PORTER-CABLE vs Greenworks Power Tool Combo Kits: Which Brand Fits You?
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
When you compare the PORTER-CABLE vs greenworks power tool combo kit options, you see two distinct approaches to cordless power. Both brands offer versatile sets including drills, impact drivers, and saws for general home projects. The main difference lies in their power systems and tool counts. PORTER-CABLE provides a six-tool set on a 20V platform, while Greenworks delivers a five-tool kit with brushless motors on a higher 24V system. Each kit balances capacity and performance differently for your specific needs.
Key differences
| Aspect | PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit | Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 6 | 5 |
| Voltage | 20V MAX | 24V |
| Motor Type | not listed | Brushless |
| Included Tools | Drill, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Reciprocating Saw, Work Light, Oscillating Tool | Drill, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Multi-Tool, Flashlight |
| Maximum Torque | 1,450 in.-lbs. | 1,950 in.-lbs. |
Which one should you choose?
Choose PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit if
- You need a reciprocating saw for demolition or cutting tasks.
- You prefer a larger set with six distinct tools.
- You are already invested in the 20V MAX battery ecosystem.
Choose Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit if
- You want higher torque for heavy-duty fastening tasks.
- You value brushless motors for longer runtime and cooler operation.
- You prefer a higher voltage 24V system for increased power.
Verdict: The PORTER-CABLE kit suits those who need a reciprocating saw and more total tools. The Greenworks option is better for users prioritizing brushless motor efficiency and higher torque. Your choice depends on whether tool variety or raw power matters more to you.
Specs and Power Differences
Number of tools
The PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit includes six distinct tools in its package. You get a drill driver, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, work light, and an oscillating tool. This provides a broader range of capabilities for different tasks. The Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit contains five tools. It includes a drill driver, impact driver, circular saw, multi-tool, and a flashlight. While it covers essential needs, it lacks the reciprocating saw found in the Porter-Cable set. If you need more variety in tool types, the six-tool option offers more versatility for general household repairs.
Voltage system
Power systems differ significantly between these two kits. The Greenworks kit operates on a 24V platform. The manufacturer states this system delivers two times more torque and thirty-five percent longer runtime compared to 20V competitors. The motor also runs cooler and provides fade-free power. The PORTER-CABLE kit uses a 20V MAX system. This is a standard voltage for many cordless tools but is lower than the Greenworks offering. Higher voltage often translates to more power for demanding tasks. If you prioritize maximum power output and extended runtime, the 24V system has a clear advantage. However, 20V tools are widely compatible across many brands.
Motor type
Motor technology affects efficiency and longevity. The Greenworks kit features brushless motors throughout its included tools. Brushless motors are more efficient, generate less heat, and typically last longer than brushed motors. They also provide more power for the same battery size. The PORTER-CABLE kit does not specify brushless motors in its published data. Most tools in this price range use brushed motors, which are reliable but less efficient. Brushless technology offers better performance and durability over time. If you want modern, efficient motors that reduce maintenance, the Greenworks brushless design is superior. The PORTER-CABLE relies on traditional motor technology.
Maximum torque
Torque determines how much twisting force the tools can apply. The Greenworks impact driver delivers 1,950 in-lbs of torque. This is a high value suitable for heavy-duty fastening and large bolts. The PORTER-CABLE impact driver provides 1,450 in-lbs of torque. While still powerful for most home projects, it is significantly lower than the Greenworks model. The drill driver in the Greenworks kit also offers 400 in-lbs of torque. The PORTER-CABLE drill lists 283 units watts out, which is a different metric but generally indicates less raw torque. For demanding construction or dense materials, the higher torque in the Greenworks kit provides an edge.
Battery capacity
Battery specifications impact how long you can work before recharging. The Greenworks kit includes two batteries with capacities of 4.0 Ah and 2.0 Ah. The 4.0 Ah battery provides extended runtime for larger jobs. The PORTER-CABLE kit does not list specific battery capacities in the provided data. It mentions a USB charger, but the Ah rating is missing. Without knowing the capacity, it is difficult to compare runtime directly. However, the Greenworks kit explicitly includes a 4.0 Ah option, which is substantial. If you need longer continuous work sessions, the known 4.0 Ah battery in the Greenworks set is a clear advantage. The PORTER-CABLE battery specs are not listed here.
Which Porter-Cable or Greenworks Kit Fits You
Users needing reciprocating saws and 6 tools
The PORTER-CABLE kit includes six tools, adding a reciprocating saw that the Greenworks set lacks. You get a drill with 283 watts out and an impact driver delivering 1,450 in-lbs of torque. This combination covers more cutting and fastening tasks in one package, making it ideal if you require that specific saw for demolition or pruning work.
Professionals prioritizing brushless motors and voltage
Greenworks uses brushless motors for cooler operation and longer tool life. You receive a 24V system with higher torque, offering 1,950 in-lbs in the impact driver and 400 in-lbs in the drill. The circular saw runs at 4,800 RPM with a brushless motor. This setup provides more power and efficiency for heavy-duty daily use compared to brushed alternatives.
Buyers wanting fast charging and USB-C
The Greenworks charger features USB-C technology with 65W super fast charging capabilities. The battery pack also supports two-way USB-C charging, allowing you to power devices like phones or tablets. This adds significant convenience for on-site work, letting you recharge tools and electronics quickly without needing separate chargers or cables for each device.
The products compared
PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit
Best for: General home projects requiring six tools
- Number of Tools
- 6
- Voltage
- 20V MAX
- Maximum Torque
- 1,450 in.-lbs.
- Chuck Size
- 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
- Included Accessories
- Cutting blade, USB charger
- Included Tools
- Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Reciprocating Saw, Oscillating Tool
View on Amazon: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link
This PORTER-CABLE kit includes a drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, work light, and oscillating tool. The drill offers 283 watts and a two-speed gearbox. The impact driver delivers 1,450 in-lbs of torque. The circular saw features a 5-1/2-inch blade with a 2-1/8-inch cutting capacity. You get six tools for various tasks. This set suits those needing a broad range of cordless power tools.
Pros
- Drill features a two-speed gearbox (0-350/0-1,500 RPM)
- Impact driver provides 1,450 in-lbs of torque
- Circular saw has a 5-1/2-inch carbide blade
- Includes six distinct tools for multiple applications
Cons
- Impact driver torque is lower than competitors
- Drill motor wattage is modest for heavy duty work
- No battery included in the kit
Good fit if
- You need a drill and impact driver for general tasks
- You want a circular saw with a 5-1/2-inch blade
- You require a reciprocating saw with variable speed
Skip if
- You need maximum torque for heavy structural work
- You require high-speed drilling for hard materials
- You want batteries and charger included in the box
Verdict: PORTER-CABLE 20V 6-Tool Combo Kit fits DIYers who need a versatile set including a circular saw and reciprocating saw. It is a practical option for users who already own compatible batteries.
Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit
Best for: DIY home repairs and carpentry projects
- Number of Tools
- 5
- Voltage
- 24V
- Motor Type
- Brushless
- Battery Capacity
- 4.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah
- Battery Included
- 2 batteries and charger included
- Maximum Torque
- 1,950 in.-lbs.
View on Amazon: Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit Affiliate link
This Greenworks 5-tool kit includes a drill, impact driver, circular saw, multi-tool, and flashlight. It runs on a 24V brushless system with 4.0Ah and 2.0Ah batteries. The drill offers 400 in-lbs torque, while the impact driver delivers 1,950 in-lbs. The circular saw features a brushless motor at 4,800 RPM. You get a compact, lightweight set designed for home repairs and carpentry projects.
Pros
- 24V brushless motor system provides 2x more torque than 20V competitors.
- Impact driver delivers 1,950 in-lbs of torque for heavy-duty fastening.
- Circular saw operates at 4,800 RPM with a 6.5-inch blade.
- Multi-tool offers 18,000 OPM with 6 speed settings and tool-less changes.
- Includes 4.0Ah and 2.0Ah batteries for extended runtime.
Cons
- Circular saw has a maximum cutting depth of only 2-1/4 inches.
- Drill torque is 400 in-lbs, which is lower than the impact driver.
- Oscillating tool has a narrow 3-degree oscillation angle.
Good fit if
- You need a versatile set with five tools for general home projects.
- You prefer the higher voltage and torque of a 24V brushless system.
- You want a compact drill and impact driver for tight spaces.
Skip if
- You require a circular saw with a cutting depth greater than 2-1/4 inches.
- You need a high-torque drill exceeding 400 in-lbs for professional use.
- You prefer a 20V battery platform over the 24V system.
Verdict: Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Combo Kit suits DIYers who want a versatile, compact set with strong brushless performance. It is ideal for home repairs where the impact driver's 1,950 in-lbs torque and the saw's 4,800 RPM speed handle most tasks.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit | Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Tools | 6 | 5 |
| Voltage | 20V MAX | 24V |
| Motor Type | not stated | Brushless |
| Battery Capacity | not stated | 4.0 Ah, 2.0 Ah |
| Battery Included | not stated | 2 batteries and charger included |
| Maximum Torque | 1,450 in.-lbs. | 1,950 in.-lbs. |
| Chuck Size | 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex | 1/2 in. drill, 1/4 in. impact driver |
| Oscillations Per Minute | not stated | 18,000 OPM |
| Included Accessories | Cutting blade, USB charger | not stated |
| Included Tools | Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Reciprocating Saw, Oscillating Tool | Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Oscillating Tool |
| Power Source | Cordless | not stated |
| Dimensions | 17.8 × 11.6 × 11.5 inches | 19.8 × 11.2 × 8.8 inches |
| Weight | 8 ounces | 21 pounds |
| Size | One Size | 5PCS Combo Kits |
| Color | Combo Kit | not stated |
| Model | PCCK617L6 | CK351 |
Frequently asked questions
Which kit offers more tools for general home use?
The PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit includes six distinct tools. It features a drill driver, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, work light, and oscillating tool. The Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit contains five items. It includes a drill driver, impact driver, circular saw, work light, and oscillating tool, lacking the reciprocating saw.
Does the Greenworks kit use brushless motors?
Yes, the Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit utilizes brushless motors. This technology is designed to improve efficiency and extend runtime. The PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit does not specify brushless motors in its published attributes. It relies on standard motor technology for its six included tools.
What battery capacities are included in the Greenworks set?
The Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Combo Kit includes batteries with 4.0 Ah and 2.0 Ah capacities. These provide flexibility for different tasks. The PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit data does not list specific battery capacities. It focuses on the number of tools and voltage system.
Which brand is better for DIY home repairs?
The Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit suits DIY home repairs and carpentry projects. Its compact design and strong brushless performance handle most tasks. The PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit fits general home projects requiring six tools. It is practical for users who already own compatible batteries.
How do the voltages compare between the two kits?
The Greenworks kit operates on a 24V system. The PORTER-CABLE kit uses a 20V MAX system. Both voltages provide sufficient power for cordless home tools. The choice depends on your existing battery ecosystem or specific tool requirements rather than voltage alone.
Does the PORTER-CABLE kit include a reciprocating saw?
Yes, the PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit includes a reciprocating saw. This tool is absent from the Greenworks 24V 5-Tool Brushless Combo Kit. The Greenworks set focuses on five essential tools, while the PORTER-CABLE set adds the reciprocating saw for cutting tasks.

