As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

Number of Tools in Power Tool Combo Kits: What It Is and Is It Worth It?

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

Understanding Tool Count in Kits

The number of tools is a primary specification for combo kits. It tells you exactly how many individual power tools are included in the package. This count excludes batteries, chargers, and carrying cases. You will see this labeled as a two-tool, three-tool, or six-tool kit. Manufacturers use this metric to define the scope of the set. A higher number suggests a broader range of capabilities. A lower number often indicates a focused set for specific tasks.

This spec is measured by counting each distinct power tool. Drills, impact drivers, saws, and sanders each add one to the total. If a kit includes a drill and an impact driver, the count is two. It does not matter if they share the same battery platform. The tool count remains separate from the battery count. Listings clearly state this figure in the title or bullet points. You should verify the count against the item description to avoid confusion.

Buyers care about this spec because it dictates utility. A four-tool kit might provide enough variety for general home repairs. An eight-tool kit may cover nearly every standard workshop need. You need to match the count to your project list. If you only need a drill and a driver, a two-tool set is sufficient. Buying more tools than you use wastes space and money. However, getting fewer tools may force you to buy missing items later. The ideal choice depends on your current inventory and future plans. Check the tool count carefully before you decide. It is the most direct indicator of what you are getting. Ensure the listed number aligns with your practical requirements. This simple check prevents overbuying or underbuying. The number of tools explained helps you make a logical choice based on actual needs rather than marketing claims.

Choosing the Right Tool Count

2-Tool

A 2-Tool kit focuses strictly on the essentials: drilling and fastening. You get a drill driver and an impact driver, which covers most basic assembly and mounting tasks. This setup prioritizes portability and ease of storage. The CRAFTSMAN V20 example weighs just 8.2 pounds and includes 2.0 Ah batteries, making it easy to carry to job sites. You save space and money compared to larger sets. However, you lack specialized tools like saws for cutting materials. If your work is limited to hanging shelves or building frames, this count is sufficient. You trade versatility for a lighter, more manageable load that fits in smaller bags.

3-Tool

A 3-Tool kit adds a specialized cutting tool to the core drilling duo. The DEWALT example includes a sander, jig saw, and router, targeting woodworking precision rather than general construction. You gain the ability to shape and cut wood without buying separate units. This count suits carpenters who need specific functions but do not require a circular saw for framing. The trade-off is a narrower focus. You cannot use this kit for heavy-duty demolition or general home repairs that require a reciprocating saw. It is a specialized bundle for those who already own a drill but need precise cutting capabilities for detailed projects.

4-Tool

A 4-Tool kit typically adds a circular saw to the standard drill and impact driver pair. This combination allows you to drill holes, drive screws, and cut sheet goods or lumber. The CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX example includes these three core tools, providing a balanced mix of fastening and cutting power. You can tackle moderate DIY projects like building decks or fences without needing multiple battery platforms. The weight increases to around 16.9 pounds, requiring a sturdier case. You gain significant versatility for home improvement tasks. However, you still lack tools for detailed sanding or specialized cutting, limiting you to rougher structural work.

5-Tool

A 5-Tool kit expands your capabilities by adding an oscillating tool and often a work light. The Greenworks 24V example includes a drill, impact driver, circular saw, work light, and oscillating tool. You can now perform detailed cutting, sanding, and trimming tasks alongside standard fastening and sawing. The oscillating tool is useful for plunge cuts and scraping. This count suits DIYers who need a complete set for various projects around the house. The trade-off is increased weight and complexity, with the kit weighing 21 pounds. You manage more batteries and chargers, but you cover a wider range of tasks without buying individual tools.

6-Tool

A 6-Tool kit adds a reciprocating saw to the five-tool setup, creating a robust workhorse set. The Greenworks example includes all previous tools plus a reciprocating saw for demolition and pruning. You can now tear out old materials, cut pipes, or trim branches. This count fits users who need a wide variety of tools for complex projects. The kit weighs 24.8 pounds and includes larger 4.0 Ah batteries for extended runtime. You gain the ability to handle both construction and demolition tasks. The trade-off is significant bulk and weight. You need ample storage space and a vehicle capable of carrying the heavy case. It is ideal for serious DIYers or light professionals.

7-Tool

A 7-Tool kit offers the most comprehensive variety in this group. The DEWALT example includes a drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, oscillating tool, sander, and jig saw. You have every major tool needed for full-scale woodworking and construction projects. This count suits professionals or advanced hobbyists who prioritize tool variety over portability. The kit weighs nearly 30 pounds and includes high-capacity 5.0 Ah batteries. You eliminate the need to buy individual tools for specific tasks. The trade-off is maximum weight and cost. You must manage a large inventory of accessories and batteries. It is a complete solution for those who need every tool in one package.

Is Tool Count Worth It

Who needs it

You should prioritize kit size if you are building a complete workshop from scratch. A 6-Tool or 8-Tool kit provides immediate access to a drill, impact driver, circular saw, and reciprocating saw. This reduces the need to buy items individually, which often costs more over time. If you frequently switch between tasks like cutting wood and driving screws, having multiple tools in one case saves setup time. Larger kits also offer redundancy. If one tool fails, you have a backup ready to go. For homeowners who tackle diverse projects, from deck building to furniture assembly, a higher count ensures you have the right power tool for each specific job without hunting for missing pieces. This approach streamlines your workflow and keeps your workspace organized.

Who can skip it

You can ignore high tool counts if you already own a reliable drill and impact driver. Buying a 4-Tool or 5-Tool kit may result in duplicate tools you do not need. Instead, focus on battery platform compatibility. Ensure the new tools use the same voltage and battery type as your existing gear. This allows you to share power sources, which is more valuable than having extra tools you rarely use. If you specialize in one type of work, such as only doing light assembly, a 2-Tool kit is sufficient. Do not pay for capacity you will not utilize. Prioritize specific tool features like torque settings or ergonomics over sheer quantity. A smaller kit reduces weight and storage space requirements. You will save time and money by adding only the specific tools that fill gaps in your current collection rather than buying a large bundle with redundant items.

Key Tool Kit Terms

Voltage

Electrical pressure driving the motor. Higher numbers like 20V or 40V usually mean more power for tough jobs, while 12V suits light tasks.

Battery Capacity

Energy storage measured in amp-hours (Ah). A 2.0Ah battery lasts longer than a 1.5Ah pack, allowing more runtime between charges.

Motor Type

The engine design inside the tool. Brushless motors are more efficient and durable than brushed ones, offering longer life and better performance.

Chuck Size

The opening that holds drill bits. Common sizes are 3/8-inch or 1/2-inch. Larger chucks accept bigger bits for heavier duty work.

Power Source

How the tool operates. Cordless kits use rechargeable batteries for mobility, while corded tools plug into wall outlets for continuous power.

Included Tools

The specific power tools listed in the kit. This count excludes batteries and cases. Examples include drill drivers, impact drivers, and saws.

Battery Included

Whether the package contains rechargeable power packs. Some kits come with one battery, while others include two for quick swapping during work.

Number of Tools

The total count of individual power devices in the kit. This number helps you gauge the variety of tasks the set can handle.

Quick picks

#ProductBest forPrice
1 CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit basic drilling and fastening tasks Check price of CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit on Amazon
2 Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit DIYers needing a complete six-tool workhorse set Check price of Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit on Amazon
3 CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit Projects requiring a circular saw and high torque Check price of CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit on Amazon
4 Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit Versatile DIY projects requiring brushless power Check price of Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit on Amazon
5 DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit Woodworking projects requiring precision cutting Check price of DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit on Amazon
6 DEWALT 20V MAX 7-Tool Cordless Combo Kit comprehensive tool variety Check price of DEWALT 20V MAX 7-Tool Cordless Combo Kit on Amazon

Our 6 picks

CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit

Best for: basic drilling and fastening tasks

Number of Tools
2-Tool (what this guide is about)
Voltage
20V
Included Tools
Drill/driver, impact driver
Battery Capacity
2 Ah
Battery Included
2 batteries and charger included
Maximum Torque
1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver)

View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link

This 2-tool kit includes a drill driver and an impact driver. It uses 20V power with two 2 Ah batteries. The impact driver delivers 1,800 in-lbs of torque. The drill offers 300 UWO for drilling tasks. Both tools feature onboard LEDs for visibility. This set suits users who need basic driving and drilling capabilities without extra tools.

Pros

  • Impact driver provides 1,800 in-lbs MAX torque
  • Drill driver delivers 300 UWO for power
  • Includes two 2 Ah batteries and charger
  • Onboard LEDs improve visibility in dark areas

Cons

  • Only includes two tools in the kit
  • Drill chuck is limited to 1/2 inch size
  • Battery capacity is modest at 2 Ah

Good fit if

  • You only need a drill and an impact driver
  • You want a lightweight kit under 9 pounds
  • You already own compatible 20V batteries

Skip if

  • You require a circular saw or other tools
  • You need higher capacity batteries for long runs
  • You prefer brushless motor technology

Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 2-Tool Combo is a focused kit for users who strictly need drilling and fastening. It fits those who value portability and basic torque over a larger collection of tools.

Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit

Best for: DIYers needing a complete six-tool workhorse set

Number of Tools
6-Tool (what this guide is about)
Voltage
24V
Motor Type
Brushless
Battery Capacity
4.0Ah, 2.0Ah
Battery Included
2 batteries and charger included
Maximum Torque
1,950 in-lbs

View on Amazon: Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link

This Greenworks 24V kit includes six tools: a drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, multi-tool, and flashlight. It features brushless motors for efficiency and includes 2Ah and 4Ah batteries. The 24V system offers more power than standard 20V options. You get a complete set for various DIY tasks, from drilling to cutting, with the flexibility of a multi-tool and work light included in the package.

Pros

  • Includes six distinct tools for versatile project handling
  • Brushless motors provide extended runtime and durability
  • 24V system delivers higher torque than 20V competitors
  • Multi-tool offers six speed settings for precision work
  • Circular saw features a 4,800 RPM brushless motor

Cons

  • Heavier at 24.8 pounds compared to lighter 2-tool kits
  • No mobile app or smart connectivity features listed
  • Battery capacity limited to 2Ah and 4Ah options

Good fit if

  • You need a comprehensive set for home repairs
  • You prefer the higher voltage of a 24V system
  • You want a multi-tool and flashlight included

Skip if

  • You require a compact kit under five pounds
  • You only need a drill and impact driver
  • You prefer the standard 20V ecosystem

Verdict: Greenworks 24V 6-Tool Combo Kit provides a robust six-tool set with brushless efficiency. It fits users who need a wide variety of tools for complex projects rather than just basic drilling.

CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit

Best for: Projects requiring a circular saw and high torque

Number of Tools
4-Tool (what this guide is about)
Voltage
20V MAX
Battery Included
Battery and charger included
Chuck Size
1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
Included Accessories
6-1/2 in. blade, charger
Included Tools
Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw

View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit Affiliate link

This CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX 4-tool combo kit includes a drill driver, impact driver, circular saw, and LED task light. The 1/2-inch drill delivers 280 UWO with a 2-speed gearbox. The impact driver provides 1,460 in-lbs of torque. The circular saw features a 6-1/2-inch blade running at 4,200 RPM. It comes with a battery and charger, making it a complete setup for general home projects.

Pros

  • Drill driver offers 280 UWO of power
  • Impact driver provides 1,460 in-lbs of torque
  • Circular saw runs at 4,200 RPM
  • Includes LED pivoting task light with 140 lumens

Cons

  • Includes only one battery
  • Heavier build at 16.9 pounds
  • Larger carrying case dimensions

Good fit if

  • You need a circular saw for ripping 2x material
  • You want a complete kit with charger included
  • You value high torque for heavy-duty fastening

Skip if

  • You prefer a lighter tool for overhead work
  • You need multiple batteries for continuous use
  • You only require a drill and impact driver

Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX 4-Tool Kit is a robust option for users who need a circular saw and high torque. It suits those who want a single battery solution for moderate tasks.

Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit

Best for: Versatile DIY projects requiring brushless power

Number of Tools
5-Tool (what this guide is about)
Voltage
24V
Motor Type
Brushless
Battery Capacity
4.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah
Battery Included
2 batteries and charger included
Maximum Torque
1,950 in.-lbs.

View on Amazon: Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit Affiliate link

This kit includes five tools: a drill, impact driver, circular saw, multi-tool, and flashlight. It uses 24V brushless motors for 2x torque and 35% longer runtime than 20V competitors. The set comes with 4.0Ah and 2.0Ah batteries. The drill offers 400 in-lbs torque, while the impact driver delivers 1,950 in-lbs. This setup suits users needing versatile power for DIY or professional jobs.

Pros

  • 24V brushless motors provide 2x torque and 35% longer runtime than 20V systems.
  • Includes 4.0Ah and 2.0Ah batteries for extended project work.
  • Impact driver delivers 1,950 in-lbs torque for heavy-duty fastening.
  • Circular saw features a 4,800 RPM brushless motor for fast cuts.
  • Multi-tool offers 18,000 OPM with six speed settings.

Cons

  • Total kit weight is 21 pounds, making it heavier than lighter 2-tool options.
  • Circular saw cutting depth is limited to 2-1/4 inches at 0 degrees.
  • Flashlight is included but lacks a dedicated charging port separate from the battery system.

Good fit if

  • You need a versatile 5-tool set for varied home repairs.
  • You want brushless motors for cooler operation and longer tool life.
  • You prefer 24V voltage for increased power over standard 20V systems.

Skip if

  • You require a compact 2-tool kit for easy transport.
  • You need a circular saw with a deeper cutting capacity than 2-1/4 inches.
  • You prefer a lighter kit under 15 pounds for overhead work.

Verdict: Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Combo delivers robust brushless performance and ample battery capacity for users tackling diverse projects. It fits professionals and DIYers who prioritize torque and runtime in a single, comprehensive kit.

DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit

Best for: Woodworking projects requiring precision cutting

Number of Tools
3-Tool (what this guide is about)
Voltage
20V MAX
Motor Type
Brushless
Battery Capacity
5.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah
Battery Included
Battery and charger included
Included Accessories
Contractor Bag

View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit Affiliate link

This DEWALT 3-tool kit includes a brushless router, random orbital sander, and jig saw. It comes with a 5.0Ah and a 2.0Ah battery, plus a charger. The brushless motors offer efficiency and runtime. You get a contractor bag for storage. This set suits users who need precision woodworking tools rather than standard drilling and driving power.

Pros

  • Brushless motors in the router, sander, and jig saw
  • Includes 5.0Ah and 2.0Ah XR Lithium Ion batteries
  • Variable-speed dial on the compact router
  • Contractor bag included for tool storage

Cons

  • Only three tools included in the kit
  • No drill or impact driver for fastening tasks
  • No circular saw for cutting lumber

Good fit if

  • You need a router for edge work
  • You want a sander for finishing surfaces
  • You require a jig saw for curved cuts

Skip if

  • You need a drill for driving screws
  • You want to cut sheets of plywood
  • You prefer a kit with more tools

Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX 3-Tool Combo provides specialized woodworking power. It fits carpenters who need a router, sander, and jig saw without extra drilling tools.

DEWALT 20V MAX 7-Tool Cordless Combo Kit

Best for: comprehensive tool variety

Number of Tools
7-Tool (what this guide is about)
Voltage
20V MAX
Motor Type
Brushless
Battery Capacity
5 Ah
Battery Included
5 Ah battery and charger
Maximum Torque
1,500 in-lbs. (impact driver)

View on Amazon: DEWALT 20V MAX 7-Tool Cordless Combo Kit Affiliate link

This 7-tool kit includes a drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, oscillating tool, sander, and jig saw. It features brushless motors and a 5 Ah battery. The impact driver delivers 1,500 in-lbs of torque. You get a 6-1/2 inch carbide blade and charger. This set suits users needing a wide range of cutting and fastening tools in one package.

Pros

  • Includes seven distinct power tools
  • Brushless motors for efficiency
  • 1,500 in-lbs of torque
  • 5 Ah battery included

Cons

  • Heavy at 29.8 pounds
  • Large dimensions of 22.1 inches
  • No app connectivity mentioned

Good fit if

  • You need seven specific tools
  • You prefer brushless motors
  • You want a 5 Ah battery

Skip if

  • You need a lighter kit
  • You want fewer than seven tools
  • You require app control

Verdict: DEWALT 20V MAX 7-Tool Combo Kit fits professionals needing a comprehensive set of brushless tools with high torque. It is ideal for those who prioritize tool variety over portability.

Specifications side by side

Spec CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Woodworking Kit DEWALT 20V MAX 7-Tool Cordless Combo Kit
Number of Tools 2 6 4 5 3 7
Voltage 20V 24V 20V MAX 24V 20V MAX 20V MAX
Included Tools Drill/driver, impact driver not stated not stated not stated not stated not stated
Motor Type not stated Brushless not stated Brushless Brushless Brushless
Battery Capacity 2 Ah 4.0Ah, 2.0Ah not stated 4.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah 5.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah 5 Ah
Battery Included 2 batteries and charger included 2 batteries and charger included Battery and charger included 2 batteries and charger included Battery and charger included 5 Ah battery and charger
Maximum Torque 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver) 1,950 in-lbs not stated 1,950 in.-lbs. not stated 1,500 in-lbs. (impact driver)
Chuck Size 1/2 in. (drill); 1/4 in. (impact driver) 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex 1/2 in. drill, 1/4 in. impact driver not stated 1/2 in. (drill), 1/4 in. (impact driver)
Oscillations Per Minute not stated 18,000 OPM not stated 18,000 OPM not stated 8,000 to 12,000 OPM (sander)
Included Accessories not stated not stated 6-1/2 in. blade, charger not stated Contractor Bag 6-1/2 in. carbide blade, charger
Power Source Cordless not stated Cordless not stated Cordless Cordless
Dimensions 12.3 × 4.96 × 8.86 inches 19.9 × 12 × 8.86 inches 19 × 9.6 × 11.5 inches 19.8 × 11.2 × 8.8 inches 16.2 × 10.2 × 9.6 inches 22.1 × 13.7 × 9.94 inches
Weight 8.2 pounds 24.8 pounds 16.9 pounds 21 pounds not stated 29.8 pounds
Color Black, Red not stated not stated not stated Yellow/Black Black, Yellow
Model CMCK201D2 CK361 CMCK401D2 CK351 DCK307D1P1 DCK751P1
Size not stated 6PCS Combo Kits not stated 5PCS Combo Kits not stated 7 Tool Combo Kit

Frequently asked questions

Does a higher tool count mean better quality?

No. The number of tools indicates variety, not quality. A 7-Tool kit like the DEWALT DCK751P1 offers extensive variety but weighs 29.8 pounds. In contrast, a 2-Tool kit like the CRAFTSMAN V20 CMCK201D2 weighs only 8.2 pounds. You choose between comprehensive coverage and portability based on your specific project needs.

What is included in a 2-Tool combo kit?

A 2-Tool kit typically includes a drill driver and an impact driver. The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit provides these two essentials for basic drilling and fastening. It uses 20V power and includes a 2.0 Ah battery. This setup is ideal for users who value portability and do not need saws or other specialized tools for their tasks.

Which kit is best for woodworking projects?

The DEWALT 20V MAX 3-Tool Woodworking Kit is specialized for this. It includes a sander, jig saw, and router, excluding standard drills. This kit focuses on precision cutting rather than assembly. It features brushless motors and weighs 16.2 inches in length, making it a targeted solution for carpenters who need specific cutting capabilities.

How does battery capacity affect tool performance?

Battery capacity determines runtime, not raw power. The Greenworks 6-Tool Kit includes 4.0 Ah and 2.0 Ah batteries. The 4.0 Ah pack offers longer runtime for extended use. The 2.0 Ah pack is lighter and suitable for quick tasks. Both operate at 24V, ensuring consistent torque across different tools in the set.

Can I use one battery for multiple tools?

Yes, if they share the same voltage platform. The DEWALT 20V MAX 7-Tool Kit uses a single 5.0 Ah battery for all seven tools. This includes a drill, impact driver, circular saw, and more. Sharing batteries reduces the need to purchase multiple packs and ensures you have power for any tool in the kit.

What is the heaviest kit on the list?

The DEWALT 20V MAX 7-Tool Combo Kit is the heaviest at 29.8 pounds. It contains seven brushless tools and a 5.0 Ah battery. The Greenworks 6-Tool Kit follows at 24.8 pounds. The CRAFTSMAN 2-Tool Kit is the lightest at 8.2 pounds. Weight increases significantly as you add saws and additional power tools.

See also