As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX* 6 Tools or PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX* Cordless Drill? Which PORTER-CABLE Model to Buy

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

Choosing between the porter cable 20v max 6 tools vs 20v max cordless drill depends on your project scope. Both kits share a 20V MAX power system and identical drill specifications. They include a 1/2-inch chuck and high torque impact drivers. The main difference lies in the tool count and variety. One kit offers six tools for diverse tasks, while the other provides four essential tools. You need to decide if the extra saws and oscillating tool justify the larger package for your specific needs.

Key differences

AspectPORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo KitPORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 4-Tool Cordless Kit
Number of Tools64
Included ToolsDrill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Reciprocating Saw, Oscillating ToolDrill Driver, Impact Driver, Reciprocating Saw, Flashlight
Circular SawIncludedNot listed
Oscillating ToolIncludedNot listed
LightingWork LightFlashlight (4 LED bulbs, 120 Lumens)
Reciprocating Saw Stroke7/8-Inch1-Inch

Which one should you choose?

Choose PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit if

  • You need a circular saw for cutting sheet goods or lumber.
  • You require an oscillating tool for detailed trimming or sanding tasks.
  • You want the most versatile kit with the highest number of included tools.

Choose PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 4-Tool Cordless Kit if

  • You primarily need a drill, impact driver, and reciprocating saw.
  • You prefer a reciprocating saw with a longer 1-inch stroke length.
  • You want a compact kit that excludes the circular and oscillating tools.

Verdict: The 6-Tool Combo Kit is the better choice if you need a comprehensive set for varied home projects. The 4-Tool Kit suits you if you only need the core drilling and cutting tools. Both share the same drill performance and voltage platform.

Porter-Cable 6-Tool vs 4-Tool Kit

Number of Tools

Edge: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit

The PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit includes six distinct tools in its package. This set provides a Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Reciprocating Saw, and Oscillating Tool. In contrast, the PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 4-Tool Cordless Kit contains four tools. This kit features a Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Reciprocating Saw, and Flashlight. You get two additional specialized tools with the six-tool version. The circular saw and oscillating tool expand your capabilities for cutting and sanding tasks. If you need a wider variety of functions without buying separate items, the six-tool kit offers more immediate utility for diverse projects.

Voltage System

Edge: Tie

Both the PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit and the PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 4-Tool Cordless Kit operate on the same 20V MAX power system. This means the batteries are interchangeable between both kits. You can use the same battery packs for drills, impact drivers, saws, and lights regardless of which kit you purchase. The voltage rating indicates the maximum power output potential for the tools. Since both products share this identical platform, you do not lose compatibility by choosing one over the other. Your existing PORTER-CABLE 20V batteries will work with either selection, ensuring a consistent power source across your tool collection.

Drill Specifications

Edge: Tie

The drill drivers in both kits are identical in their core specifications. Each features a 1/2-inch chuck and a compact design that is 8.25 inches long and weighs 3.5 lbs. Both drills deliver 283 Units Watts Out and include a two-speed gearbox with speeds of 0-350 and 0-1,500 RPM. They also both come equipped with built-in LED lights to illuminate your work area. The performance metrics for drilling and driving are the same. You will not notice a difference in drilling capacity or speed between the two kits. The choice between them does not affect the primary tool you will use most often.

Impact Driver Performance

Edge: Tie

Both kits include a 1/4-inch hex impact driver with identical performance ratings. Each driver provides 1,450 in.-lbs. of torque. The PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit lists a maximum speed of 2,900 RPM and 3,000 BPM. The PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 4-Tool Kit lists a range of 0-2,800 RPM and 0-3,100 BPM. These figures are functionally equivalent for most fastening tasks. Both models feature quick-release or quick-load chucks for easy bit changes. You get the same driving power and speed in either package. The slight variation in listed RPM ranges does not impact practical usability for typical construction or DIY work.

Included Accessories

Edge: Tie

The accessories included with each kit differ slightly. The PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit comes with a cutting blade and a USB charger. The USB charger allows you to charge small devices via the tool battery. The PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 4-Tool Cordless Kit includes a flashlight with 4 LED bulbs producing 120 Lumens. This flashlight has a pivoting head and a contoured handle. While the six-tool kit offers a USB charger, the four-tool kit provides a dedicated high-lumen light. Depending on whether you need USB charging capability or a focused work light, one accessory may be more valuable to you than the other.

Which Porter-Cable Kit Fits Your Work

General contractors needing diverse tool variety

Our pick: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit

You get six tools including a circular saw and oscillating tool. The 6-Tool Kit covers more ground with a 5-1/2-inch carbide blade for cutting and a reciprocating saw with a 7/8-inch stroke. This variety suits projects requiring multiple distinct operations without switching systems.

DIYers focused on drilling and fastening

Our pick: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 4-Tool Cordless Kit

The 4-Tool Kit provides the core drill and impact driver you likely need most. It features the same 1/2-inch chuck and 1,450 in-lbs torque as the larger set. You save space and complexity while retaining high-performance motor capabilities for standard household assembly tasks.

Users prioritizing cutting power and precision

Our pick: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit

Only the 6-Tool Kit includes a circular saw with a 3,700 RPM motor and 50-degree beveling shoe. If you frequently cut lumber or need precise angled cuts, this dedicated tool offers superior capacity compared to the 4-Tool Kit, which lacks any cutting saw entirely.

Those wanting a compact flashlight solution

Our pick: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 4-Tool Cordless Kit

The 4-Tool Kit includes a dedicated flashlight with 120 lumens and a pivoting head. While the 6-Tool Kit has a work light, the 4-Tool version offers a contoured overmolded handle for better grip. This specific lighting configuration suits tight spaces where a handheld light is essential.

The products compared

PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit

Best for: Users needing multiple cutting and fastening tools

Number of Tools
6
Voltage
20V MAX
Maximum Torque
1,450 in.-lbs.
Chuck Size
1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
Included Accessories
Cutting blade, USB charger
Included Tools
Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Reciprocating Saw, Oscillating Tool

View on Amazon: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link

This kit includes six cordless tools powered by a 20V MAX battery system. It features a drill with 283 watts of power and an impact driver delivering 1,450 in-lbs of torque. You also get a circular saw with a 5-1/2-inch blade and a reciprocating saw with a 7/8-inch stroke. The set includes a work light and an oscillating tool. It suits users needing a wide range of cutting and fastening capabilities in one package.

Pros

  • Includes six distinct tools for versatile projects
  • Impact driver provides 1,450 in-lbs of torque
  • Drill offers two-speed gearbox for varied speeds
  • Circular saw features a 5-1/2-inch carbide blade
  • Reciprocating saw has a 7/8-inch stroke length

Cons

  • Heavier and bulkier than single-drill kits
  • No battery or charger included in specs
  • Oscillating tool specs not detailed in data

Good fit if

  • You need a circular saw for cutting lumber
  • You require an impact driver for heavy bolts
  • You want a reciprocating saw for demolition

Skip if

  • You only need a drill for light tasks
  • You prefer a compact single-tool setup
  • You want a battery included with purchase

Verdict: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit fits users who need a circular saw and reciprocating saw alongside a drill. It is ideal for those tackling diverse cutting and fastening jobs without buying separate tools.

PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 4-Tool Cordless Kit

Best for: Homeowners needing drill, driver, and saw

Number of Tools
4
Voltage
20V MAX
Maximum Torque
1450 in.-lbs.
Chuck Size
1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
Included Tools
Drill Driver
Power Source
Cordless

View on Amazon: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 4-Tool Cordless Kit Affiliate link

This kit includes a drill, impact driver, reciprocating saw, and flashlight. The drill offers 283 watts and 1,500 RPM. The impact driver delivers 1,450 in-lbs of torque. Both tools feature LED lights. The saw has a 3,000 SPM drivetrain. This set suits users needing basic drilling and cutting tasks. It provides essential tools for general home projects.

Pros

  • Drill features 283 Units Watts Out power output
  • Impact driver delivers 1,450 in-lbs of torque
  • Reciprocating saw reaches 3,000 SPM for cutting
  • Drill and impact driver include built-in LED lights

Cons

  • Includes only four tools in the kit
  • Drill chuck is 1/2-inch, not 3/8-inch
  • Impact driver uses 1/4-inch hex chuck only

Good fit if

  • You need a drill and impact driver for basic assembly
  • You require a reciprocating saw for demolition tasks
  • You want tools with LED work lights

Skip if

  • You need more than four tools in your set
  • You require a hammer drill function for masonry
  • You prefer a single-speed drill for simplicity

Verdict: PORTER-CABLE 20V 4-Tool Drill Kit offers solid torque and cutting speed for homeowners. It fits users who need a drill, driver, and saw for standard repairs.

Specifications side by side

Spec PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 4-Tool Cordless Kit
Number of Tools 6 4
Voltage 20V MAX 20V MAX
Maximum Torque 1,450 in.-lbs. 1450 in.-lbs.
Chuck Size 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
Included Accessories Cutting blade, USB charger not stated
Included Tools Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Reciprocating Saw, Oscillating Tool Drill Driver
Power Source Cordless Cordless
Dimensions 17.8 × 11.6 × 11.5 inches 18.3 × 8.25 × 8.38 inches
Weight 8 ounces not stated
Size One Size One Size
Color Combo Kit Multi
Model PCCK617L6 PCCK615L4

Frequently asked questions

Does the 6-tool kit include a reciprocating saw?

Yes, the PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit includes a reciprocating saw. This tool allows you to perform demolition work and cutting tasks that a standard drill cannot handle. The kit provides a comprehensive set for diverse jobs, including a circular saw and oscillating tool alongside the drill driver.

What is the difference between the 6-tool and 4-tool kits?

The primary difference is the number of included tools. The 6-tool kit contains six items, such as a circular saw and work light. The 4-tool kit focuses on essential fastening and drilling tasks. Both share the same 20V MAX power system, but the 6-tool version offers greater variety for complex projects.

Is the PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX system compatible across both kits?

Yes, both kits utilize the 20V MAX power system. This means you can use the same batteries for any tool in either package. You do not need separate power sources for the drill in the 4-tool kit versus the drill in the 6-tool kit, ensuring consistency in your power supply.

Can I use the 6-tool kit for basic home repairs?

You can use the 6-tool kit for basic repairs, though it offers more tools than typically needed. It includes a drill driver and impact driver for fastening. The additional tools like the circular saw may be unnecessary for simple tasks, but they provide flexibility if your project scope expands beyond standard repairs.

Does the 4-tool kit include a circular saw?

No, the PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 4-Tool Cordless Kit does not list a circular saw in its included tools. It focuses on the drill driver as the primary tool. If you need cutting capabilities, you would need to select the 6-tool kit or purchase a separate saw, as the 4-tool set is drill-centric.

Are the drill specifications identical in both kits?

Yes, both kits share identical drill specifications. They both feature a 1/2-inch chuck and high torque impact drivers. The core performance of the drilling and fastening tools remains consistent regardless of whether you choose the 4-tool or 6-tool package, allowing you to choose based on the additional tools you require.

See also