As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

Greenworks or Skil? Drill Drivers Compared in 2026

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

Choosing between greenworks vs skil drill driver models requires looking at their published specifications. Both tools feature brushless motors and 1/2-inch keyless chucks, ensuring reliable performance and easy bit changes. The main difference lies in their power systems and torque output. Greenworks offers 24V voltage with 530 in-lbs of torque, while Skil provides 20V voltage with 450 in-lbs of torque. These specs define their respective strengths for various tasks.

Key differences

AspectGreenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill DriverSkil PWR CORE 20 Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver
Voltage24V20V
Maximum Torque530 in-lbs450 in. lbs
Speed Settings2-speed, 21+1 clutch17-stage
Battery TechnologyLithium-ionPWR CORE 20 lithium
USB Chargingnot listedYes
Tool Weight2.43 poundsnot listed

Which one should you choose?

Choose Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver if

  • You need higher torque for driving larger fasteners or drilling into dense materials.
  • You prefer a tool with a 2-speed gearbox and more clutch positions for precision control.
  • You want a lighter tool at 2.43 pounds for extended use in tight spaces.

Choose Skil PWR CORE 20 Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver if

  • You want to charge other devices on the go using the built-in USB port.
  • You prefer battery technology designed for extended runtime and longer battery life.
  • You need an LED light with pre-light and after-glow features for better visibility.

Verdict: The Greenworks model suits users who prioritize raw power and precise torque adjustments with its higher voltage and 2-speed gearbox. The Skil option is better for those who value added convenience features like USB charging and advanced battery cooling technology. Your choice depends on whether you need maximum torque or versatile auxiliary functions.

Greenworks vs Skil Drill Specs

Voltage and power

Edge: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

The Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill Driver operates at 24 volts, while the Skil PWR CORE 20 runs on 20 volts. Greenworks claims its 24V lithium-ion battery provides 20% more power and 35% more runtime compared to 20V products. This higher voltage system is designed to deliver fade-free power with no memory loss after charging. Skil relies on its PWR CORE 20 technology, which wraps each cell in cooling material to extend battery life. This cooling feature reportedly allows for 25% longer runtime and twice the battery life compared to standard cells. You get more raw voltage from Greenworks, but Skil focuses on thermal management for longevity.

Maximum torque

Edge: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

Torque determines how well a drill can drive screws or drill into hard materials. The Greenworks 24V model delivers a maximum torque of 530 in-lbs. This is a significant output for a compact drill driver. The Skil PWR CORE 20 provides up to 450 in-lbs of torque. While both tools use brushless motors to maintain power, the Greenworks unit offers 80 in-lbs more twisting force. This difference may matter if you frequently drive large screws or drill into dense hardwoods. Skil’s output is sufficient for general tasks, but Greenworks has the numerical advantage in raw power specs.

Clutch and control

Edge: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

Precision control is vital for different driving applications. The Greenworks drill features a 21+1 position clutch, giving you 22 distinct torque settings. It also includes a variable speed trigger and a 2-speed gearbox with speeds of 0-500 and 0-2000 RPM. This allows for fine adjustments in both speed and torque. The Skil drill offers a 17-stage torque adjustment. It also includes precision speed control and a drill mode. While Greenworks provides more clutch settings for finer tuning, both tools offer variable speed triggers for user control. The Greenworks gearbox adds a low-speed option for higher torque applications.

Work light features

Edge: Skil PWR CORE 20 Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

Both tools include built-in LED worklights to illuminate your workspace. The Greenworks light turns on for up to 10 seconds prior to pulling the trigger, helping you see your target before drilling. The Skil strip LED worklight offers broader and brighter illumination. It also features pre-light and after-glow functions, staying on for up to 10 minutes. This longer duration allows you to inspect your work without holding the trigger. Skil’s lighting system is more versatile for extended periods of use, while Greenworks focuses on quick activation for accuracy.

Battery and charging

Edge: Skil PWR CORE 20 Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

Both kits include a 2.0 Ah battery and a charger. However, Skil adds a unique feature: a USB port on the battery for mobile charging. This allows you to power devices on the go using the drill battery. Greenworks does not list this feature in its specifications. Both brands emphasize battery performance, with Greenworks citing fade-free power and Skil highlighting cooling technology for longer life. If you need to charge a phone or other USB device in the field, Skil provides that capability directly through the tool.

Which drill driver fits your needs

Heavy-duty users needing max torque

Our pick: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

The Greenworks model delivers 530 inch-pounds of torque, which is significantly higher than the Skil’s 450 inch-pounds. Its 24-volt system provides more power and extended runtime compared to the 20-volt alternative. The 21-plus-1 clutch settings offer precise control for demanding fastening tasks where maximum force is required.

Users needing USB charging capability

Our pick: Skil PWR CORE 20 Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

The Skil drill driver includes a USB port for mobile charging, allowing you to power devices on the go. This feature is absent from the Greenworks specifications. The Skil also offers a 10-minute LED worklight with pre-light and after-glow, providing superior illumination duration for working in dark or confined spaces.

Those preferring a compact lightweight tool

Our pick: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

The Greenworks drill weighs 2.43 pounds and measures 9.38 inches in length. This compact design is well-suited for tight spaces and reduces user fatigue during extended use. The overmold cushioned grip further minimizes vibration, making it a comfortable choice for detailed work or overhead drilling tasks.

The products compared

Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

Best for: compact high-torque drilling tasks

Power Source
24V Cordless
Voltage
24V
Maximum Torque
530 in-lbs
Chuck Size
1/2 in.
Motor Type
Brushless
Number of Tools
1-tool

View on Amazon: Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver Affiliate link

This Greenworks drill driver features a brushless motor and a 1/2-inch keyless ratcheting metal chuck. It delivers 530 in-lbs of torque with a 2-speed gearbox ranging from 0 to 2000 RPM. The compact 2.43-pound tool includes a 21+1 position clutch for precision. You get fade-free power from the 24V lithium-ion battery. This kit suits users needing a lightweight, high-torque option for tight spaces.

Pros

  • Brushless motor for extended runtime
  • 530 in-lbs maximum torque
  • 1/2-inch metal ratcheting chuck
  • Compact 2.43-pound design
  • 21+1 position clutch settings

Cons

  • Single tool only in this kit
  • No variable speed beyond two gear ranges
  • LED light activates only before trigger pull

Good fit if

  • You need high torque in a compact body
  • You prefer metal chucks for durability
  • You work in tight spaces

Skip if

  • You require an impact driver
  • You need multiple tools in one box
  • You prefer 20V standard batteries

Verdict: Greenworks 24V Brushless 530 in-lb Drill offers strong torque in a lightweight frame. It fits users who prioritize power density and chuck durability over multi-tool convenience.

Skil PWR CORE 20 Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver

Best for: compact home projects and USB charging needs

Power Source
PWR CORE 20 cordless
Voltage
20V
Maximum Torque
450 in. lbs
Chuck Size
1/2 in.
Motor Type
Brushless
Battery Included
2.0Ah battery and charger

View on Amazon: Skil PWR CORE 20 Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver Affiliate link

This Skil kit features a 20V brushless motor delivering 450 in. lbs of torque. It includes a 1/2-inch keyless chuck for quick bit changes and a 17-stage torque adjustment for precision. The PWR CORE 20 battery offers extended runtime and a USB port for mobile charging. You get a compact tool with an LED worklight. It suits users needing portable power for various driving tasks.

Pros

  • 20V brushless motor provides 450 in. lbs of torque
  • 1/2-inch single-sleeve keyless ratcheting chuck allows fast bit changes
  • 17-stage torque adjustment with precision speed control
  • PWR CORE 20 battery includes USB port for mobile charging

Cons

  • Includes only one 2.0Ah battery in the kit
  • Compact size may limit heavy-duty industrial use
  • No impact driver included in this specific kit variation

Good fit if

  • You need a compact drill for tight spaces
  • You value USB charging capability on the battery
  • You require 17 torque settings for different materials

Skip if

  • You need a two-battery kit for continuous work
  • You require an impact driver for masonry
  • You prefer a 1/4-inch hex chuck for quick bits

Verdict: Skil PWR Core 20 20V Compact Drill Driver fits users who need a lightweight, brushless tool with USB charging for general home projects. It is ideal for those prioritizing compactness and precise torque control over raw power.

Specifications side by side

Spec Greenworks 24V Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver Skil PWR CORE 20 Brushless 1/2-Inch Drill Driver
Power Source 24V Cordless PWR CORE 20 cordless
Voltage 24V 20V
Maximum Torque 530 in-lbs 450 in. lbs
Chuck Size 1/2 in. 1/2 in.
Motor Type Brushless Brushless
Battery Included not stated 2.0Ah battery and charger
Number of Tools 1-tool not stated
Included Tools Drill/Driver not stated
Speed Settings 2-speed, 21+1 clutch 17-stage
Tool Weight 2.43 pounds not stated
Battery Capacity 2.0 Ah 2.0 Ah
Dimensions 9.38 × 4.69 × 10.2 inches 1 × 1 × 1 inches
Weight 2.43 pounds not stated
Size 530 in-lbs Drill Driver One Size
Color Green Red
Model DDB5300K DL6293B-10

Frequently asked questions

Which drill driver is lighter for overhead work?

The Greenworks model is lighter at 2.43 pounds. This makes it easier to handle during extended overhead tasks. The Skil unit lacks a published weight in the data, so you cannot compare mass directly. Choose Greenworks if low weight is your primary constraint for comfort and control.

Do both models include a work light?

Yes, both kits include a work light. The Greenworks package lists a drill driver and work light. The Skil package also includes a drill driver and work light. This feature helps you see your workpiece clearly in dimly lit areas without needing an external light source.

What is the difference in voltage between these drills?

The Greenworks drill operates at 24 volts. The Skil drill operates at 20 volts. Higher voltage generally supports higher torque output. The Greenworks 24V system provides more power density than the Skil 20V system, which is better for tougher drilling applications.

Are the chucks compatible with standard bits?

Both tools feature a 1/2-inch chuck size. This is a standard size for most drill and driver bits. You can use common bits from various manufacturers with either tool. The keyless design allows for quick bit changes without needing a separate wrench.

Is the motor type efficient for battery life?

Both drills use brushless motors. Brushless motors are more efficient than brushed ones, extending battery runtime. They also require less maintenance and offer longer tool life. This technology helps you get more work done per charge compared to older brushed motor designs.

Which tool is better for compact storage?

The Greenworks drill has specific dimensions of 9.38 inches in length. The Skil data lists size as one size without specific measurements. If you need precise fitment in tight spaces, the Greenworks dimensions help you plan storage. The Skil compact design is noted but lacks exact metrics.

See also