2-Tool or 6-Tool Power Tool Combo Kits? Compared by Specs
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
You are deciding between a 2-Tool vs 6-Tool power tool combo kit. Both options include a drill driver and an impact driver, providing essential fastening and drilling capabilities for general projects. The main difference lies in scope and platform. One kit offers a compact 20V setup with just two tools, while the other provides a comprehensive 24V system with six tools, including a circular saw and reciprocating saw. Your choice depends on whether you need a minimal starter set or a full workshop solution.
Key differences
| Aspect | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit | Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | 6 |
| Voltage | 20V | 24V |
| Included Tools | Drill driver, impact driver | Drill driver, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, multi-tool, flashlight |
| Motor Type | not listed | Brushless |
| Battery Capacity | 2 Ah | 4.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah |
| Weight | 8.2 pounds | 24.8 pounds |
Which one should you choose?
Choose CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit if
- You want a lightweight, portable kit for basic drilling and screwdriving tasks.
- You prefer a lower voltage 20V system that is already part of your existing ecosystem.
- You need a minimal setup that fits easily into a small bag or limited storage space.
Choose Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit if
- You require cutting capabilities via a circular saw and reciprocating saw for diverse projects.
- You want brushless motors for longer runtime and increased torque efficiency.
- You need higher capacity batteries, including a 4.0 Ah option, for extended work sessions.
Verdict: Choose the 2-Tool kit if you only need core drilling and fastening tools and value portability. Select the 6-Tool kit if you need a complete set of cutting and multi-purpose tools with higher voltage power and brushless motor efficiency.
2-Tool vs 6-Tool Kit Comparison
Number of Tools
The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit provides two essential hand tools: a drill driver and an impact driver. This setup covers basic drilling and fastening tasks without adding bulk. In contrast, the GREENWORKS 24V kit includes six distinct tools. It adds a circular saw, reciprocating saw, multi-tool, and flashlight to the standard drill and impact driver. This expanded inventory allows you to handle cutting, scraping, and lighting tasks within the same system. The choice depends on whether you need a minimal setup or a comprehensive toolkit for varied jobs.
Voltage Platform
Voltage indicates the electrical potential of the battery system. The CRAFTSMAN V20 operates on a 20V platform. The GREENWORKS 24V runs on a 24V system. GREENWORKS states that its brushless motors provide two times more torque and thirty-five percent longer runtime compared to 20V competitors. This suggests a potential performance advantage in sustained power delivery. However, both systems are designed for cordless convenience. The 24V platform may offer slightly higher output for demanding applications, while the 20V system remains a standard choice for general household repairs.
Motor Type
Motor technology affects efficiency and tool lifespan. The GREENWORKS kit explicitly features brushless motors across its tools, including the drill, impact driver, circular saw, multi-tool, and reciprocating saw. Brushless motors generally offer cooler operation and extended tool life. The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit does not specify brushless technology in its provided data. Both kits include LED lights for visibility. If motor longevity and efficiency are priorities, the GREENWORKS brushless specification provides a clear technical advantage. The CRAFTSMAN kit relies on standard motor technology, which is reliable but may not match the efficiency claims of the brushless alternative.
Battery Capacity
Battery capacity determines how long you can work before recharging. The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit includes two 2Ah batteries. The GREENWORKS 24V kit includes one 4.0Ah battery and one 2.0Ah battery. The higher capacity of the 4.0Ah cell in the GREENWORKS system suggests longer runtimes for heavy-duty tasks. GREENWORKS also highlights a USB-C battery with sixty-five-watt super-fast charging capabilities. Both kits include a charger. If you prioritize extended continuous work time without frequent swaps, the larger capacity battery in the GREENWORKS kit offers a practical benefit over the smaller 2Ah cells.
Chuck Size
Chuck size dictates the maximum drill bit diameter you can use. Both kits feature a 1/2-inch chuck on their drill drivers, allowing for standard large-diameter bits. The impact drivers in both kits use a 1/4-inch hex quick-change system for driving screws and bolts. This specification is identical for the core fastening tools in both systems. You can use the same accessories for drilling and driving in either kit. Since the primary mechanical interface for bits and drivers is the same, there is no functional difference in compatibility for standard drill bits and driver bits between the CRAFTSMAN and GREENWORKS systems.
Included Tools
The specific tools included define the scope of work each kit supports. CRAFTSMAN provides a drill driver and impact driver. GREENWORKS provides a drill driver, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, multi-tool, and flashlight. The circular saw on the GREENWORKS kit features a brushless motor and a 24-tooth carbide-tipped blade. The multi-tool offers 18,000 OPM with tool-less changes. The reciprocating saw includes a pivoting shoe. These additional tools enable cutting wood, metal, and performing detailed scraping or sanding tasks. The CRAFTSMAN kit lacks these specialized cutting and finishing tools entirely.
Which Kit Suits Your Project Scope?
Users needing only basic drilling and fastening
This 2-Tool kit keeps things simple with a drill driver and impact driver. You get 1,800 in-lbs of torque for lag bolts and 300 UWO for drilling. The 2Ah batteries offer up to 90 holes per charge. It is a lighter 8.2 pounds, making it easier to handle for quick household repairs without extra bulk.
DIYers requiring a wider range of cutting tools
The 6-Tool kit adds a circular saw, reciprocating saw, and multi-tool. You gain 4,800 RPM cutting power and 18,000 OPM for oscillating tasks. The 24V brushless motors provide 35% longer runtime than 20V competitors. You also receive a 4Ah battery for extended work sessions, covering drilling, fastening, and cutting in one package.
Professionals needing high torque and fast charging
This kit delivers 1,950 in-lbs of torque from its impact driver and features a 24V platform. The included charger supports 65W super-fast charging via USB-C. You also get a 12,000mAh portable charger for devices. The brushless motors ensure cooler operation and fade-free power, which helps maintain performance during heavy-duty professional applications throughout the day.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit | basic home repairs and assembly | Check price of CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit on Amazon |
| 2 | Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit | Users needing a circular saw and reciprocating saw | Check price of Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit on Amazon |
The products compared
CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: basic home repairs and assembly
- Number of Tools
- 2-Tool (what this guide is about)
- Voltage
- 20V
- Included Tools
- Drill/driver, impact driver
- Battery Capacity
- 2 Ah
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver)
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This CRAFTSMAN V20 kit includes a drill driver and an impact driver, powered by 20V batteries. It features 1/2 inch and 1/4 inch chucks, with the impact driver delivering 1,800 in-lbs of torque. You get two 2 Ah batteries and a charger. It is designed for users who need reliable fastening and drilling capabilities in a compact, cordless format.
Pros
- 1,800 in-lbs MAX torque in the impact driver
- Includes two 2 Ah lithium-ion batteries
- Bright onboard LEDs on both tools
- 1/2 inch chuck on the drill driver
Cons
- Only two tools in the kit
- 2 Ah battery capacity is modest for heavy use
- No advanced variable speed settings listed
Good fit if
- You need a drill and impact driver for basic tasks
- You prefer a compact two-tool setup
- You want LED lights for visibility
Skip if
- You need more than two tools
- You require high-capacity batteries for long runtime
- You want advanced smart features
Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 2-Tool Drill and Impact Kit is a solid choice for homeowners who need a reliable drill and impact driver for occasional projects. It offers good torque and visibility, making it suitable for deck building or furniture assembly.
Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit
Best for: Users needing a circular saw and reciprocating saw
- Number of Tools
- 6-Tool (what this guide is about)
- Voltage
- 24V
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Battery Capacity
- 4.0Ah, 2.0Ah
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,950 in-lbs
View on Amazon: Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link
This Greenworks kit includes a drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, multi-tool, and flashlight. It uses a 24V brushless motor system with 1,950 in-lbs of torque on the impact driver. The set comes with 2Ah and 4Ah batteries. You get high-speed cutting and precise fastening for various projects. The compact design helps in tight spaces. It suits those needing a wide range of tools in one package.
Pros
- Includes six distinct tools for diverse tasks
- Brushless motors provide 35% longer runtime
- Circular saw reaches 4,800 RPM for fast cuts
- Multi-tool offers 18,000 OPM with six speeds
- Battery doubles as a USB-C power bank
Cons
- Heavier build at 24.8 pounds total
- Lower voltage than 20V competitors
- No mention of a carrying case
Good fit if
- You need a circular saw and reciprocating saw included
- You want brushless motors for longer tool life
- You require a portable power bank feature
Skip if
- You prefer a lighter, single-tool setup
- You already own a 24V battery platform
- You need a carrying case for transport
Verdict: Greenworks 24V 6-Tool Combo Kit fits users who need a comprehensive set with a circular saw and reciprocating saw without buying separate batteries. It is ideal for projects requiring varied tool types and portable charging capabilities.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit | Greenworks 24V Brushless 6-Tool Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | 6 |
| Voltage | 20V | 24V |
| Included Tools | Drill/driver, impact driver | not stated |
| Motor Type | not stated | Brushless |
| Battery Capacity | 2 Ah | 4.0Ah, 2.0Ah |
| Battery Included | 2 batteries and charger included | 2 batteries and charger included |
| Maximum Torque | 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver) | 1,950 in-lbs |
| Chuck Size | 1/2 in. (drill); 1/4 in. (impact driver) | 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex |
| Oscillations Per Minute | not stated | 18,000 OPM |
| Power Source | Cordless | not stated |
| Dimensions | 12.3 × 4.96 × 8.86 inches | 19.9 × 12 × 8.86 inches |
| Weight | 8.2 pounds | 24.8 pounds |
| Color | Black, Red | not stated |
| Model | CMCK201D2 | CK361 |
| Size | not stated | 6PCS Combo Kits |
Frequently asked questions
Is a 20V or 24V platform better for home projects?
The choice depends on your existing battery ecosystem. The CRAFTSMAN kit uses a 20V platform, which is common for general home repairs. The Greenworks kit operates on 24V, offering slightly higher voltage for specific tools like the circular saw. Both are cordless and suitable for occasional use.
Does the 6-tool kit include batteries for all tools?
Yes, the Greenworks 24V 6-Tool Combo Kit includes batteries to power the included tools. It comes with 4.0 Ah and 2.0 Ah options. This allows you to use the drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, oscillating tool, and work light without purchasing separate power sources immediately.
What is the weight difference between the 2-tool and 6-tool kits?
The 2-tool CRAFTSMAN kit weighs 8.2 pounds, making it highly portable for small jobs. The 6-tool Greenworks kit weighs 24.8 pounds due to the additional tools and larger batteries. You should choose the lighter option if you need to carry tools frequently to different job sites.
Can I use the 20V battery in the 24V tools?
No, the platforms are different. The CRAFTSMAN kit uses 20V batteries, while the Greenworks kit uses 24V batteries. They are not cross-compatible. You must stick to the battery type included with your chosen kit to ensure proper fit and performance for all tools in the set.
Which kit is better for cutting wood?
The Greenworks 6-Tool Kit is better for cutting wood because it includes a circular saw. The CRAFTSMAN 2-Tool Kit only contains a drill driver and impact driver, which are not designed for cutting. If you need to make straight cuts or rip lumber, the 6-tool set is necessary.
What chuck size does the drill driver have?
The CRAFTSMAN V20 drill driver features a 1/2 inch chuck size. This standard size accepts a wide variety of drill bits and driver bits. The Greenworks kit also includes a drill driver, though specific chuck details are not listed in the provided data for that model.
Does the 6-tool kit include a work light?
Yes, the Greenworks 24V 6-Tool Combo Kit includes a work light. This adds value for projects in dim areas like basements or attics. The CRAFTSMAN 2-Tool Kit does not include a light, so you would need to provide your own illumination source for dark workspaces.
Are brushless motors included in these kits?
The Greenworks kit is explicitly described as brushless, which typically offers longer motor life and better efficiency. The CRAFTSMAN kit description does not specify brushless motors. If motor longevity and power efficiency are priorities, the brushless technology in the Greenworks kit is a distinct technical advantage.

