight solution with high torque and a unique USB-C battery. The PORTER-CABLE option suits users who already have a compatible 20V MAX ecosystem and only need the drill driver itself.

Greenworks vs PORTER-CABLE Spec Comparison

Voltage and Power

Edge: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

The Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill Driver operates on a 24V lithium-ion system, while the PORTER-CABLE PCC601LB uses a 20V MAX platform. Greenworks claims its 24V motor delivers 2x more torque and 35% longer runtime compared to 20V competitors. It features a brushless motor designed for cooler operation and extended tool life. The PORTER-CABLE lists a high-performance motor with 283 Units Watts Out. Greenworks provides a higher nominal voltage, which typically supports greater torque output, aligning with its 800 in-lbs maximum torque specification. PORTER-CABLE relies on wattage metrics rather than torque figures in the provided data. Higher voltage often translates to better performance under load for heavy-duty tasks.

Maximum Torque

Edge: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

Torque determines how much twisting force the drill can apply. The Greenworks drill driver offers a maximum torque of 800 in-lbs. This high figure supports driving large screws and drilling through dense materials. The PORTER-CABLE PCC601LB does not list a maximum torque value in its specifications. Without this data point, it is difficult to quantify its raw power output relative to the Greenworks model. The Greenworks 800 in-lbs rating suggests a significant advantage for demanding applications. Users requiring high torque for construction or automotive work may find the Greenworks specification more reassuring. The PORTER-CABLE is described as having a high-performance motor, but the lack of torque specs leaves its power capabilities ambiguous.

Motor Type

Edge: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

Motor technology impacts efficiency and durability. The Greenworks tool features a brushless motor. Brushless motors generally offer longer runtime, increased power, and reduced maintenance because they lack carbon brushes that wear out over time. The PORTER-CABLE PCC601LB is described as having a high-performance motor, but the data does not explicitly state whether it is brushed or brushless. This ambiguity makes a direct comparison of motor technology difficult. If the PORTER-CABLE uses a brushed motor, the Greenworks brushless design would provide superior longevity and efficiency. The Greenworks specification clearly highlights its brushless advantage for long-term tool life.

Included Battery and Charger

Edge: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

What comes in the box varies significantly. The Greenworks kit includes a 4.0Ah USB-C battery and a 65W charger. This battery also functions as a 24,000mAh power bank with USB-C output. The PORTER-CABLE PCC601LB is sold as a bare tool. The data explicitly states that the battery and charger are sold separately. For immediate use, the Greenworks package is ready out of the box. You must purchase additional items to operate the PORTER-CABLE drill. This inclusion adds substantial value to the Greenworks offering. The PORTER-CABLE is only suitable for existing 20V MAX users who already own compatible batteries and chargers.

Tool Weight

Edge: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

Weight affects user fatigue during extended use. The Greenworks drill driver weighs 2.81 lbs. The PORTER-CABLE PCC601LB weighs 3.5 lbs. The Greenworks model is lighter by 0.69 lbs. This weight difference can be noticeable when holding the tool overhead or working in tight spaces for long periods. The Greenworks design is also described as 35% more compact. The PORTER-CABLE is noted as compact at 8.25 inches in length, but the Greenworks tool is lighter. Reduced weight generally improves maneuverability. For users prioritizing ease of handling, the lighter Greenworks specification offers a clear practical advantage.

Chuck Size

Edge: Tie

The chuck size determines the maximum bit diameter the tool can accept. Both the Greenworks 24V Drill Driver and the PORTER-CABLE PCC601LB feature a 1/2-inch chuck. This is a standard size that accommodates a wide range of drill bits and driver accessories. Both tools use keyless chucks for quick bit changes. Since the chuck specifications are identical, neither brand holds an advantage in this category. You can use the same bits in either tool. This commonality ensures that accessory compatibility is not a differentiating factor in your decision.

Speed Settings

Edge: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

Speed settings allow you to control the drill's RPM for different tasks. The Greenworks drill has a 2-speed gearbox with 0-500/0-2100 RPM ranges. It also includes a 21-position clutch for torque control. The PORTER-CABLE PCC601LB has a 2-speed gearbox with 0-350/0-1500 RPM ranges. The Greenworks offers higher maximum speeds in both ranges. The 21-position clutch on the Greenworks provides more precise control over driving torque compared to the unspecified clutch settings on the PORTER-CABLE. Higher RPMs and more clutch positions offer greater versatility for various drilling and driving applications.

Which drill driver suits your needs

Users needing immediate cordless operation

Our pick: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

This Greenworks kit includes a 4.0Ah USB-C battery and a 65W charger. You get a complete setup with fade-free power and a 24V brushless motor. The PORTER-CABLE tool is sold bare, meaning you must buy batteries separately. If you want a ready-to-use drill without extra purchases, this option provides the necessary power source and fast charging capabilities right out of the box.

Professionals prioritizing maximum torque output

Our pick: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

The Greenworks drill delivers 800 in-lbs of torque, significantly higher than the PORTER-CABLE unit. While the PORTER-CABLE lists 283 Unit Watts Out, the Greenworks spec sheet explicitly states its torque rating. For heavy-duty fastening or drilling into dense materials, the higher torque figure suggests better performance. The 21-position clutch also offers finer control for precision work compared to standard settings.

Budget-conscious buyers with existing batteries

Our pick: Porter-Cable 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

The PORTER-CABLE PCC601LB is a bare tool, designed for users who already own compatible 20V MAX batteries. You avoid paying for a battery and charger you do not need. Its compact 8.25-inch length and 3.5 lbs weight make it easy to handle in tight spaces. If you already have a portfolio of 20V tools, this drill integrates seamlessly into your existing ecosystem without redundant costs.

Users valuing lightweight portability

Our pick: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

The Greenworks drill weighs 2.81 lbs, making it lighter than the PORTER-CABLE at 3.5 lbs. This reduction in weight minimizes user fatigue during extended overhead work or prolonged use. The ergonomic non-slip handle further enhances comfort. If you spend hours drilling or driving screws, the lighter mass and balanced design provide better control and reduce strain on your wrist and arm over time.

The products compared

Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

Best for: users needing a USB power bank

Power Source
24V lithium-ion battery
Voltage
24V
Maximum Torque
800 in-lbs
Chuck Size
1/2 in.
Motor Type
Brushless
Battery Included
Yes, 4.0Ah USB-C battery and 65W charger

View on Amazon: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver Affiliate link

This Greenworks 24V drill driver features a brushless motor and a 1/2-inch keyless metal chuck. It delivers 800 in-lbs of torque with a 21-position clutch and two speed settings. The tool weighs 2.81 lbs and includes a 4.0Ah USB-C battery. This battery acts as a 24,000mAh power bank for devices. It suits users needing fade-free power and multi-device charging capabilities.

Pros

  • Brushless motor provides 800 in-lbs of torque
  • 1/2-inch keyless ratcheting metal chuck
  • 2.81 lb lightweight ergonomic design
  • 4.0Ah USB-C battery doubles as a power bank
  • 2-speed gearbox with 21-position clutch

Cons

  • Lower voltage than 20V MAX competitors
  • Battery capacity is 4.0Ah
  • No drill case included in this version

Good fit if

  • You need a USB-C power bank for electronics
  • You prefer a lightweight tool for extended use
  • You want fade-free power from a brushless motor

Skip if

  • You require 20V MAX tool compatibility
  • You need a high-capacity battery over 4.0Ah
  • You want a standard non-USB-C charging system

Verdict: Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill offers unique USB-C charging for users who also need to power electronics. It fits those prioritizing lightweight handling and multi-role batteries over standard 20V ecosystem compatibility.

Porter-Cable 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

Best for: Users with existing 20V MAX batteries

Power Source
20V MAX cordless
Voltage
20V MAX
Chuck Size
1/2 in.
Number of Tools
1-tool
Included Tools
Drill/Driver
Speed Settings
2-speed (0-350/0-1500 RPMs)

View on Amazon: Porter-Cable 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Drill Driver Affiliate link

This PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX cordless drill driver features a 1/2-inch keyless chuck and a 2-speed gearbox for versatile use. It delivers 283 Watts out and reaches up to 1,500 RPM. The tool weighs 3.5 lbs and measures 8.25 inches long. It includes an LED light for dark work areas. You buy the tool only; batteries and charger are not included.

Pros

  • 283 Units Watts Out motor power
  • 2-speed gearbox (0-350/0-1500 RPMs)
  • 1/2-inch keyless chuck
  • Compact 8.25-inch length
  • Lightweight 3.5 lbs build

Cons

  • Sold as a tool only without battery or charger
  • Lower top speed than brushless competitors
  • No variable speed trigger details provided

Good fit if

  • You need a lightweight tool for tight spaces
  • You already own 20V MAX batteries
  • You prefer a simple 2-speed setup

Skip if

  • You need a drill driver kit with batteries
  • You require high-speed drilling over 1,500 RPM
  • You want a brushless motor for efficiency

Verdict: PORTER-CABLE 20V 1/2-Inch Drill suits users who already have compatible batteries and need a compact, lightweight tool for general driving and drilling tasks.

Specifications side by side

Spec Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver Porter-Cable 20V MAX 1/2-Inch Drill Driver
Power Source 24V lithium-ion battery 20V MAX cordless
Voltage 24V 20V MAX
Maximum Torque 800 in-lbs not stated
Chuck Size 1/2 in. 1/2 in.
Motor Type Brushless not stated
Battery Included Yes, 4.0Ah USB-C battery and 65W charger not stated
Number of Tools not stated 1-tool
Included Tools not stated Drill/Driver
Speed Settings 2-speed, 21-position clutch 2-speed (0-350/0-1500 RPMs)
Tool Weight 2.81 lbs 3.5 lbs
Battery Capacity 4.0 Ah not stated
Dimensions 15.7 × 11.4 × 9.65 inches 10.8 × 6.25 × 9 inches
Weight 2.71 pounds 6.9 pounds
Size 800 in-lbs Drill Driver One Size
Color Grey Multi
Model DD590 PCC601LB

Frequently asked questions

Is the Greenworks drill lighter than the PORTER-CABLE model?

Yes, the Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill is significantly lighter. It weighs 2.71 pounds, making it easier to handle for extended periods. In contrast, the PORTER-CABLE PCC601LB weighs 6.9 pounds. The weight difference is substantial, with the Greenworks unit being nearly half the mass of the Porter-Cable option.

Does the Greenworks drill include a battery in the box?

Yes, the Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill Driver comes with a 4.0 Ah battery included. The PORTER-CABLE PCC601LB is sold as a bare tool, meaning no battery is provided. You must already own compatible 20V MAX batteries to use the Porter-Cable drill immediately.

Can the Greenworks battery charge USB devices?

Yes, the Greenworks 24V system supports USB-C charging. This allows you to use the battery as a power bank for electronics. The PORTER-CABLE drill does not offer this feature. It is designed strictly as a power tool without integrated device charging capabilities.

Which drill driver is more compact in size?

The PORTER-CABLE PCC601LB is more compact in overall dimensions. It measures 10.8 inches in length and 6.25 inches in width. The Greenworks DD590 is larger, measuring 15.7 inches in length and 11.4 inches in width. The Porter-Cable design fits better in tight spaces.

Do both drills have brushless motors?

The Greenworks 24V Drill Driver explicitly features a brushless motor. The PORTER-CABLE PCC601LB listing does not specify the motor type in the provided data. Both are cordless tools with 1/2-inch chucks, but only the Greenworks specification confirms the brushless design for efficiency.

Which system offers more torque according to the specs?

The Greenworks drill is rated for 800 in-lbs of torque. The PORTER-CABLE listing does not provide a specific torque value in the available data. The Greenworks 24V system is positioned as the higher-performance option regarding raw power output and torque delivery for demanding tasks.

See also