As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX Lithium Ion vs PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX* 6 Tools: Spec Comparison

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

This comparison examines the porter cable 20v max lithium ion vs 20v max 6 tools. Both kits share the same 20V MAX platform, offering identical core performance in their drills and impact drivers. You get the same torque and speed ratings for these primary tools. The main difference lies in the scope of the set. One kit includes six tools with specific accessories, while the other expands to eight tools with additional batteries. You need to decide which configuration fits your workspace needs.

Key differences

AspectPORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo KitPORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 8-Tool Combo Kit
Number of Tools68
Included ToolsDrill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Reciprocating Saw, Oscillating ToolDrill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Reciprocating Saw, Sander, and two others
Battery Includednot listed2 batteries and charger
Maximum Torque1,450 in.-lbs.1,450 In-Lbs.
Voltage20V MAX20V MAX

Which one should you choose?

Choose PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit if

  • You want a compact set with an oscillating tool and work light.
  • You already own batteries and prefer fewer items in your kit.
  • You need a lighter overall package for easier transport.

Choose PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 8-Tool Combo Kit if

  • You need two batteries included for extended runtime.
  • You want a sander added to your tool collection.
  • You prefer a larger kit with more variety for general projects.

Verdict: Choose the 6-tool kit if you value portability and already have compatible batteries. Select the 8-tool kit if you need extra runtime with two batteries and want a sander included. Both sets deliver identical performance for drilling and driving tasks.

Tool Count and Kit Contents

Number of tools

Edge: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 8-Tool Combo Kit

The PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 8-Tool Combo Kit includes eight individual tools in its package. This set offers a broader range of capabilities for various projects. In contrast, the PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit contains only six tools. While both kits share core items like the drill driver and impact driver, the eight-tool version adds more variety. You get additional pieces in the larger kit, which may reduce the need for separate purchases. The six-tool option is more streamlined for users who need fewer specialized instruments.

Included tools

Edge: Tie

Both kits feature a 1/2-inch drill driver, a 1/4-inch impact driver, a circular saw, and a reciprocating saw. The PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 8-Tool Combo Kit explicitly lists a sander in its color description, indicating it includes this abrasive tool for finishing work. The PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit includes an oscillating tool and a work light. These specific additions define the unique utility of each kit. You must decide if you prioritize sanding capabilities or oscillating versatility. Both sets provide essential cutting and driving tools with identical performance specs.

Battery included

Edge: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 8-Tool Combo Kit

The PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 8-Tool Combo Kit comes with two batteries and a charger. Having a spare battery allows for continuous work without waiting for a recharge. The PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit data lists a USB charger but does not explicitly state the number of batteries included in the key specs or features. This omission makes it unclear if you receive one or two batteries. If the six-tool kit includes only one battery, the eight-tool kit offers a clear advantage in runtime and convenience for extended projects.

Chuck size

Edge: Tie

Both the PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 8-Tool Combo Kit and the PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit share identical chuck specifications. They both feature a 1/2-inch chuck on the drill driver and a 1/4-inch hex chuck on the impact driver. This means you can use the same drill bits and driver bits in either kit. The performance metrics, such as 283 units watts out for the drill and 1,450 in-lbs of torque for the impact driver, are also the same. There is no difference in tool compatibility or power delivery between the two platforms.

Motor type

Edge: Tie

The circular saws in both kits utilize high-performance motors rated at 3,700 RPM. This speed ensures clean and efficient cuts across various materials. The reciprocating saws in both kits feature a high-performance drivetrain with a 7/8-inch stroke length and 3,000 SPM. These specifications are identical across both the eight-tool and six-tool versions. You receive the same cutting power and blade speed regardless of which kit you choose. The core mechanical performance of the shared tools is indistinguishable between the two product options.

Which PORTER-CABLE 20V Kit Suits You

Users needing extra batteries and sander

Our pick: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 8-Tool Combo Kit

This 8-tool kit includes two batteries and a charger. It also adds a sander to the mix. The larger box measures 23 inches long. You get more tools for broader project variety. The included batteries ensure you have power ready for longer jobs without waiting for a recharge cycle.

Those wanting a lighter, compact set

Our pick: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit

This 6-tool kit is significantly lighter at 8 ounces for the box itself. It includes a USB charger and work light. The package is more compact at 17.8 inches long. You get the core drill and impact driver with high torque. It is easier to store and transport for smaller tasks.

Buyers prioritizing oscillating tool inclusion

Our pick: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit

The 6-tool set features an oscillating tool in its lineup. It also provides a work light for dark areas. You receive a USB charger for convenience. The kit includes a circular saw with a 50-degree beveling shoe. This combination offers specific utility for detailed cutting and lighting needs.

The products compared

PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit

Best for: versatile home repair and cutting tasks

Number of Tools
6
Voltage
20V MAX
Maximum Torque
1,450 in.-lbs.
Chuck Size
1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
Included Accessories
Cutting blade, USB charger
Included Tools
Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Reciprocating Saw, Oscillating Tool

View on Amazon: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link

This Porter-Cable 20V MAX kit includes six cordless tools: a drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, work light, and oscillating tool. The drill offers 283 watts of power, while the impact driver delivers 1,450 in-lbs of torque. It features a 5-1/2-inch circular saw blade and a 7/8-inch stroke reciprocating saw. The set comes with a USB charger and cutting blade. It suits users needing a versatile, multi-tool setup for various home projects.

Pros

  • Drill delivers 283 units watts out with a two-speed gearbox.
  • Impact driver provides 1,450 in-lbs torque at 2,900 RPM.
  • Circular saw features a 5-1/2-inch carbide blade with 50-degree beveling.
  • Reciprocating saw has a 7/8-inch stroke length and variable speed.
  • Includes a work light and USB charger for added convenience.

Cons

  • Drill is slightly longer at 8.25 inches, which may affect tight spaces.
  • Kit weight is listed as 8 ounces, likely excluding batteries.
  • No mention of a carrying case or storage solution in the data.

Good fit if

  • You need a drill with high torque for dense materials.
  • You require a circular saw with beveling capabilities.
  • You want a reciprocating saw with variable speed control.

Skip if

  • You prefer a single-tool purchase over a combo kit.
  • You need a drill with a 3/8-inch chuck only.
  • You require a kit that explicitly includes a storage case.

Verdict: Porter-Cable 20V MAX 6-Tool Kit is a solid choice for DIYers who need a versatile set of tools for drilling, driving, cutting, and oscillating tasks. It fits users who value torque and cutting capacity in a single package.

PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 8-Tool Combo Kit

Best for: comprehensive home workshop needs

Number of Tools
8
Voltage
20V MAX
Battery Included
2 batteries and charger included
Maximum Torque
1,450 In-Lbs.
Chuck Size
1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
Dimensions
23 × 11.1 × 16.3 inches

View on Amazon: PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 8-Tool Combo Kit Affiliate link

This PORTER-CABLE kit includes eight cordless tools powered by 20V MAX batteries. It features a 1/2-inch drill/driver with a 2-speed gearbox and an impact driver delivering 1,450 in-lbs of torque. The set also provides a circular saw with a 5-1/2-inch blade and a reciprocating saw. Two batteries and a charger are included. You get a comprehensive collection for general home projects.

Pros

  • Includes eight tools for versatile use
  • Impact driver offers 1,450 in-lbs max torque
  • Circular saw features a 5-1/2-inch carbide blade
  • Reciprocating saw has a 7/8-inch stroke length
  • Comes with two batteries and a charger

Cons

  • Heavier build at 31.3 pounds
  • Larger footprint measuring 23 inches long
  • Circular saw beveling limited to 50 degrees

Good fit if

  • You need a wide variety of tools in one purchase
  • You want high torque for driving large fasteners
  • You require a circular saw for cutting lumber

Skip if

  • You prioritize lightweight and compact storage
  • You only need a drill and impact driver
  • You want more precise bevel angles for the saw

Verdict: PORTER-CABLE 20V 8-Tool Kit suits those who need a broad range of power tools for diverse tasks. It is ideal for homeowners who want a single kit to handle drilling, driving, cutting, and sawing without buying individual tools.

Specifications side by side

Spec PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 8-Tool Combo Kit
Number of Tools 6 8
Voltage 20V MAX 20V MAX
Battery Included not stated 2 batteries and charger included
Maximum Torque 1,450 in.-lbs. 1,450 In-Lbs.
Chuck Size 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex 1/2 in. chuck, 1/4 in. hex
Included Accessories Cutting blade, USB charger not stated
Included Tools Drill Driver, Impact Driver, Circular Saw, Work Light, Reciprocating Saw, Oscillating Tool not stated
Power Source Cordless not stated
Dimensions 17.8 × 11.6 × 11.5 inches 23 × 11.1 × 16.3 inches
Weight 8 ounces 31.3 pounds
Size One Size not stated
Color Combo Kit 8 Tool Kit With Sander
Model PCCK617L6 PCCK6118

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between the Porter-Cable 20V MAX lithium ion and the 6-tool kit?

The 20V MAX lithium ion typically refers to the battery platform or a single tool, while the 6-tool kit is a complete package. The PCCK617L6 includes a drill driver, impact driver, circular saw, work light, reciprocating saw, and oscillating tool. You get a versatile set for drilling, driving, and cutting tasks in one box.

Does the Porter-Cable 6-tool kit include an oscillating tool?

Yes, the PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 6-Tool Combo Kit includes an oscillating tool. It also comes with a drill driver, impact driver, circular saw, work light, and reciprocating saw. This combination allows you to handle diverse tasks like cutting, drilling, and sanding without needing to purchase individual tools separately for your home repair projects.

How many tools are in the Porter-Cable 20V MAX 8-tool kit?

The PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 8-Tool Combo Kit contains eight individual tools. This set offers a broader range of capabilities for various projects compared to smaller kits. It is ideal for homeowners who want a single kit to handle drilling, driving, cutting, and sawing without buying individual tools for their comprehensive home workshop needs.

Is the Porter-Cable 8-tool kit larger than the 6-tool kit?

Yes, the 8-tool kit is significantly larger. The PCCK6118 measures 23 inches long and weighs 31.3 pounds. In contrast, the 6-tool kit measures 17.8 inches long and weighs only 8 ounces. The larger box accommodates the additional tools and batteries, providing more capacity for broader project variety and storage.

What voltage do both Porter-Cable kits use?

Both kits use the 20V MAX platform. This shared voltage ensures identical core performance in their drills and impact drivers. You get the same torque and speed ratings for these primary tools across both the 6-tool and 8-tool configurations, allowing you to swap batteries between the different tool sets seamlessly.

Does the 8-tool kit include a sander?

Yes, the PORTER-CABLE 20V MAX 8-Tool Combo Kit includes a sander. The product description specifically notes it is the 8 Tool Kit With Sander. This addition provides extra versatility for finishing work, allowing you to handle sanding tasks alongside drilling, driving, and cutting without needing to buy a separate orbital sander for your projects.

Can I use the same batteries in both Porter-Cable kits?

Yes, you can use the same batteries in both kits since they share the 20V MAX platform. This compatibility means you do not need to purchase separate battery packs for each tool. You can swap batteries between the drill, impact driver, saws, and other tools in either the 6-tool or 8-tool kit.

See also