As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

2-Tool or 3-Tool Power Tool Combo Kits? Compared by Specs

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

Choosing between a 2-Tool vs 3-Tool power tool combo kit depends on your specific project needs. Both the CRAFTSMAN and DEWALT options are cordless 20V systems. The main difference lies in the tool count and type. The CRAFTSMAN kit includes a drill and impact driver for fastening. The DEWALT kit offers a router, sander, and jig saw for woodworking. You must decide if you need fastening tools or shaping tools.

Key differences

AspectCRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver KitDEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit
Number of Tools23
Included ToolsDrill Driver, Impact DriverRouter, Random Orbital Sander, Jig Saw
Motor Typenot listedBrushless
Battery Capacity2 Ah5.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah
Chuck Size1/2 in. (drill); 1/4 in. (impact driver)not listed

Which one should you choose?

Choose CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit if

  • You need a drill and impact driver for driving screws and drilling holes.
  • You prefer a lighter kit that weighs 8.2 pounds.
  • You want a kit with a 1/2 inch drill chuck for larger bits.

Choose DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit if

  • You require a router, sander, and jig saw for woodworking tasks.
  • You want brushless motors for longer runtime and efficiency.
  • You prefer a higher capacity 5.0 Ah battery included in the box.

Verdict: Choose the CRAFTSMAN kit if your primary tasks involve drilling and fastening. Choose the DEWALT kit if you need specialized woodworking tools like a router and sander. The DEWALT kit also offers brushless motors and a larger battery for more demanding projects.

2-Tool vs 3-Tool Kit Specs

Number of Tools

Edge: DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit

The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit is a 2-Tool combo, featuring a drill driver and an impact driver. This setup focuses on fastening and drilling tasks. The DEWALT kit offers three tools: a compact router, a random orbital sander, and a jig saw. This trio targets woodworking and material shaping. You get more distinct tool types with the DEWALT option. The CRAFTSMAN pair covers general home repair needs. The DEWALT set provides specialized capabilities for finer work. Choose based on whether you need general fastening or specific woodworking functions.

Voltage

Edge: Tie

Both systems operate on a 20V platform. The CRAFTSMAN product lists its voltage as 20V. The DEWALT kit specifies 20V MAX. These ratings indicate similar power classes for their respective motors. You can use batteries across both brands if they share the same ecosystem, but the kits themselves are distinct. The voltage does not differentiate the two kits significantly. Both are designed for cordless convenience. The performance difference comes from motor type and battery capacity rather than voltage alone.

Motor Type

Edge: DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit

The DEWALT kit explicitly lists brushless motors for its router, sander, and jig saw. Brushless motors typically offer longer runtime and better efficiency than brushed alternatives. The CRAFTSMAN data does not specify the motor type for its drill or impact driver. You cannot confirm if the CRAFTSMAN tools use brushless technology from the provided specs. If you prioritize known efficiency gains from brushless design, the DEWALT kit has a clear advantage. The CRAFTSMAN tools may still be efficient, but the data is silent on this detail.

Battery Capacity

Edge: DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit

Battery capacity affects how long you can work before recharging. The CRAFTSMAN kit includes two 2Ah batteries. The DEWALT kit includes one 5.0Ah battery and one 2.0Ah battery. The 5.0Ah pack in the DEWALT set offers 60% more capacity than a standard 20V MAX pack. This means longer runtimes for the DEWALT tools. The CRAFTSMAN kit provides two smaller batteries, which is useful for swapping, but each has less total energy. For sustained heavy use, the larger DEWALT battery is superior.

Included Tools

Edge: Tie

The CRAFTSMAN kit includes a drill driver and an impact driver. These are essential for driving screws and drilling holes. The DEWALT kit includes a router, a random orbital sander, and a jig saw. These tools are for shaping wood, smoothing surfaces, and cutting curves. The CRAFTSMAN tools are more versatile for general assembly. The DEWALT tools are specialized for woodworking projects. You need to decide if you need fastening tools or shaping tools. The tool types are completely different, serving different primary tasks.

Chuck Size

Edge: CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit

The CRAFTSMAN drill driver features a 1/2 inch chuck. The impact driver has a 1/4 inch hex chuck. These sizes are standard for drill bits and driver bits. The DEWALT data does not list chuck sizes for its router, sander, or jig saw. These tools typically use collets or clamping mechanisms rather than standard chucks. The CRAFTSMAN kit provides clear chuck specifications for its tools. The DEWALT kit specifications are missing this detail. For drill bit compatibility, the CRAFTSMAN specs are more explicit.

Which 20V Kit Fits Your Tasks

Fastener and drilling focused users

Our pick: CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit

You need reliable fastening and drilling. This CRAFTSMAN kit includes a drill driver and impact driver. The impact driver delivers up to 1,800 in-lbs of MAX torque. It drives up to 120 fasteners per charge. The drill provides up to 300 UWO for tough holes. You get two 2Ah batteries for consistent runtime.

Woodworking and finishing projects

Our pick: DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit

You are working on detailed woodworking tasks. This DEWALT kit includes a compact router, random orbital sander, and jig saw. All tools feature brushless motors for efficiency. You get a 5.0Ah battery and a 2.0Ah battery. The router has a variable-speed dial. The sander and saw offer longer runtime for precise cuts and finishes.

Users wanting more tool variety

Our pick: DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit

You want a broader range of capabilities in one kit. This DEWALT option provides three distinct tools for cutting, sanding, and routing. It includes a contractor bag for storage. The brushless motors help extend runtime. You receive a larger 5.0Ah battery alongside a compact 2.0Ah option. This setup covers more material types than a basic drill and driver pair.

Quick picks

#ProductBest forPrice
1 CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit basic home repair tasks Check price of CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit on Amazon
2 DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit Detailed cutting and finishing tasks Check price of DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit on Amazon

The products compared

CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit

Best for: basic home repair tasks

Number of Tools
2-Tool (what this guide is about)
Voltage
20V
Included Tools
Drill/driver, impact driver
Battery Capacity
2 Ah
Battery Included
2 batteries and charger included
Maximum Torque
1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver)

View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link

This 2-tool kit includes a drill driver and an impact driver powered by 20V batteries. It features 1,800 in-lbs of torque and 300 UWO in the drill. The set comes with two 2Ah batteries and a charger. It weighs 8.2 pounds and includes LED lights on both tools. This setup suits users who need basic fastening and drilling capabilities for general home projects without the bulk of a larger kit.

Pros

  • 1,800 in-lbs MAX torque on the impact driver
  • 300 UWO power output from the drill driver
  • Includes two 2Ah batteries and a charger
  • Onboard LED lights on both tools

Cons

  • Only includes two tools, limiting versatility
  • 2Ah battery capacity offers shorter runtime
  • Heavier at 8.2 pounds for the kit

Good fit if

  • You need a drill and impact driver for basic tasks
  • You prefer a compact 2-tool setup
  • You want included batteries and a charger

Skip if

  • You require a 3-tool or larger kit
  • You need high-capacity batteries for long jobs
  • You want a brushless motor system

Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 2-Tool Drill and Impact Kit provides essential power for light to medium tasks. It fits users who only need a drill and impact driver for occasional home repairs.

DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit

Best for: Detailed cutting and finishing tasks

Number of Tools
3-Tool (what this guide is about)
Voltage
20V MAX
Motor Type
Brushless
Battery Capacity
5.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah
Battery Included
Battery and charger included
Included Accessories
Contractor Bag

View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit Affiliate link

This 3-tool kit includes a brushless compact router, random orbital sander, and jig saw. It runs on 20V MAX power with a 5.0 Ah and 2.0 Ah battery. The brushless motors offer better runtime and efficiency. You get a contractor bag for storage. This setup suits users needing versatile cutting and finishing tools for various projects.

Pros

  • Three essential tools: router, sander, and jig saw
  • Brushless motors for improved runtime and efficiency
  • Includes 5.0 Ah and 2.0 Ah batteries
  • Variable-speed dial on the router
  • Comes with a contractor bag

Cons

  • Router lacks precision depth adjustment details
  • Sander does not specify dust collection type
  • Jig saw is compact, limiting deep cuts

Good fit if

  • You need a router, sander, and jig saw
  • You prefer brushless motor efficiency
  • You want a portable contractor bag

Skip if

  • You require a hammer drill or impact driver
  • You need high-amperage continuous runtime
  • You prefer corded tool reliability

Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX 3-Tool Brushless Kit fits users needing a router, sander, and jig saw for detailed work. The brushless motors and dual batteries support efficient, portable operation for various cutting and finishing tasks.

Specifications side by side

Spec CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit
Number of Tools 2 3
Voltage 20V 20V MAX
Included Tools Drill/driver, impact driver not stated
Motor Type not stated Brushless
Battery Capacity 2 Ah 5.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah
Battery Included 2 batteries and charger included Battery and charger included
Maximum Torque 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver) not stated
Chuck Size 1/2 in. (drill); 1/4 in. (impact driver) not stated
Included Accessories not stated Contractor Bag
Power Source Cordless Cordless
Dimensions 12.3 × 4.96 × 8.86 inches 16.2 × 10.2 × 9.6 inches
Weight 8.2 pounds not stated
Color Black, Red Yellow/Black
Model CMCK201D2 DCK307D1P1

Frequently asked questions

Is a 2-tool kit enough for basic home repairs?

Yes, a 2-tool kit is sufficient for basic home repairs. The CRAFTSMAN V20 option includes a drill driver and an impact driver. These tools handle light to medium tasks like assembling furniture or hanging shelves. The 2.0 Ah battery supports occasional use without frequent recharging.

What tools are included in a 3-tool woodworking kit?

A 3-tool woodworking kit typically includes a router, a sander, and a jig saw. The DEWALT option provides these specific tools for detailed cutting and finishing. This setup allows you to shape edges, smooth surfaces, and cut curves in wood projects efficiently.

Do I need brushless motors for home projects?

Brushless motors offer longer life and better efficiency, but they are not always necessary. The DEWALT kit features brushless motors for its three tools, supporting efficient operation. The CRAFTSMAN 2-tool kit does not specify this feature, which may suit users with less frequent needs.

How heavy are these power tool combos?

Weight varies by kit configuration. The CRAFTSMAN 2-tool kit weighs 8.2 pounds. It measures 12.3 inches in length. The DEWALT 3-tool kit is larger, measuring 16.2 inches in length. Heavier kits may contain more tools or larger batteries.

Can I use these kits for outdoor work?

Both kits are cordless and portable, making them suitable for outdoor use. The CRAFTSMAN kit fits users needing a drill and impact driver for outdoor repairs. The DEWALT kit supports portable operation for various cutting tasks outside. Both operate on 20V power sources.

What is the difference in voltage between these kits?

Both kits operate on 20V systems. The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit uses a 20V battery. The DEWALT 20V MAX kit also uses a 20V platform. This common voltage allows for battery sharing if you own other tools in the same ecosystem.

Which kit is better for drilling and fastening?

The CRAFTSMAN 2-tool kit is better for drilling and fastening. It includes a drill driver and an impact driver. These tools are designed specifically for creating holes and driving screws. The DEWALT kit focuses on cutting and finishing rather than fastening.

Does the 3-tool kit come with a battery?

Yes, the DEWALT 3-tool kit includes a battery and charger. The product data lists battery inclusion as part of the package. This ensures you can start using the router, sander, and jig saw immediately upon unpacking.

See also