2-Tool vs 4-Tool Power Tool Combo Kits in 2026: Key Differences
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
Choosing a 2-Tool vs 4-Tool power tool combo kit depends on your specific project needs. Both options here use the CRAFTSMAN V20 cordless system, sharing the same battery platform and voltage. The main difference lies in the number of tools included. The first kit provides two essential drivers, while the second offers four tools, adding a circular saw and task light. You should compare the included tools and battery capacity to decide which setup fits your workflow.
Key differences
| Aspect | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit | CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | 4 |
| Included Tools | Drill Driver, Impact Driver | Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, LED Task Light |
| Motor Power | 300 UWO (Drill) | 280 UWO (Drill) |
| Impact Driver Torque | 1,800 in-lbs MAX | 1,460 in-lbs |
| Battery Capacity | 2 x 2.0 Ah | Not listed |
| Weight | 8.2 pounds | 16.9 pounds |
Which one should you choose?
Choose CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit if
- You only need a drill and impact driver for basic fastening tasks.
- You want a lighter kit that is easier to carry to the job site.
- You prefer higher impact driver torque for driving larger lag bolts.
Choose CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit if
- You need a circular saw for cutting wood or ripping 2x material.
- You want a pivoting LED task light for better visibility in dark areas.
- You prefer having more tools in one box for general home repairs.
Verdict: Choose the 2-Tool kit if your work focuses on drilling and fastening, as it offers higher torque and a lighter weight. Pick the 4-Tool kit if you require cutting capabilities and extra illumination for more complex projects. Both share the same V20 battery ecosystem for compatibility.
2-Tool vs 4-Tool Kit Comparison
number of tools
The primary distinction between these kits is the count of included power tools. The CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit is a 2-Tool combo, providing a drill driver and an impact driver. This setup focuses on fastening and drilling tasks. In contrast, the CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit includes four tools. It adds a circular saw with a 6-1/2 inch blade and a pivoting LED task light to the standard drill and impact driver. If you need cutting capabilities, the 4-Tool kit offers more versatility. For basic fastening, the 2-Tool option is sufficient.
voltage and platform
Both kits operate on the same CRAFTSMAN V20 cordless system. The 2-Tool kit lists a 20V voltage, while the 4-Tool kit specifies 20V MAX. This means they share the same battery platform, allowing you to use batteries interchangeably between the tools in either kit. This compatibility is a significant advantage if you already own V20 batteries. You do not need to buy separate battery systems for either option. The voltage rating ensures consistent power delivery across both setups, making the choice dependent on tool variety rather than electrical performance differences.
included tools
The CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit includes a drill driver and an impact driver. The drill features a 1/2 inch chuck, and the impact driver uses a 1/4 inch hex chuck. The 4-Tool kit includes these same two fastening tools but adds a circular saw and an LED task light. The circular saw comes with a 6-1/2 inch blade and features tool-free beveling. The LED light provides 140 lumens of visibility. If you require cutting wood or need better workspace illumination, the 4-Tool kit provides these additional capabilities. The 2-Tool kit is limited to drilling and driving.
motor power and torque
The drill driver in the 2-Tool kit delivers up to 300 UWO of power and provides up to 90 holes per charge. The impact driver in this kit offers up to 1,800 in-lbs of MAX torque. The 4-Tool kit’s drill provides 280 UWO of power with a 2-speed gearbox. Its impact driver offers 1,460 in-lbs of torque with 2,800 RPM. The 2-Tool kit’s impact driver has higher stated torque, which may help with lag bolts. However, the 4-Tool kit’s drill has a slightly lower power rating but includes a circular saw with a 4,200 RPM motor for cutting tasks.
battery capacity
The CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit includes two 2 Ah lithium-ion batteries and a charger. The 4-Tool kit lists that a battery and charger are included but does not specify the amp-hour capacity in the provided data. Typically, V20 kits include similar 2.0 Ah batteries, but the exact capacity for the 4-Tool kit is not explicitly stated here. Both kits provide the necessary power source to operate their respective tools. You should verify the battery specification for the 4-Tool kit if runtime is a critical factor for your specific work requirements.
Which Kit Fits Your Projects Best
Homeowners needing basic drilling and fastening
This 2-Tool kit includes a drill driver and impact driver. It delivers up to 1,800 in-lbs of torque for deck screws and lag bolts. The 2Ah batteries provide runtime for up to 120 fasteners per charge. It is lighter at 8.2 pounds, making it easy to handle for standard household repairs and assembly tasks.
DIYers requiring cutting capabilities for projects
This 4-Tool kit adds a circular saw with a 6-1/2 inch blade. The saw runs at 4,200 RPM for cross-cutting or ripping 2x material. It also includes a pivoting LED task light with 140 lumens. The impact driver offers 1,460 in-lbs of torque. You get more tool variety for larger construction or renovation jobs.
Users prioritizing portability and lightweight gear
The 2-Tool combo weighs only 8.2 pounds, compared to 16.9 pounds for the 4-Tool version. It includes two 2Ah batteries and a charger. The drill driver provides up to 300 UWO of power. This lighter setup is easier to carry to job sites or store in tight spaces without sacrificing essential driving performance.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit | basic drilling and fastening tasks | Check price of CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit on Amazon |
| 2 | CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit | Projects requiring a circular saw and high torque | Check price of CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit on Amazon |
The products compared
CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Best for: basic drilling and fastening tasks
- Number of Tools
- 2-Tool (what this guide is about)
- Voltage
- 20V
- Included Tools
- Drill/driver, impact driver
- Battery Capacity
- 2 Ah
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver)
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit Affiliate link
This CRAFTSMAN V20 kit includes a drill driver and an impact driver, powered by 20V lithium-ion batteries. It features a 1/2-inch chuck on the drill and delivers up to 1,800 in-lbs of torque on the impact driver. The set comes with two 2 Ah batteries and a charger. It is designed for users who need a compact, cordless setup for general fastening and drilling tasks without the bulk of larger tool kits.
Pros
- 1,800 in-lbs MAX torque on the impact driver
- Includes two 2 Ah batteries and a charger
- Bright LED lights on both tools for visibility
- 1/2-inch chuck size on the drill driver
Cons
- Only includes two tools in the kit
- 2 Ah battery capacity limits runtime for heavy use
- Drill driver motor power rated at 300 UWO
Good fit if
- You need a lightweight, portable setup for light repairs
- You want a drill and impact driver combo
- You prefer cordless tools with LED work lights
Skip if
- You require more than two tools in one kit
- You need high-capacity batteries for all-day work
- You require a circular saw or other large tool
Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 2-Tool Drill and Impact Kit is a focused solution for users who only need a drill and an impact driver. It suits those who value portability and do not require additional tools like saws or sanders in their initial purchase.
CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit
Best for: Projects requiring a circular saw and high torque
- Number of Tools
- 4-Tool (what this guide is about)
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Battery Included
- Battery and charger included
- Chuck Size
- 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
- Included Accessories
- 6-1/2 in. blade, charger
- Included Tools
- Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw
View on Amazon: CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit Affiliate link
This CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX kit includes four cordless tools: a drill driver, impact driver, circular saw, and LED light. The 20V system delivers 280 UWO in the drill and 1,460 in-lbs of torque in the impact driver. The circular saw features a 6-1/2 inch blade running at 4,200 RPM. It is a complete 4-Tool solution for general construction and DIY projects.
Pros
- Includes four essential tools: drill, impact driver, saw, and light
- Impact driver provides 1,460 in-lbs of torque for heavy duty fastening
- Circular saw cuts at 4,200 RPM with a 6-1/2 inch blade
- Drill offers two speed ranges up to 1,500 RPM
- LED task light provides 140 lumens for improved visibility
Cons
- Heavier build at 16.9 pounds compared to lighter 2-tool options
- Larger footprint with a 19-inch length
- Circular saw blade is fixed at 6-1/2 inches
Good fit if
- You need a circular saw for ripping or cross cutting 2x material
- You want a complete 4-Tool kit with a single battery system
- You require high torque fastening with the 1,460 in-lbs impact driver
Skip if
- You only need a drill and impact driver for basic tasks
- You prefer a lighter, more compact tool set under 10 pounds
- You do not need a circular saw for your projects
Verdict: CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX 4-Tool Kit is a robust option for users who need a circular saw and high torque in one package. It suits those who value the versatility of four tools over portability.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | CRAFTSMAN V20 Drill and Impact Driver Kit | CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 2 | 4 |
| Voltage | 20V | 20V MAX |
| Included Tools | Drill/driver, impact driver | not stated |
| Battery Capacity | 2 Ah | not stated |
| Battery Included | 2 batteries and charger included | Battery and charger included |
| Maximum Torque | 1,800 in-lbs MAX (impact driver) | not stated |
| Chuck Size | 1/2 in. (drill); 1/4 in. (impact driver) | 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex |
| Included Accessories | not stated | 6-1/2 in. blade, charger |
| Power Source | Cordless | Cordless |
| Dimensions | 12.3 × 4.96 × 8.86 inches | 19 × 9.6 × 11.5 inches |
| Weight | 8.2 pounds | 16.9 pounds |
| Color | Black, Red | not stated |
| Model | CMCK201D2 | CMCK401D2 |
Frequently asked questions
Can I use the batteries from the 2-Tool kit with the 4-Tool kit?
Yes, both kits belong to the CRAFTSMAN V20 system. This shared platform means the 2.0 Ah batteries from the 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit work with the 4-Tool Combo Kit. You can swap batteries between the drill, impact driver, and circular saw without needing separate power sources.
What is the weight difference between the 2-Tool and 4-Tool kits?
The 2-Tool kit weighs 8.2 pounds, while the 4-Tool kit weighs 16.9 pounds. The heavier weight in the 4-Tool version comes from the added circular saw and extra batteries. You should consider this if you need to carry the tools up ladders or over long distances.
Does the 4-Tool kit include a circular saw?
Yes, the CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit includes a circular saw. The 2-Tool kit only contains a drill driver and an impact driver. If your projects require cutting wood or sheet goods, the 4-Tool option provides that capability without purchasing a separate saw.
Is the chuck size the same for both kits?
Both the 2-Tool and 4-Tool kits feature a 1/2 inch chuck size. This standard size accepts a wide variety of drill bits and driver bits. You can use the same accessories for drilling holes or driving fasteners in either kit, ensuring compatibility across your tool collection.
How much battery capacity do the 2-Tool kits provide?
The 2-Tool Drill and Impact Driver Kit includes 2.0 Ah batteries. This capacity offers sufficient runtime for basic drilling and fastening tasks around the home. While the 4-Tool kit also uses the V20 platform, the specific battery capacity for that package is not listed in the provided data.
Which kit is better for deck building projects?
The 2-Tool kit is well-suited for basic drilling and fastening tasks like deck construction. It includes a drill driver and impact driver, which handle screws and bolts efficiently. If you also need to cut decking boards, the 4-Tool kit adds a circular saw for complete functionality.
Do both kits use cordless power sources?
Yes, both kits are cordless and powered by rechargeable batteries. This design allows you to work without being tethered to an electrical outlet. You can move freely around your workspace, whether you are using the 2-Tool or 4-Tool configuration, without managing power cords.

